Elkridge, MD
Rockburn Branch Share
Uploaded By: Greg Boyer  
Closed?



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 LOVE IT!!!

5+    2/26/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: beautiful, well marked, very fluent. when my friends and i can't agree where we are going to play for the day we always compromise on rockburn
Cons: damn trees. i absolutly ALWAYS hit trees. but i don't have anything bad to say

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  New life at Rockburn

5+    12/12/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: HCD Studios
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in the process of getting new tee pads installed. Four of them are in so far and it makes it much more fun and safer to play. Also the park has been busy clearing and mowing the shule on the sides of the fairways. Over the years it has improved but durring the summer its still fairly easy to loose a disc. Spot well for everyone in your group! Rockburn is a challenging wooded course that can be very tough when the pins are in the long positions. Great variety of holes and use of elevation.
Cons: Not all the tees are done yet and some of them are still rutted. Summertime it can be easy to loose a disc or three. A few of the holes are blind and that makes it hard to spot. Don't take a chance.
Other Thoughts: The course plays very differently depending on the position of the pins. Pin positions are marked on the tee signs and there is a lock on an eye screw to indicate the position. This course is right off 95 and is worth the time if you are driving thru. Hole 12 has a super long pin. If you follow the fence to the opening and look right out into the field down the road another 500' and left there it is.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Check out Baltimore disc golfers!

5+    11/14/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: Spartan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: By far the course that I play most often (mainly because its close to where I go to school). Just like Patapsco State Park, there are great elevation changes and a great mix of open and wooded holes. It is almost never too crowded and playing for fun and playing competitively are both obtainable here. The fairway is always well maintained and the environment is awesome. I especially like Holes 5, 7, 12, 13, 15. Hole 5 gives you an excellent down hill shot to the basket surrounded by trees and an ace is obtainable is you're lucky. Hole 12-15 is set by an old barn and an old house no longer in use. On hole 15, you shoot right next to the old house and throw down a huge declining hill. Very scenic!
Cons: I absolutely hate the tees. They are loosely made from gravel but they look like small dug-in trenches from people throwing in that particular location. I usually throw next to it on the grass for better footing. During the summer, the wooded holes are.....rough to say the least. You can spend 30 minutes searching for your disc and during the winter when all the vegetation finally dies out, you can usually find discs at multiple holes. Also, most of the vegetation surrounding the fairway will hurt you with millions of thorns!
Other Thoughts: Check out Baltimore disc golfers group on this website! I am always at this course, Im probably the only Asian guy there ever so come say hi!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

2-4    11/6/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: B Trizzle
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location, only about 5 min from the house. Challenging pin locations, recently moved longer. Requires variety of shots. Holes are in good shape, grass not too high and leaves not overwhelming.
Cons: Tee pads are getting better. Some are natural, some are rubber and some are green mats. Mountain bikers seem to think its funny to ride on the holes while your playing. #3 has a play ground very nearby and sometimes little kids are playing in the fairways nearby. Par on some holes seem to be for the pros or something.
Other Thoughts: #4 is pretty challenging, blind shot over the hill then pin is through a cut out in the wood down the hill on the right. 2nd shot is critical

#6 is my favorite hole. Its a down hill tunnel shot, if you dont have a solid drive down the fairway making it to the pin through all the trees is going to add at least 2

#7 has a nice rubber raised tee mat. Trees directly to the right keep the fairway narrow. Straight shots are rewarded. Pin location is pretty deep on this one.

#9 Downhill heavily wood tee shot easy to have a bum drive. Keep it low and fast, pin is just across the river

#10 has a nicer green tee pad

#12 nicer green tee pad, haunted house is broken down now. Ideally you want to shoot straight past the end of the fence post. Pin is up the hill to the right. Good tee shot or you miss par.

#14 Rubber tee mat. Seems like an easy uphill par 3, usually it is. Make it past the fence and 3 is easy.

#15 Super Long down hill hole. Aim towards the right for RHBH throwers and you should land in the middle for a direct shot at the pin.

#16 Rubber tee pad. Pin blind to the left

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  look at the map!!!

2-4    10/3/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: lisak
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good variety of shots required
baskets are in good shape
decent mix of open bombs/tight technical throws
Cons: consult the map especially on the back 9!

tee pads are not in great shape - some are missing altogether

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Third Best Course in Baltimore

1    8/21/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: sheepforwheat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of space. Tees have giant signs next to them so they are easy to spot. It's a pretty course. When we played, there is an ice cream truck full of frisbees at the parking lot. The guy was very friendly and was selling frisbees at fair prices. The course has a secluded feel that makes you forget you are near a major city.
Cons: sometimes a little tough to find the next tee without a map. When i played (late August) the grass in the fairways hadn't been mowed for a while, and the rough was very rough. I lost a frisbee in one of the heavily wooded holes with the intense ground cover. Had i not been wearing shorts i would have looked longer but was afraid of ticks/poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is my third favorite around bmore, next to Patapsco and then Druid Hill

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: ssgmdgc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All the holes are challenging and fun to play! Some holes are open and some are in the woods. A very diverse course!
Cons: The course has no "Flow" ,always walking back up the fairway to get to the next tee. I never played in a tournement here but I would bet that the course gets backed up in a lot of places.
Other Thoughts: Maybe put in some alternate tee locations so the course flows better.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just Solid

2-4    8/2/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is pretty much separate from other park activities. Nice secluded feel for most of the course. Practice basket down hill from parking lot. Directly after 18. Multiple basket positions for added variety. OK signs at each tee box with marked basket positions and a map of each hole. There are also benches at most of the tees.

Nice vary of shots needed. Left, right and straight shots scattered throughout the course. There is also a nice mix of open vs wooded holes. And some holes that start in the open and play into the woods. This course also does a nice job using the available elevation.

Course plays around an old farm so there is not only some nice natural features to play around, but some fences and buildings come into play. It doesn't turn the course into a putt-putt course at all. Just adds a little different challenge to a couple holes.
Cons: Uneven natural tee pads. A few holes also have some turf and/or rubber pads. Nice pads would really be nice at this course. The signs are a little old, and could use some updating. Navigation can be a little tricky so check a map before you go, or bring one with you.
Other Thoughts: Just a nice, enjoyable course. Hole 15 is probably the signature hole. You throw off a decent sized hill, through some trees, and down over a creek into the woods. The basket is then positioned in a bunch of large rocks or boulders. Kind of a Stonehenge hole. I also enjoyed holes 4,5,6,9 and 10 quite a bit. That's a good amount of memorable holes for a course. Plus there really is no bad hole here. Nothing seems squeezed in or out of place. If you are in MD make sure you plan a stop at Rockburn. It may not be as well known as a few of the other MD courses, but it is definitely worth a visit.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Variety a Plenty

1    4/3/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of holes. A great intermediate course, not too easy, not too hard. Some really interesting shots and lots of elevation changes. Hole 15 is a sweet downhill shot across a field and then into the woods down near the creek. Really fun, I threw a few discs on that hole. Markers point you to the next tee.
Cons: Signs are confusing, and getting "off course" can happen often (even with the signs pointing you in the right direction). The baskets can be confusing a bit as well, especially with the multiple pin placements. I threw to hole #2 right off the bat and had to start over. Also, it seems like if you went in the middle of summer, the vegitation and bugs could be a problem here.
Other Thoughts: The weather was great and the locals were helpful so I had an excellent time here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    2/20/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is challenging and fun to play. The course is a little more open yet, it still has some challenging holes. I played Patapsco before this course, and I felt that the layout and the scenery at Rockburn was much nicer. Rockburn is set in a large park and the holes vary in distance and types of shot you need to use. The course is challenging yet realistic if you are playing well.

I really liked throwing down towards the creek on number 9. It was a well designed hole where you could either end up in the drink, or with a nice lay up shot to the pin. The course was fairly well marked and for the most part you could easily distinguish as to where you were going to go next/throw. The back nine is the reason you come to play this course. With holes throwing out over the fields and some cool shots near the houses, it gives this course a homey feel. You feel as if you could be practicing in your backyard and it is simply a picturesque setting. It is nice to play a course that has so many different types of holes/throws. There are short holes and then there are holes where you can huck it as hard as you want. Many times courses stick with one idea, and Rockburn is not one of them.
Cons: No tee boxes kind of sucks. You don't really know always where to throw from, and it makes it unclear. I could see the potential for people/bystanders not playing disc golf to get in the way up near holes 4-6. There are some benches and open areas where other people might set up blanket and get in the way. I always appreciate courses that clearly mark where you should go after you finish a hole, and this course doesn't do that as well.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course that I will play again very soon. Being from PA, this course is worth the drive to come and play. If I had to choose between this course and Patapsco, I choose Rockburn. I enjoyed the challenge and the variety of holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.