Elkridge, MD 
Rockburn Branch Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 384ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Variety in scenery and shots and challenging.

5+    5/1/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: MarkNizzle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the course starts in a public park, plays through the woods and out onto a farm. along the way you get a lot of variety where all shots and skills are needed. the baskets change here every few weeks giving good replay value to the course.
Cons: In the summer this course gets wild with overgrowth of poision ivy and sticker bushes. if you play then go for accuracy over distance and wear some good knee high sports socks. holes in the woods 7-9 and 16-18 get very wet after a good rain. i normally wait for 2 days of sun to follow a good storm so your not playing in slushy/swampy conditions.
Other Thoughts: #15 is the signature hole here. you shoot down from a hill and a old rustic staircase, hoping to cross a shallow stream and make it into the edge of the woods by the basket. always fun to watch a disc fly from the tee and get a good 30-45 seconds of airtime! closest to my new job, starting to become a regular here, play about once a week here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun.

5+    5/8/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: xbombtrackx
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm fairly new so it's a bit challenging in a good way.
Lay out isn't confusing
Good use of the land
Cons: Swampy in areas after a good rain
Brush is thick in the spring and summer
Other Thoughts: I'm Staying at a hotel in the area for a couple months and this course is the closest. We play it 3 times a week on average and it's still pretty enjoyable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

5+    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: cmoney49
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is maintained very nice. It hasn't had all of the brush grow back yet. A wide variety of difficulty of holes.
Cons: Hole 16's tee box is flooded out and it appears that a new stream will be flowing through there anytime there is rain.
Other Thoughts: Stop throwing you beer cans/bottles all over the place. There are recycle bins all over the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun, diverse course with long lines

1    4/5/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: Montanaman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Roughly a 40 to 50 minute drive from downtown DC, Rockburn Branch is a fantastic, well developed course in Maryland. The 18 holes have multiple pin locations while most holes have a raised rubber tee. (3 pins, 1 tee). While navigation can be a chore here and there, it's really not too difficult with a map loaded up.

There is a strong mix of technical holes with good old bombers to grip and rip. There is a decent amount of elevation change too for a east coast course. Seems like a lot of the lines are mowed.

Roughly 14 out of 18 holes have mowed grass lays with a good mix of pins in woods. Traffic in early April was light, but with the significant trail development, there may be a mix of users of the park. Holes 11 through 15 are worth playing just for the beauty of the barn and views. We threw every driver we had on hole 13, just an amazing line and view.
Cons: If you've never played the course, loading a map is a must. It is not intuitive at points to the next hole.

There is only one tee location. The tees are mostly a raised rubber pad. Hole 4 did not seem to have a pad and hole 16 was swamped when we played it.

While many of lines are mowed if you stray it can be pretty hairy out there. With full foliage I could see losing a disc pretty easily.

You cross a significant number of "trails". If there was a busy weekend I could see some park user conflict.
Other Thoughts: Played while foliage was down, definitely made disc and pin finding a lot easier. Could see full summer leaves take the course up a notch or two in difficulty.

Also hole one has warnings of ticks, snakes and poison ivy. Worth considering.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid Intermediate Course Everyone Can Enjoy!

1    7/13/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rockburn Branch Park is a large sprawling park with plenty of room for the disc golf course. The course features a wide variety of terrain, from wide open fairways with elevation change, to tight tunnel shots with nasty thick rough to some more wooded holes with a creek that comes into play.

The course starts with a nice information sign and arrows pointing you to the # 1 tee. It has extra long, rubber tee pads. The signs are nice and informative but badly faded in places making them hard to decipher. This course uses a unique system for showing players which placement, A-B-C-D, the basket is currently in. There is a small padlock locked to a hook showing the placement.

The terrain starts with some lovely rolling, grassy hills which then transform into some tighter tunnel holes.

There are benches on many holes.

# 15, as previously mentioned, stands out as the signature hole. Everything about it is pretty special and unique from it's clever tee pad placement to the long downhill throw and then on to the basket across the creek which is tucked into the woods.
Cons: Navigation is a little difficult at times. Signs were missing or unreadable for 3-4-5. I missed playing # 4, I think. I ran into some locals and followed them which helped out quite a bit.

And navigating around the barn area, # 12-13-14-15 is kind of confusing. The locals explained it to me and I'm still not sure if I played those four holes correctly.

There are some definite "Kiss Your Discs Good Bye" holes here. # 9 &10 are tight and then # 11 is one where an errant anhyser toss might be gone forever.
Other Thoughts: This is just a good, solid course that most players can play and enjoy. I wouldn't exactly call it newbie friendly but you could bring that newbie here. Maybe have them skip a couple of holes. Advanced players could player here and find challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Map and Navigation file need updating

1    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes with a mix of open, wooded, elevation changes, and some minor water hazards.
Cons: Difficult course to navigate.There are changes not reflected on the map nor the "Navigating Rockburn" file on this site. Specifically the tee for #4 has been removed and relocated forward and right into the woods. There is no tee for #15 and the "house" no longer exists, just a foundation. A spotter is useful on many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: My buddy clanged his tee shot off the porta-potty on #3 (a really bad throw) and a "helpful" foreign lady picked it up and threw it back. We laughed so hard we made him
play his second shot from where the potty lady's throw landed. Too bad she didn't open the door a couple seconds earlier, we'd have made him play his shot from inside the loo.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun course with plenty of variety

5+    3/6/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: BogeyMurder
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in holes. Plenty of elevation changes. Park is well maintained and baskets are moved periodically.
Cons: Not many trash cans. Signs in need of upgrade. Easy to lose discs on certain holes, especially during summer months.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in the Maryland area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

first impressions

1    11/7/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: templink
Played: 53  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open, tight, uphill and downhill fairways. Water near a couple of baskets adds a nice obstacle. Hole #15 was most memorable. Lots of birdie holes! Very long tee pads allow for a good run up.
Cons: Many signs missing from tees and most of the baskets were not numbered. Somewhat difficult to navigate, but not impossible. I found all the holes eventually. The rough on some holes is nasty - sticker bushes and such - like hole #11. I would expect to lose a disc or two if I played here often.
Other Thoughts: Walking though the back nine was quite scenic, especially around the barn and orchard. Definitely would play again next time I fly into BWI.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    10/23/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 53  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 33.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of holes. Nice on an autumn day. Rough was relatively easy to deal with. Fairways are clear of trees.
Cons: Worthless tee signs. Difficult to find the next holes. Be sure to have the map of the course with you the first time.
Other Thoughts: Tees are acceptable (first time I've played on rubber/astroturf tees). Alternate permanent tees/pins would be nice.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Balanced Course

5+    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: JSlavy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of wooded tunnels, wide open, hyzer and anhyzer holes.

- Many of the C position tees are a beast no matter how hard you can throw. I went today and most of the pins were in C. Very humbling but, in a good way.

- Good variation between pin positions and they are changed often.

- Local group keeps adding rubber and turf tee boxes. good upkeep and improvements all the time.

- Three nice "air it out" shots

- Great use of hills and elevation changes.

- Nice use of the Rockburn Creek on 2 to 4 of the holes (depending on basket position). Creek is very shallow. Discs can easily be fished out with a downed stick. You are better off NOT using a floating disc on hole 9 and 15 as they will sometimes float downstream as opposed to rest in one spot. Holes 9 and 15 always have the creek come into play to some degree. Holes 7 and 8 border the gcreek only when in the C position.
Cons: - VERY easy to lose a disc. Lots of undergrowth and viney trees to devour discs. I have lost more discs here than any where else. Holes 6, 10, 11 and 15 are the worst offenders and a few bad throws on these holes can lead to almost as much time easter egg hunting as playing the actual course. Unless your game is flawless expect some time bushwhacking.

- Some trees and limbs could be trimmed. Certain branches are in just the right spot to deflect a disc. While this is a nice challenge at times, it can also be annoying. For example, hole 15 could be trimmed to make the opening a little wider. This could relieve some of the problems with lost discs and allow for more of a comfort zone to air out the throw from the hill. One mistake on this hole and you lose a disc. Hole six is also a pinball machine/lumberjack hole and near impossible to not hit a tree. Take a few trees out (and plant some elsewhere) and this would be a more of a skill tee drive and less of a cross your fingers shot. However the big tree on hole 10 is an excellent obstacle that makes you have to execute a hyzer or anhyzer to avoid it.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is very good and I'm lucky to have it as my second closest local course. Some minor improvements with the excessive brush on some holes and fairway tree limbs could put it into the upper echelon and with all of the nice work that is constantly being done it may just happen...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center