Elkridge, MD 
Rockburn Branch Share
Uploaded By: Greg Boyer Hole #8
3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Pretty Park, Fun Course

5+    10/17/2014   10/17/2014
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 44  Reviewed: 16
Pros: -As the title suggests this is a beautiful course. Rolling hills, mature trees, several places where you cross a small winding creek or the creek frames the green.
-Good signage. it would seem some of the locals have taken past reviews to heart because every tee post has a new sign attached to the post near the pad.
-long teepads are mostly a pro. A few are made of that green carpeting material which i really dislike personally because they get really slick but most are the rubber flypads which work well
-nice mix of shots off the tee. Threw backhand, forehand, and overhand and discs from putters to high speed drivers. good mix of wooded and open shots as well.
-challenging enough to be fun but not so difficult or unfair as to be a chore. i would think a few stokes under par would be a good round in its current configuration.
Cons: -the long pin placements are awkward in several places and a few are impossible to access short of a miraculous shot because discs don't fly the way they are laid out. This would be fine if the longs were true par 4s designed to be two shot holes, but what often happens is you are left with a 80-130 foot pitch to the basket whether the drive is great or just average.
-while the fairways are well defined and well maintained, the rough boarding the course is brutally thick. to the point that if you are playing to a pin position tucked into a narrow alley of rough you really have to play it like an island hole surrounded by water. if a disc goes deep off the fairway the chances of retrieving it are slim.
Other Thoughts: Rockburn provides a really pleasant and enjoyable round of disc golf. the first 5 holes give a chance to air things out on an open track and the wooded holes that follow demand accuracy (along with being a beautiful walk). Hole 9 is one of my favorites, playing either to an island in front of the creek or over depending on pin position. 12 is fun shot framed by a wooden cattle fence on the right and an old barn on the left. 15 is probably the signature hole, teeing from elevation, over the creek and into the wood line.

All in all, Rockburn is a lot of fun and worth a stop if you're in the area. Just pay attention to the holes that have heavy rough near the pins and know which side you can miss on.

Variety in scenery and shots and challenging.

5+    5/1/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: MarkNizzle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the course starts in a public park, plays through the woods and out onto a farm. along the way you get a lot of variety where all shots and skills are needed. the baskets change here every few weeks giving good replay value to the course.
Cons: In the summer this course gets wild with overgrowth of poision ivy and sticker bushes. if you play then go for accuracy over distance and wear some good knee high sports socks. holes in the woods 7-9 and 16-18 get very wet after a good rain. i normally wait for 2 days of sun to follow a good storm so your not playing in slushy/swampy conditions.
Other Thoughts: #15 is the signature hole here. you shoot down from a hill and a old rustic staircase, hoping to cross a shallow stream and make it into the edge of the woods by the basket. always fun to watch a disc fly from the tee and get a good 30-45 seconds of airtime! closest to my new job, starting to become a regular here, play about once a week here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun.

5+    5/8/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: xbombtrackx
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm fairly new so it's a bit challenging in a good way.
Lay out isn't confusing
Good use of the land
Cons: Swampy in areas after a good rain
Brush is thick in the spring and summer
Other Thoughts: I'm Staying at a hotel in the area for a couple months and this course is the closest. We play it 3 times a week on average and it's still pretty enjoyable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

5+    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: cmoney49
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is maintained very nice. It hasn't had all of the brush grow back yet. A wide variety of difficulty of holes.
Cons: Hole 16's tee box is flooded out and it appears that a new stream will be flowing through there anytime there is rain.
Other Thoughts: Stop throwing you beer cans/bottles all over the place. There are recycle bins all over the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun, diverse course with long lines

1    4/5/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: Montanaman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Roughly a 40 to 50 minute drive from downtown DC, Rockburn Branch is a fantastic, well developed course in Maryland. The 18 holes have multiple pin locations while most holes have a raised rubber tee. (3 pins, 1 tee). While navigation can be a chore here and there, it's really not too difficult with a map loaded up.

There is a strong mix of technical holes with good old bombers to grip and rip. There is a decent amount of elevation change too for a east coast course. Seems like a lot of the lines are mowed.

Roughly 14 out of 18 holes have mowed grass lays with a good mix of pins in woods. Traffic in early April was light, but with the significant trail development, there may be a mix of users of the park. Holes 11 through 15 are worth playing just for the beauty of the barn and views. We threw every driver we had on hole 13, just an amazing line and view.
Cons: If you've never played the course, loading a map is a must. It is not intuitive at points to the next hole.

There is only one tee location. The tees are mostly a raised rubber pad. Hole 4 did not seem to have a pad and hole 16 was swamped when we played it.

While many of lines are mowed if you stray it can be pretty hairy out there. With full foliage I could see losing a disc pretty easily.

You cross a significant number of "trails". If there was a busy weekend I could see some park user conflict.
Other Thoughts: Played while foliage was down, definitely made disc and pin finding a lot easier. Could see full summer leaves take the course up a notch or two in difficulty.

Also hole one has warnings of ticks, snakes and poison ivy. Worth considering.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid Intermediate Course Everyone Can Enjoy!

1    7/13/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rockburn Branch Park is a large sprawling park with plenty of room for the disc golf course. The course features a wide variety of terrain, from wide open fairways with elevation change, to tight tunnel shots with nasty thick rough to some more wooded holes with a creek that comes into play.

The course starts with a nice information sign and arrows pointing you to the # 1 tee. It has extra long, rubber tee pads. The signs are nice and informative but badly faded in places making them hard to decipher. This course uses a unique system for showing players which placement, A-B-C-D, the basket is currently in. There is a small padlock locked to a hook showing the placement.

The terrain starts with some lovely rolling, grassy hills which then transform into some tighter tunnel holes.

There are benches on many holes.

# 15, as previously mentioned, stands out as the signature hole. Everything about it is pretty special and unique from it's clever tee pad placement to the long downhill throw and then on to the basket across the creek which is tucked into the woods.
Cons: Navigation is a little difficult at times. Signs were missing or unreadable for 3-4-5. I missed playing # 4, I think. I ran into some locals and followed them which helped out quite a bit.

And navigating around the barn area, # 12-13-14-15 is kind of confusing. The locals explained it to me and I'm still not sure if I played those four holes correctly.

There are some definite "Kiss Your Discs Good Bye" holes here. # 9 &10 are tight and then # 11 is one where an errant anhyser toss might be gone forever.
Other Thoughts: This is just a good, solid course that most players can play and enjoy. I wouldn't exactly call it newbie friendly but you could bring that newbie here. Maybe have them skip a couple of holes. Advanced players could player here and find challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Map and Navigation file need updating

1    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes with a mix of open, wooded, elevation changes, and some minor water hazards.
Cons: Difficult course to navigate.There are changes not reflected on the map nor the "Navigating Rockburn" file on this site. Specifically the tee for #4 has been removed and relocated forward and right into the woods. There is no tee for #15 and the "house" no longer exists, just a foundation. A spotter is useful on many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: My buddy clanged his tee shot off the porta-potty on #3 (a really bad throw) and a "helpful" foreign lady picked it up and threw it back. We laughed so hard we made him
play his second shot from where the potty lady's throw landed. Too bad she didn't open the door a couple seconds earlier, we'd have made him play his shot from inside the loo.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun course with plenty of variety

5+    3/6/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: BogeyMurder
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in holes. Plenty of elevation changes. Park is well maintained and baskets are moved periodically.
Cons: Not many trash cans. Signs in need of upgrade. Easy to lose discs on certain holes, especially during summer months.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in the Maryland area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

first impressions

1    11/7/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: templink
Played: 58  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open, tight, uphill and downhill fairways. Water near a couple of baskets adds a nice obstacle. Hole #15 was most memorable. Lots of birdie holes! Very long tee pads allow for a good run up.
Cons: Many signs missing from tees and most of the baskets were not numbered. Somewhat difficult to navigate, but not impossible. I found all the holes eventually. The rough on some holes is nasty - sticker bushes and such - like hole #11. I would expect to lose a disc or two if I played here often.
Other Thoughts: Walking though the back nine was quite scenic, especially around the barn and orchard. Definitely would play again next time I fly into BWI.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/23/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 56  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 34.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of holes. Nice on an autumn day. Rough was relatively easy to deal with. Fairways are clear of trees.
Cons: Worthless tee signs. Difficult to find the next holes. Be sure to have the map of the course with you the first time.
Other Thoughts: Tees are acceptable (first time I've played on rubber/astroturf tees). Alternate permanent tees/pins would be nice.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.