Elkridge, MD 
Rockburn Branch Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Warning to out of state visitors --Unplayable due to poison ivy

1    8/2/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: This MAY be a nice course, all the other reviews say very nice things about it.
Cons: Unplayable due to massive amounts of poison ivy. Hole one has a 30' wide mown fairway with high grass on either side. The "grass" has an understory of poison ivy bushes. Unless you have superior body chemistry (immune to poison ivy) any roller going off the fairwawy will have to be discarded for the rest of the game. Hole 2 was not so bad, only a few patches, but hole 3 had a 10' tall bank of PI backing up the pin placement. Any long missed putt is irretrievable. I gave up on the course at this point.
Other Thoughts: Poison Ivy thrives in the Mid Atlantic region. Most people suffer itchy red rashes from it, with about 1/3 suffering from oozing blisters as well, which take 6 weeks to heal. Every course in the mid atlantic region needs to prioritize removing all poison ivy from the course.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    6/23/2008   8/6/2009
Review By: bigghigg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Nice variety of challenges, scenery, and elevations. Multiple basket locations an added bonus to keep playing fresh.
Cons: Can be difficult to find your way around the first time, especially with multiple basket locations that are hidden from sight at the tee-box.
Other Thoughts: Played here on a business trip to Baltimore. I some trouble finding baskets without a course map since there are several you can not see from the tee box. There were a few tee boxes that were difficult to find as well. I did a lot of extra walking around until another solo player from the area caught up to me and we finished the course together. With a guide the rest of the way, I was able to enjoy everything this course had to offer and if I'm ever in the area again will make sure to stop by for a round or two. Easier navigation would probably add a point or more to my score. As is I still gave a 3.5 - "Very Good."

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great venue

5+    5/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: brooksjames80
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome park with a variety of throws.
Very scenic.
Great pin locations. This course seems to be on an old ranch with some major elevation changes.
Cons: Concrete tee pads would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Fun place to play and ride bikes. Not to far of a drive from Baltimore.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long and confusing

1    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 58  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Loved the layout and it is in great shape.
Cons: Finding tee boxes and baskets was the worst.
Other Thoughts: Whoever maintains this course please update maps and add more/better signs for better course maneuverability. This was its biggest drawback.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lost potential

1    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course definitely has a few fun holes and shots. #15 is definitely the signature hole where you throw downhill towards/over a stream with a nice view. The few holes before that play around the same area and are equally fun, scenic, and provide a decent challenge. Multiple pin positions give you some replayability and there's good use of the open and wooded areas of the park that work your shot selection. All the holes are signed and most (if not all) baskets have a marker pointing the way to the next tee.
Cons: Unfortunately, the course is hampered by too many cons to let the pros really shine through.

As others have mentioned, the course layout at times is just terrible. Without the course navigation notes here I never would have made it through. There are a few places where, even with the pointed direction, you are unsure of where to go or you pass a tee pad that is not the proper hole.

The tee signs have the length and par (I think) on the signs along with a hole diagram. These diagrams are fairly crude though and may not be to accurate scale, so they often don't give a complete feel for the hole. On the day I was there water had gotten on the insides and misted it enough so that sometimes I could not see the hole layout properly. The signs and sign posts mark that there are multiple basket positions, but unfortunately there is no indication as to which location actually has the standard for the day/week/month (whatever frequency the positions are changed). While I have no problem with blind shots, these factors make the ones here a little frustrating.

There are a couple of parallel fairways, but 1 and 2 was the only place that really bothered me. After you throw a blind tee shot on one over the hill you will see two baskets in the distance, fairly close to each other. The closer is 1 and the further 2, but you may not realize this without the navigation guide; it would be easy to believe the course, rather than rotating basket positions, has a basket at each all the time. Also, with the arrangement of the fairways, it seems like the second shot landing area for #1 and the driving landing area for #2 are very close for average throws. What makes this even worse is that some holes *do* appear to have multiple baskets present at one time.

The thing that probably bothered me the most is the underbrush/growth. The early holes in open fields either have large swaths of uncut grass or (around 4 & 5) this odd area of low and tightly growing shrubs/bushes. Much of the rest of the course if you don't hit the fairway you'll be in *very* thick vegetation and thorn bushes. These can make it extremely frustrating when you have a disc go off the fairway because of the time and effort it takes to find and the strong possibility of losing it if you aren't watching closely. This was really the worst part about this course from my viewpoint.
Other Thoughts: The course is in a park that has a playground, basketball courts, picnic shelters, and such. It appears the course has a doubles night once a week and a trailer from a local store is occasionally in the parking lot selling gear on the spot.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Just O.K.

1    5/16/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: DRIVER
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Full 18. A few nice holes. #15 is beautiful. #13 is a great shot too.
Cons: Terrible course layout. Fairways are too close to tee pads on multiple occasions. very difficult to navigate from hole to hole. a few blind pin positions, and some blind shots are close to other fairways (#14 close to #12).
a few holes where it seemed minimal thought went into basket placement and fairway construction. (#12)
the rough is pretty thick is some areas.
#18 basket isn't anywhere near #1 tee pad.
a few rude/clueless locals.
Other Thoughts: Seemed like just a disc golf course, without any disc golf community.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/12/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: Scoopy
Played: 192  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mutile pin locations, mostly secluded from the rest of the park, nice mix of open and wooded shots, get to use all your shots on this course, nice elevation changes, decent layout, located in big park with plenty of other activities to keep the family busy while you play
Cons: natural pads, blind pins from i-pads, signs were ok although they didn't tell you the location, no amenities.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good course. I would recommend any first timer to print the map and hole discriptions. After shooting #2, I followed to the next tee sign, and threw from the next pad I saw which turned out to be #6. It took me about 15 minutes to find the pad for #3 and after 20 more minutes of searching for pad #4, i said forget it and skipped it, went straight to #5. Can be difficult to navigate your first time out. So hook up with a local or print the documents on the links tab. Overall this is a great course that will definitely challenge your physical and mental game. Will play this course anytime I am in the Baltimore area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Top 5 of Maryland

5+    2/11/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: MrDger
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety of downhill/uphill/flat drives. Holes 13-15 especially make great use of the land.
- The course doesn't play better for lefties or righties, provides enough variety that you have to either switch up your throw or have some great anyies in your arsenal.
- Difficulty of the course is high enough that even for advanced players, a good score isn't far from par (+/-).
- Good use of the water hazards on the few holes it comes into play.
- Good mix of tight controlled drives with some open bombs.
- Multiple pin positions per hole, some even have 4 positions.
- Usually aren't any holdups on the course, and the regulars are more than willing to help you out/let you join them to play a round.
- Easy access from main roads (Rt. 100 & I-95)
- Plenty of parking at multiple points on the course (Holes 1 and 4).
Cons: - NO CONCRETE PADS. I think they're putting in fake pads because of all the complaints, but if there were concrete pads, it's rating would shoot to a 4.5.
- Besides not having concrete pads, the current 'pads' get really nasty after a good rain. Gotta watch yourself.
- Not really any facilities besides the portable one on hole #4.
- Each hole has a tee sign, but some of the signs pointing you to the next hole are either missing/never were there.
Other Thoughts: - Hole 15 is the signature hole for good reason, the drive is pretty to look at no matter how many times you've thrown it.
- Wednesday doubles during the season makes for a good mid-week activity.
- The stretch of holes from #12 - 15 make for a great variety and a lot of fun for any level of player.

:: UPDATE ::
The poison ivy issue has been dealt with by the park services, while there is still some obviously, it isn't nearly as bad as it once was. Also, there is a lot of other undergrowth that many confuse with poison ivy, so that added to "how bad it was".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet course, very rustic.

1    2/5/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, this course is awesome. Every hole is unique and challenging. I really like courses that let you warm up on some open holes before moving into the heavily wooded areas that require more technical shots. The baskets had very long orange poles coming out the top that made them easy to locate. As I played the back 9 holes I said to myself that 9 was an awesome hole , then 10, then 11 until I was finished. Now I just have to say all 9 of the back 9 rocked. 12 and 15 especially, 15 is one of those elevated holes you can empty your bag on. This course is great and I hope to play it again sometime.
Cons: None really, I bet it could be much different in the summer. The thorns might grow in a little making disc locating a pain but it's a well designed course.
Tee pads, an upgrade to concrete tee pads would be nice, the ice/mud combo wasn't doing it for me.
Other Thoughts: I played Loriella Park in Spotsyvania VA an hour earlier and the difference is night and day. This course had great sings and baskets. I had very little trouble finding the holes. I was told that the signs were added earlier in the winter, great addition. I also noticed that they removed a bunch of thorn bushes. Didn't help me much but I bet it will be much nicer in the summer. There are some historic buildings and really cool rows of trees that the back 9 wind around, made me feel like I was playing during colonial times. Wonder if they had disc golf back then? j/k

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great potential

5+    1/10/2009   1/22/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 186  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 34 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements
Semi-dedicated use area
Recent tee signs added
Good shot variety
Dedicated volunteers continue to make improvements.
Cons: Rough along the edges - everywhere, briars, P.I., etc.
Dirt tees are dangerous. I'd probably really love this place if I didn't keep hurting myself in the ruts that pass for teepads.
Blind shots - there are several holes that present themselves poorly due to visibility. A player familiar to the course will have a much easier time executing on some of these holes, which to me is a little bit of a drawback. It also makes the likelihood of losing a disc fairly high. This is the only course I've lost a disc on in many years.
Use of water - a pet peeve of mine. Introducing foot traffic into and across a creek bed is generally not a sound environmental practice. (Sorry to be a party pooper - because yes I know it can be fun) And it happens twice on this course.
Other Thoughts: This is a course with great potential. Overcoming the issue with the teepads is by far the greatest challenge facing the improvements to this course. It does grow on you - and I have come to like it more over the past couple years. As far as options go - if this was the only course in your backyard - you'd be lovin life. The fact that it is one of several in the area, just makes it a bonus.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.