Elkridge, MD 
Rockburn Branch Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 first impressions

1    11/7/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: templink
Played: 63  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open, tight, uphill and downhill fairways. Water near a couple of baskets adds a nice obstacle. Hole #15 was most memorable. Lots of birdie holes! Very long tee pads allow for a good run up.
Cons: Many signs missing from tees and most of the baskets were not numbered. Somewhat difficult to navigate, but not impossible. I found all the holes eventually. The rough on some holes is nasty - sticker bushes and such - like hole #11. I would expect to lose a disc or two if I played here often.
Other Thoughts: Walking though the back nine was quite scenic, especially around the barn and orchard. Definitely would play again next time I fly into BWI.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/23/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 67  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 34.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of holes. Nice on an autumn day. Rough was relatively easy to deal with. Fairways are clear of trees.
Cons: Worthless tee signs. Difficult to find the next holes. Be sure to have the map of the course with you the first time.
Other Thoughts: Tees are acceptable (first time I've played on rubber/astroturf tees). Alternate permanent tees/pins would be nice.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Balanced Course

5+    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: JSlavy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of wooded tunnels, wide open, hyzer and anhyzer holes.

- Many of the C position tees are a beast no matter how hard you can throw. I went today and most of the pins were in C. Very humbling but, in a good way.

- Good variation between pin positions and they are changed often.

- Local group keeps adding rubber and turf tee boxes. good upkeep and improvements all the time.

- Three nice "air it out" shots

- Great use of hills and elevation changes.

- Nice use of the Rockburn Creek on 2 to 4 of the holes (depending on basket position). Creek is very shallow. Discs can easily be fished out with a downed stick. You are better off NOT using a floating disc on hole 9 and 15 as they will sometimes float downstream as opposed to rest in one spot. Holes 9 and 15 always have the creek come into play to some degree. Holes 7 and 8 border the gcreek only when in the C position.
Cons: - VERY easy to lose a disc. Lots of undergrowth and viney trees to devour discs. I have lost more discs here than any where else. Holes 6, 10, 11 and 15 are the worst offenders and a few bad throws on these holes can lead to almost as much time easter egg hunting as playing the actual course. Unless your game is flawless expect some time bushwhacking.

- Some trees and limbs could be trimmed. Certain branches are in just the right spot to deflect a disc. While this is a nice challenge at times, it can also be annoying. For example, hole 15 could be trimmed to make the opening a little wider. This could relieve some of the problems with lost discs and allow for more of a comfort zone to air out the throw from the hill. One mistake on this hole and you lose a disc. Hole six is also a pinball machine/lumberjack hole and near impossible to not hit a tree. Take a few trees out (and plant some elsewhere) and this would be a more of a skill tee drive and less of a cross your fingers shot. However the big tree on hole 10 is an excellent obstacle that makes you have to execute a hyzer or anhyzer to avoid it.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is very good and I'm lucky to have it as my second closest local course. Some minor improvements with the excessive brush on some holes and fairway tree limbs could put it into the upper echelon and with all of the nice work that is constantly being done it may just happen...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit

1    6/22/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: cschu8
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Uphill, downhill, wooded, open, tight fairways, etc... You have to use all of your shots in your bag.
Cons: Easy to get lost, some of the signs are no longer effective. Some of the rough is really rough. A little more maintenance is required.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check it out if you are driving on 95 and looking for a break. It is close to the freeway and the design is really interesting. My favorite part is the section of the course that incorporates some old buildings and downhill holes. Grab a map out of the sign-box before you go. I missed about 4 holes during my round of 18.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Many Tees Improved - Rubberized

2-4    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Chauncher
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rubber mats on most tee boxes now. Very scenic with good mix of holes. Technical holes with lots of glades and elevation changes. Good blend of shaded vs. open holes.
Cons: Lots of Poison Ivy in the summer months.
Some tee boxes are just dirt/gravel (not many)
About half the holes require a spotter for novice tee shots to avoid lost discs.

Hole 16 has a huge Environmental Area along the left of the fairway. Send a spotter down for players that throw left fading shots. The EA devours discs.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fantastically designed course that is well maintained and good for parties. There is a volley ball court here and plenty of parking so you can bring your non-DG playing friends for a day of fun.

Search for Rockburn Elementary on GPS/Google for directions.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great range of shots and pretty scenery

2-4    2/4/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, open, tunnel, up, down. This is a nice place to go for a walk in nature, and then to have DG on top of it is a bonus! Good balance for various skill levels.
Cons: Teepads could be better. Some are slippery or non-existent. Signage on some holes could be more clear.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Potential unrealized

1    8/22/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a secluded park with a mix of grassy fairways bordered by thick rough and some technical wooded shots. There is a mix of hole lengths, with a few chances to air it out and some ace runs. The wooded holes call for mostly straight lines but you'll need to work some left and right turning shots along the way too.

Several holes have nice elevation changes including a couple fun downhill shots and a memorable uphill drive through a gap in an old fence. The old farmhouse is a cool piece of history to play next to. There are multiple pin placements that change things up quite a bit, and the padlock and eyelet system on the tee posts is a clever way to display current pin positions.
Cons: The tees are terrible for the most part. Other than a few improved pads, the tees are rutted out sandy spots that are neither level nor flat. Most have deep enough holes and ruts that you risk twisting your ankle with any kind of run up. The signs look like they were decent at some point, but are in sad shape now. Most are unreadable, and no longer give much useful information making the blind holes a little frustrating. There are a couple spots where navigation is tricky, the course map comes in handy.

Several of the long pin settings seemed a bit silly, like they were just added on to make the course longer and tougher without regard to how discs fly. The rough in some areas gets pretty nasty with lots of thorns and poison ivy, along with thick enough brush that it's easy to lose discs and impossible to use any creativity on recovery shots. There are lots of spots that don't drain well, so many fairways had mud and standing water to contend with.
Other Thoughts: There are some really nice holes here, and it's a pretty good layout overall. The tees and signs really hurt the playability, and the rough and drainage take away from the fun factor somewhat. Most beginners won't enjoy the combination of technical shots and thick rough. More experienced players will find some nice tests of different disc golf skills.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Near BWI

2-4    8/11/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: glenncurtiss
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great location near BWI. Nice layout through multiple use park. Well maintained by park staff cutting grassy areas. Variety of shots required from open grassy to narrow carved fairways. Risk / reward layout. Off the fairway is very thick in places.
Cons: Could use a few more signs for first timers. Used to concrete pads. A few blind shots through multiple use areas look like could be trouble? Had a mountain bike rider go through group on tee - not very polite?
Horse/rider on 18 like they owned the park?
Other Thoughts: Local players fortunate to have the maintenance support from park staff.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Slightly Disappointed

1    8/12/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Jaxon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great mix of open field throws and very narrow wooded target practice throws. Some holes are extremely challenging and rewarding. Also, knowing how and when to roll a show can be very helpful on this course. If I lived near this course, I would play it every day.
Cons: Being a traveler for business, I try to get in as many rounds as possible. I look for courses ranked 3.0 or higher with at least 18 holes. The two biggest cons of this course is signage - far too often, it's just not clear where you need to go to get to the next tee. This was extremely frustrating and I almost walked off without finishing. Other than that, most of the tee were fine gravel or sand. Not a big con, but some tees are pretty much "holes" now and it's was difficult getting footing.
Other Thoughts: If you're a first timer, print and bring the map, otherwise you'll be extremely frustrated if you're note guided by a local. If you have the time, walk the course as some pins you cannot see until you're almost standing next to them (#1, #11 and more!) For instance, I had a great drive (said some locals) on the first hole. From my lie, I could see the pin beyond the next ridge and I knew the hole was one of the longer holes, so I threw a long distance driver. Turned out the pin I laid up next to was the #2 pin and when I walked over that ridge, the #1 pin was right there. I ended up with a 4 on #1 due to not knowing exactly where the pin was.

Otherwise, I'm sure if I was guided, or played with locals, this is probably a pretty good course.

Just a little paint, cement, wood and paper would raise the rating on this course by 1.5 stars, easy.
The grass was trimmed well and the weather was near perfect. But this course needs a single fundraiser tournament where 50% of the proceeds goes towards the improvement of the course. It shouldn't take much. The money and 2-3 volunteers could improve it over two weekends. IMHO.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solitude in Maryland

2-4    6/30/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not far from Baltimore is a place you can go to feel some solitude and play some quality disc golf. Rockburn offers a variety of holes that are all completely unique - no two are alike, and many are memorable. It's challenging mix of grassy open (but hilly fairways and woods, with heavy (and sometimes punishing rough lining the borders). The fairways are reasonable, but errant throws can be punished. Variety of narrow, wide, elevated, left, right and straight.

The little locks on the eyelets that hang on the tee signs indicate what the pin position is (top is A, Middle is B, bottom is C). Nice touch.

Examples:
#6 gives you a slight dogleg left with a choice of an open tunnel to the far right or grove of thin trees that cover the entire left side. Do you play it safe or take your chances?
#9 goes downhill through thick trees, and over a creek with a dogleg right after that. Hit early and you may have a rough approach.
#12 goes up through a narrow opening right by the scenic farmhouse. It emerges into a small orchard- a the long pin is at the end of this orchard. I once saw a fox here (still the only one I've seen in my life).
#13-15 go up and down the same hill around the same farmhouse and are truly enjoyable.

Cons: Yes, the rough can be nasty. It is possible to lose discs out there. But as others have said, the fairways are reasonable, but not for a beginner, unfortunately. I took a newbie (1st timer) here and we played 1-8. Holes after that would be just frustrating.

I really wish they would at least flatten some of the tee pads (the natural ones). They do have a few rubber ones on the back nine which is a nice start.
Other Thoughts: Although navigation is fairly self explanatory, print the map- this will really help in a few spots.

I'm not sure why the First hole is listed as a par 4. It is surely a 3 (though I got a 4 because I plain blew it!). Also, hole 1 is a bit odd for a first hole - it goes blind over a grassy slope and hole #2 pin is the first thing you see (as it sits at the end of #1 fairway). So, a bit confusing and (if the park would allow it) I would change the teepad and plant a couple of trees for challenge (it's by far the weakest hole on the course, by design). As for the others - good show!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.