Disc Golf Store
Elkridge, MD 
Rockburn Branch Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Worth a visit

1    6/22/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: cschu8
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Uphill, downhill, wooded, open, tight fairways, etc... You have to use all of your shots in your bag.
Cons: Easy to get lost, some of the signs are no longer effective. Some of the rough is really rough. A little more maintenance is required.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check it out if you are driving on 95 and looking for a break. It is close to the freeway and the design is really interesting. My favorite part is the section of the course that incorporates some old buildings and downhill holes. Grab a map out of the sign-box before you go. I missed about 4 holes during my round of 18.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Many Tees Improved - Rubberized

2-4    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Chauncher
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rubber mats on most tee boxes now. Very scenic with good mix of holes. Technical holes with lots of glades and elevation changes. Good blend of shaded vs. open holes.
Cons: Lots of Poison Ivy in the summer months.
Some tee boxes are just dirt/gravel (not many)
About half the holes require a spotter for novice tee shots to avoid lost discs.

Hole 16 has a huge Environmental Area along the left of the fairway. Send a spotter down for players that throw left fading shots. The EA devours discs.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fantastically designed course that is well maintained and good for parties. There is a volley ball court here and plenty of parking so you can bring your non-DG playing friends for a day of fun.

Search for Rockburn Elementary on GPS/Google for directions.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great range of shots and pretty scenery

2-4    2/4/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, open, tunnel, up, down. This is a nice place to go for a walk in nature, and then to have DG on top of it is a bonus! Good balance for various skill levels.
Cons: Teepads could be better. Some are slippery or non-existent. Signage on some holes could be more clear.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Potential unrealized

1    8/22/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a secluded park with a mix of grassy fairways bordered by thick rough and some technical wooded shots. There is a mix of hole lengths, with a few chances to air it out and some ace runs. The wooded holes call for mostly straight lines but you'll need to work some left and right turning shots along the way too.

Several holes have nice elevation changes including a couple fun downhill shots and a memorable uphill drive through a gap in an old fence. The old farmhouse is a cool piece of history to play next to. There are multiple pin placements that change things up quite a bit, and the padlock and eyelet system on the tee posts is a clever way to display current pin positions.
Cons: The tees are terrible for the most part. Other than a few improved pads, the tees are rutted out sandy spots that are neither level nor flat. Most have deep enough holes and ruts that you risk twisting your ankle with any kind of run up. The signs look like they were decent at some point, but are in sad shape now. Most are unreadable, and no longer give much useful information making the blind holes a little frustrating. There are a couple spots where navigation is tricky, the course map comes in handy.

Several of the long pin settings seemed a bit silly, like they were just added on to make the course longer and tougher without regard to how discs fly. The rough in some areas gets pretty nasty with lots of thorns and poison ivy, along with thick enough brush that it's easy to lose discs and impossible to use any creativity on recovery shots. There are lots of spots that don't drain well, so many fairways had mud and standing water to contend with.
Other Thoughts: There are some really nice holes here, and it's a pretty good layout overall. The tees and signs really hurt the playability, and the rough and drainage take away from the fun factor somewhat. Most beginners won't enjoy the combination of technical shots and thick rough. More experienced players will find some nice tests of different disc golf skills.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Near BWI

2-4    8/11/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: glenncurtiss
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great location near BWI. Nice layout through multiple use park. Well maintained by park staff cutting grassy areas. Variety of shots required from open grassy to narrow carved fairways. Risk / reward layout. Off the fairway is very thick in places.
Cons: Could use a few more signs for first timers. Used to concrete pads. A few blind shots through multiple use areas look like could be trouble? Had a mountain bike rider go through group on tee - not very polite?
Horse/rider on 18 like they owned the park?
Other Thoughts: Local players fortunate to have the maintenance support from park staff.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Slightly Disappointed

1    8/12/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Jaxon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great mix of open field throws and very narrow wooded target practice throws. Some holes are extremely challenging and rewarding. Also, knowing how and when to roll a show can be very helpful on this course. If I lived near this course, I would play it every day.
Cons: Being a traveler for business, I try to get in as many rounds as possible. I look for courses ranked 3.0 or higher with at least 18 holes. The two biggest cons of this course is signage - far too often, it's just not clear where you need to go to get to the next tee. This was extremely frustrating and I almost walked off without finishing. Other than that, most of the tee were fine gravel or sand. Not a big con, but some tees are pretty much "holes" now and it's was difficult getting footing.
Other Thoughts: If you're a first timer, print and bring the map, otherwise you'll be extremely frustrated if you're note guided by a local. If you have the time, walk the course as some pins you cannot see until you're almost standing next to them (#1, #11 and more!) For instance, I had a great drive (said some locals) on the first hole. From my lie, I could see the pin beyond the next ridge and I knew the hole was one of the longer holes, so I threw a long distance driver. Turned out the pin I laid up next to was the #2 pin and when I walked over that ridge, the #1 pin was right there. I ended up with a 4 on #1 due to not knowing exactly where the pin was.

Otherwise, I'm sure if I was guided, or played with locals, this is probably a pretty good course.

Just a little paint, cement, wood and paper would raise the rating on this course by 1.5 stars, easy.
The grass was trimmed well and the weather was near perfect. But this course needs a single fundraiser tournament where 50% of the proceeds goes towards the improvement of the course. It shouldn't take much. The money and 2-3 volunteers could improve it over two weekends. IMHO.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solitude in Maryland

2-4    6/30/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not far from Baltimore is a place you can go to feel some solitude and play some quality disc golf. Rockburn offers a variety of holes that are all completely unique - no two are alike, and many are memorable. It's challenging mix of grassy open (but hilly fairways and woods, with heavy (and sometimes punishing rough lining the borders). The fairways are reasonable, but errant throws can be punished. Variety of narrow, wide, elevated, left, right and straight.

The little locks on the eyelets that hang on the tee signs indicate what the pin position is (top is A, Middle is B, bottom is C). Nice touch.

Examples:
#6 gives you a slight dogleg left with a choice of an open tunnel to the far right or grove of thin trees that cover the entire left side. Do you play it safe or take your chances?
#9 goes downhill through thick trees, and over a creek with a dogleg right after that. Hit early and you may have a rough approach.
#12 goes up through a narrow opening right by the scenic farmhouse. It emerges into a small orchard- a the long pin is at the end of this orchard. I once saw a fox here (still the only one I've seen in my life).
#13-15 go up and down the same hill around the same farmhouse and are truly enjoyable.

Cons: Yes, the rough can be nasty. It is possible to lose discs out there. But as others have said, the fairways are reasonable, but not for a beginner, unfortunately. I took a newbie (1st timer) here and we played 1-8. Holes after that would be just frustrating.

I really wish they would at least flatten some of the tee pads (the natural ones). They do have a few rubber ones on the back nine which is a nice start.
Other Thoughts: Although navigation is fairly self explanatory, print the map- this will really help in a few spots.

I'm not sure why the First hole is listed as a par 4. It is surely a 3 (though I got a 4 because I plain blew it!). Also, hole 1 is a bit odd for a first hole - it goes blind over a grassy slope and hole #2 pin is the first thing you see (as it sits at the end of #1 fairway). So, a bit confusing and (if the park would allow it) I would change the teepad and plant a couple of trees for challenge (it's by far the weakest hole on the course, by design). As for the others - good show!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A great home course

5+    5/1/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: aussieshs89
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Considering Rockburn my home course, I have played it in many times in a variety of conditions and every pin placement.
This course gives a variety of shots at a with different lengths. Set around a park it makes good use of the elevation change, some open shots, and some wooded shots. It is a great course to get out and play over and over again without really getting bored. The different pin placements really change some of the holes to be much more challenging. For the most part navigation is not a problem (more on this later).
The course really allows you to open up your bag and use all of your discs at some point in time.
Cons: Navigation is a breeze between all of the holes except between 2 and three and 10 and 11. Otherwise the course flows very nicely.
The course lacks a few signature holes. Only number 15 is very memorable with a long down hill shot over a stream into a protected green. The other holes are nice holes but they lack that special feel.
The course can also get some really bad thorns in the summer. It has been better in recent time, but some of the underbrush is very unforgiving and will eat up a disc as well as your legs if you try to retrieve it. There have been many rounds where I watch my disc enter the underbrush but still fail to find it. With some very dense thorns and bushes, an errant disc disappears very quickly.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this course as a drive out of your way just to play, but with so many other great courses around it, it makes a good day of disc golf even better. If you are looking to polish up your play without the thrashings that come at some of the densely wooded course, Rockburn is a great choice.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another good one

5+    4/20/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: Jonnysweetness
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in beautiful Rockburn Park. The course provides a bunch of technical shots, long drives, and tricky puts.

Multiple pin positions available, MACH 5 baskets are in good conditional also.

The course stretches from one side of the massive park to the other. Obsticles of trees, barns, rivers, rolling hills, and well groomed tunnel shots will challenge even the most experienced thrower.

Course is well laid out on the course map next to the parking lot. There are also paper copies of the course available to take with you.

Easy to find, plenty of parking
Cons: The tee pads need a make-over. As in most of my reviews to I am sensitive to this topic. There are a mix of pads on this course. Most are grass, that are dug out, due to use or poor upkeep. Some have built up wooden platforms with faux-grass covering them.
Other Thoughts: With a couple fundraising events the course can either fill in the tees or put in some more permanent. Overall impression of the course is a 'Must Play'

I love this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course!!!

1    3/21/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: BPIdiscDUDE
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -I loved the design on all of the holes!
- basket C on 18 makes a great practice area
-scenery all around the course is great
Cons: -a little hard to navigate without a map, but not that bad
Other Thoughts: The mix of open and wooded holes on the course is just to my liking!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.