Elkridge, MD 
Rockburn Branch Share
Uploaded By: Greg Boyer Hole #6
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >
 Variety is the spice of life

5+    11/7/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2010
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pin locations
Plenty of parking
Warm-up area, Practice basket
Close to amenities

Recently added signs at each tee, and direction arrows at each basket.

6/12/09 Update
Each hole now has an indicator for the current basket position. Sign at tee #6 directing players to holes 3-5. Van selling discs and drinks at parking lot most afternoons and evenings.
Cons: Single, dirt tee locations

Between the tall grass, trees/leaves, bushes, and water, the chance of losing a disc is high

Given the number of sticker bushes, the chance of being scratched is nearly 100%! :-O The abundance of poison ivy is no fun, either.

Holes 3-5, 7 can be difficult to find for a first-time visitor. To find #3, walk past 6's tee and to the left. To find #7, look for the small path right through the woods, not the broad path straight ahead.
Other Thoughts: This course is loads of fun, with plenty of challenges.

Want water? Yup, a bit of that. Uphill? Check. Downhill? Sure. Around hill? Uh-huh. An(hyzer)? Low ceiling? Narrow woods? Guarded baskets? This course has it all!

Favourite hole(s): #13-15. This downhill, uphill, downhill combination is quite scenic and away from the bulk of the park users. The A-positions all say "birdie me", while the C-positions pose quite the challenge.

Most difficult hole(s) for me: #4C/#10C - I'm thrilled when I (rarely) manage to score a '3' on them. #4C, is a throw around the side of a slope, the second shot typically being a slight anhyzer towards a basket sitting in the woods. #10C is a throw up a hill, with brush on both sides, and at the back - with a large tree looming directly in front of you. Assuming you make it to the top, the longish second shot will be down a narrowing clearing to a basket tucked slightly to the right

WARNING: The above evaluation contained home-course bias, in case you couldn't tell! :-)

I feel so fortunate to live within 5 minutes of Rockburn. In 30 minutes or less I can be at Patapsco, Druid, or Calvert, and in 45 minutes or less I can be at Seneca, Middletown, Heritage, Woodsboro, Pine Grove, or Goucher. What a great location for a disc golf enthusiast!

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

5+    11/1/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2014
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brand new tees and tee signs with pin indication. Excellent variety of shots, elevation, water hazards. Scenic views. Nice long 18 holes. Recently cleared a lot brush. Challenging course.
Cons: Not hard to lose a disc, but its getting better! Not a beginner course! Do not want to get caught in the woods after sundown cause you can't see anything.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses and happens to be the closest to me. I have chuck and run(speed golf) this course in 30 min. Typically takes just over an hour with two people playing regularly. Hole 15 is my fav!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 nice break from the super-shorts

2-4    10/12/2008   10/12/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: interesting painted signs.Moisture can make them hard to read at times. Course has great variety; elevation, water (not deep enough to lose discs), woods, etc. Course is reminiscent of some of my favorites, but the hard to find baskets damper the experience.
*a new system is inplace to indicate the pin position, a lock placed on a small ring labeled A, B or C.
Course features a coupls nice tunnel shots.

Several signature holes require shot creativity and risk.
Cons: Natural tees vary in quality. Arrows to guide you to the next basket stop after the second basket. Chance of disc loss on several holes. Thorns are a nuisance, but not like Giles Run. Lots of time spent looking for baskets, Bring a map!
Other Thoughts: Take these notes with you:
Hole 1 starts you off shooting blind over a hill with tall grass and thorns on both sides of a wide open area. After hole 2 make sure you pass hole 6 and go towards the playground. After hole 6 take a small trail to your right to hole 7.

If you have a disc retriever, it may be worth bringing. Spotters are well worth the few moments that it will slow your rotation down.

Porto-potties by the playground. Not a lot of shade so bring sunscreen and bug spray. Check yourself for ticks afterwards.

*edit: as long as the grass remains cut on hole one and the signage is maintained i would say this course has improved from a 3.5 to a 4.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    0/0/0000   9/30/2008
Review By: harpsm
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes - every one is unique.
Good use of terrain - there are big uphill and downhill shots, tight doglegs, holes playing across creeks, open fields, and woods.
Course is well-maintained, in my experience.
Rotating pin positions.
Good flow between holes, though signage is limited so first-timers should bring a map.
Free play.
Cons: Dirt and gravel tees are sometimes in poor condition.
Only one tee position per hole.
Signage is pretty poor.
Other Thoughts: The holes at Rockburn Branch are long and fairly challenging, and thick brush along some holes ensures that smart shots are rewarded and bad shots are penalized. The course hasn't been crowded at all when I've visited, and the course is mostly away from other park areas so there's no conflict with other visitors. The course could use an organized cleanup effort - beer bottles and trash litter many holes (C'mon people - there are trash and recycling containers in the park - clean up after yourselves!). Seneca Creek is the best course in the DC-Baltimore area, in my opinion, but Rockburn offers enough unique play to make it worth a visit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I Like Rockburn More Each Time I Play It

11/22/2007   3/6/2008
Review By: John Merhi
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 26.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very challenging course with great shot variety needed. Every shot in your bag will be tested here. Lots of great elevation. A scenic and very pretty course. A very dedicated and great local crew of disc golfers make Rockburn a great place to play. The best Chili Cook-off Ice Bowl Tournament in the WORLD.
Cons: Briars, briars, briars, and more briars. Briars EVERYWHERE. Park management does not allow for large scale removal of briars nor will they allow permanent tee pads. Baskets for Holes 1 and 2 share the same green and depending on pin placement can be as close as 30 feet apart. One of the baskets on the back 9 is in the middle of a large rock outcropping. If you miss your putt, your putter will bear the marks. Hole #3 has a tot playground on the right side within easy reach of a yanked righty hyzer. Not much directional signage. If you've never played here before, you won't find the holes without a course map.
Other Thoughts: The more I play Rockburn, the more I want to play Rockburn. By any metric, it's a really good course although Park management has mandated fundamental flaws, most noticeably, all the briars. For me, I hate briars with a passion so that skews my opinion of Rockburn. I'm also not fond of dirt tees. The briars and dirt tees prevent this course from reaching it's full potential but it's still a must play. IMHO, it's the 4th best course in Maryland, behind Patapsco, Seneca, and Druid Hill

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rockburn

6/22/2006   1/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2008
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great shot variety required; hyzer, anhyzer, over obstacle, up hills, down hills, etc. You must a complete bag of shots too shoot well here. Long pins are different enough from shorts that it's not just length for length's sake.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Maryland. You have to throw everything you have if you want to shoot par or better.
The natural tee pads can get tore up pretty badly late in the season, but I know Parks Dept. won't allow for concrete though. And the thorns can be killer in the summer, but it just requires you to stay in the fairway.
My favorite hole is #15 which is a remarkable hole; off a steep ledge, down across a field, into the woods, over a creek to a pin set back amongst old growth trees and boulders.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in MD, IMHO

12/8/2007   12/8/2007
Review By: Greg Boyer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best mix of holes of the 20+ courses I've played:hyzers, anhyzers, obstacles, etc. Basket placement can really change the character of some of them. Besides 15, 9 is also totally unique-flat and then down a huge hill by the creek. Basket pins are on either side of creek and either way it's a fun shot. Wooded back nine is nice on a hot MD summer day.
Cons: Lots of opportunities to lose discs if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: Great course but probably not the best for beginners.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem Among Great Mid-Atlantic Courses

2-4    7/23/2005   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course with wide variety of landscape and challenges.
Other Thoughts: This course is long and varied, and well worth checking out. Located just south of Baltimore, Rockburn Branch is set on a county park that was a farm not too, too long ago. The course plays around open fields, across a creekbed, and deep into the woods, leading to as good a variety as any course I've played.

Like Patapsco Valley, this course is much longer than other courses I've played, but with only a couple of exceptions that just makes the course more fun. It seems like the real deal - a good drive, a good, long approach, a decent putt if you're lucky, a short approach if you aren't. And the length applies to all the different holes, woods, hazards, or mostly open, they're all long. The individual hole layouts are great, with tee and pin placements well considered. The course as a whole can be hard to follow, however, and I highly recommend taking a map before you go play. The teepads are natural, but there are multiple basket placements. The signature hole is #15, down a long hill, across a field, and then back across a creek and into the woods, 500 feet or more total. But I loved most every hole, and look forward to playing here again.

Favorite Hole - #15 - long, long shot down steep hill from tee next to old farmhouse, across wide field, to basket set just over a stream about 40 feet inside the tree line.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.