Fayetteville, NC 
Arnette Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #18 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / --   3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun but a bit repetitive.

1    2/20/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 56  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty good use of the terrain. Someone has blown the leaves off a strip down the middle of every fairway, which was interesting. The back nine especially has some fun holes where you have to play around some big ravines and other elevation. #13 was probably the most fun, but was very wet when we played.
Cons: Quite repetitive. Front nine was especially boring.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad use of some baskets. Would come back if I was in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fair Play

1    11/22/2013   11/25/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice course is probably the best stop along I-95 for a long way. Most players should be able to stop and play and fairly quick, fairly challenging round that brings a lot o what is good about North Carolina discing with a few twists of its own.

The first nine holes stretch across a very flat space though the amount of trees along the fairways keep the holes from being simple. Very much in the Carolina tradition, the first half of this course boasts very tight fairways in a nice design, with appropriate disc golf fairways. There is no real rough, which I consider a plus when I'm getting off the highway to play a quick round, but if you go off the fairway, you will find that your fair line no longer exists. Play the lines appropriately and you will see birdie chances and tap in pars. But that is "par" for the course in Carolina.

What's unique about these holes is a factor that I'm not sure applies year-round. I could see some of these holes being navigation nighmaresat times, with little in the way of permanent navigation aid. But at least in the fall, when I played, a path was swept along the course. Yes, someone had gone to the trouble to sweep all of the leaves in a 3-foot wide path from one tee, along the fairway to the basket and then to the next tee. Very much appreciated. Very much helped in making the round go smoothly.

After 11, the course ventures further from the park and some elevation is encountered. A few of the holes play along a sweet crevice, which means that while the hole itself doesn't really feature elevation change, there is nice danger zone to add some challenge to the throw.

The jewel of the course is 13. The tee is on the edge of a valley, and the throw is a sweeping right dogleg across the valley floor. With the right line, the flight on this hole will be beautiful. And in other testament to the maintenance here, there are little steps carved to get you down, and then later back up from the depression. The other memorable hole is 17, a straight gutshot, slightly uphill through a narrow gap with the hole slightly to the right.

The hole park is very nice and the early holes have been done well to keep away from other park activities and the late holes are very secluded in an enjoyable woodsy setting.
Cons: I did mention how the navigation might not always be great without constantly sweeping the path? Well the last few holes illustrated that. The first point of confusion comes after hole nine, when after following the path the entire time to that point, they trick you. The path leads from the 9 basket to the 10 basket. This was the first of several backtracks on the back nine.

Later on there are points where either; there is no swept path or there are multiple paths leading away from the basket. There are some next tee signs, but oddly, they are often not encountered until one or two route decisions have already been made. I'm glad to be notified that I've made the right choice but I'd prefer to be notified of the correct route before I start choosing at random.

At these times of confusion, the map is uselessly vague, and I found that choosing a path by picking the one that seemed like it headed in the direction the map wanted me to go was a 50-50 proposition.

And while the fairway design is mostly good, there are also a few plinko holes on both nines. Not many, but a few. The first bunch of holes could be repetitive and they're very flat. All-together, it's not the most challenging or inspring course.
Other Thoughts: It's not a destination course. But it's a good course, and it's just a mile from the highway. In my opinion, it's the best course close to 95 between Savannah and at Rocky Mount.(Haven't played in Rocky Mount so it could be further) Definitely worth a stop for travelers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Get Tight

1    9/18/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Overall it's what I call a city park type course that has very tight lines. By city park course I mean there's not really any undergrowth or fairways defined by a solid wood line. However unlike most courses of this type the trees are not spaced very far apart and the lines are very tight.

You'll need to be able to work a disc through early and late gaps to score well. Some holes make you shape lines left to right in a bigger way but for the most part it's straighter lines where you're bending the disc a bit early or moving it a direction late towards the pin.

There's two tees and multiple basket positions on some holes. When I played most of the baskets were in the longs and these were extremely hard to get to because it forced you to work a disc through tight gaps 300' down the fairway.

Elevation comes in to play towards the end of the course and to me this was the best part of the course. There more exciting basket positions on this part of the course due to some crevices and quick but shorter drop offs around greens.

From the looks of the shorter pins it appeared those holes would be much more deucable with less late trouble. I pulled out my fairway driver a lot more on this course than I usually do on holes in the 320' range just because you had to laser beam the disc while working it.

Course flows decently, if you don't have the map it might take you a second to spot the next pad but it's not hard to figure out.

Equipment - The long pads are concrete or ashpault, flat and plenty big for me. Nice and wide how I like em'. There's benches on every hole and trashcans throughout. There's a kiosk at hole 1 with a course map and scorecards that have the correct distances for holes and a course map on the back.

Atmosphere - It's an older park but still in good condition. You play through a piney area that is between the road, some fields and picnic areas. The course does a decent job of keeping you far enough away from all these areas.
Cons: Layout - My biggest problem with the layout I played was that the longer pins really turn the holes in to tweeners. It would be very hard to deuce them but not overly difficult to par out because of the lack of true rough.

To me a lot of the holes have to much late trouble where it's hard to see the tight line you have to hit from the pad. You can hit the first 80% of a fairway and then work the disc the right way but still hit a tree 30' from the basket.

A lot of the holes kinda blend together on the front 9. Most of the holes are straighter and there's not a ton of variety in the terrain and hole type.

Most of the course is flat until you get to the end.

A few holes are closer to the park road although I don't think it poses that big of a problem.

Sometimes the flow isn't all that great, you backtrack a few times and there's one part (12&15) where without the map it can be confusing as to which hole comes next.

Equipment - The tee signs are old and no longer list the correct distance. They only really help you with which hole you're on. There's no map of the hole which on some would be helpful so make sure you grab a scorecard/map at the beginning.

The baskets are older and probably in need of a new paint job to make them brighter and cover up all the graffiti on them.

The short pads are stumps painted yellow. They're hard to see and the pad areas are natural and often are unlevel or have roots in them.

Atmosphere - It's an aging park and the course is experiencing some erosion. It's not a nice looking wooded course but it's not ugly either. You definitely don't get the secluded feeling I prefer in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I think the layout is solid but nothing special. If you like tight lines that really challenge your ability to move the disc early and late this is a good course to play.

I think some of the longer pins need rethinking because to me it would seem the course would play with more fun if some holes were more deucable; I took a lot of threes.

Overall I think it's the best course out of the four I played in Fayetteville.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/14/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
This is one of the "cleaner" more well kept courses in the area. Most of the baskets have been moved back to the far positions, which adds to the difficulty of the course. Navigation is pretty easy, little confusion on hole 12&15 (I'll address that later)
All Concrete tee pads

FRONT NINE
HOLE 1: Long Tunnel shot that curves to the right. You'll see a path that takes up almost back up the fairway to get to the second tee.
HOLE 2: Narrow Tunnel that opens up a little. The close basket position plays straight ahead and the far basket has a slight left bend (I'd call it a par4 when it's in the long position)
HOLE 3: Follows the road (S-curves through the trees, you can throw out over the road when the basket is in the long position. The tee pad for 4 is to the left of the basket.
HOLE 4: Short, tree lined tunnel shot that bends hard left at the end, it requires accuracy and control. But one of the easier holes on the course.
HOLE 5: Straight shot, through a somewhat narrow tunnel, in the long position you have to putt over a ditch that may fill up with water during the summer, I'm not sure. The tee pad for 6 is to the left of basket 5.
HOLE 6: Not sure if there's a MANDO on this hole, but the basket is slightly to the left, it's tough to see from the tee. Lots of trees to ricochet off. The tee for 7 is across the road.
HOLE 7: Shallow curve to the right, you throw over a small bridge. You can also throw over the road again. The basket is back in a cut out in the woods.
HOLE 8: One of the best holes on the course when the basket is in the long position. The basket is 6' off the ground, AWESOME change of pace. In the close basket position it's a straight shot that bends to the right, sort of tucked behind some trees.
HOLE 9: Narrow, Tightly Wooded "Straight Shot", there's a couple ways you can attack this basket, a good tee shot is extremely necessary, to set you up for a good approach. To get to #10 tee pad walk across the bridge.

BACK NINE
HOLE 10: Straight Shot that parallels a small creek on the right. The basket is tucked between a couple trees. The tee pad for #11 is to the left of basket 10. (THIS HOLE WILL TAKE YOU BACK TO THE PARKING LOT)
HOLE 11: Starts out straight and then bends around the little creek/drainage system. You can throw out over the road here as well.
-The next tee pad is for hole 15, you have to follow the sign and keep walking parallel to the road to get to tee 12.
HOLE 12: Deceivingly challenging, Straight tunnel shot that opens up halfway to the hole. It really helped now that they cleared out some of the brush and shrubs around the fairway.
HOLE 13: BEST HOLE ON THE COURSE- Throw from the top of a 100ft.+ hill. In the close basket position, you'll empty your bag trying to get an ACE. In that far position, the basket is halfway up a small hill. There are some trees in the fairway that force you to go left or right around them, but the area is wide open once you're down there. To get to the tee pad for 14, turn around (the tee pad for 13 will be on your right) follow the path to the left and back up the hill.
HOLE 14: Split fairway so you have to choose a line to the right or left. The basket is at the top of the hill (you can see it from #12 tee pad).
HOLE 15: Long shot that ends slightly to the right. In the close position the basket is almost surrounded by trees, but in the far position you have to putt to a basket with a 50' drop off behind it, it's a good mind-F.
HOLE 16: Straight Ahead when the basket is in the close position and the far basket pretty much parallels the drop off to the right, don't want to end up down there. The basket is towards the bottom of the hill.
HOLE 17: Uphill shot that curves left at the end. Need to be accurate on the drive, you really don't want to end up off the fairway. Take a right when you get to the basket to get to the tee pad for 18.
HOLE 18: Narrow tee shot because of the two trees, with a big drop off on the right. Very possible to end with a birdie.
Cons:
One of the biggest cons has to do with the signage (not so much with the signage on the tee pads). There's no SIGNS for getting to hole 1. It's basically between the baseball field and the little kids park. The first time I played we had to ask someone in the office. There's a board with course info but you can only see it from hole #1.
Other Thoughts:

I really like that this course is well maintained and taken care of pretty much year round. The signage is good, I can understand why they don't have pictures because the hole positions change. With the basket in the far positions it's a much tougher course. Lots of trees, but overall it's a good course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/9/2013   1/17/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate once you get started. 2 playgrounds for the kids. Baseball fields. Your vehicle is in view for most of the course.
Cons: Seasonal Decorations are placed in the middle of the fairways, and the course staff is very lazy to take them down. Causing sever interference with your drive's of the tee. Leaves are some what out of control these days so pay attention and remember the area that your disc lands in, to reduce searching times.
Other Thoughts: Good course to get out to, close to the house and work and does not require much time to play through it alone or with a friend/significant other.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesomeness!!

2-4    12/29/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: pkbeast
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing area for a course. CRAZY topographic changes. Awesome ravines in and around the holes, and a great family atmosphere at the park! The baskets were a bit used, but hey, thats what they are there for! Hole 13 I believe was the nicest hole ive ever seen. Massive bomb off a 100ft tall hill down into the valley below. The course was wrapped WIDE around the park, no chance to catch an errant disc in the face, well marked and good t-pads. The park officer was a friendly guy who pointed us in the right direction. Awesomeness. Id recommend this before Maz park any day. We played both today and this one took the cake. Plenty of trash cans, benches, and bathrooms. great parking. easy to find!
Cons: No cons really. Some deep leaves in places on the front nine where one might lose a disc, keep an eye on them, but aside from that and a few of the baskets being bent up, it was great!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two courses

5+    11/18/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 225  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Benches on every hole.

Easy to navigate from hole to hole

Holes 10 & 13-18 are Excellent. They bring elevation into play and seem to be part of a different course than the rest #13 is a downhill ace run that will make you want to empty your bag throwing at it and is one of my favorite holes to play.

Pin placement on 15 when it is in the long position is just plain cruel and I love it! it sits on a land peninsula only feet from a drop off on 3 sides. It brings a whole new meaning to "death Putt"

The atmosphere of the park its waaaayyy better than Mazerick
Cons: All of the other holes are kinda boring. Just flat shots through tight fairways(that border on unfair at some times.)

The distance on the tee-signs are inaccurate in some cases(a local told me that the pins have been moved since the original layout on some holes)

The tee-pads themselves are very short and raised which makes run-ups awkward and a follow through could lead to injury.

very few trashcans.

The locals have been moving the pins all over the place so the signs are inaccurate and you never know what course youre gonna be playing. Im not a fan of many of the new positions.

There are short tees(played several times before I heard about them) however they are natural and only marked by cut off stumps that are painted yellow on top. Many of these tees are filled with exposed roots which make them almost to much of a hazard to play. Also some are really hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Due to the greatness(in my eyes at least) of the last few holes I decided to bump this one up to a 2.5 While the early course is boring and deserves a 2 it sure does surprise you as you get to the end and you come up to these really nice holes that look like there from a completely different course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fayetteville's Best?

1    2/8/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Good: Holes 13-18. Those holes seem like they were plucked from Reedy Creek except slightly smaller. Super fun holes with delightful elevation change, craftily placed baskets (hole #15 for example), and clearly defined fairways through old growth trees. The back 9 (really back 6) play more away from the park and into a more secluded and decidedly more pretty area of the woods.

The tees are large, fairly smooth, and level although some were decidedly higher than the ground. Tee signs were handy and available on most holes, complete with hole #, distance, and little hooks for holding your bag. Occasionally you'll run into a bench. Next tee signs help with navigational difficulties.
Cons: The Bad: Holes 1-12. They're not technically bad holes, they're just decidedly outclassed by the last 6. These are mostly tight, wooded holes but for the most part they're tough but fair. The fairways are well defined and actually appear to be raked free of leaves. Even if you get kicked off course, b/c these holes are in an old park, the rough isn't bad at all and most Intermediate level players shouldn't have too much trouble saving par.

The course suffers from "slightly" disease, especially the first 12 holes. Every hole is seemingly either slightly left or slightly right w/o a great deal of L-R or distance variety, so as far as game play goes, it feels kind of monotonous.

Finding hole #1 is tricky. The first basket you see pulling into the park is #3, continue towards the first big park and lot behind the ball fields and then back track past the 2 playgrounds; hole#1 is right beside the 2nd playground.

Several holes seemed significantly longer than the distance listed on the sign, hole #12 is a prime example. #12 is easily the worst hole also, b/c it's an anny/FH hole with very potential for collateral damage if your disc doesn't hold its line and sails across the very near park sidewalk, road, and if you really rip it, the parking lot/ball field.

Some erosion on the back 13, especially #13 and #14, they'd be wise to put in some wooden steps to stave off further wear on the slopes b/w those holes. Hole #13 is potentially muddy/flooded if the course has seen a lot of rain lately.
Other Thoughts: Wow, this course starts kind of slow and painful like an overcomplicated Bach fugue and then climaxes into a wonderful symphony like Vivaldi or Mozart. It's really striking how much it feels like 2 different courses, you're almost angry at the course for holding out on you after you start playing the back 6.

At any rate, I thought Arnette was decidedly better, or at least more fun, than Mazarick. Mazarick is like a greatest hits album of a band you sort of like, Arnette is like your favorite band's best album, mostly full of forgettable songs but makes up for it with some all-time classics you can't get out of your head.

Signature/favorite hole: Tie b/w #13 and #15. #13 is the big eye opener, a short but steep downhill bomb perfect for floating in putters at the basket just begging to be aced. #15 gets a mention b/c it has length (over 350', yea!) and a fantastic pin placement, on a peninsula of earth jutting over the steep creek side. Blow by this basket by 15' or more and you're climbing down 15' into the (mostly shallow if not dry) creek.

Course comparison: First 12: Flatter, straighter version of OT Sloan, or shorter Hillcrest before all the trees were chopped down. Back 6: Slightly miniaturized Reedy Creek.

Considering the tees, the signs, the less walking b/w holes, the fantastic final 6 holes, and b/c it's in a decidedly less seedy area, Arnette gets my nod for best course in Fayetteville.

The duck appears to fly at midnight, especially on the back 6.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The First 12 Holes Arenít It

2-4    6/20/2010   1/31/2011
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Every hole is in the trees, so if you come here you'd better like tight woods courses. Accuracy and control are essential.

Design:
*Terrain- the back 9 has some valleys, gullies, hills, and ravines.
*Hole 13 is a fun, scenic, downhill ace run to a small valley surrounded by trees.
*On the back 9 some basket positions are precariously placed on hill crests to add considerable risk and interest.

Basics:
*Navigation- there are some next tee arrows
*Lost disc potential is low; even thought the courses is all in the trees there isn't much underbrush, so there are only a few places where you might lose a disc

Amenities:
*Bag holders on every hole are a nice touch
*Score card and course map available online, but it's very basic. It does the job, but it's nothing fancy.
*Benches- some scattered around
*Bathrooms- not too far from the course, near the park entrance.
Cons:
Design:
-Elevation changes are limited. The first 12 holes are totally flat. 13 Flat/ 3 Up/ 2 Down.
-Terrain variety is minimal. 18 Woods holes. The front 9 holes are almost all the same so it feels repetitive and hard to distinguish the holes. Some of the holes are overly tight. On the back 9 there's a little more variety but they're all wooded too.
-Length variety is limited. 1<199/ 11 of 200-299/ 6 of 300-385. There are a few longer holes, but mostly they feel pretty similar.
-Hole 1 was just a little tricky to find. It's a bit of a walk from the parking lot.

Basics:
-Tee signs: very basic with length only. Many of the lengths are incorrect so use the score card lengths instead.
-Tees: too short, and I didn't think the black asphalt is the greatest material
-Baskets: many have gotten kind of old
-Navigation: tees 3 and 6 are hard to find. Baskets 6 and 16 aren't seen from the tee so need scouting.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)

~Fairway shapes favor lefthanders with 10 holes dogleg right. 6 St/ 2 Left/ 10 Right.
~Short tees: there are shorter tees marked by yellow circles (the tops of cylinders). Most of them are just on the same line, just shorter, so not much is really added to the course. Only beginners would ever use them.

I enjoyed holes 13-18 the most. The first 12 holes are too flat, too tight, and too repetitive for my taste. For the course my overall enjoyment was below average, so there's not that much to draw me back. I wouldn't make a special trip to play here, and if I was in Fayetteville I'd play Mazarick first. But if I happened to be driving by on I-95, and I couldn't get over to Mazarick, I'd probably just play the back 9.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

~My more detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant surprise

1    11/6/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a large park with picnic tables, grills and playgrounds. Very simple navigation. Never had a problem finding a tee pad. The only one that was a little counter-intuitive was 18, but if you print the map and scorecard it makes it very easy. Good tee pads on every hole. Signs with tee pad number and distances. However, it is obvious that the distances on the sign are not correct. Use the scorecard distances.

Course starts out being a pretty basic course through some pines with no undergrowth. Some tightly wooded fairways up to 372' long. No open bombs, just basic disc golf. You really need to have some control to get birdies. No real easy shots. But nothing that will overly punish you due to the lack of undergrowth. After you cross the road, and move into the back 9, the course really get a little more character. The lines get tighter, and your errant shots will hurt you more. The woods are thicker, there is some OB, including a barb-wire fence. And there are ditches, gullies and a small ravine. Baskets are positioned in a few spots that add some risk to your upshots. Miss, and down the gulley you go. Hole length varies, but you do have a few holes over 300', with one almost at 400'. this is no pitch and putt.

This course also has a good mix of straight shots, lefts and rights.
Cons: Almost no elevation. One hole does tee off a small hill, but that is about it. Maybe a slight uphill in a spot or two, but nothing that will greatly affect your shots.

It is all wooded. No wide open shots for you to throw those long distance drivers.

Not any signature holes that you will be bragging about for a week.

Only one tee pad per hole. There are some yellow markers for shorts, but they aren't worth playing.
Other Thoughts: Just a nice solid course. I wasn't expecting a whole bunch based on earlier reviews, but I would definitely play this course again if I am in the Fayetteville area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.