Santa Fe, NM 
Ashbaugh Park Share
Uploaded By: KDFrosty Hole #9 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Where I learned how to play

5+    6/23/2001   11/23/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.5 Years
Pros: This course is great for learning how to throw a disc. This was the only course in SF at the time I started playing. I really learned throwing technique here. The back half of the course has some great shots that are challenging but also fun. Open field on the first half is great for practicing drives, most baskets have bushes around them so you need to shoot around obstacles.
Cons: Course layout is hard to find and signage is almost nonexistent. I haven't played there is years but I can't imagine they have done much maintenance seeing as how it's rated a 1.6. Arroyo on the left is a disc magnet and you can lose discs here; the brush is way overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I can;t help but like this course but it is hard to play. I usually use the first half (big field) to pick out a basket and practice on. The bottom half is more fun and challenging. Not the best course in SF but one to play none-the-less. Enjoy!

Not worth playing

1    1/2/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: giles
Played: 147  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: This isn't what I would typically call a course. It is a flat, 300'x500' rectangular park with 5 unmarked baskets set around the perimeter, 3 in the corners and 2 in the middle of the long sides. Several unmarked tee pads can be also found along the outside edge of the park. Some trees and bushes are also on the perimeter leaving the center of the field open. It is bordered by a neighborhood along one of the longs side. This means all shot only need to avoid either the left or right side of the fairway. I only found one marked tee pad but I think the idea is that you can play from any one of the tee pads (rubber mat or worn dirt) to any one of the 5 baskets. It looks like the design has many tee pads placed in the flight line of the previous hole.
I would not recommend any traveling player stop here even though it is located on the typical rout through town. It would be a good place to teach someone how to play or would make a fantastic practice facility.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Is Not Feeling Very Well!

1    3/28/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front section of the park has baskets and plays around the perimiter of a green lawn. It's managable. The baskets are in good shape. That's a pretty decent start for a course.
Cons: When you pass the center parking area, things start to go south in a hurry. I think Teepad # 5 has been disrupted by some kind of construction of a new walking trail leaving you with a 200 ft. throw with the basket standing about 3 feet from the fence. The signs that are left each have about 3-4 distances or basket placements but I doubt if baskets have been changed on this course in years. There are no teepads. It's impossible to follow. It's currently like playing in a scrubby vacant lot with six random baskets. Maybe if you're desperate, you could play a round of safari.
Other Thoughts: Someone needs to step up here in a big way and perform a major overhaul. It could maybe be turned into a adequate little 9 hole recreational course. Don't try to squeeze any more than 9 holes. In my rating system, a 1 means, I would not be returning to play it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fun cool course

2-4    6/19/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: there are alot of fun shots that change up alot there are some far holes and short holes there are 9 holes but play 18 with diffrent teepads there are alot of diffrent pin locations
Cons: there are gophers the so get some flee replent cause u do not want to get thopse diseases that those things have there are ni teepads but if u get a course map from the links page then u can find your way around there are some bums out there
Other Thoughts: play st johns and arryo chamsio they are pretty close by each other

i have aced hole 8B witha pro boss on 6/10/10
for my 16th ace and i aced 7a super short on 7/17/10 with a champ coyote for my 18th ace

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Another bummer in Santa Fe

1    9/14/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There's still baskets there. Where there is a basket I will go. I took a beginner with me. He got hooked. Lots of those cute little prairie dogs walking around in and out of their holes. Great place for a beginner.
Cons: Poorly maintained if at all. Sad. Hardly any way of telling where to go next. Somebody who lives there, please fix it up.
Other Thoughts: If you are just passing through, play "arroyo chamisos" Instead.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ashbaugh Park needs help

2-4    11/29/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: tick
Played: 187  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The original layout has a goodmix of right, left, long and short. A local explained to me how they sometimes might play alternate tees to play 18 or more holes. There is plenty of potential for a good neighborhood recreational level (Red) course. There are 12 Mach 3 baskets in the park!
Cons: The course appears to have had virtually no maintainance for years. There were no maps in the box, and the phone number at the box got me a "wrong number" response. The front 150 feet of the park where tee #1 used to be is now a fenced off construction zone. Hole #3 goes across the playing (practice soccer?) field so it cannot be played when the field is in use. There are only a very few old DGA tee signs for directions and substantial changes to the park's foliage make finding one's way around pretty hard.
Other Thoughts: This park needs a disc golfer who will make the effort to spruce it up - mark tees, make a map, etc. It would really only take a few hours a month. It could be turned into a nice course pretty easily, but the park department is obviously not doing it!
I'm back on Sept. 30 2010, and I can only find the four baskets on the front side. All the rest have been removed and there is some kind of trail building going on in the back part.
Checking in July, 2011: Baskets are back in for the back side. The map on this site is new to me and I HIGHLY recommend printing and using it. I don't believe it is true to the current layout, but it gives some badly needed clues! Also, there were disc golfers out playing, which I had never seen before. So things are definitely improving for Ashbaugh park.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.