Aspen, CO 
Aspen Mountain Share
Uploaded By: Payntar  
Elevation Profile



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not for me.

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: gravitysesh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery.
Cons: Crappy pads. Poor design on some holes- tee pads in the middle of other fairways! It's more like hiking than playing disc. 20 bucks for the lift ticket.
Other Thoughts: This course would be okay to play if you were already at the top of the mountain looking for something to do. A buddy of mine and I drove 3 hours to get there and spent the 3 hour drive home being p*ssed off about the crappy course! Don't make a special trip to Kiss the Sky, but if you're already there... check it out.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Top of the World

5+    7/1/2007   4/27/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 73  Reviewed: 12
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another Epic Colorado Mountain Course. On top of Aspen and billed the highest course in the world. Many amazing golf shots. Definite mountain terrain - dont go there expecting it to be easy. This is where the condition of the player is part of their ability to play well. If you are not in good shape go somewhere else. If you are fit, you will be rewarded with an amazing course with amazing views. The Elk Mountain Range is breathtaking and you are looking across at them not up at them.
Hole 11 is called Kiss it Goodbye and it is truly a test of touch - not that its short, but you gotta do it just right. During Kiss the Sky tournament, the EXTREME holes are added and the BIG "Kiss it Goodbye" is in effect.
Last time I played it I took an Altimeter and 200 ft tape. It is 790 ft. Long and drops 255 vertical feet. Cliff on left and protection on right. look for it on Videos from Johnny B (Supershots, Hotshots, and Cool Shots)
When you see this hole, your going to want to play here....Guaranteed
Cons: Tee Pads are terrible. no effort is ever put into making them like in Steamboat Springs. Rocky and very uneven.
Other Thoughts: For the hearty Soul with a high clearance vehicle, it is legal to drive up the service road on the face of Aspen Ski Area. This is an awesome journey all by itself. Pair it with the opportunity to access the course before and after the mountain is open and you will have the place to yourself. The Gondola turns off at 4 pm and that means that you have the course and the mountain to yourself all the way through dark. At 11,000+ ft. that means 9:30pm. After playing, drive out the ridgeline and get all the free camping you can handle. You will see why Aspen is the real deal.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Kiss the Sky...Kiss my A$$

1    7/20/2003   12/23/2008
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You can play with the Resort's beat up discs for free. The view is pretty dramatic. Some cool holes. I parked the Kiss the Sky shot but missed the putt. Bummer. A few very long downhill drives. A couple punishing uphill shots.
Cons: I drove to Aspen to play this course. Ouch! Expensive gondola ride. Expensive Food. Where you are met by a lot of foot traffic. Tourists, kids, people enjoying the splendor of the top of the mountain and your some weirdo throwing plastic around and through the crowds. Not a big fan of the lets give the sport exposure idea because in these public places I found myself irritated and angry and the public angy and confused with me. Not sure that promotes the game. The course despite its location is pretty bland except for maybe 6 holes. The others are more filler or slapped up for the season. Boring essentially. When the course is boring and your annoyed by spending money and so much traffic. Bad Karma. Also you never feel like your playing on a disc golf course. With the gondola and the ski lifts interrupting the sky so often. I was more than ready to finish my round. By the way I was really trying to enjoy myself.
Other Thoughts: The mountain is nice but like many wonders of nature too many tourists spoiling the moment. Imagine any of our wonders with a disc golf course present. Niagra Falls, Grand Canyon, Badlands, Banff and now imagine the course is built where all the tourists congregate. Instant buzzkill. If the course was maybe a short hike from the gondola lift and played through some woods and then used some of the slopes rather than insisting on beginning and ending at the lifts I might have been less disappointed. The temporary nature of the course makes it seem haphazzard, like an afterthought. I like courses that are a few people's labor of love and not some corporate moneymaker.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Breath-taking views

1    8/28/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: smokescreen247
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Aspen Mountain has wonderful views of the rockies. Nice and Challanging. You really have to work for a good score
Cons: With the high elevation I had trouble catching my breath. The ground is very rough and rocky. Be in good physical shape for the back half. Its a bummer having to pay for a lift ticket but worth it. The food served at the lodge is very expensive.
Other Thoughts: Wear hiking shoes, bring water and walking stick and bring more the one disc.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Back Nine Workout

7/9/2008   7/9/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views. There are a few signature holes that are very enjoyable, including a few downhill blasts. The first place that I have ever played that let you borrow, free of charge, as many discs as you wanted. You just wrote down how many you took, how many you returned, and where you lost any along the way. Oh... and aspen is chalk full of beautiful people.
Cons: $23 lift ticket to the top, where you discover this dirt road that comes from somewhere. It'd be nice if someone who knew how to use it would post it on here. Back nine has a lot of steep, steep, uphill shots. This course lacks a little creativity. All the hiking uphill will work you hard.
Other Thoughts: I didn't have any problems with kids running around. Course was clear the entire time. Everyone failed to mention before that this is the Highest Disc Golf Course in the WORLD!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dadgurnit

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: crimescsemirc
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great view at the top. A couple insane downhill blasts that you can sit down and read while you wait for your shot to drop. You can also say you played Aspen...
Cons: Those kids really pissed me off. I wanted to take a Wraith upside a couple temples. Between the rigorous landscape, the thin air, and the heat, I was plenty worked, I didn't need some 10 year old asshole running around in front of me playing imaginary moving target. Also, the great downhill shots are followed by 500 footers that are right back up the hill you came down. You get so tired from hiking you're willing to throw ten 50 foot sidearmers just to get up the bullshit hill.
Other Thoughts: Good call on the Gondola. Nice view but 20 bucks? The locals were trying to draw us up a way to drive up there which would be the way to go if you regularly played the course but it seemed too much a hassle for a one-time shot.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 seems hard to resist

1    8/10/2007   3/10/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you are playing Aspen you are experiencing quite a view as you are on top of a mountain. The gondola ride to the top is long, and full of wonder. The ride down is long and relaxing after a grueling round. There are a few signature holes, one next to a cliff, and one that has a monster drop and is over 1500 feet long. You get massive exercise playing this course. Your friends will love the pictures you get. There are maps available at the top and there are signs throughout the course.
Cons: When I played there were kids running all over the place unaware of the course. What goes down must come back up, on foot. Hiking up a ski slope beats you up a little. If you think walking up a steep but wide open jeep trail would make a good back nine than this is the place for you. Make sure you bring water, maybe even a lunch and an Asprin for the elevation. The gondola fee of $20+ is a little steep considering that there is really nothing up there in the summer time. Its even expensive to park your car in Aspen. The astonishing scenery does not equate to a disc golf round with a high fun factor. I did loose a disc on the "kiss it goodbye" hole and I just climbed down like 70 feet and retrieved it. The tee areas are dirt, uneven and sometimes rocky, most of the fairways are wide open in the middle of the slopes. I know the whole idea seems hard to resist, and I know you're going anyways, but you will feel suckered, and you can't say I didn't warn you.
Other Thoughts: Aspen should scrap the course on top of the mountain thing and be more like Steamboat who put their course on the base of a side mountain. Both Aspen and Steamboat are a lot of work, but the payoff in Aspen just didn't feel worth it. Aspen might also be improved by getting into the woods a little bit more. I get the feeling that people want to remember a breath taking trip to the top of a mountain, which is ok because that is what you will get here. The vistas fall short of making up for a disc golf round that has a relatively low fun-factor. The local area disc golfers I met the day before tried to draw me a map to the top, and didn't have much praise for the course. I should have taken that as a hint.

If you need to stock up on discs before heading up, there is some selection at the Miners Building (a hardware store) on Main St. You might even be able to get the 411 about driving up the road instead of having to take the gondola.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center