Layout Extinct

Athens, AL 
Athens State University - Old Layout Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A nice casual round

5+    12/7/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: thediscinmusician
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.7 Years
Pros: Good variety of shots throughout the course. Wooded on most holes. Good course for working on your short game and accuracy. Pretty easy to find where next hole is. Recently re-done. Hole 1 is back in the woods now.
Cons: Some of the pads can be slippery when wet.
Other Thoughts: Perfect course for a nice casual round. Works every area of your game.

 Library Or 7 Holes Of Disc Golf?

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the 9th course I've played on at school/colleges campus' and the thing that you have got to remember is why they are there. They are NOT there for championship events. They are there for the students of that institution to have a wholesome recreational opportunity. ie. something other than drugging, sex and alcohol. This little seven basket course located behind the college's library provides such an opportunity. It's situated on about an half of acre of land with about 20 mature trees. There is a kiosk with a faded map and info about local leagues. The tees are marked with painted red blocks sunk in the ground. They're not easy to see. The longest hole in 345'. Each basket has some kind of a minor challenge involving, trees, mandos, hysers, etc. You can easily play a round in 15-20 minutes. Ace opportunities abound here.
Cons: I never found the 7th tee and just made up my own. Only seven holes. Fairly short overall.
Other Thoughts: Not bad for what they had to work with. I kind of hate to rate this course as a 1. I really don't consider it a "Bad" course. There's just not a whole lot of space and hills and water and stuff to work with. Hey, it's getting those college kids out of the bars and libraries and cathouses and opium dens! And whereever it is those college kids hang out these days.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a fan

1    4/4/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: roc54
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beats not having a course there. Guess its pretty good considering what they had to work with.
Cons: Short and unorganized and only 7 holes. Can't tell where to go next.
Other Thoughts: Just go to the Athens Sportsplex. You time will be better spent.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/8/2008   12/16/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course that uses well what little space is available. Good course for beginners and to introduce people to the game.
Cons: Only 7 baskets and it doesn't even have dual tees. For the most part, it's a short, easy course that lacks a challenge. The layout isn't easy to follow and it's difficult to find a couple tee pads. To get to one pad, you have to walk through an opening in a fence and it looks like you're standing in someone's back yard; very strange.
Other Thoughts: Unless you're on campus or live close by, I wouldn't recommend playing here, especially with the Sportsplex just a few minutes away.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 backyard fling

4/4/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: domihop20
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: excellent use of about 1/2 an acre of land
Cons: only 7 baskets, very hard to find which basket to throw at as the signs are not helpful or bolted down (spin every direction). I never did find the tee for #7. The numbers on the baskets are also very hard to see. I recommend walking the course first, it'll only take a minute or two. 2 or 3 of the holes are right next to a semi-busy road. A neighbors dogs may bark at you most of the time.
Other Thoughts: It's a lot like going to a friends house who put some buckets in the back yard and called it a course.

Great if you live near by and just want to fling some Frisbees, but don't drive 45 minutes to try a new course like I did.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center