Montgomery, AL 
Auburn University of Montgomery Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole # J Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good course if fixed

1    7/5/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you can figure out some of the layout, there is a decent design. The woods holes are interesting, but tight. The course is mostly open on some fields but also has a few holes in the forest. Holes are mostly around the 300ft range. Easy to locate the course, just off of I-85 on campus at AUM. Baskets are decent.
Cons: I think this course has been forgotten or something. There is basically no maintenance other than the fields being mowed. The signs are all rearranged currently in the wrong places and the layout is basically impossible to figure out for a first timer. I found a pile of tee signs at the edge of the woods so that wasn't a good sign of the current conditions of the course. Some tees are either hard to find or not there. (one of the other reviewers on this site has a map, you should check that out if you're playing here for the first time)
Other Thoughts: This is a course that probably has seen better days. The design is actually good but the maintenance issues are so bad that it makes you forget that. If someone put some work into this course it would easily be a good one, especially since the Montgomery area only has one other course currently. Hopefully this course will improve soon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

u need map skills

2-4    6/7/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: johnmatkinson1
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great potential if they ever work on it. Once you figure out the layout (only 17 holes) it's ok. The first time I played I couldn't figure it out-2nd trip I brought the google maps overlay with hole location and 15 min later I was oriented correctly.
Great mix of open shots, elevation changes, etc. The woods are super tight so bring your A game.
Medium lengh course but will be a challenge if you have back or knee problems due to terrain.
Cons: Markers are nearly gone (print map and bring with you).
Blue colored tees make it very challenging to see them.
Wood holes need a lot of work to open up some space (roll baby roll - I challenge any beginner to throw!!!)
Other Thoughts: Great potential if they take the time to work on it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Course Layout

1    2/21/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: Southern at Heart
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are a variety of shots. It's difficult to follow for first timers. I made a public course layout in Google Earth that you can access on your iPhone, to make learning the course easy! Note that there are only 17 holes, and it doesn't end up real close to hole 1, but all in all it's not bad to follow. Some holes in the woods are very tight. I personally like this!
Other Thoughts: google earth map:
http://goo.gl/maps/ilVaQ

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't waste your time

1    12/27/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: Bones311
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has potential to be decent
Cons: No tee pads, well maybe one or two.
No tee signs, well, again, maybe one or two but in no order.
Horrible map There is a number 1 then it jumps to D, E, F, etc. then eventually to 9, no 12 and no 18. Seriously??!!

No arrows to next tee/basket, although I don't think it would help much.
Other Thoughts: The few holes I was able to locate and play weren't bad, however, the navigation is absolutely horrible. I couldn't even find hole D. and I tried to follow the order on the map but it made no sense. I teed off #1 which actually had a teepad. but then couldn't find D, E, no tee pad, then F was labeled at #18 and G as #6. the next few I only found because they were in the woods and I could actually see some trails, but again no teepads so no way to know where to start. After the wooded few I gave up and on my walk out I did see a concrete teepad in the middle of the field that had a sign but it said #11 and #2 so either it was a shared hole or just as confusing as the rest.
This is by far one of the WORST courses I've ever played, not that I've played a ton, but I have played a few with no tee signs and no tee pads and they were still easier to follow. Whoever, designed, mapped, and maintains this course needs to try way harder.
Again, I say this course has potential and may actually be fun if you know where you're going. My recommendation is that if you are planning on playing, find a local that knows the course to go with you. There really aren't any other courses around. So if you NEED to play this is really the only option.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some help.

5+    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: MultiNubs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some open holes to test your drive ~9.
Some technical wooded holes.
Friendly community. On the good side of town.
Nice baskets.
Can get windy so it gives you good opportunity to learn your wind shots.
Cons: Alot. Currently course is in disarray. There are only 17 holes, I play 1 twice to get a full game. There isn't really a good flow to it, finding the next hole can be a challenge (no directional signs). Theres no standard layout so multiple players may be playing in a different order than yourself. Many players park beside one of the baskets which causes the whole "green" area, which is already prone to standing water, to be extremely muddy, soupy, and slippery. The wooded holes are completely unforgiving, poorly maintained, and narrow to say the least. No tee pads in the woods = mud tees that you might slip on. Thick undergrowth in the summer and a few fallen trees. No clear designation of tees in the woods (maybe some small flags). If you thrown poorly and go off the beaten path, you're in jail and you're better off laying it out in the fairway, if you can even find your disc. Lots of vines, thorns, briars, spiders, I see snakes often, and mud in the woods. If some maintenance was used the woods could be promising, most of the open holes are WIDE open, no trees, small elevation change, or misaligned tees, or no tees. One hole plays around a gazebo which if anyone is in it be extreme careful. The grass gets cut more often now but it gets pretty tall in some places. If you lose a disc or leave one dont expect a call, the community is nice but a lost disc is lost around here.
Other Thoughts: The course has great potential, a few trees planted here and there, and some removed here and there, repour some tees and add signs and this course would be great. I feel like its just in a "playable" set up at the moment until whoever is incharge of the course can work something out with campus government.

Also there is a running path off in the woods away from the course that could be utilized for a short and technical wooded 9 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Montgomery, sadly.

1    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are willing to give up either half a day to try to make sense of the layout or any hope of actually playing 18 holes in order (or even 18 different holes in any order), you will find a few mildly enjoyable, if forgettable, holes to play.
Cons: The course map is a joke, right? Some holes are numbered, some lettered?!?!? Some holes have tee boxes, some don't. Some have signs, some don't. Some of the tee boxes are misaligned. Some of the holes indicated on the map are simply absent. Others just don't fit into any sort of rational layout.
Other Thoughts: This course will make you deeply appreciative of the efforts of your local disc golf club's work on your home course. The attempt at a course map is an utter failure and it is difficult to believe that someone, anyone, thinks that it makes any sense whatsoever. Take a look at it and see if you can even determine where to start.

If you are traveling to Montgomery, just forget about trying to play disc golf. Hopefully your trip will take you close to courses in other areas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lots of potential

2-4    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Mangodoc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of open and wooded terrain.
Nice variety of levels of difficulty with some very narrow fairways, plenty of turns and several wide open long straight shots.
Mostly nice baskets.
Good parking, easy access.
Cons: Poorly marked- has changed due to construction at AUM. Fix this (and the course layout aerial photo on this site) and it'll be great!
Lots of poison ivy if you ever leave the fairway (somebody told me, I wouldn't know personally).
Other Thoughts: The weather this spring is awesome here, but beware the summer heat and humidity if you're visiting central Alabama!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Course

2-4    12/25/2006   4/28/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 44.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A nice, mostly open course with challenge without being heart breaking.
Cons: Do remember it having a couple of overgrown fairways, but not to an extent of losing a disc in it
Other Thoughts: I only got to play this course on visits to family in Montgomery. Now that that family is gone, I'll probably never get to play it again.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    2/6/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: loraski
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice campus with a good contrast of open and wooded holes. Baskets are mostly nice.
Cons: Very hard to follow, tee's and baskets are not marked well.
Other Thoughts: This could be a really nice course if someone at the school took the initiative and fixed it up. Hopefully there will be enough interest among some students/faculty to bring it up to potential.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So-so course

1    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's always nice to have a disc golf course near a university to introduce new people to the sport and hopefully get some cuties playing.

The course isn't too hard to intimidate new players.

The first part of the course has some nice woodsy shots and the second part is more open to allow folks to practice their distance. The contrast is nice.

I really like the blue baskets.
Cons: This course is still a work in progress. It's tough to navigate. There's a fair amount of trash and debris. The rough on the woodsy holes is a little thick.

The open holes are really open and a bit on the boring side.
Other Thoughts: This course is ok, if you're in the area, but I wouldn't suggest that you go out of your way to play it otherwise.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.