Bucyrus, OH 
Aumiller Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gcoghill Hole #14 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 One of northern Ohio's Finest

2-4    8/20/2011   4/24/2012
Review By: discmasternuke
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Front 9 is heavily wooded & requires tight hyzer shot lines
Course is basically split in half with wooded and "open" holes
"Open" holes are still Challenging due to length, a river and sparse but very large trees
Cons: City streets are fairly hard to navigate & you have to drive through a creek to get into the park
Other Thoughts: This is a great course wether you are a local or if youre driving an hour to get there. you will get a descent challenge and have lots of fun. Also the locals arent the best kind of people so i would advise not to talk to randoms here

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Tale of Two Nine's

1    4/6/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 38  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Shorter technical front, longer more open back.
~Front nine wooded hike is great.
~Back nine shady open park is serene and beautiful.
~Fantastic natural park setting, overall very tranquil.
~Post markers at tees and visible baskets create easy navigation.
~Defined shot lines and optional paths on most holes.
~(3) course loops: 1-9, 10-18 or 1-18 all end back at the parking lot.
~Plenty of additional park amenities.
Cons:
~Natural tees provide poor footing, especially on the back 9.
~Could not find tee post for No. 9 so I improvised.
~Tee boxes not properly defined throughout course.
Other Thoughts:
Played on a moderately warm early spring day. Unfortunately there has been a lot of recent rain which really affected the back nine much more than the wooded front. The muddy conditions hindered good footing and especially powerful tee shots on the back where power would help on these longer holes. Hole 16 was unplayable as the basket was surrounded by water, but all the other holes were in great shape considering the recent rain. This is a beautiful park and the course layout couldn't be much better, take advantage of the surroundings while you play. This course really is a tale of two 9's and I played the wooded, technical front really well considering my experience. The back 9 opens up, but you have large trees and the mighty Sandusky river to contend with. Worth discovering while in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent enough

2-4    7/1/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: 12StonesScott
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 35.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The back nine, plus hole 9, are fun to play and offer enough mix of open lines with well-thought out pin locations among mature trees and some distance that they provide a very fair challenge without requiring perfection in shot-shaping. The water along 11, 12, and 13 gives you something to think about but generally shouldn't cause problems for any but the wildest arms.

The back nine is also visually appealing and pleasant.

Course flow returns to parking/first tee area after hole 9 and hole 18, making it easy to play only the front or back nine and to hit the restrooms or take a break in the middle of a round.

Park offers lots of amenities like restrooms, picnic shelters/pavilions, etc. Lots of parking quite close to the first/tenth tees.
Cons: Tee pads: when we played practice and tournament rounds here the week of Am Worlds, the pads had a fresh layer of mulch, and upside-down plastic cups filled with concrete to indicate the front corners of the tee box, but with all the rain the previous weeks several of them were still marshy to the point of being potentially dangerous, especially on Monday right after the rains. I suspect that after a few weeks the marker cups will be long gone and the mulch will have settled or been scattered, leaving nothing but a dark spot on the ground.

The front nine plays through dense woods with lots of elevation change. There are clear lines on some holes, but several are more in the "throw-and-pray" camp. I'm quite used to heavily wooded, tight courses (my home course is almost all like that), but even I found some of the holes to require much more luck than skill.

Mosquitos and biting flies were terrible on the front nine. Even after using the strongest insect repellent available, I was still being eaten alive soon after teeing off on the first hole.

Back nine has several walking paths and driveways/parking areas through and near it, so at times when the park is busy there could definitely be some waits for walkers/cars to clear. Fortunately, there really aren't any places where they will pop up unexpectedly -- you're able to see them while they're still well out of range, so there shouldn't be any risk of hitting someone.
Other Thoughts: Between the bugs and the trees, the front nine holes are really almost more to be survived than enjoyed, at least during warm weather -- perhaps I'd feel differently if I'd played this course in October or April instead of June/July. If I found myself back here in the summer, I'd be tempted to play the back nine twice and skip the front nine. Despite that, I do think it's an enjoyable course -- just not the best in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Clean wooded holes free of under bush

good mix of wooded and open long holes

good use of hills and basket placement

easy to navigate without a map

A challenge of beginners and advance/pro players
Cons: Some long spaces between some tee's but it wasn't to hard to figure out .

Dirt pads not a big deal to me but would suck in the winter in the woods with mud .

back nine are mostly open and lack variety
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and will go again when i visit family in tiffin .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 1st Impression

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Combination of tight wooded holes follow by open ones
+Hill top to hill top holes
+Water gets in your head but is not overly dangerous

Cons: -Tees; while I dont need concrete, could at least use a "box". Most tees are spotted by the ruts in the dirt from constant use but no clear guidline on where the end or beginning of the tee actually would be.

-Navigation seemed intuitive at first, but eventually became cumbersome looking for the next tee. Marker for tee 9 was completely missing.
Other Thoughts: All in all; not a bad course, but seems somewhat un eventfull. Trees on the front nine make it challenging but there is nothing forcing you to take any unique shots as it is all just hoping you dont hit a tree; makes the course rather uneventfull; but, its still 18 holes and there is some nice ace run shots along with longer more open shots.

A clear tee along with just a small sign at the end of the hole pointing to the next hole would greatly improve the course.

Make some clear choice fairways that allow for creativity as well as forcing it would also go a long way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: Ryno-5 DGT
Played: 171  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Our course is excellent. It is tough and people get mad and give it an unfair rating. Short and technical front nine.Longer and more open back nine. River in play on 11,12,13..... Try the pro tees to experience a LONGER and WAY more difficult course.
Cons: No concrete tees....coming soon

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Great Not Terrible either

2-4    10/10/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of technical wooded shots and open shots
Located in a park with lots of other activities. You could bring the whole family, cookout swim hit the playground. Something for everyone
It's not to crowded and at the same time it's located not far from a small town
Cons: Some of the wooded holes can be a little too dense
Some of the open holes are tough to navigate
Other Thoughts: It did have dirt tee pads, but that doesn't bother me like it does a lot of people. the front 9 go through the woods and are pretty fun. The back 9 are more open with some tall trees to avoid. This is a good course if you live in the area but I wouldn't recommend it if your looking for a Disc Golf road trip. I like this course, there really isn't anything substantial to complain about but I don't love it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid fun

1    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of hole variety
- Clean, well-maintained course & park
Cons: - Course layout can be a bit confusing for first-timers
- Lots of unnecessary walking from hole to next tee at times
- Some of the wooded front nine holes are a bit too technical.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. If you are in the area, it's a must-play. I'm glad I played this course but wouldn't make the 2 hour trip again just to play here.

Park has bathrooms, lots of other amenities for kids, even a large outdoor swimming pool.

A few holes have you throwing over walkways, but nothing too off-putting.

Course layout is not entirely intuitive and can be confusing at times. I was told by a local that the kiosk map is out of date, some of the baskets have been moved since the map was put up.

Some seemingly unnecessary walking from hole to tee on the back nine, but overall it flows well enough.

Lot's of technical shots throughout, but enough open holes to get some long drives in. Front nine is in the woods, back nine mostly open although you will be throwing around trees or driving through some fairways with tree columns.

All the holes have tee signs, with distances although they seem to not have been sealed properly as there is already water damage on some of them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/11/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: agapedad
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -CONCRETE tees in place!!!!!
-Great variety of holes
-Wooded fairways are still very playable
-Nice elevation changes through 10
-All tee signs are now in place with distance and map
-Water on back nine keeps you thinking
-Great park with fun for the whole family
-Nine ends close to #1 tee, so if you want to finish with just 9...no problem.
-Long tees are still in place in some holes
-Nice change from the woods to more open on the back nine - still a challenge though.
Cons: -Grass tee locations are getting pretty rutted
-Too many mosquitos! :D
Other Thoughts: Take a picnic and enjoy the whole evening!
This is a course that will be challenging for the most seasoned player, but still fun for brand new players.
There are always other players on this course, but I have never felt like it is too busy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety

2-4    12/31/2010   7/18/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Well Maintained
Course Doesn't Interfere with Other Park Goers
Never Crowded
Great Variety/All Shot Types
Great Elevations Changes
Open and Wooded Holes
Great Flow/Layout (Figure 8 Style)
Good Tee Signs
Distances Vary
Restrooms Near Beginning/End of Course
Picnic Area with Grills near Course
Very Easy to Navigate
Cons:
Natural Tee Pads are in Bad Shape
Course Can Stay Muddy Long After Rain
Other Thoughts:
Course is set in a really big city park, but the course is tucked away from most of the park traffic. When you come into the park, follow the park road past the gazebo on the left and you will see some picnic shelters on the right. The course map is between the first two shelters, and the tee pad for #1 is to the right of the course map.

The front nine are the shorter holes on the course, but are very heavily wooded and very technical. The front nine are also filled with great elevation changes. There are a lot of hills, with small ravines and you will find yourself throwing over them on several occasions, this adds a lot of challenge to the already wooded and difficult shots.

Although the front nine is heavily wooded it is very easy to navigate. The only place that we had even the slightest issue was going from #3 to #4. After finishing #3 you will see a bridge down at the bottom of the hill, the tee pad for #4 is up the hill on the same side of the bridge as #3. You will then use the bridge as a fairway of sorts to reach the basket for #4.

After hole #9, which is the only hole without an updated tee sign, you will be back up by the parking lot. I like this setup in a course, it makes it really easy to play just nine holes if thats all you have time for. Both 9, and 18 finish right back by the parking lot.

The back nine are more open and longer shots on the course. The elevation changes die off after #10, but the distance add challenge and there are also many mature trees that create obstacles and make you choose your shot. There is also a small creek that runs along the back nine, while it is off to the right a bit on most holes, it is still very reachable with an errant throw and can easily eat your discs if the water level is up.

Overall the course is really nice and has a great variety. The have newer tee sign on most holes, but the distances have faded a bit, but they are there. If you look in the top left corner of each sign you will see the distance listed in very light yellow under the hole number. This course can be enjoyed by most levels of players, but beginners may find the wooded holes a bit frustrating. If you are in the area, I would check this course out, I definitely plan on playing this one many times in the future.

Edit: Last time I was there a few of the tee signs had been removed or are missing making a couple of the tees hard to find.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center