Bucyrus, OH 
Aumiller Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gcoghill Hole #18 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent enough

2-4    7/1/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: 12StonesScott
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 35.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The back nine, plus hole 9, are fun to play and offer enough mix of open lines with well-thought out pin locations among mature trees and some distance that they provide a very fair challenge without requiring perfection in shot-shaping. The water along 11, 12, and 13 gives you something to think about but generally shouldn't cause problems for any but the wildest arms.

The back nine is also visually appealing and pleasant.

Course flow returns to parking/first tee area after hole 9 and hole 18, making it easy to play only the front or back nine and to hit the restrooms or take a break in the middle of a round.

Park offers lots of amenities like restrooms, picnic shelters/pavilions, etc. Lots of parking quite close to the first/tenth tees.
Cons: Tee pads: when we played practice and tournament rounds here the week of Am Worlds, the pads had a fresh layer of mulch, and upside-down plastic cups filled with concrete to indicate the front corners of the tee box, but with all the rain the previous weeks several of them were still marshy to the point of being potentially dangerous, especially on Monday right after the rains. I suspect that after a few weeks the marker cups will be long gone and the mulch will have settled or been scattered, leaving nothing but a dark spot on the ground.

The front nine plays through dense woods with lots of elevation change. There are clear lines on some holes, but several are more in the "throw-and-pray" camp. I'm quite used to heavily wooded, tight courses (my home course is almost all like that), but even I found some of the holes to require much more luck than skill.

Mosquitos and biting flies were terrible on the front nine. Even after using the strongest insect repellent available, I was still being eaten alive soon after teeing off on the first hole.

Back nine has several walking paths and driveways/parking areas through and near it, so at times when the park is busy there could definitely be some waits for walkers/cars to clear. Fortunately, there really aren't any places where they will pop up unexpectedly -- you're able to see them while they're still well out of range, so there shouldn't be any risk of hitting someone.
Other Thoughts: Between the bugs and the trees, the front nine holes are really almost more to be survived than enjoyed, at least during warm weather -- perhaps I'd feel differently if I'd played this course in October or April instead of June/July. If I found myself back here in the summer, I'd be tempted to play the back nine twice and skip the front nine. Despite that, I do think it's an enjoyable course -- just not the best in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 1st Impression

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Combination of tight wooded holes follow by open ones
+Hill top to hill top holes
+Water gets in your head but is not overly dangerous

Cons: -Tees; while I dont need concrete, could at least use a "box". Most tees are spotted by the ruts in the dirt from constant use but no clear guidline on where the end or beginning of the tee actually would be.

-Navigation seemed intuitive at first, but eventually became cumbersome looking for the next tee. Marker for tee 9 was completely missing.
Other Thoughts: All in all; not a bad course, but seems somewhat un eventfull. Trees on the front nine make it challenging but there is nothing forcing you to take any unique shots as it is all just hoping you dont hit a tree; makes the course rather uneventfull; but, its still 18 holes and there is some nice ace run shots along with longer more open shots.

A clear tee along with just a small sign at the end of the hole pointing to the next hole would greatly improve the course.

Make some clear choice fairways that allow for creativity as well as forcing it would also go a long way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Great Not Terrible either

2-4    10/10/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of technical wooded shots and open shots
Located in a park with lots of other activities. You could bring the whole family, cookout swim hit the playground. Something for everyone
It's not to crowded and at the same time it's located not far from a small town
Cons: Some of the wooded holes can be a little too dense
Some of the open holes are tough to navigate
Other Thoughts: It did have dirt tee pads, but that doesn't bother me like it does a lot of people. the front 9 go through the woods and are pretty fun. The back 9 are more open with some tall trees to avoid. This is a good course if you live in the area but I wouldn't recommend it if your looking for a Disc Golf road trip. I like this course, there really isn't anything substantial to complain about but I don't love it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety

2-4    12/31/2010   7/18/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Well Maintained
Course Doesn't Interfere with Other Park Goers
Never Crowded
Great Variety/All Shot Types
Great Elevations Changes
Open and Wooded Holes
Great Flow/Layout (Figure 8 Style)
Good Tee Signs
Distances Vary
Restrooms Near Beginning/End of Course
Picnic Area with Grills near Course
Very Easy to Navigate
Cons:
Natural Tee Pads are in Bad Shape
Course Can Stay Muddy Long After Rain
Other Thoughts:
Course is set in a really big city park, but the course is tucked away from most of the park traffic. When you come into the park, follow the park road past the gazebo on the left and you will see some picnic shelters on the right. The course map is between the first two shelters, and the tee pad for #1 is to the right of the course map.

The front nine are the shorter holes on the course, but are very heavily wooded and very technical. The front nine are also filled with great elevation changes. There are a lot of hills, with small ravines and you will find yourself throwing over them on several occasions, this adds a lot of challenge to the already wooded and difficult shots.

Although the front nine is heavily wooded it is very easy to navigate. The only place that we had even the slightest issue was going from #3 to #4. After finishing #3 you will see a bridge down at the bottom of the hill, the tee pad for #4 is up the hill on the same side of the bridge as #3. You will then use the bridge as a fairway of sorts to reach the basket for #4.

After hole #9, which is the only hole without an updated tee sign, you will be back up by the parking lot. I like this setup in a course, it makes it really easy to play just nine holes if thats all you have time for. Both 9, and 18 finish right back by the parking lot.

The back nine are more open and longer shots on the course. The elevation changes die off after #10, but the distance add challenge and there are also many mature trees that create obstacles and make you choose your shot. There is also a small creek that runs along the back nine, while it is off to the right a bit on most holes, it is still very reachable with an errant throw and can easily eat your discs if the water level is up.

Overall the course is really nice and has a great variety. The have newer tee sign on most holes, but the distances have faded a bit, but they are there. If you look in the top left corner of each sign you will see the distance listed in very light yellow under the hole number. This course can be enjoyed by most levels of players, but beginners may find the wooded holes a bit frustrating. If you are in the area, I would check this course out, I definitely plan on playing this one many times in the future.

Edit: Last time I was there a few of the tee signs had been removed or are missing making a couple of the tees hard to find.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.