Daytona Beach, FL
Tuscawilla Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 333ft.   3 / 354ft.   3 / 359ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Beautiful course

1    6/28/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: keepgoing
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is well maintained and very pleasing to the eyes! My wife and I had a great time on the course. We were on vacation and played two courses and this was the best one.
Also we had help from two awesome and very friendly locals who were extremely helpful with navigating the course!!
Cons: Well there is really only one and that is the lack of direction on this course. Even with taking a picture of the course map it was tough to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Just a few more course signs and it really would be perfect. It has a nice mixture of obstacles and technical throws to get everyone excited to play this course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course, tad confusing though

1    6/26/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: alindseyphoto
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course. well maintained, A, and B pads for every basket along with 3 different pin placements per as well. I noticed on a couple of holes they seemed to be in either a 4th location. This is possibly due the the upcoming tournament. Met and threw with 2 locals that really helped me find the next hole locations.
Cons: Figuring your way around the course is a little tricky the first time since there are no next hole signs. Also with some holes being long, there are a few blind shots, but I often enjoy that.
Other Thoughts: Wear pan

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Play be the Speedway!

1    7/30/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tuscawilla Park is a really fun course featuring fairways dotted with nice trees and plants, and water in shallow ponds, streams, and ditches sometimes. Nice mix of left and right turning holes, and a lot of interesting lines on predominantly flat ground.. There is an island hole (#14 I think) at the end of one of the longest fairways. I liked this course because there were plenty of opportunities for birds if you hit good drives. Perfect use of park space available. I didn't see much foot traffic aside from other disc golfers.

The tees have signs with maps mounted on large stone markers, next to nice concrete tees. Most holes also had short tees if I remember correctly. Baskets are all in good condition and usually not too hard to see from the box. Course flows nicely around the park, but a map could be useful in a couple of spots. There are bathrooms onsite.
Cons: Not much to change here. I had to wait to play through one or two large groups, and I suppose such a nice course will be crowded at times. Not a championship caliber course, but doesn't need to be.
Other Thoughts: Tuscawilla is a very fun course, and I am very glad I chose to stop and play there. Efficient and fun layout in a great disc golf park. I would be happy to be able to play a course like this on a regular basis. If you get the chance to play there you should definitely check it out!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Locals perspective

5+    3/30/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: badams
Played: 56  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A course with great verasatility, numerous pin placements and tee pads that accomodate all skill levels.

The difficulty of the course increases dramatically with each successive set of tee pads, more so than most courses I have played with multiple pads.

Rotaing pin placements keep the course interesting.

the course also sees a dramatic change in difficulty from summer to winter, summer sees water levels in the ponds and canals increase along with a lower celing from the abundance of vegetation on the course.

Club is very involved with the course and the course is well ,maintained by the city.
Cons: Some homeless on the course at times, they keep to themselves however.

Other Thoughts: The beginning golfer can enjoy them selves and feel challenged without being overwhelmed if playing from the rec or "C" pads, while the course will truly challenge players of more advanced skill sets from the longer pads.

all types of shots are required to get around the course and scores can balloon if not focused.

The course has water, wind, length, and technical requirements. The only thing keeping this course from being rated higher is elevation.

One of the few courses I have played with a true signature hole #7

Course flows nicely with the front nine playing through the interior of the park clockwise and the back nine ringing the outside counter clockwise

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 the tusc

5+    3/7/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: brockkcorb
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: excellent, very challenging, not for beginners
Cons: I would have to say the long placement on 6 and the long placement on 10 and 14 and the long placement(s) on 13 are not birdie-able but that is ok, the baskets move every month.
Other Thoughts: as a rhbh max d 400

1 short hyzer hole easy deuce , possible ace run
2 longer from the long pads, easy par
3 interesting hole over an early protected island, ace run possible
4 plays different from the a pad to the b pad no problem to par
5 first long hole (from the a pad) depending on the basket location. expect some occasional problems. if you hit an early tree expect a 250 upshot in order to hole out for par
6 just had a new placement installed. but there is a really long placement. hit or miss. birdie or 3 for anything other than long placement.
7 "lake hole" , depends on basket location. *it IS windy here too* if you go into the water there is a drop location on the right. watch and see where your disc goes in, don't get mad and turn around and yell an obscenity. watch it!
8 can you say skip ace? sorry lefties!
9 how far can you throw a straight shot?
10 should par, unless in long location *tough long a pad drive too* down the road abit, *dont throw at 8 basket, you'll be out of bounds* (new hole coming soon, just built a mound) after this hole walk down the road *past 8 and 7* to the next hole
11 not bad from b pads, a pad could cause some problems.. *stay in the fairway or you're gonna be in trouble*
12 easy unless pin is in far left location in the woods.
13 longest hole here, very scenic with a monument...... unless in short pad, lucky to get a par. it is the one hole i dread.
14 not a bad a hole.... either throw a huge 350 anny or down the 'trench' there are 2 routes, try to hit one of them good lefty hole.
15 ACE RACE
16 another trouble hole, look for par here.
17 this one can be birdied, careful you don't end up in the road off of an early tree.
18 short basket can be birdied, else, unless you can bomb it seek a par..

my handicap short pad even long pad 4

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Feels like playing in Jurassic Park

1    2/27/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 3 Concrete tee pads at each hole, decent signs at the A and B (two farther) tee pads for each hole that clearly state where the multiple pin locations are.

65 pin positions for the 18 baskets.

Pretty good use of the available space, though a few of the holes could be renumbered to make things flow a bit better.
Cons: This is Florida so no extreme elevation changes, one or two signs pointing to the next tee are missing.

Hard to find hole 1, didn't find much course information there, though I've seen pictures that it exists.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here, I'd love to see the course with alternate pin positions, I feel there really is a lot of replay value here.

I feel that a few of the pin positions were just added to add more pin positions and not to add anything to the hole, one in particular made the hole pretty much a crap shoot because with the pin position you might park the hole and still skip into a pond from which your disc is not retrievable.

All in all it was pretty great, and I would certainly play there again any time.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course on the Worlds Most Famous Beach

1    4/8/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: stewbeck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Three tees on each hole make it fun for the whole family, my son played from the front tees and outdrove me a few times! The water on this course is very cool, very nice park.
Cons: A few homeless folks and a lot of garbage (probably left by the homeless).
Other Thoughts: Awesome course!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tropical Discin'

1    5/16/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.9 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I liked the variety of options and throwing lanes available. Standing on the tees I could see different flight paths through the palms that I just don't see on a wooded course. (Not that I always succssefully navigated the path I chose to use!)
Lots of people on the course yet, it didn't seem crowded.
the trees not only make the course challenging, but they provide some needed shade.
Well-maintained. Thanks to whoever keeps this course in tip-top condition.
Other Thoughts: No cons for me on this course. Coming from N. Carolina, I feel like I am in the tropics with the warm breeze and tall palms. Will stop here again on our way to and from Orlando when visiting friends there. I'll drive 9 hours to play this course!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Home sweet home

5+    5/23/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Diskaholik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great challenge for all skill levels, Pin placement changes every month,(some holes have as many as 5 different pin placements. 3 concrete pads on each hole, good signs. Friendly local golfers, Disc sales on site. (thanx Gary)
Cons: A few bums here and there, but they usually don't bother disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: Fun Florida course, recenty we had some major flooding but a few of us went out in kayaks with floating discs and played most of the course( only one basket was on dry land!) Luckily it's drying up quite quickly. A must play if you are travelling in the area.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    1/14/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout. Lightly to moderately wooded. Spatering of trees come into play but with still a clearly defined fairway on every hole (not very technical but still challenging). 3 tee pads on each hole provide a challenge for all skill levels. At least 3 pins locations for each hole. Next tee signs provide excellent guidance for those new to the course.
Cons: Couple of long walks between holes (particularly from 10 to 11), and a couple of holes are on the outside/edge of the park along side a roadway (not a big deal just kind of weird).
Other Thoughts: Played this course on my way through town and will definitely come back every time I am in the area. Found the locals very friendly and helpful. Very nice layouts, one hole was on about an 8' wide peninsula in the middle of a pond.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.