Daytona Beach, FL 
Tuscawilla Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 318ft.   3 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6A Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
a fun place to play

1    7/18/2013   8/8/2014
Review By: boursin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great variety of shots needed, good for the average player. Some water to keep you honest. hyzers and anhyzers needed. the holes were not very long but they were a bit technical with water making them a bit tricky. tees are good, the scenery is good, the zip line makes for an interesting distraction. Well maintained.
Cons: Fire ants were everywhere and the mounds of them were a foot or more high off of the ground. Poor signage to the first hole. Some holes a bit difficult to find for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time and will definitely play it over and over again the locals were very good to show the way to the next hole, saw a few homeless people but they were not interested in us.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

So this is Florida

5+    9/1/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The ocean is a breeze away. The ground is kept (barely) dry by a network of canals. The course is spotted with swampy ponds that, if they weren't in so public a park, would be crawling with gators. This is Florida and Tuscawilla embraces its identity.

The course is well maintained, with two sets of tees, each sporting a sign laminated into a knee-high rock. While the signs themselves are exceedingly unhelpful, they are really nice at identifying tees in a natural manor. The rocks are nearly identical, so they are easily spotted while blending into the environment.

The course itself is solid fare. Water is in play at several holes, but none of the holes boast a memorable carry. There are factors at Tuscawilla that scream 3.5(the atmosphere, the upkeep,) to me, but others that leave me thinking 2.5. (more on that later) So it settles around a three.

There are a few interesting holes. Seven is one of the rare water carries I've seen that favors RHFH/LHBH throwers. Thirteen is the longest hole, and features a pagoda of sorts. (So tempting to enforce a self-imposed double mando and throw between the pillars)

But at Tuscawilla, the best is saved for last. For the last few holes, a canal curves through the fairway, making for a few distinct lines and landing places. After the blah of seeing that canal uselessly border the far right of the fairways, its creative use on the final holes redeems Tuscawilla in a fantastic way.
Cons: But the water is not always used to the effect that it could be. Fifteen has a fantastic pin placement butting out into a small pond, but the tee is just too close. Too short of a hole for the water to pose any true risk/reward. The opposite problem affects fourteen. The first time I was here, the pin was on a small island in a doughnut shaped lake. It's not there anymore. That island looks so sad with no basket on it.

The water is also occasionally where it's not supposed to be. The drainage is acceptable here but it is Florida and there can be a lot of rain in the summer months. Fairways can be soaked. While this is the better Daytona course, Reed Canal is probably a better choice if it has been rainy.

The bigger issue here, which keeps Tuscawilla from a 3.5, is some of the navigation. I've played here several times, and I keep playing from seven to eleven. Eight through ten are oddly placed, as you have to go back down to the middle of the seven fairway to find the eight tee. Then from ten it's a bit of a haul that walks through seven, to find tee eleven.

Then of course there is the adventure course. Numerous holes feature zipliners as moving targets. I mean, the people on the adventure course are in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: So that's what it is. A solid course with some solid flaws. But there isn't a better course within an hour of Daytona.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

1    6/28/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: keepgoing
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is well maintained and very pleasing to the eyes! My wife and I had a great time on the course. We were on vacation and played two courses and this was the best one.
Also we had help from two awesome and very friendly locals who were extremely helpful with navigating the course!!
Cons: Well there is really only one and that is the lack of direction on this course. Even with taking a picture of the course map it was tough to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Just a few more course signs and it really would be perfect. It has a nice mixture of obstacles and technical throws to get everyone excited to play this course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a beautiful park in Central Daytona, in between the Speedway and the Beach.
-Tee area: 2 sets of tees per hole; Tee signs with map, distance, and position indicator. (position indicator is a little round white piece of wood with (P1,P2, or P3 written on it). Tee signs are embedded into these larger rocks near the teepads.
-Not beginner friendly, this is a course more for seasoned recreational to professional. Beginners could get extremely frustrated here. Especially when requiring accuracy at long distances
-Basket with 2 to 3 alt positions.
-Shelter house with bulletin board and map. Map on the outside facing the course.
-Has a few good risk/reward shots, Blind Dog legs, Second shot placement par 4's, and a full water carry on 7,
-9 plays back to the parking lot, giving one the option for a quick 9 or a stop off at the car.
-A good mix of open field and wooded shots. There is also a good balance of right/Left handed shots. Those shots also rotate with the pin position. 12 may favor right handed players one week, the next week it will cater to left handed players
-The course makes use of the surroundings, offering blind shots, water carries, and an island hole. There are also a number of long distance shots, as well as a few par 4 and 5 shots.
-Tuscawilla is a very challenging course that will test you in accuracy, distance, and accuracy at long distances.
-One set of tee's offers up a challenge for the seasoned player who has confidence and control with their drives, while the second tee still offers up a strong challenge for the recreational player without being too frustrating.

FWIW
-Zipline Tour is available in the park. Wished I had time to do that as well.
Cons: -Navigation is brutal, there is a map, but it could use an update. I took a picture of the map on my phone, and it was hard to follow since it was faded. Knowing where you are going is vital to this course.

-I noticed that some of the pin position indicators had not been changed to reflect the location of the current basket. This would require a walk down the fairway to locate the basket. Some holes you won't see the baskets until you are almost pin high. That's okay occasionally, but when you have to do it frequently, it tends to get frustrating. (This con really falls into a first timer category)

-This goes back to the Navigation, but some of the holes transition awkwardly. If you don't know where you are going, you may be stuck looking for the next tee in the wrong place. I almost threw down 11 after 7, because I saw a teepad. When you finish 12, you have a long transition to 13 where you follow the road a good ways before you get to the tee. I ran into this a few different times.

-I don't know if this is common, or if the grass just hadn't been mowed. I am aware that we had Tropical Storm Andrea dump a ton of rain on Florida. My discs could land in the grass and get swallowed. A lot of time was spent looking for Discs in open fields.

-This is an "is what it is" just part of Coastal Florida. The rough is brutal, and if your disc goes in, you may be looking for a while. Don't get me wrong, it's Beautiful to look at, but it's hard when your disc goes into the middle of it. It's the kind of rough where you can't see the ground in the trees.
Other Thoughts: You will use a variety of lines and discs here. The course starts out fairly simple, but like a tractor pull, the further you go, the harder it gets. You'll throw a variety of different lines, and use a number of discs in the process. It's an impressive course that showcases the ecological side of Florida. One third of this plays under a canopy, where you have to work the lines through the trees, one third is open field, and another third is playing alongside very thick jungle like rough. You'll definitely want to bring liquids, as this course can take a while to play. Tuscawilla is in the center of Daytona, so you are surrounded by gas stations and restaurants.
I had really been looking forward to playing here but I was met with a lot of first time frustration. I got turned around, threw on wrong baskets, threw from the wrong tee's, etc… There are a number of issues that will make your first visit difficult. On the flip side, after you have played here, your return visits may give you a better, more enjoyable experience. Future visits will not be met with the same circumstances. The best way to prevent this from being a bad first impression is to meet up with a local and have them guide you through the course. The reason I say that is because Tuscawilla really is a great course! The frustrations can hide the true enjoyment of playing at Tuscawilla.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Adventure Disc Golf

2-4    6/11/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pro level course. Two Tee boxes per hole. Three possible basket positions per hole. Fantastic city park.. Much to do for entire family. Great DG course. Zip line course overhead. Nice playgrounds. Bathrooms available. Maps on each tee box. Long challenging holes (lakes and creeks near almost all holes) with OB water all over. Great use of inner city park area.
Cons: Super confusing. Nearly no flow from hole to hole. Can get lost easily from hole to hole. No maps or scorecards at opening pavilion that could help first time visitors. The maps at each tee box are difficult to find as they are built into rocks near the tee pads. The rocks all look alike and do not stand out the way a wooden map sign would. The maps themselves can be confusing as they mark three possible basket locations with no way of knowing which one is in play that day. Lots of chances to lose a disc, especially on long throws (when not familiar with course lay out) due to creeks being just over a ridge and not visible from tee box.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough fun course, once you can play it by finding each tee box and then finding the basket. Lots of homeless around that can make one uncomfortable. Good for skilled players, not for a newcomer.

Favorite Holes:
#7 throws across a lake, not too far, but with wind one better bring his big boy pants for this one.

#14 (or is it 15)? The Island Hole. The basket lies on a small island surrounded by water. Very unique and a risky play every time!.

Note to visiting Northern players, like myself: Watch the Palm Fronds! Beware! You can't power past these like braches or leaves up north. Just saying.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Family Day DG

1    11/22/2011   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tuscawilla Park is a really fun course featuring fairways dotted with nice trees and plants, and water in shallow ponds, streams, and ditches sometimes. Nice mix of left and right turning holes, and a lot of interesting lines on predominantly flat ground.. There is an island hole (#14 I think) at the end of one of the longest fairways. I liked this course because there were plenty of opportunities for birds if you hit good drives. Perfect use of park space available. I didn't see much foot traffic aside from other disc golfers.
Cons: Hole #7 usually requires you to throw across a small lake (about 200 ft.) or take a long bogey. I like this challenge, but it may not be for everyone. About 3-4 holes involve a brush/heavily wooded hazard, but its really not bad, and I've still never lost a disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, tad confusing though

1    6/26/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: alindseyphoto
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course. well maintained, A, and B pads for every basket along with 3 different pin placements per as well. I noticed on a couple of holes they seemed to be in either a 4th location. This is possibly due the the upcoming tournament. Met and threw with 2 locals that really helped me find the next hole locations.
Cons: Figuring your way around the course is a little tricky the first time since there are no next hole signs. Also with some holes being long, there are a few blind shots, but I often enjoy that.
Other Thoughts: Wear pan

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 From a Rec Player's Point of View

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: The park itself is a Pro, well maintain, and a fun round.
Well mix of holes, Hyzer, Anhyzer, Straight, long and short.
The Tournament set-up had 2 holes on an "island" green, so it was fun to lay up and go for it, good mix.
3 Concrete Tee pads per hole, proved to be very nice for our group. an advace player with 2 Recreational players could get enough challenge for all. The short pad will make my 10yr old happy when we come back next week.
Cons: Locating some baskets was VERY difficult on some holes. Good thing I was playing with someone that's been there before. Even though there is a map on each tee, so you have a general idea of where it should be, a coule of them were hard to find.
Having to walk by a basket to get to another tee, or walking backwards to go to the next tee.
No drinking fountain or at least a drink machine
Other Thoughts: We didn't encounter as many homeless people as some other players have.
The baskets were set up for the 1st day of the tournament next week, so they were set at the longest mark. It made me feel good to end the round knowing next time I'm here, the scores will be better

 Fun at Daytona

1    4/29/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: Dana87
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots
Well groomed
Varied distances
League guys asked if we wanted to play with them but we were just finishing up.
Homeless guys were more than happy to help you out when you got lost. He was looking for a cigarette as a tip but since I don't smoke, I tipped him a $.
Cons: Really difficult to find your way around. I met another guy looking for one so we looked together and ended up playing together. see below for easiest way to find the first hole.

After that we had some trouble finding 4th tee (to the right of 3 basket), 5th tee (across street), 11th (it's just across street from 7th basket) 16th (across street again)

There were some small next tee signs on some holes, but not obvious enough. If the next tee signs were hanging under the basket it would be terrific. Better tee signage would raise my rating a half point or more.
Other Thoughts: There are two entrances to the park. When approaching from Daytona Beach on Int'l Speedway Blvd, you see the Tuscawilla Park sign and another sign telling you to take a left and the entrance was one block down. Don't turn, stay on Int'l Speedway Blvd and take the next left onto Seneca. Then take another left on Magnolia and you'll see the pavilion. Hole 1 is right in front of this pavilion.

If you find yourself in the loop in the park, you entered the wrong entrance. Go out to main road (Orange), take a right onto Orange and then take your next right onto Seneca. Turn right onto Magnolia and the pavilion is in front of you.

All & all it was a fun course to play and I would definitely play it again next time I am in Daytona, especially since I know where to park and where the holes are.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I found a local

1    4/16/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: thisdoesfine
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Water hazards without a fear of losing a disc.
Good variety in a park setting.
Nice and shady for a Florida park
Different basket layouts changed monthly
Bathrooms onsite, looked like possibly even two sets, didn't have to go that bad though.
A lot of trees but not too many, great technical "push"
A lot of short holes and a few that hit 300+ feet. Although I do enjoy stretching my arm, it was nice to play a course with smaller distances.
Cons: Had a very hard time finding hole #1 and navigation was pretty rough throughout, glad I had a local to help me through.
The course does come fairly close to a road a few times, that always makes me nervous.
Bums, lots of them, you can feel like there are eyes on you at all times. Lock your cars for sure.
The water around the park was very still, filled with algae and could be a severe mosquito breeding grounds in the summer.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad I decided to play the course, I would definitely play again if I head to Daytona. I heard there is another course nearby that I may also check out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.