Montrose, CO 
Baldridge Park Share
Uploaded By: wentzl  
Practice Hole



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My home course...

5+    7/18/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: kratous
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good elevation changes
- Nice variety of challenging holes (water, woods, distance, elevation etc)
- They change the baskets around from time to time
- Nice long course
- Has a practice basket before you cross the bridge
- Great views from the front 9. Great walk thru the woods on the back 9.
- Never too crowded that I've seen and I play here a couple times a week. At a minimum once a week (we also like to play Olathe alot too)
Cons: - Hard to find next hole (BRING A MAP)
- Can eat discs if your not accurate
- Lots of cactus, barb wire and broken glass on a couple holes (not a big deal just gotta be careful where you walk)

Other Thoughts: Really fun course but can be frustrating at times. Always provides a challenge and good exercise:)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/24/2014   3/25/2014
Review By: WesternSloper
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/19/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baldridge Park is one of the more underrated disc golf courses in this area. There is an awesome variety of terrain and challenges throughout the entire 18 holes.
- Uphill shots on 2 &3
- Long, open drive-fests like hole 4
- Long, downhill breaks and short downhill birdie ops, like holes 6 & 7
- Water hazards - including a fairway paralleling the river and two holes in the vicinity of a pond - holes 8, 11 & 16
- Tight shots and tree navigation throughout the back nine.

The course has a great mixture of shorter holes and birdie ops, as well as some long holes that are quite challenging. Overall Par 54/58?
Cons: Signage is currently in place at each tee box, although they tend not to stay up very long. A map is a must for the first time playing this course. A new hand drawn map (Course Map II) has been uploaded under the Links/Files tab. It takes a couple rounds to really suss out this course. If you only play it once, it may seem frustrating.

With better signage this course would get way more play! One of the best in Western CO for sure.
Other Thoughts: The back nine is challenging to navigate, but it's all there.

Some tips...
* After hole 9 (the long hole which parallels the river) cross the sidewalk, walk through the trees and brush, to a tee pad near the bmx track.
* The pin for hole 10 is visible from the tee box. After completing this hole, walk behind the basket, past a bench, following a path into the woods.
* Hole 11 is a difficult, hard dogleg right, with major opportunity to lose a disc in the pond. It's relatively short, but challenging nonetheless. The pin is not visible from the tee. Hard par 3.
* The tee for hole 12 is in the woods, via a well-traveled path just to the left of the basket. The pin for hole 12 is barely visible from the tee, through the corridor.
* Hole 13 is a longer hole through the minefield of trees. Currently the alternate pin placement is even further back in the woods, making this a very challenging Par 3.
* To find the tee for 14, walk left, away from the pavilion and back into the trees for 100+ feet. Hole 14 shoots back in the direction you just came from. Pin is visible from the tee.
* Hole 15 parallels the fence before doglegging right into a small alcove of trees. Avoid the heavy woods to the left and fenced in junk yard to the right. Difficult Par 3
* The 16th hole is a great birdie op... arc it over the pond to the basket.
* The tee for 17 is along the sandy track that goes around the soccer field. From the basket on 16, walk up a short hill onto the track and locate the post (no concrete tee pad). The pin is not visible from the tee, so throw across the grass (towards the bmx track and edge of the woods) The pin is way back in there, near a clump of seemingly standing dead trees. Par 4 or hard par 3
* 18 shoots back towards the 8th hole pin (short, steep downhill shot) the baskets are less than a 100 feet apart.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

High mountain desert disc golfing

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: getchofil
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
Pros: The course had some fun elevation shots 2,3,6 and 7. 16 was a fun across the pond, make sure you throw solidly 220 or good luck looking in the merk. Once you make it to hole 8 the course offers a bit. Love that there is a good presence of DG courses in CO along highway 50.
Cons: The pictured signs at each tee are no longer there, which would have made the course a bit easier to navigate starting at hole 9 and 10. Found 11 tee pad but I never found the basket. Followed 16 backwards and found 15 and 14. The point being, some nailed arrow signs or replacement of the previous signs would be immensely helpful to those stopping in for quick go at some high mountain desert DG.
Other Thoughts: We got a late start but would highly recommend an earlier start than we got (12pm). If you're passing through this way it's worth stopping by and playing a round. I would recommend playing with at least 2 as some if the holes might have you on the hunt for your discs.

 Yay Sagebrush and Cottonwoods

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of hole distances with holes ranging from about 225 to 500 feet
-Holes 2,3,6,7 and 8 have a lot of good elevation change with holes 2 and 3 playing straight up hill and then 7 and 8 playing back down the same hill.
-The back nine becomes heavily wooded and has a lot of fairways that turn either right are left
-Overall, the course has quite a variety of different holes
-For the most part the baskets are in good shape
-With the exception of two holes, all of the holes have great concrete tee-pads that are a decently sized
-The course has benches scattered through it (though most of them are located on the back nine)
-The tee-signs show overhead view of the hole with the distance on them and they work pretty well
-The course has several holes with water hazards including Hole 16 which plays straight over a pond.
Cons: -The course can be hard to navigate. Many of the holes have multiple paths running in different directions from them and no markings as to which path is the right path to follow so it can sometimes take a little while to find the next hole.
-Many of the baskets (especially on the back nine) tend to blend in and on most of the back nine you will probably have to walk the fairway to find where you are actually throwing at
-Holes 2-7 have pretty much no obstacles on them and are just wide open (but at least most of those holes have some kind of elevation change on them)
-Holes 8-18 have lots of thick rough including sagebrush, tall grass and cottonwoods that could eat up discs to never be seen again and if lost a disc would take a little while to find in the rough
-Several of the tee-signs showed alternate AM tee positions but I was only able to find one of the AM tee positions
-The tee-signs are laminated paper and several of them are starting to come off and may not be there much longer
-The water in the pond looked a little nasty so good luck getting your disc back if you throw it in the lake
-I was never able to find the basket for hole 5
-Holes 16 and 17 didn't have concrete tee-pads
Other Thoughts: This course is a great course with a lot of fun holes and is totally worth playing if you are in the area but it also has it flaws. It gets really hot on this course so make sure you bring lots of water. Also I recommend playing with a buddy so you have spotter for some of the holes that have lots of sagebrush, thick grass and cottonwoods. If you are in the area definitely give this course a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Montrose DGC

5+    7/23/2013   8/26/2010
Review By: FonzTYC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great balance of long raw distance holes and tight accurate fairways.
Cons: Tee signs have no directions to next holes and some tee placements are outdated. Can be hard for first timers to find their way around.
Other Thoughts:

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a Local

5+    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: wentzl
Played: 42  Reviewed: 12
This review was updated on 8/2/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied terrain with elevation changes, challenging placements and water hazard. Every hole is unique. Description as "mostly flat" is not accurate. Front 9 has plenty of up and down with exposure to the wind. Back 9 is flat and wooded and sheltered.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate this course even with a map. Not a good course after rain. Ask locals for directions. Rocks will chew up your plastic.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course so I am biased, but one of the nicest courses I have played. Historic artifacts abound. A sharp eye will reveal an old wagon burried to its axle around hole 15, four wagon wheels exposed from the hub up. Sorta cool, if you are into that sort of thing.

Here is a link to a course map.

http://www.gvdiscgolf.org/cou...ntrosemap.pdf

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Seems like fun...

1    5/6/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: hagar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of natural terrain. Improved Tee boxes.
Cons: Hard to find your way around. After finishing the first hole, I spent about 20 minutes trying to figure out which way to go to find #2. There were like 7 well worn paths criss-crossing through the basket area.
Other Thoughts: Course is located adjacent to a pig park and criss crosses several developed walking paths. I encounterred few issues with pedestrian interference, but there were a couple times I had to wait until somebody cleared the area.

The DG Course is on the south side of the stream adjacent to a big grassy picnin area.

I was only able to play the front nine, due to lack of time. Hole 6 was missing the basket (vandals?) and I wasn't able to locate the basket for #9. After a few holes, I did notice little red stickers pasted on the middle of the poles that gave me a little bit of direction. They were hard to read since the writing wrapped around the pole, but sis help considerably.

Front nine is pretty wide open with several opportunities to air it out.

Course is set up very fair and one doesn't need a big arm to play most holes.

The course played well even with a bit of wind.

I would have rated it higher if I could have completed the whole front nine. A little bit of maintenance would go a long way.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/12/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: discflinger
Played: 96  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful oasis in the desert. Nice elevation change on several holes and good utilization of mature cottonwoods. Tees in good shape and concrete. Everything is around 300' or less, did I hear chain?
Cons: Rocks hell on plastic. Pack in the Z or champ. Look out for the fire ant hills.
Other Thoughts: Really a fun course. The stream runs right through it and brings some vegetation to the barenness. Disapointed to hear about the construction. There was a bit when I was there, but I had no problem finding holes.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 I'd Skip The Back Nine!

1    4/4/2008   4/6/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through an undeveloped part with low brush (Russian Olive?) and then later through a wooded section of cottenwood trees. Holes #7, 8 and 9 are world class and would be welcome additions to any course anywhere. #7 is a 451 ft. downhill throw on the side of the mountain. There is no major risk involved. It's just a fun chance to air it out. #8 is the classic risk versus reward hole. You tee off a small hill, throwing 228 ft. across a gully to a basket atop another small hill. If your disc sails too far left, you'll have to come way back uphill again. #9 is about a 280 ft. straight downhill throw with the basket visible. It's a touch shot, a fairly easy birdie, but in the back of your mind you're probably visualizing your disc ripping the chains for that ace. Good luck!
Cons: After so thoroughly enjoying 7-9, I stepped to the # 10 tee pad and couldn't find the basket. The same for # 11. I found #12 and birded it. #13 tee pad sign was Xd out with a arrow pointing another direction. I followed it and found a pond with baskets # 15 and # 16. Couldn't find either tee pads. Finally, I found and played #14. While looking for #15 tee pad, I accidently stumbled onto a newly made #12 hole. Wait, didn't I already birdie #12 a while ago. Then I played this new #12 and a new #13. About ready to give up up, I spotted a tee sign across this field. It was for # 17- no basket. But I found # 18 tee and basket and finally finished the course.
Other Thoughts: It looks as though the rec department is developing some new giant soccer field and running track complex here. The running/walking track looks to be about a mile long and I think it has adversely affected the disc golf course. There's plenty of room in this park to finish the back nine. My suggestion until then is: Go play holes #7, 8, 9 six times each for a total of 18 holes. You'll be awfully damn tired by the end of that round but you'll have some great memories of some sweet throws you made.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.