Dublin, OH 
Balgriffen Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #1 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / --   3 / 150ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short but Sweet

5+    5/27/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: tlimanek
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. Great place to practice or bring a beginner. Real shot at an ace on almost every hole. Nice park. I rate only a 2 since so simple and short, but I have a nice time playing here always.
Cons: Really short. Not sure why hole 7 was placed in front of a big willow instead of behind it which would make both hole 7 and 8 much more interesting. There is a busy street alongside so they may not want you to be too daring with throws.
Other Thoughts: Bring a midrange and a putter and have a great time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginnersí Dream

2-4    4/19/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 159  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This small community greenspace park course won't be terribly attractive to competitive disc golfers due to its lack of challenge (on all but the ninth green), but if you're introducing someone (of any age) to the sport, or live in this community, it's really a nice, fun nine. The middle four holes actually have enough distance to break out a midrange disc (as much as 276'), while 1,2,7,8&9 are putter/ ace runs.

Starting just on the far side of the pond from the nice course map next to the street side parking on Norn Street, basic tee signs, toe board, natural ground tees and good DGA baskets are all that's really needed. Most of the shots are laid out for safety, and a few have trees that are growing in to force some line shaping (see the new pics I just added). The 9th hole will actually give you a second's pause when you realize that, though short, the basket lies only ten feet in front of the corner of the pond. You can slide long, to the right, but you'll bring several trees into play, to interfere with your putt. So you need to decide, how do I ace run this temptress, keep a dry disc, and be sure to get my two, if I've gotta?

The park appears to have walking/ jogging paths, a playground, a pavilion, tennis courts, and an extremely scenic pond, and none of these other activities will be straying into the disc golf course. So my overall impression is of a beautiful, beginner, park nine.
Cons: It's too short, and not tight enough to interest the competitive disc golfer, and there may be places where the reckless chucker might drill a drive all over the place (the 4th tee is pin high for an errant shot to the right of the 3rd basket). The tee signs are basic, and sometimes (like on 6) face the wrong way, so as to be unhelpful for course navigation. There is only on-street parking for a dozen cars or so. I couldn't spot a bathroom. The course is clearly intended for the neighborhood, and not really for visitors.
Other Thoughts: The bathroom issue arose, as I'd just dropped my daughter off for an event (my excuse for trekking from Cincy to Columbus for the day), and I didn't figure on there not being any restroom. Next time, I'll go before I throw.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Easy Course

2-4    7/28/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bkidwell
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open and short course. Great for confidence boosting.
Cons: Almost to easy. First course I ever played and shot a 2 over par. Next time through, crushed it.
Other Thoughts: Great beginners course and a great course to work on your game as far as getting kinks worked out with your throwing motion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Balgriffin Disc Golf Course Review -- Buckeye Disc Golf

5+    4/2/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: Buckeye Disc Golf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Check Out our Video Review of Balgriffen Disc Golf Course!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QTwT_bSEvA
Other Thoughts: Enjoy our Video Review! More to Come!

Subscribe to Us on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/buckeyediscgolf

Check Us Out at Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/pages...5178773172398

Follow Us on Twitter!
http://twitter.com/#!/buckeyeDiscGolf

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Perfect for Beginners
-Great for trying out that new midrange
-Signs
-Low Traffic
-Eagle Scout Project
-Short predictable holes a pro for beginners or getting out of that funk
Cons: -Does not force you to use many shots
-Minimal obstacles
-Young trees that have not had time to grow
-Not a place to air out your driver
-Goose droppings eveyrwhere
Other Thoughts: Every course serves a purpose and this one provides a nice platform for beginners to get into the game. Whenever I want to take someone new to the course, I'll usually take them here where they can take it easy and not have to worry about threading a 3' gap on a 400' hole. You don't have to work too hard here, so bring a friend and enjoy spreading the love of the game. I don't know the eagle scout, but I'm happy to have a course to bring a new player to and not have them get frustrated.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Learner Course

5+    11/20/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: shots17
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good place to learn and practice short game. Few obstacles with mostly open shots. Some longer shots to really practice distance (for learner).
Cons: Tees are grass or dirt. Last time I played (Nov. 20th) there was a TON of geese shit on the edge of the pond extending about 50 feet from shore. This was annoying to walk through (carefully).
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a bunch to practice up on my shorter game. You can easily drive all baskets, but 2nd shot is key for low score.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.