Dublin, OH
Balgriffen Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #7 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / --   3 / 150ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Beginnersí Dream

2-4    4/19/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 150  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This small community greenspace park course won't be terribly attractive to competitive disc golfers due to its lack of challenge (on all but the ninth green), but if you're introducing someone (of any age) to the sport, or live in this community, it's really a nice, fun nine. The middle four holes actually have enough distance to break out a midrange disc (as much as 276'), while 1,2,7,8&9 are putter/ ace runs.

Starting just on the far side of the pond from the nice course map next to the street side parking on Norn Street, basic tee signs, toe board, natural ground tees and good DGA baskets are all that's really needed. Most of the shots are laid out for safety, and a few have trees that are growing in to force some line shaping (see the new pics I just added). The 9th hole will actually give you a second's pause when you realize that, though short, the basket lies only ten feet in front of the corner of the pond. You can slide long, to the right, but you'll bring several trees into play, to interfere with your putt. So you need to decide, how do I ace run this temptress, keep a dry disc, and be sure to get my two, if I've gotta?

The park appears to have walking/ jogging paths, a playground, a pavilion, tennis courts, and an extremely scenic pond, and none of these other activities will be straying into the disc golf course. So my overall impression is of a beautiful, beginner, park nine.
Cons: It's too short, and not tight enough to interest the competitive disc golfer, and there may be places where the reckless chucker might drill a drive all over the place (the 4th tee is pin high for an errant shot to the right of the 3rd basket). The tee signs are basic, and sometimes (like on 6) face the wrong way, so as to be unhelpful for course navigation. There is only on-street parking for a dozen cars or so. I couldn't spot a bathroom. The course is clearly intended for the neighborhood, and not really for visitors.
Other Thoughts: The bathroom issue arose, as I'd just dropped my daughter off for an event (my excuse for trekking from Cincy to Columbus for the day), and I didn't figure on there not being any restroom. Next time, I'll go before I throw.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easy Course

2-4    7/28/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bkidwell
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open and short course. Great for confidence boosting.
Cons: Almost to easy. First course I ever played and shot a 2 over par. Next time through, crushed it.
Other Thoughts: Great beginners course and a great course to work on your game as far as getting kinks worked out with your throwing motion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is what a nine hole should be.

5+    5/4/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: drblam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Approachable for new players, excellent practice course for vets to work the mids or drive some putters.
Field across the street for some field work, just throw away from the kids on the playground!
Cons: Not a full 18. Gets super muddy after storms.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course a hundred times over Griggs. This is the place to go if you need work on your game and then you can play Hoover or Pickerington for a full course. The care that went into/still goes into this course is five star!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course for beginners

5+    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: DiscDave
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nicely kept grounds and good signage. Nice course map for first-timers.
Good for practicing mid-range shots or long putts.
Cons: A little too wide open and the dirt tees can be hazardous to anlkes.
Other Thoughts: I have taken several people here for an introduction to disc golf and they have always enjoyed it. Very nice for getting in a quick round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great local course

5+    3/15/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: discmasternuke
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Any skill level has the chance to flourish here
The baskets have hole numbers above them
Landscape is BEAUTIFUL
9th basket is excellently placed
Always parking available
Cons: Extremely short with holes as short as 150'
Gets windy at times
Natural tees are muddy for several days after rain
#4 being a par 4 is a joke
Other Thoughts: Bring your kids, bring your wife, bring your grandma, anybody can play here. This course is excellent for practicing your short game

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice little rec course

1    1/25/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 139  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice neighborhood with well groomed landscape. The pond and grass is kept clean and tight.

Nice signage showing length of hole and pin placement.

Out and back design that drops you off right where you started.

Young trees scattered throughout that will eventually provide more obstacles than present.
Cons: Wide open shots to the pin. Hole 4 is really the only hole that forces you to take a controlled line. You certainly don't need to worry about missing the "fairway".

Not much to speak of in the challenge department. Many holes are reachable with a putter.

The natural tees are showing their age. They are beginning to dig in and hold water. Some filler would go a long way.
Other Thoughts: This course is on a very small lot of land. Considering the ground available, I think the designer did a nice job. There are a couple nice pin placements (4 & 9) and there are a couple holes that crack the 250ft barrier.

It is peaceful and cared for. All in all, I'm now surprised I waited so long to play it. Its a nice little course to pop some aces, bring the little ones or just work on your putting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good quickie course

2-4    11/23/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: MonkeyJones
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very well maintained
-in a nice neighborhood
-nice play area for the little ones nearby
-baskets & tees easily identified
-good for short game/putting practice
Cons: -dirt tees--muddy when wet
-grounds do not drain well after a rain
-very little variation
-numerous holes same/similar distance/same throw
-a couple holes throw right along a fairly busy road, a bit hazardous for the beginner that may "late-release" to the right.
Other Thoughts: -nice for a quick 9 holes
-I'd be content if the eagle scouts had built it in my neighborhood :o)
-hole #4 was my favorite

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Scouts

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of park area.
Well maintained.
Made for a quick round.
Cons: Tee areas rough.
SHORT.
Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Excellent job by the Boy Scouts. Well thought out design using the limited area. Good use of the trees and mound area along the one side.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Balgriffin Disc Golf Course Review -- Buckeye Disc Golf

5+    4/2/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: Buckeye Disc Golf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Check Out our Video Review of Balgriffen Disc Golf Course!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QTwT_bSEvA
Other Thoughts: Enjoy our Video Review! More to Come!

Subscribe to Us on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/buckeyediscgolf

Check Us Out at Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/pages...5178773172398

Follow Us on Twitter!
http://twitter.com/#!/buckeyeDiscGolf

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's ok.

5+    11/22/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: cali
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for a short round. I actually squeezed in 36 holes on my lunch break today. Good for working on your putter driving, thumbers, other technical shots you normally couldn't throw off the box on a longer hole. Makes for a decent challenge when it is windy out too, awesome course for practicing that area of your game.
Cons: Goose poop everywhere near the pond and the tee areas are mud pits after rain. Kinda gets a bit boring too, I wish the trees were a little more mature and actually posed as somewhat of an obstacle. You can throw right over or around every tree on any fairway with ease.
Other Thoughts: I work right down the street from this place so I'll probably be here a lot. See ya around!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.