Tupelo, MS 
Ballard DGC Share
Uploaded By: 3456789 Hole #12 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 209ft.   3 / --   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Perfection

5+    1/26/2014   2/1/2014
Review By: ConnorGraham
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is the epitome of what disc golf exemplifies. Casual competition with friends. It is fun and enjoyable for players of ALL skill levels, and I do mean all. It is an easy course, but also one that's easy to fall in love with. The setting is beautiful. Set in Mississippi, warm weather is around 80% of the time, which makes rounds accessible year round. This was the course I began playing on and will always be my favorite.
Cons: Most pedestrians aren't that courteous of players, often taking their time to make their way out of your line. But not too often and only on a few holes. Experienced and skilled layers will find this course a breeze, but still fun.
Other Thoughts: This course is wonderful. For everyone. I know the guy that designed it, and he did a masterful job, especially for its intention. Beautiful and fun, Ballard is one of a kind.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Lots of fun

5+    11/2/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: Bush_Wookie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course. Lots of shade but plenty of sunny spots too. This course is good for beginning to intermediate level players, pros will find this course a "walk in the park." The course is very easy to find. Some tee boxes have posts, while the first box ironically doesn't have a post or concrete slab (the first tee box is in a the corner of a block of pine trees,up the hill from the stage). Some tee boxes are concrete but most are dirt patches presently. About half of the course is placed where you will not have to worry about pedestrians. Holes are all in good condition and catch discs well. It is easy to find someone to play with if you are solo because of the traffic of this course. Loosing discs is not easy here. Some holes have arrows under them directing you to the next tee box.

The course now has all 18 holes!
Cons: Many of the back 9 are across bits of walking track and you will have to be cautious of pedestrians. Many of the holes have similar shots to each other so there is not a ton of variety, but is sill fun. On occasion, there are events at the park that make some holes unplayable.

Oblivious park-goers have been known to use holes as places to keep their things on multiple occasions. There are a few options: you can ask them to move, and they will. You may ask them to move and they don't, shoot anyway. You can skip the hole.
Other Thoughts: Near the park, on Cliff Gookin, there is a garden center which is convenient place to purchase discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun, quick course

5+    6/6/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: FJ40thom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Good for beginners, lots of shade on hot days. A round can be played in about an hour. Don't have to worry much about bushwhacking to find errant tee shots, it's pretty wide open on most holes. Sandy soil usually cushions landings, too.
Cons: Baskets are gone on holes 1 and 2. They were there a few weeks ago. Need to watch for pedestrians, especially on the back 9. Experienced players may think it's too easy, but it's just right for me right now.

 

5+    2/19/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Joey Ingle
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for beginners to start on.
You won't get discouraged.
Built with the Novice/Beginner in mind.
Cons: Too much pedistrian traffic on last 6 or 7 holes. For experienced players it is a "feel good" type of course.
Other Thoughts: Good course to work on your short game
It is possible to get a birdie/ace on every hole!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie Bonanza

5+    2/1/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: Randy Sharp
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An excellent beginner's course. Even the first-timer can get a few pars. For the amateur, every hole is birdiable with a controlled tee shot.
Cons: Pedestrian traffic comes into play on the back nine, especially during soccer season. It is managable, but expect a occasionable minute or two wait. On the rare occasion, you may have to skip a hole or two. Don't let this keep you away though.
Other Thoughts: Natural tees have become depressions on some holes, holding water. Hopefully, the city will recognize the amount of use and allow concrete pads to be poured.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/1/2009   2/1/2009
Review By: 3456789
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course to play.
This is a novice/am course.
Cons: Short.
Holes are too short and open, with the longest hole being 284 and the shortest being 155.
No garbage bags or benches through out the course.
Some pads are natrual and hold water.
Some of the tee signs are missing.

Other Thoughts: Can be a nice course to play.
A round with 2-3 people usually takes an hour.
This is the course I learned on and I play it pretty much daily, being its only a mile away from my house.

The park is usually pretty busy and some of the holes go through the busy parts of the park.
So pedestrians always have the right away. They put concrete pads on holes 3-4-5-6-7-8-11. And they're in the process of moving holes 1 and 2.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Dream

5+    9/10/2008   9/25/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for the intention behind the design. It is strictly a beginner course, in Tupelo's busiest city park, meant to introduce people to the game. With that in mind, the course is very fair. I believe every hole is between 150-300 ft., with a little elevation, a few select trees, some unique shots, and enough shot variety to help a newcomer develop their skill set to take on a tougher course in the future.

The course can be fun to play, with most rounds taking less than an hour.
Cons: There are no benches, the tee pads are all natural, and the course does not loop around at the half way point. The bathrooms are at the start of the course. These are more the general cons I look for in a course, considering that the course is so short, you won't likely be sitting down very often.
Other Thoughts: As a blue level player, I like to go play the course with my putters and mid ranges. I can use this course to practice different parts of my short game. I like to think of each drive as my upshot on a longer par 4 hole, to keep things in perspective.

If you are looking for a challenge, other than a birdie fest, then I would not suggest playing this course. However, if you are a newer player looking to work on your skills and have a good time, you will enjoy playing this course.

Being a busy city park, the pedestrians always have the right away, so please be courteous of them while playing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.