Danville, VA 
Ballou Park DGC - Course #1 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 227ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Putter practice + Creative challnge

5+    9/9/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: KenTyburski
Played: 84  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Elevation changes
* Easy to navigate
* Nice spread of old-growth trees and fair foliage obstacles on most holes with little overwhelming "rough"
* New tees, signage, and a kiosk
* Good for beginning players
Cons: * Short and straightforward holes - not as fun or challenging for advanced players
* Older baskets in some disrepair
* Flight lines not always maintained (sometimes all foliage with little choice of clear path)
* Course could use "beautification": better maintenance and care of grassy areas, adding trash cans, etc.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for beginners, because there is little guesswork to play; most of the holes are very simple and straight. Advanced players can work on line shaping and their putting and approach game. Recent upgrades kick this course up a notch, but there is still work to be done.

If you are looking for a challenge, try one of two "safari" layouts (distances are approximate)...

9-hole: 1 Tee to 2 Basket (420'), 3 to 4 (475'), 5 to 6 (460'), 7 to 8 (250'), 9 to 1 (150'), 2 to 3 (500'), 4 to 5 (225'), 6 to 7 (175'), 8 to 9 (375') - Total approx 3000', Par 30. You walk two circuits of the course.

18-Hole: Complete 9-hole safari (front 9) - 3000' out. Back 9: 1 to 3 (600'), 4 to 6 (480'), 7 to 9 (375'), 2 to 4 (750'), 5 to 7 (440'), 8 to 1 (340'), 3 to 5 (380'), 6 to 8 (390'), 9 to 2 (200') - 3880' in, Par 31. Total - 6900', Par 61. This layout makes five total circuits of the course.

Enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better than Expected

1    11/2/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I expected this to be smaller than it actually was. Of course, that is partially because the holes are a bit longer than the hole info here indicates. I'd say about 20-30 longer per hole. I think this is because the course has been updated at some point, with some of the tees moved around. (And the tee signs looked very new, so I wouldn't be surprised if a lot has changed since some of the older reviews)

It's also partly because was expecting pitch and putt and it isn't quite that. I think the shortest hole was 196. Yeah, you still will be fine with a midrange and a putter, but its not a novelty course. It's just a fairly short course that feels somewhat dated.

And the holes, while short, bring a little something to the table. For the lengths involved, there's a lot of elevation. You should be able to work that Buzzz in just about every way you could want. If I was a local, I'd play mid-range rounds and putter rounds here all the time.

It's also a great warm up or the second Ballou course. Again, each time i played Ballou 2, I'd leave the bag in the car and play a quick round of Ballou 1 first.

And it almost goes without saying that this would be a great course for beginning players. Unlike many shorter courses, these play like shorter versions of "real" holes. Those who are just learning to play could have many frustration free rounds here.
Cons: But of course, it is a short, easy course. The longest hole is 255 feet and there aren't many trees or other obstacles to make that distance seem tougher. Even intermediate players will fail to find it of much interest other than as a training ground or warm up.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great warm up couse for the big course

2-4    11/23/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: fun warm up course. also great for beginners. its a good place to take your family who hasnt played ever. I played with my dad and he scored 6 over and i shot 2 under but still had fun
Cons: pretty nice course of course its only a 9 hole's

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 lunch break course

5+    7/4/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: sopelis
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: Good beginner course. Also a great warm up course for the on-site 18 or for those trying out some new techniques or throws. You really can't lose a disc. No wild bush or bottomless pits. Unless a squirrel takes off with it you're good. Love the fact you can finish it in about 20 minutes by yourself. Good lunch break activity.
Cons: Poor condition of baskets and tees. Baskets are old and don't hold anything with the single rusted chains. I usually 2-3 putt at least once since a disc will go right through. Of course I blame the basket for that. Only 1 tee box.
Other Thoughts: If some time and effort were put into fixing it up a bit with some minor changes in hole locations, updated baskets and some TLC to the tees, would be a 2.5-3.

 beauty is in the eye of the begginer

1    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: Behindatree
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As many have said this is not a very challenging course for pros or even ametures. However I have not found a better course to introduce someone to the sport. This course is absolutely perfect for someone first time playing. You can get familiar with the fun of the game and get used to the characteristics of the discs without the frustration of hitting a million trees or fetching discs out of the river that too often makes someone first time the last time. Course is short and simple yet still offers lots of elevation changes and a few decisions on shot selection. Course can be played effectively with just one or two disc which is another great reason this course is good for begginers
Cons: Again not much of a challenge. Some very short holes and not much variety. Some holes cross a small creek that could use a crossing in the wet season.
Other Thoughts: Even if you are a pro this place is good to bring someone new or even your kids and let them learn the sport and while your there you can work on your form and try maxing out your effective distance with your putter all while looking like a super hero to your guest when you drop the deuce on every hole. And when they are confident enough to move up there is a 18 hole course on site

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and hilly

1    6/26/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Elevation changes galore! The course plays down a big hill then back up, so there are no flat holes. 5 Up/ 4 Down.
*It's quite open so the course is easy to navigate, and it's hard to lose a disc.
Cons: -The course has a scruffy underdeveloped feel to it. The grass was patchy and scraggly, with bald dirt spots. The tee signs were just little 5x7 cards, the tees were dirt spots with some roots in places, and the baskets were old with only single chains. The tees also had no framing, and there was not even a front line marked.
-There's not much variety to the fairway shapes; only 3 holes have left or right doglegs. (6 St/ 2 Lt/ 1 Rt) In addition, the terrain is all very similar with a mixture of grass with varying amounts of scattered trees.
-There are no amenities of a map, score card, practice basket, benches, etc.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Red (most suited for Juniors and Intermediate players rated 825-875)

I wonder if most of the energy and attention are now being given to the newer 18 hole course in the same park?

With every hole 150-230 ft long, there's very limited length variety, and the course is too short for experienced players. It's most suitable for kids and new players.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 leave the bag at home

1    5/15/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: brian j
Played: 72  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this is a good course for newbies or anyone who needs to practice with there putters. also the course is easy to find in the park and easy to follow. there were flags on most baskets pointing the way to the next tee.
Cons: no real challenge. a pro should shooot -9 here. also natural tee pads and baskets are old.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 pitch and putt

1    10/17/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 440  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On site of another 18 hole course, great for beginners, some challenge with trees and elevation changes
Cons: This is a old course, baskets have a single chain ring. There is no map. Tee 5 I couldn't find. A little bit a walk from basket to tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is old and has been pretty much replaced with the new 18 on the same location. This would be a great place to start newbies and anyone that likes pitch and putts, There wasn't a overall map but the tee signs were easy to spot and i didn't have a hard time following the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.