Danville, VA 
Ballou Park DGC - Course #2 Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #17 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee: Basket is straight ahead, behind the batch of trees.

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
You're my boy, Ballou!

1    4/18/2015   4/20/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 59  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent signage that pointed to the the next tee pad. Nice concrete tee pads. Good mix of open and wooded with only one fairway that was heavily wooded. There are several blind baskets and the tee signs helped with basket position. The signs would work better in this regard if they had an overhead view of the hole.

Locals were very friendly and let us play through. Someone also helped me look for an errant tee shot after letting us play through. I gave up after a few minutes and told the guy to keep it if he found it.

That happened on hole #6. You throw from high on a hill and the basket is on top of a very steep, grassy hill that has steps. That made for an interesting approach shot. And probably my favorite hole.

The park is an urban park, but after the first few holes, you go into the woods and stay there until the last two holes. There is no throwing over or around other park users. The designer did a good job using the space well and efficiently.

The course drains pretty well as we played two days after heavy rains in the area and didn't have any issues with mud or soggy ground. Water is only in play on #4, where I went into the small creek twice.
Cons: There has been a re-design at some point and two of the baskets were not re-numbered. #5 basket says #4.

#7 tee pads are not the ones past the basket on #6. Those are no longer in use but were not removed. #7 tee pads are down the hill across the trail and are visible from the old tee pads.

These were minor issues and easily solved without too much hassle.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice park with nice facilities. There was a group of four at the first tee that let us play through and were very helpful. Then a solo player let us play through on #6. Everyone was really nice. If I lived in Danville, I'd be playing this course all the time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Round or Two

1    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have to admit, Ballou was an afterthought. It wasn't on my original Saturday plan but after finishing up in South Boston and realizing we had the time, a spontaneous side trip to Danville was in order. I wasn't expecting much but I was more than pleasantly surprised with the course I found. As I would likely have never otherwise played the course, I have to say that it was one of my better spontaneous decisions. (at least disc golf related)

Ballou rolls over a variety of terrain, including light woods and rolling hills. Between the landscapes and the elevation changes, each hole manages to present a different look.

There are some open holes that let you throw over distant hills to baskets that you can only locate by reading the tee sign. There are gaps that you have to hit all over the place, some far down the fairway, a few right in front of the tee.

For many, the favorite hole is going to be one of the over-the-valley holes, although I couldn't single out one of them over the others. They're all fun and challenging in slightly different ways.

There is a newish looking walking path in the park (Don't worry, you never throw over it.) that probably is the reason for the slight redesign and if so, I'm grateful, because the new 4 might be the best hole on the course. The blue tee takes off from elevation by the sidewalk but both run parallel to a winding creek for one of the longer holes at Ballou.

The changes likely coincided with new tee signs which are excellent and show the distance, the elevation change and uniquely, the "plays like" which combines the first two numbers into an useful bit of information.

Throw in easy navigation supported by next tee arrows on the baskets, and two nicely-sized tees per hole and you have a course that is certainly worth a round or two.
Cons: What there isn't is a ton of length. Only one hole over 350 feet, and only four over 300. There are no real water holes, and really not too much challenge for advanced players. For intermediate, blue level players, this will be a great course but beginners and experts alike may be disappointed.

I'd also say that the finish is not great. I've grown a bit tired of the last hole is the longest thing that a lot of courses have. I need a bit more than length to cap off my round these days, and 18 here is just a longish hole through the center of a city park.

That said, this isn't a course with specific flaws. If it's not great, it's just because it's not great. It's not standout. It's merely above average. But for the land available, I'm very happy with the result.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is worth checking out. Worth the trip from Greensboro. Worth the trip from Burlington. Worth the trip from the triangle if in combination with Edmonds.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Side Trip Recommended

2-4    9/22/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is situated in a park of about 110 acres, the second largest in the stable of Danville city parks. For a city of this size, Ballou Park is an unusually well appointed and maintained example in the English landscape tradition of parks, and the disc golf course is already very polished and playable for being so young.

The course winds around the park's north side in more or less a clockwise fashion, and is mainly sequestered from other park activities, however walking/biking trails are threaded through several holes and the nature of the park itself promotes 'wandering' from other park goers. Alertness and consideration, as usual, are good practices. Course does not feature returning 9's.

Equipment and amenities are superior, including a distance marked practice green and an ornate and very sturdy information kiosk. Creek fords are first rate and sturdy throughout. It should be noted that policing one's own refuse is required on the course. Tee pads are above average but some may feel the blue tees slightly undersized. Way finding could be a minor issue, as the only 'next tee' indicators are on the previous tee and there are several instances where adjustments to the course have left 'spare' tee pads to find. Small colored directional arrows that hang from the basket's bottoms would solve this first timers' problem quite easily. In the 5 cases of a shared tee pad, the addition of blue stripes to complement the white ones, both on the pad and sign, would also be more consistent/less confusing.

Average hole distance from the whites is about 260' with 11 holes between 200' and 275'. From the blues, the distance variability is more evenly spread, the average hole distance is 335' and only 3 holes are 480' or better. From either set of tees, there are plenty of scoring chances due to the general openness of the course, light forgiving roughs and very few ob areas. Penal rough exists on about 1/3 of the course, but reaching them requires a large mistake (usually greed) and thus your penalty is 'fair'. Ballou #2 is very forgiving of even middling mistakes overall and gets high marks for encouraging learning while retaining a challenge and for venue appropriateness. I found it very fun to play and not as taxing as some of my own local courses. It has a light-hearted, playful mood.

Ballou #2 has excellent use of elevation changes, with every type except 'over-the-hill' represented (#14?) and exhibits excellent variety as well, as the design also includes 4 essentially flat holes. Balance would be the only formal design sticking point as the course strongly favors stable counter spin shot shapes from the tee, especially the blues. Greens are generally open, unobstructed and flattish; only a few exhibit significant slopes or drop-offs and are balanced overall regarding spin receptivity.

Ballou #2 has one very exceptional hole, #16 blue, which is one of 4 'cross-the-valley' type holes here. A 480' right-to-left par 4, one is faced with the 'how aggressive can I be' question off the tee, as landing zones both before and after the creek ford are solid plays. I venture to say the hole is nearly un-pinnable from the tee, even for those with great power as the hole sits about 20' higher than the tee and both sides of the narrow fairway are bordered with some fairly penal rough (the London Plane trees here tend to soak up a disc rather than allowing penetration, but only when in leaf). 60' or so down from the pin a protective cluster of large oaks/maples will catch weak up-shots. Most golfers need to play 2 very good smart shots here to get a shot at a 3. Rollers and the 'over-the-top' approach on this hole are so risky that success with it (them) would be an anomaly. Prove me wrong and show it on YouTube.

The course's routing is very mild, with a low-key start that eases you into the more technical areas of the course. The turn is punctuated with good scoring chances and the round ends with a bittersweet difficult sequence (#15-18). Overall, Ballou #2 is a very solid effort and a course the local club can be very proud of. Should you be passing through, I strongly advise stretching your legs here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant surprise

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: Tripper
Played: 126  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Course flows well, very natural setting right in the middle of town. The signs were simple but helpful. Good use of terrain and vegetation.
Cons: There were several trees down. The tee for 4 is hidden by a down tree. Look up the hill to the right from 3 basket. Lots of up and down.
Other Thoughts: Saw a couple of deer.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    6/23/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple Tees
Color Signs with hole and next tees
Clean park
Nice use of elevation changes
Couple unique holes
Hole 18 puts you out right at the parking lot
Cons: Buggy
Some of the holes aren't well cleared out or maintained.
The wooded holes don't have much of a fairway so good luck.
Woods aren't forgiving.
Other Thoughts: This is a long course with a lot of walking. However it is a very nice and fun course. Baskets can be hard to spot but overall this was a great course to play and would recommend it to others.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

On it's way

5+    3/21/2015   3/12/2012
Review By: sopelis
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2015
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I'm redoing my old review since I feel it was needed. Plus i'm bored at work.

I play this course all the time. I live in the area and this is where my handful of friends I can stand like to gather. Ironically they have discs and we like hearing the sound of banging chains. Hence, disc golf ensues.

Tee pads:
One of the key positives about Ballou are the tee pads. All holes have at least one large level concrete pad. 13 holes have both white and blue pads. They rarely get slippery and offer great traction. This is key considering whether in the south is like Oprahs weight. You never know what's going to happen.

Defined Lines:
Every hole has a well defined path for the disc to take if you can throw it correctly. There are no gimmicks or blind shots. It's had a lot of time to mature and grow, and it shows.

Considering it's a mostly wooded course, it still has it's mix of open holes, even when you don't realize it. If you look at #3, its fairly open until you get to the basket. Same with #4. At least that's the way I see it.

Tee signs
Though i'm not crazy about the design, the tee signs offer what you need on every pad, white and blue. The distance to the hole.

It has a lot of nice elevation changes. Some are more subtle than others but a great mix of high to low shots.
Cons: Alternate baskets
I think this would really change the dynamic of the course and give the player a different course to choose from every time. A few holes have prime locations for alternate baskets.

Though the lines are well defined, sometimes you want something a little different. You want a couple options to throw. Maybe there is an anhyzer and hyzer line available. On most of the holes, it's just one path. I think this would offer more options for players.

I've said before nothing really screams at me as drastically different between a lot of the holes. Aside from 13 there are really no wide sweeping anhyzer or hyzer holes. Most are pretty straight or have a slight turn/fade to them. Not saying this is a deal breaker, but having a few holes that really challenge you with this would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: Local course for me so I've grown to enjoy it more and more. A lot of positives to take away and I definitely think a lot of positive work has been done to the course over the last few years.

At times it's still lacking something worth a challenge. Without a lot of distance, it relies on accuracy and hitting the only line available to score low.

All in all a great course, which is why I scored it a 3.5. With a few improvements (alternate baskets, adding some distance) it will be able to challenge top pros and bring in disc golf lovers from all over.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.