Course Extinct
Albert Lea, MN 
Bancroft Bay Park - Course #1 Share
Uploaded By: DiscMo Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 198ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid, Secluded 9 Holer

2-4    6/16/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice elevation changes
-Water comes into play on a few holes, including some that have the elevation as well. The water is one thing that this course has on the other Bancroft course.
-Nice distance variety
-Some great risk/reward shots and a good variety of shots needed.
-Nice views of the lake
-Is challenging but still can be completed relatively fast unless you have to go swimming.
-Enough parking
-Is close to the future Bancroft Gold course
Cons: -Could lose a disc on this course.
-The homemade baskets are average. Not a huge negative but they could be better.
-The signage is ok. The walk between holes 5 and 6 could be better as Martin noted.
-Natural tees
-Could be buggy during the summer, not especially bad tho.
Other Thoughts: This course, hole by hole is the best one in town. The reason that I gave Bancroft #2 a half disc up is the fact that it is 18 holes with tees, good signage and legit baskets. This course has a better feel, flow, and fun factor than either of the 18 hole courses. I would recommend a stop here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short Challenge

5+    1/21/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **I'm not sure if the course has changed slightly recently, but some of the hole descriptions of previous reviews don't fit what exists right now, and some of the tee signs seem off, all baskets are in place and the course is in good shape**

Amenities. Ample parking for several vehicles, Restrooms, Picnic areas.

Variety. 9 holes, each one is different. A very enjoyable variety from a huge left to right opening hole, short downhill holes - 2 (with the risk of water immediately behind) and 5 (slightly left to right), Short and challenging number - 3 (water to the right of the fairway and behind the basket), and some mature treed fairways with various lines to the basket - 7-9,

Tees. Natural tees are in good shape and suit this course fine, footing is solid if you feel a runup is necessary. Tee signs show hole number and distance in yards, most of them seem close to accurate.

Location. A secluded area of the park sees little traffic, though nearly in the middle of a residential area, it seems well away from everything with a beautiful view of the lake.

Navigation. Relatively straightforward, the walk from 5-6 is a bit lengthy and was confusing my first time through, head up the hill along the parking lot away from hole 1 tee to hole 6 tee near the trees along the right edge.

Clean and Well maintained.
Cons: Other User Areas. A public park that doesn't see a whole lot of use, though many people are often walking their dogs through the park, and if the many picnic tables scattered about were in use it could be dangerous.

Length. Relatively short, a big arm is not necessary here.

Baskets. Homemade baskets catch fairly well and are in decent shape, though they're showing signs of age and the basket occasionally lets the putter fall through.
Other Thoughts: This course works well with the area and was a fun challenge, shorter and slightly more technical than its counterpart down the road. If in the area, I suggest running through this one for a round or two, it is quite enjoyable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 intersting shots

1    3/24/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 718  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even more secluded than Bancroft #2. If this course is uncrowded, I would be very happy to come here and spend an entire day playing this one.
Interesting shots; #1 is big anny (rhbh) playing on the top of a wide ridge. You would need to go quite wide in any direction to fall off the edge of the ridge; but it's scares you slightly from the tee, just because it's possible. This is a top notch hole for practicing longer/tougher annys for right handers.
#2 an interesting water shot...footage is short and shot is downhill. If you go for it, you can easily go past bucket, into lake (my playing partner did this and lost one. Water too cold this time of year to retrieve.) If discs are retrievable in the summer, and, I assume they are; this is a very nice hole.
Tees marked and easy to follow (except for missing basket).
Cons: Natural tees (these were in pretty good shape; probably as a result of the course being closed until official spring opening).
#3 basket missing...looks like a nice hole, though we couldn't find pin placement spot; it appears it would be between lakes on each side; a longer downhill shot. This hole (I believe) requires a walk back up the hill to tee for #4. I wouldn't mind this; as what I think is normal #3 is a quality enough hole, that the return walk would be acceptable; but it is a return walk.
Homemade buckets. These are better baskets than on Bancroft #2; much less of the sharp edges. However, there is no rod around the basket top supports; thus leaving a pointed rod end facing you on top. Chain assembly is also high and loose, compared to production models, and I had one enter one side of chains and out the back side; due to this. Chain gauge at both Bancroft #1 and #2 is lesser than normal production models.
Baskets for first half of course also had the problem of widely spaced bucket support rods; which allows for side exits. This was addressed as the course went along; with a band welded around the outside. All in all, these are good baskets, for early homemade; but, don't expect them to be as quality as major company runs.
Other Thoughts: We played this course twice; as we enjoyed the layout and the feeling here. I don't know what's with the missing basket; that hole would have been a quality hole. Would also be nice to improve on the tees, making them concrete; but, if this is an attempt to divert players to the 18, and leave this course for the long time players; than I could see this as a positive. As noted in the pros; if this course is empty, and you had it to yourself, or a few other players; it would be great amounts of fun for a full day of play even. If this nine were crowded; I imagine it would be sort of a nightmare; as you would be throwing on others.
All in all, I will probably not be making a trip back to this area; courses are just not that good. However, if I were traveling through; this nine is probably the course I would stop in at for a quick leg stretch and an enjoyable round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    4/12/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: sorgatz
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The back holes at backcroft campare to some of the best i've seen, even though it is only a nine hole course there is a course within walking distance that is 18 holes, nota bad deal
Cons: hole 3 is really short but be carefull not throw to far past it, the water is right behing the hole. Hole 4 is rather narrow and water is on either sides at points, if play aggresively you might be swiming
Other Thoughts: Tees don't have any diagrams, but course is pretty easy to follow and you can see most the holes except the first hole is up and to your right fairly deep

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.