Bandera, TX 
Bandera DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 446ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Little 9 Hole Course Could Use Some Love!

1    3/30/2015   3/30/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 712  Reviewed: 663  Exp: 36.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Horseshoe Bend Disc Golf Course in Bandera is set next to a small river over a mostly flat piece of land. The is pretty thickly wooded and bushy making for some interesting fairways. There is a picnic table at the beginning. The first hole had a red & black tiled tee pad. I thought, "These are pretty cool!" Alas, the rest of the pads were dirt but nice and flat. They had my personal favorite tee signs. That is, small 4 x 4 angled posts, just about 6 inches high, with a small but thick piece of fiberglass covering the actual sign. The second post on the left side of the pad has or used to have a house # with the hole number on it. Almost all of these cool little signs are so faded as to be impossible to read and about 5-6 of the house numbers are missing. The baskets are the DGA models with the red numbers on top. Most of the numbers are missing. There are little white, wooden arrows helping point out the way to the next tee box.
Like others have mentioned, I too, agree that # 5 is the single stand ut hole on this course. It's just a simple straight small downhill ACE run, maybe 200 ft. to a basket that sits in front of the river. It's relatively tight and upon walking down to the basket and seeing the river bank, It's actually pretty scary! Although the basket sits a good 15-20 feet from the bank, the drop-off is 10 feet straight down to a nasty looking river below. I'd hate to try to navigate that descent. Adidios favorite disc!
***Very Cool Move by Somone Here*****Some person from "Our School of the Blessedly Disc Good Samaritians" has strung a net about 12 ft. long and about 3 ft. high in front of the river to help keep overthrown discs out of the river here. Thank you kind Sir!
Cons: Natural tee pads, although in decent shape now, won't hold up to heavy use.
Signage is faded and next to impossible to read.
One really cool hole and 8 that are OK.
Other Thoughts: I have two thoughts and I don't wish to offend you Texicans with either of them so bear with me.

First, Someone needs to come forward here and nurse this course back back to it's orginal averageness. I don't mean that to really be a major putdown. I'm just implying that, IMO, this is really just an average course we have here, 9 holes, flat, dirt tee pads, etc.

Secondly, My stereo-typically image of a small town Texas teenager involves beer and firearms. Neither of these do I consider bad at all. But when I think of this isolated disc golf course out here all by itself, I'm so amazed, no, make that impressed that there is almost no litter, that I observe no evidence of vandalism, no bent to hell baskets and no signs shot up. The Texas teens impress me a lot more than most city types!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Horseshoe Bend

1    1/27/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pretty course with some challenging fairways. Wooden arrows direct path to next tee. Nice views of the river on a couple of the holes.
Cons: Dirt tees, signs faded or are missing. Parking at course is confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course next to a very nice public park. Definitely worth a visit.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unexpected Find

2-4    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: string74
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Course. Easy to find tees and baskets. Two holes play along river and giant cypress trees. Not heavily used. Trees are cut back just enough to provide a clear path to basket.
Cons: Placards on tees are faded or gone, but not too much of an issue since baskets are usually visible from tee.
Other Thoughts: Played 4 rounds at a relaxed pace in under 2 hours 15 minutes. Saw one other golfer the whole time.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging 9 Hole Course

1    10/18/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: siller006
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Different angles to the baskets are a challenge from the start. If you possess a mean thumber, you can do well on some these holes. A lot of winding & tight tunneling shots make this course difficult. The land that the course is nice and there are some great shots of wildlife on a few holes.
Cons: Course needs a little tree trimming but is appears to be in really nice condition. A couple of optional angles could be offered but this all falls in the line with trimming up the course. For the course being in such a small town, i see no real cons on this course. It's fun to play.
Other Thoughts: Spoke with the local guys and they're about to implement a signage to the course and want to hold a tourney in the future once they get it fixed up. Make the trip to check this course out if you're in the area. The drive out there makes it worth the effort.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Very Good 9 Hole Course

1    10/3/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: markmcc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I play this course 2-3 times a week when I'm in the Medina area. I am pleasantly surprised by how challenging it is, given the relatively short hole lengths.

This nine-hole course offers a good variety of shots. Most drives have to go through a gap, over trees, or around a bend, so none of these holes are easy birdies. Hole 2 is a great example. Dogleg left right off of the tee, and then a long run to the basket. If you come around too far left you're into trees, too far right leaves you behind a thick group of trees and shrubs. But a good drive gives you an easy par.

Dirt teepads in nice shape. All baskets in good shape.

Course has been trimmed up in the past year to eliminate some of the very thick brush and brambles under the oak and cedar trees. Nice improvement.
Cons: Signage at teepads is missing or worn. Only a few were good enough to read yardage and hole info. Most are missing altogether.
Other Thoughts: Very few other players on this course, at least in the morning when I play. Definitely worth a stop.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Simple Review

2-4    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: TheBearcat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Lots of fun shots through trees.
-Located in a great town
-Easy to follow
Cons: -Trash and broken glass everywhere
-Trees could be trimmed
Other Thoughts: Worth a play or two. One of my favorites because i can go and have fun and my girlfriend can play too.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Country Course

1    12/16/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: twgmdd
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very pretty course with a good mix of holes. The course is professional in appearance with good tees and baskets. I especially like hole 5.
Cons: Only 2 holes with elevation change and the brush is pretty rough.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to getting to play this course more in the future, the only downsides of this course are a result of the environment it was built in and contribute to the upsides.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course but could be so much better.

2-4    8/31/2013   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 147  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's worth a 30 minute drive if you're in the area. First, the town of Bandera is a great place. The aforementioned 11th Street Cowboy Bar, the old Caberet, Arky Blues, lots of BBQ and wild animals in the nearby ranches. There are lots of beautiful rivers and streams in the area and luckily the course incorporates one into it's design. Unfortunately, just for one hole but it makes for a nice place to take a break and enjoy the place...or go swimming after your ace run misses and goes straight into the water...which was a bit nippy in January when I played. lol

There are a few nice shot selections here and you can work your bag for some left and right shots, downhill, uphill, etc.
Cons: It was a little confusing where the tees were but after a little walking around I was able to figure it out without too much of an issue.

I found the holes to be a bit short for me or a little out of midrange distance. So I felt out of synch for most of the round but all in all it's a nice course.

There are a lot of cluttery shrubs and vines in the way that probably with more play it would open itself up a bit more.

But the main con for me is that more of the course didn't provide views of the gorgeous water and uneven terrain. As stated before it looks like there were a some houses or something there before so there are concrete slabs in a few places. I didn't have a problem with these, per se, but I think they could have been integrated into the design a bit better somehow.
Other Thoughts: I don't think it would take much to make this into a real gem of a course. It's worth a drive for a round or two in any case but this could be made into a real destination course with another 9 holes and a little work.

I'll play it again next time I'm in the area.

Edit: Course seems to be much better maintained/played now. There's a sign in front and a course map by the first tee. I still think they could make a few changes here and come up with a much better course but all in all it's a nice little course and a fun round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Secluded and Scenic

2-4    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: monkeywrench
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course design - easy to find your way from hole to hole even with thick vegetation. Beautiful scenery especially on hole 5 going down to the river. Challenging requiring many different types of shots. Not overly crowded. I like the dirt tee pads, some may not.
Cons: Some of the baskets are hard to see from the tee pads but not too bad, looks like this might be a bigger issue when the foliage fills out in the spring if we get any rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice quiet course to play. You can play through twice for a full 18 holes in a short period of time. There is wildlife (deer, birds, etc) all over the place. Its nice to hang out by the river and check out the crystal clear water after hole 5. The tee signs also have a haiku on each one that adds a bit of entertainment.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Really hard to play

5+    1/20/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: nike1888
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course features a few really long holes with no trees.
Cons: The trees are really thick. Expect a possibility of losing a disc. I lost one in an area that was near impossible to do so. Many of the holes take you over former house foundations making it a very cheap course in appearance.
Other Thoughts: Bring extra disc, and wear shoes.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.