Disc Golf Store
Bandera, TX 
Bandera DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket (after hooking left)



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Horseshoe Bend

1    1/27/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty course with some challenging fairways. Wooden arrows direct path to next tee. Nice views of the river on a couple of the holes.
Cons: Dirt tees, signs faded or are missing. Parking at course is confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course next to a very nice public park. Definitely worth a visit.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short and Simple Review

2-4    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: TheBearcat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Lots of fun shots through trees.
-Located in a great town
-Easy to follow
Cons: -Trash and broken glass everywhere
-Trees could be trimmed
Other Thoughts: Worth a play or two. One of my favorites because i can go and have fun and my girlfriend can play too.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course but could be so much better.

2-4    8/31/2013   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 122  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's worth a 30 minute drive if you're in the area. First, the town of Bandera is a great place. The aforementioned 11th Street Cowboy Bar, the old Caberet, Arky Blues, lots of BBQ and wild animals in the nearby ranches. There are lots of beautiful rivers and streams in the area and luckily the course incorporates one into it's design. Unfortunately, just for one hole but it makes for a nice place to take a break and enjoy the place...or go swimming after your ace run misses and goes straight into the water...which was a bit nippy in January when I played. lol

There are a few nice shot selections here and you can work your bag for some left and right shots, downhill, uphill, etc.
Cons: It was a little confusing where the tees were but after a little walking around I was able to figure it out without too much of an issue.

I found the holes to be a bit short for me or a little out of midrange distance. So I felt out of synch for most of the round but all in all it's a nice course.

There are a lot of cluttery shrubs and vines in the way that probably with more play it would open itself up a bit more.

But the main con for me is that more of the course didn't provide views of the gorgeous water and uneven terrain. As stated before it looks like there were a some houses or something there before so there are concrete slabs in a few places. I didn't have a problem with these, per se, but I think they could have been integrated into the design a bit better somehow.
Other Thoughts: I don't think it would take much to make this into a real gem of a course. It's worth a drive for a round or two in any case but this could be made into a real destination course with another 9 holes and a little work.

I'll play it again next time I'm in the area.

Edit: Course seems to be much better maintained/played now. There's a sign in front and a course map by the first tee. I still think they could make a few changes here and come up with a much better course but all in all it's a nice little course and a fun round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cowboy Capitol Course

2-4    5/25/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun course with great scenery. Have to be able to go over the top, or throw low and straight here, or you'll become intimate with many forms of Hill Country vegetation. Variety of shots called for. Hyzer, anhyzer, rollers, skips, skimmer. River is beautiful. Tees are dirt but OK. Scorecards and map online or at the library. Turn left at the foot of Cypress and park by the walk across from the oak tree to your left. Go down the walk and look left in the second opening past the park sign for Hole 1. Tee markers are ground level. Has a lot of challenging turnover shots to do well. Hole 5 is the signature. I played 36, but played 5-6 twice each round. Fun course. 14 deer were there for my first early morning round.
Cons: At least one stray coral snake in residence. Look before you reach. Can't see the baskets on half the holes, but that is a challenge rather than a Con. Tree canopies can swallow those errant discs. Any fade left is punished with undergrowth. Needed a trim, but the course was fine to play. Plenty of stickers this time of year. If you knock them off with your fingers, you may want to bring tweezers, as in Swiss Army pen knife, to get out the pieces that break off. No snake this time. Rest rooms are north of the road about 100 yards in a clear park area. No water on the course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course. It is a labor of love from the County librarian who got it built. Bandera is a fun town(11th Street Cowboy Bar, etc.) with good food and shopping for the females who don't play, so I would go out of my way to play here.
One of my favorite courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 quiet

1    9/14/2008   9/14/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good solid design, with a few tough shots, a few risk vs. reward and 1 water hazard. Beautiful landscape of fields, woods, brush, river, flowers, cacti, rocks. Tees are marked, map is online. The river is stunning, clear, shallow, lazy, full of big fish.
Cons: Grass wasn't well mowed when I played. Burrs will stick to your legs and shoes and they can cut skin. Dirt tees-not bad dirt tees but not cement either. A bit out of the way, 40 miles from any major town.
Other Thoughts: Worth it if en route to San Antonio from the west, or vice versa.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.