Disc Golf Store
Bandera, TX 
Bandera DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Horseshoe Bend

1    1/27/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty course with some challenging fairways. Wooden arrows direct path to next tee. Nice views of the river on a couple of the holes.
Cons: Dirt tees, signs faded or are missing. Parking at course is confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course next to a very nice public park. Definitely worth a visit.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected Find

2-4    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: string74
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Course. Easy to find tees and baskets. Two holes play along river and giant cypress trees. Not heavily used. Trees are cut back just enough to provide a clear path to basket.
Cons: Placards on tees are faded or gone, but not too much of an issue since baskets are usually visible from tee.
Other Thoughts: Played 4 rounds at a relaxed pace in under 2 hours 15 minutes. Saw one other golfer the whole time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging 9 Hole Course

1    10/18/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: siller006
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Different angles to the baskets are a challenge from the start. If you possess a mean thumber, you can do well on some these holes. A lot of winding & tight tunneling shots make this course difficult. The land that the course is nice and there are some great shots of wildlife on a few holes.
Cons: Course needs a little tree trimming but is appears to be in really nice condition. A couple of optional angles could be offered but this all falls in the line with trimming up the course. For the course being in such a small town, i see no real cons on this course. It's fun to play.
Other Thoughts: Spoke with the local guys and they're about to implement a signage to the course and want to hold a tourney in the future once they get it fixed up. Make the trip to check this course out if you're in the area. The drive out there makes it worth the effort.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Very Good 9 Hole Course

1    10/3/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: markmcc
Played: 75  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I play this course 2-3 times a week when I'm in the Medina area. I am pleasantly surprised by how challenging it is, given the relatively short hole lengths.

This nine-hole course offers a good variety of shots. Most drives have to go through a gap, over trees, or around a bend, so none of these holes are easy birdies. Hole 2 is a great example. Dogleg left right off of the tee, and then a long run to the basket. If you come around too far left you're into trees, too far right leaves you behind a thick group of trees and shrubs. But a good drive gives you an easy par.

Dirt teepads in nice shape. All baskets in good shape.

Course has been trimmed up in the past year to eliminate some of the very thick brush and brambles under the oak and cedar trees. Nice improvement.
Cons: Signage at teepads is missing or worn. Only a few were good enough to read yardage and hole info. Most are missing altogether.
Other Thoughts: Very few other players on this course, at least in the morning when I play. Definitely worth a stop.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Simple Review

2-4    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: TheBearcat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Lots of fun shots through trees.
-Located in a great town
-Easy to follow
Cons: -Trash and broken glass everywhere
-Trees could be trimmed
Other Thoughts: Worth a play or two. One of my favorites because i can go and have fun and my girlfriend can play too.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Country Course

1    12/16/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: twgmdd
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very pretty course with a good mix of holes. The course is professional in appearance with good tees and baskets. I especially like hole 5.
Cons: Only 2 holes with elevation change and the brush is pretty rough.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to getting to play this course more in the future, the only downsides of this course are a result of the environment it was built in and contribute to the upsides.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course but could be so much better.

2-4    8/31/2013   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 142  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's worth a 30 minute drive if you're in the area. First, the town of Bandera is a great place. The aforementioned 11th Street Cowboy Bar, the old Caberet, Arky Blues, lots of BBQ and wild animals in the nearby ranches. There are lots of beautiful rivers and streams in the area and luckily the course incorporates one into it's design. Unfortunately, just for one hole but it makes for a nice place to take a break and enjoy the place...or go swimming after your ace run misses and goes straight into the water...which was a bit nippy in January when I played. lol

There are a few nice shot selections here and you can work your bag for some left and right shots, downhill, uphill, etc.
Cons: It was a little confusing where the tees were but after a little walking around I was able to figure it out without too much of an issue.

I found the holes to be a bit short for me or a little out of midrange distance. So I felt out of synch for most of the round but all in all it's a nice course.

There are a lot of cluttery shrubs and vines in the way that probably with more play it would open itself up a bit more.

But the main con for me is that more of the course didn't provide views of the gorgeous water and uneven terrain. As stated before it looks like there were a some houses or something there before so there are concrete slabs in a few places. I didn't have a problem with these, per se, but I think they could have been integrated into the design a bit better somehow.
Other Thoughts: I don't think it would take much to make this into a real gem of a course. It's worth a drive for a round or two in any case but this could be made into a real destination course with another 9 holes and a little work.

I'll play it again next time I'm in the area.

Edit: Course seems to be much better maintained/played now. There's a sign in front and a course map by the first tee. I still think they could make a few changes here and come up with a much better course but all in all it's a nice little course and a fun round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Secluded and Scenic

2-4    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: monkeywrench
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course design - easy to find your way from hole to hole even with thick vegetation. Beautiful scenery especially on hole 5 going down to the river. Challenging requiring many different types of shots. Not overly crowded. I like the dirt tee pads, some may not.
Cons: Some of the baskets are hard to see from the tee pads but not too bad, looks like this might be a bigger issue when the foliage fills out in the spring if we get any rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice quiet course to play. You can play through twice for a full 18 holes in a short period of time. There is wildlife (deer, birds, etc) all over the place. Its nice to hang out by the river and check out the crystal clear water after hole 5. The tee signs also have a haiku on each one that adds a bit of entertainment.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Really hard to play

5+    1/20/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: nike1888
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course features a few really long holes with no trees.
Cons: The trees are really thick. Expect a possibility of losing a disc. I lost one in an area that was near impossible to do so. Many of the holes take you over former house foundations making it a very cheap course in appearance.
Other Thoughts: Bring extra disc, and wear shoes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cowboy Capitol Course

2-4    5/25/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: bayouace
Played: 39  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun course with great scenery. Have to be able to go over the top, or throw low and straight here, or you'll become intimate with many forms of Hill Country vegetation. Variety of shots called for. Hyzer, anhyzer, rollers, skips, skimmer. River is beautiful. Tees are dirt but OK. Scorecards and map online or at the library. Turn left at the foot of Cypress and park by the walk across from the oak tree to your left. Go down the walk and look left in the second opening past the park sign for Hole 1. Tee markers are ground level. Has a lot of challenging turnover shots to do well. Hole 5 is the signature. I played 36, but played 5-6 twice each round. Fun course. 14 deer were there for my first early morning round.
Cons: At least one stray coral snake in residence. Look before you reach. Can't see the baskets on half the holes, but that is a challenge rather than a Con. Tree canopies can swallow those errant discs. Any fade left is punished with undergrowth. Needed a trim, but the course was fine to play. Plenty of stickers this time of year. If you knock them off with your fingers, you may want to bring tweezers, as in Swiss Army pen knife, to get out the pieces that break off. No snake this time. Rest rooms are north of the road about 100 yards in a clear park area. No water on the course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course. It is a labor of love from the County librarian who got it built. Bandera is a fun town(11th Street Cowboy Bar, etc.) with good food and shopping for the females who don't play, so I would go out of my way to play here.
One of my favorite courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.