Clarkston, MI 
Bay Court Park Share
Uploaded By: Pizatman Hole #9
3 / 220ft.   3 / 190ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Am Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/21/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a multi-use park on a lake. a lot of walking paths and other amenities that could cause a head-disc collision, be careful

Teepads--Nice level and in excellent repair.. two pads per hole giving the ability to play 18 here if wanted.

Teesigns-- very nice with hole diagram and length.

Variety-- for a small park with small holes, this course has a great variety of looks on it. Great use of available trees and elevation.

Baskets-- not a fan of Innovas but they are in good shape at least.
Cons:
Challenge-- not a ton of challenge as this is a tiny little course but for what it is, it's well made.

Risk v Reward-- none really, park is pretty vanilla

Pay to play-- I guess the upkeep is worth a donation box but the $2 to play is a bit redic.
Other Thoughts:
I rate 9-hole courses on a lower scale than 18+ courses.

 sort 9

5+    4/19/2010   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great short little course, very convenently located, great coures to get in 9 holes on a lunch break! i would recommend this course too anybody looking to improve there average!
Cons: too many little young punks, get there while school is still in session!
Other Thoughts: will go back soon!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well Groomed.

1    8/19/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: sbrody44
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained. The grounds are pristine.
-Easy to keep track of discs
-Great course for beginners.
-Nice Location
-Nice layout for all sorts of throws
Cons: -Baskets. Upgrade Please.
-No signs at pro tees
-No scorecards at park. You need to print one off the site.
-Layout on signs was slightly skewed.
Other Thoughts: Not too bad of a course. I would definitely go play again. Good course to learn on and teach the game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Quick Round

1    6/20/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bay Court Park DGC has a lot of things going for it.

1) The groundskeeping is immaculate. It seems to be mowed regularly. I didn't notice any litter at all.

2) Navigation was easy since it is very open. It wasn't difficult to discern where the designer wanted you to go next. No need for scouting each hole or sending spotters. Everything was straightforward.

3) This is a very safe environment for disc golf. You are under surveilance which tends to keep out those who might vandalize the equipment. The park is in a nice area. It is quiet and leisurely.

4) The course is well-designed for its intended audience. Will there ever be major championships held at this course? No. It is designed for the casual player or to introduce newcomers to the sport. I will explain more about what I mean on this topic in the "Other Thoughts" section.

5) Elevation changes were used well by the designer including some tricky pin placements.
Cons: 1) Etiquette. It is hard to relax when you have an open course with many newbies and a disc. First, you never know where the disc is going when they throw it and this is an open course. Second, they don't know not to throw until the group ahead has holed-out. This is common of courses tailored to newbies.

2) For an experienced player, the design is very basic. Everyone can throw a hyzer. The anhyzer is tested a few times, but on most holes there are multiple routes due to the open layout.

3) Hole 9 left a lot to be desired as a finishing hole. You tee of from just inside the woods. It is a tunnel hyzer out into the field where the basket is placed. Not very long and not very challenging at all. It is by far the worst hole on the course. It is the only hole that has a wooded tunnel, and that may make some newbies believe it to be difficult, but it poses no challenging element to a regular player.
Other Thoughts: This is a typical 9-hole course and that is why I have rated it as such. It serves its purpose in the disc golf world. It introduces newcomers to the game. It makes a newbie consider shot shapes that they might not have learned yet, which I think is a plus. Newbies need to learn what shots they would need to ashoot well at a more-established and challenging course. Bay Court offers a great opportunity for them to refine their skills. It may be dangerous if one of them uncorks an out-of-control forehand shot in your neighborhood while you are teeing off. But the course is what it is.

While I feel the course was designed for newer players, it does offer a quick practice round for competitve disc golfers in the area. There are enough obstacles to make you think. It would be a great course for someone who is an average player and wants to become a really good player. Simply take a few discs out to this course and work on throwing different shapes with the molds you are most comfortable with.

Would I recommend this course? It all depends. If you are fairly raw and want a good place to learn...I would absolutely recommend it. If you are already a good player and are looking for a quick round in the area...I would absolutely recommend it. Is it a destination course, or a course that will ever hold higher level tourneys...no.

Also, just for thought, I am not sure how much land the park actually has, but from my guess 9 holes is going to be the max for this course. I didn't recognize any areas that could be developed for future holes. Many courses start with 9 and then get up to 18 eventually. I doubt this is a capability for Bay Court.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bay Court: what Civic Center wishes it was

5+    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New pin placements from last summer. Second set of sleeves/collars installed means pin placements can be easily varied from time to time (although the alternate placements do not alter the holes that much). I think they may change them from year to year to avoid excessive wear & tear around the baskets (pretty slick if you ask me)!
- 9 hole course with long and short concrete tee pads on each hole. Can play shorts and longs for 18 holes. On holes 1,5, and 6, both tee pads play very differently, and will likely change the disc you use and line you take. Most of the others just add more distance while requiring little or no change in your line.
- Moderate elevation changes.
- Simple layout, virtually foolproof navigation between holes. First-timers just need to know to cross the dirt road between 3 and 4 (and even that's hard to mess up).
- Mostly wide-open with minimal use of obstacles makes it a great course for beginners.
- VERY well maintained. Park is kept in immaculate condition: decent tee signs with no graffiti, baskets and tee pads always in excellent condition. I don't recall ever seeing any trash on the ground here.
- Quiet, multi-use park with rest rooms near parking area.
- Doesn't take long to get around the course (even with the moderate traffic during peak hours).
- Holes 2, 5, and 9 are the only ones where losing a disc is even a possibility (but still not too likely).
Cons: - Chance of hitting cars entering park when driving on hole 4.
- Not much shot variety despite elevation changes. Of the 18 tee pads, long and straight will set you up quite well on 15 of them.
- Tee signs are good, but it would be nice to have distances from all tee pads, not just most of them (admittedly nit-picky, but I found it a bit frustrating).
- Course is laid out for drive and putt or drive and 2-putt. Midrange only required if you hit a tree, and the way the course is laid out, not all that likely (hole 3 will make you pay with a very nasty roll if you're anything over a bit long).
- Pay to play; I don't normally complain about this, but this course simply isn't as good as the other pay to play courses in the area, and it's just not worth it. I honestly think they just did it to cut down on the amount of traffic this course gets - since ther's really nothing else near it.
Other Thoughts: I'm not hating on this course. I strive to be objective and fact based in my reviews, and have done my best be nothing but in my Pros & Cons above.

Here, I will provide my unadulterated opinion: I cannot say this is a bad course, but I cannot say it is a good course either. Not to sound trite, but the only challenge for intermediate players here is avoiding a bad shot. Shooting par here doesn't really require any good shots (not saying I nail everything - I still make bad shots).

Despite all the pros listed, this course lacks "character" and feels uninspiring. While the setting is pleasant, it simply feels sterile and bland. No holes stand out, or really get my blood pumping.

The park is far from ugly or nasty; it's always clean and well cared for - but it isn't scenic either. This course provides a nice, pleasant, but completely uneventful round. If I play well, I don't feel any real sense of accomplishment. If I play badly, I don't feel any pain. I've played here several times, and while I enjoy a pleasant round here, I simply can't get excited about this place. The only real thrill I would take away from this course would be hitting an Ace. Like other "recreational activities," disc golf doesn't necessarily have to be all that good for you to have a good time. ;)

If you're going to be in the area, I certainly recommend dropping in to throw a quick round or two - it's a nice pleasant round. But I wouldn't encourage going out of your way to "experience" this course, and would definitely discourage driving 45+ minutes with this course as a destination.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Easy beginner course

5+    9/24/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 79  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2008
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cement pads,signs,clean park, restrooms,not very busy from my experience,hard to loose a disc,this is a fairly easy course with wide fairways,you can play a round quickly,lots of ACE and birdie chances,great for beginners,overall a fun little course
Cons: Not much difference from pro to am tees,no long holes,not much of a challenge,park closes gates at 8,not much variety,9 holes
Other Thoughts: Great for practicing mid and short game

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/1/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: Trickydrd
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well manicured park. A couple of good drives and several elevation changes make this an interesting course. Decent use of the landscape and no real interference from other park users.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Very wide open fairways, only 2 or three real obstacles to line drives.
Other Thoughts: If I am in the area I would play this again but wouldn't go out of my way to get there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.