Disc Golf Store
Clarkston, MI 
Bay Court Park Share
Uploaded By: Pizatman Hole #9
3 / 220ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Am Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    4/21/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a multi-use park on a lake. a lot of walking paths and other amenities that could cause a head-disc collision, be careful

Teepads--Nice level and in excellent repair.. two pads per hole giving the ability to play 18 here if wanted.

Teesigns-- very nice with hole diagram and length.

Variety-- for a small park with small holes, this course has a great variety of looks on it. Great use of available trees and elevation.

Baskets-- not a fan of Innovas but they are in good shape at least.
Cons:
Challenge-- not a ton of challenge as this is a tiny little course but for what it is, it's well made.

Risk v Reward-- none really, park is pretty vanilla

Pay to play-- I guess the upkeep is worth a donation box but the $2 to play is a bit redic.
Other Thoughts:
I rate 9-hole courses on a lower scale than 18+ courses.

Nice Course

5+    6/24/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: rdblake01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is clean and well maintained. The course is not extremely long, so it is a good course for shorter throwers and beginners. It is easy to follow the layout from hole to hole.
Cons: It can get busy, it is only 9 holes.
No signs on the back tees
Other Thoughts: If you can't pony up $2 to play, go somewhere else. It has alleviated much of the issues with kids dropping in with groups of 10 that clog up the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for teaching

5+    3/23/2013   3/24/2013
Review By: todddarling1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/2/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for teaching beginners or kids. 2 Cement Tees per hole. (am and pro) you can play the 9 twice alternating tees to make 18 if you want. I take my son and wife there to play a lot because it's a short course and they are not long throwers.
Cons: can get busy. Lots of beginners can make more advanced players crazy. No score cards at the park only available online
Other Thoughts: It's a good quick course to play, nothing overly challenging but a good course for beginners to work out their throws and a good course to get the bugs out in the early season.
They have started charging to play this season. It's 2 dollars a day or $25 for the season, they also have a Family membership that is $60. I know that seams high for a 9 hole course but I think they do a great job keeping the park clean and the course looking great. Hopefully the money will go for improvements to the course and maybe more holes. Not sure where they would put them but we can hope.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  a series of short ace runs for 2 bucks a round?!

1    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Krinkel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the course is in a township park that is maintained rather well. no trash laying in every fairway.
Cons: 1. the entire course is aceable by beginners. Basically a series of 9 150-250 foot ace runs.

2. They Expect you to pay 2 dollars a round to play this tiny little beginner course. Even at the greatest course in michigan (flip city) Bill only charges a dollar a round and lets all agree that there isnt any comparison between the two courses. And apparently baycourt only just now started charging to play. why? when by all acounts of the people i talked to there today the course hasnt changed AT ALL in bothe maintenance and layout. Waterford just figured they could start gouging us i guess.
Other Thoughts: this course wouldnt be that bad if they didnt try and charge you to play it. Its not difficult and aces are possible on every hole.. This one kinda reminds me of brys park down in st clair shores. But guess what? the folks that run brys arent delusional enough to charge players to play a course that can be completede in less than 30 minutes

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 2$?

1    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - good basic design, mix of left and right shots
- elevation
- cement tees/signs
- super clean, well mowed and maintained
- dual tees to make 9 holes stretch out better
Cons: - Pay to play- always a con regardless of whether it works or is beneficial to the course or not (which in this case it does, and is)
- Distances WAY off, some/none marked for long tees, making it hard to guess
- some tees kind of face wrong way
- hole 2 too close to fence/road for beginners
Other Thoughts: pay at the little building to right of larger one
not worth checking out unless driving right past or live nearby

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good course

5+    3/18/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: jb375
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a pretty good course. The grounds are always kept pretty well maintained. Dual cement tees on each hole.
Cons: Can get pretty busy on weekend, often there are large groups (5-6+ people) that take forever on each hole. Course is relatively easy.
Other Thoughts: Says that it costs to play there, as of 3/18/12 no fee to play, I think they trashed this idea, never had to pay last year either.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 sort 9

5+    4/19/2010   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great short little course, very convenently located, great coures to get in 9 holes on a lunch break! i would recommend this course too anybody looking to improve there average!
Cons: too many little young punks, get there while school is still in session!
Other Thoughts: will go back soon!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bay Court is an excellent 9-hole course geared towards beginners, families, and casual players. The park itself is really clean and located in a nice suburb of Detroit. The land the course plays on has mowed grassy fairways on gently rolling hills dotted with mature trees- perfect for entry level disc golf. It is mostly open to help people learn to throw, but has just enough obstacles, elevation and well-placed baskets to make it interesting. There are a few holes on this course that are definitely better than average.

It only has 9 holes so you can play it quick, but it does have 2 sets of tees. This is the best case scenario for the amount land available. Tee pads and signs were nice. Navigation is a breeze. The baskets were in decent enough shape and are easy to see. There is very little chance to lose discs here, which is also a bonus for beginners.
Cons: A course like this will have the usual cons of being crowded, holes close together, and inexperienced players throwing into you. This is not the type of course you would want to play all the time once your skill reaches a certain level.

As far as course design goes, I felt the first half was much stronger and more fun than the 2nd half. The pro tee locations on 7,8,9 do make them tougher, but the baskets are just out in the open field, unlike the first several holes that had baskets protected by trees and elevation. I am not saying those holes should be excluded, I just think it would have been better to have those in the middle and not at the end.
Other Thoughts: To sum up, this is one of the nicer 9-hole beginner level courses I have played. This area is lucky to have it, and I am sure many people have and will learn about the game of disc golf on these grounds. Bay Court is an excellent course for its perfect for its purpose!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well Groomed.

1    8/19/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: sbrody44
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained. The grounds are pristine.
-Easy to keep track of discs
-Great course for beginners.
-Nice Location
-Nice layout for all sorts of throws
Cons: -Baskets. Upgrade Please.
-No signs at pro tees
-No scorecards at park. You need to print one off the site.
-Layout on signs was slightly skewed.
Other Thoughts: Not too bad of a course. I would definitely go play again. Good course to learn on and teach the game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Quick Round

1    6/20/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bay Court Park DGC has a lot of things going for it.

1) The groundskeeping is immaculate. It seems to be mowed regularly. I didn't notice any litter at all.

2) Navigation was easy since it is very open. It wasn't difficult to discern where the designer wanted you to go next. No need for scouting each hole or sending spotters. Everything was straightforward.

3) This is a very safe environment for disc golf. You are under surveilance which tends to keep out those who might vandalize the equipment. The park is in a nice area. It is quiet and leisurely.

4) The course is well-designed for its intended audience. Will there ever be major championships held at this course? No. It is designed for the casual player or to introduce newcomers to the sport. I will explain more about what I mean on this topic in the "Other Thoughts" section.

5) Elevation changes were used well by the designer including some tricky pin placements.
Cons: 1) Etiquette. It is hard to relax when you have an open course with many newbies and a disc. First, you never know where the disc is going when they throw it and this is an open course. Second, they don't know not to throw until the group ahead has holed-out. This is common of courses tailored to newbies.

2) For an experienced player, the design is very basic. Everyone can throw a hyzer. The anhyzer is tested a few times, but on most holes there are multiple routes due to the open layout.

3) Hole 9 left a lot to be desired as a finishing hole. You tee of from just inside the woods. It is a tunnel hyzer out into the field where the basket is placed. Not very long and not very challenging at all. It is by far the worst hole on the course. It is the only hole that has a wooded tunnel, and that may make some newbies believe it to be difficult, but it poses no challenging element to a regular player.
Other Thoughts: This is a typical 9-hole course and that is why I have rated it as such. It serves its purpose in the disc golf world. It introduces newcomers to the game. It makes a newbie consider shot shapes that they might not have learned yet, which I think is a plus. Newbies need to learn what shots they would need to ashoot well at a more-established and challenging course. Bay Court offers a great opportunity for them to refine their skills. It may be dangerous if one of them uncorks an out-of-control forehand shot in your neighborhood while you are teeing off. But the course is what it is.

While I feel the course was designed for newer players, it does offer a quick practice round for competitve disc golfers in the area. There are enough obstacles to make you think. It would be a great course for someone who is an average player and wants to become a really good player. Simply take a few discs out to this course and work on throwing different shapes with the molds you are most comfortable with.

Would I recommend this course? It all depends. If you are fairly raw and want a good place to learn...I would absolutely recommend it. If you are already a good player and are looking for a quick round in the area...I would absolutely recommend it. Is it a destination course, or a course that will ever hold higher level tourneys...no.

Also, just for thought, I am not sure how much land the park actually has, but from my guess 9 holes is going to be the max for this course. I didn't recognize any areas that could be developed for future holes. Many courses start with 9 and then get up to 18 eventually. I doubt this is a capability for Bay Court.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.