Crescent City, CA 
Beachfront Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Delightful

2-4    9/30/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: Zunz
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads are numbered and point at the pin locations.
-Blue (or white) arrow on 22 of the basket concretes pointing at the next tee (Course designer said he'd replace the other two when I told him they were missing)
-Maximum use of the available space
-Wide variety of shots required, really makes you work all the tools in your bag
-Great use of what little elevation changes are available
-Wonderful group of local players
-Bring your camera!!!
Cons: Occasionally holes have to be skipped because of people or parked cars. I can see where this could be worse in the summer, but the end of September it really wasn't an issue.
Other Thoughts: I stopped in Crescent City for breakfast on my way up to Arcata. Disc golf app said there was a beach course right around the corner so I decided to go play it. I met the course designer and ended up staying a week! Got some great lessons, met a bunch of awesome people and had a truly delightful time. Had I not met any of the people, I still would have stayed a few days to play this great little course more than once. The difference in the water holes between low tide and high tide is spectacular! Not to mention the great picture holes that change throughout the day as well.
Wind can be a factor at various times of day. I'm from the East coast, used to gusty blowing around not steady in one direction.
The locals carry extension poles, some up to 30' long to get their discs out of the trees. I didn't throw any irretrievable ones when I played alone but for some reason when there was a pole available I chucked several WAY up there that got stuck.
Overall this is a really really nice course and if you end up meeting any of the local players it becomes excellent. I would go out of my way to come back here and play the course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

City Park

1    8/4/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: FrankWilliams
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.5 Years
Pros: Numbered concrete pads aimed at the chains, and nice chains.

Good use of what trees are available.

The ocean breeze and seagulls make for a nice change of disc golf scenery and wildlife.

Public bathrooms available.

Plenty of parking.
Cons: High tide made a few holes not playable.

Soccer practice made another unplayable.

No tee signs.

Lots of pedestrian traffic.

Several holes play near/along the parking lot/street.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to take a picture of the map to start, as there are no tee signs to look for and its not always obvious where the next tee is.

I was warned by a local to not throw anywhere near the park employees as they will complain and get the course closed.

Variety Of Holes Here By The Pacific!

1    8/14/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beachfront Park is a good sized park sitting right on a bay of the Pacific Ocean. The views, although somewhat industrial, are still lovely with the blue Pacific against the blue California sky. The course utilizes this ocean setting by placing some holes right along the water's edge, so close,that you may have to skip # 7 if the tide is in. We did.

The course plays 24 holes of varying distances, everything from wide open bomber holes, to a couple of short ACE runs to three holes that actually play right across the rocks and sand of the beachfront.

The concrete tee pads that are in have a # plate on them and are shaped so they are facing the basket. Helps with the navigation. The baskets have a # on them and also have a blue arrow pointing toward the next tee pad. They also have a gold marine grade coating on them to help prevent rusting.

There a couple of very creative throws here. Start with # 7. It's probably 250' along the shoreline to a basket set in the rocks. When the tide is out, you have approximately 100' of sand if you miss left. Today, the water was flashing against the rocks-no room for error. We skipped it.

# 17's basket was in a very cool placement today. It was in the rocks across the muddy inlet making for an interesting ACE run!

#22 was another great little ACE run. It play 175' to a basket set in the rocks just above the water and just in front of the boardwalk walking path. Leave your disc short and it goes swimming. Anything long is OB on the path. Fun throw.

And # 23 was a also a cleverly placed basket today. The basket is normally set straight down between two vertical rows of planted trees, probably 240', just a straight drive. But today, the basket was set outside the right row of trees maybe 180' down the lane. Definitely changed up this hole.
Cons: There are lots of pedestrians in this park. At times, you may have to skip a hole because of a group having a picnic or soccer practice or maybe give them a heads up before throwing.

# 7 and the tide is an issue. What's fun would be all the times between high and low tide! Do I play this hole or not? Do I chance it? The winds might really come into play on this hole.

The 24 holes of Beachfront Park would be difficult to play without a local guide. I was fortunate to be shown around by big John. I wouldn't have caught on to the nuances of the tee pads without him informing me.
Other Thoughts: This course is creative and fun. There are some great holes here not to be missed. It's lovely on a bright sunny California day. I had a great time and am very glad I got to play Beachfront. I would've liked a chance to throw # 7 but that's all right, I got to play the other 23 holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Give it a chance

5+    9/20/2011   9/3/2012
Review By: bdodson
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Man the PACIFIC is right there. On a beautiful summer day, Crescent City is hard to beat.

The other reviews are accurate in both pros and cons....but remember if you are travelling this and want to stop this is a good disc golf experience.
Cons: Some of the holes are just dumb. There is no way around it. But get a TWO, then!

There are some cool holes like throwing off the cliff, watch out if it turns over and the tide is up!

It is true if your timing is bad you may have to skip some holes.
Other Thoughts: Give this a chance. The other reviews on here are critical and rightfully so. Keep in mind this is a tough location where there are many park users. Again this is about the spirit of the game

Also if you need a guide contact me I can get you in touch with people. AM sundays group play is still happening. And you will need a guide!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun at the beach!

5+    8/24/2012   8/24/2012
Review By: tsunamiscott
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Maps are available at the Cultural Center next to the park.
The tees are mostly concrete and numbered. There is a arrow in the concrete base of all the baskets pointing in the direction of the next tee pad to help you find the next tee.
There are some Long "let-r-rip" shots that are wide open, great for practicing drives.
This is a fun and challenging course.
Beautiful views. (lighthouse, ocean, bay )
All basket course.
Well maintained, you will not have to search forever
in tall grass and bushes to find a disc.
Friendly locals.
Cons: You may need to skip a few baskets: 1, 9, 11 and 12 could be affected during soccer season.


Other Thoughts: This is a great disc golf course!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/22/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: DCordell
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -new baskets and numbered tee pads
-course can be set-up to challenge most any skill level
-a few epic holes that you can't duplicate.
-course is well-maintained, restrooms available all around course.
-challenges control very well. as well as having a few big holes.
-very friendly locals that will gladly help you out.
Cons: -Lots of non-disc golf traffic
-course would be somewhat hard to follow without a local or map.
-possible to throw into traffic on a couple holes
-gold baskets are somewhat hard to find
-the trees really catch discs well
Other Thoughts: I think this course would be blast to have as your home course. It uses the terrain well to make it challenging. There are holes ranging from under 200'-500'+. Some holes are dramatically affected by the tide. The trees catch discs better than I could have ever imagined. I think its overall a plus for the course. They play well as hazards. It makes some of the shorter holestougher. You can't throw high hyzers into the basket without the risk of getting stuck high in a tree.
I'm sure when they get the course completed it will be easy to follow.
There was a lot of non disc golf traffic. That is the main con for this course otherwise I would rate it much higher.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Scottycb1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views, some challenging holes, only course i have ever played where a decent teeshot can end up in the pacific ocean. The beach holes are greatly affected by the tide, changing the whole dinamic of the holes. Good variety of distance with the holes, some long some short, a lot of 300ish holes. Overall the course was a lot of fun to play in a 40 person doubles tournament.
Cons: Non disc traffic, both cars and people, there was a lot of families (some of which spoke very limited english) that were in the way on a lot of holes. Its not exactly the best place for a course because of the danger posed to other park users. Some holes are just way too short, its alright to have 1 or 2 gimme holes in a round but in the 21 hole setup we played there was probably 5 or 6 real easy birdie holes, like 200 feet and under, mostly open, little trouble.
There is a lot of OB, some of it in dumb places right next to baskets.
Just a little pro complaint here, the baskets have the chains linked to rings at the bottom of the basket and if putts come in low and firm it spits them right back at you. The course have beautiful Mach 5's but they need to add a few more chains or alter the way the chains are linked at the bottom
Other Thoughts: Although this is not a championship style course, its still a ton of fun to play. It was worth the 3 hour drive to see the views and experience what i wish we had on the oregon coast. Good work Crescent City crew on getting this course put in

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beachfront Bleah...

1    8/25/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Gold colored baskets not only look good, but also help keep them from rusting
-Friendly Locals
-Ocean Views
-Use's the little bit of elevation change to its advantage
-Bathrooms on site
-The concrete holes that are in, are nice and numbered
-One big water hazard, the Pacific Ocean
Cons: -If the ocean was not there, it would be a basic city course
-Lack of obsticles on some holes
-Had to skip a few holes due to soccer playing kids
-ONLY PLAYABLE WITH A LOCAL FOR A GUIDE
-Trees that are there, are disc catching machines
-Lot's of other park users can get in the way of disc golf
-Some holes play way too close to parking areas, and a beginer can very easly end up hiting a car.
-Far end holes smell like they are draining the bathrooms right into the ocean there.
-Many holes not marked at all, just seemed like random spots in the field
-No signs anywhere to point you where to go
-Some holes are still tonepoles, some becuese they are still trying to get aproval to put in baskets, others becuese they just don't have enough baskets.
-Multiple baskets viewable from most tees, with none of the baskets marked.
Other Thoughts: This course is still a work in progress, and very much shows it. They had just put in a couple more teepads before I played it. When I first rolled up all I saw were baskets placed randomly in a field, luckaly I ran into a group just starting out that helped me find the course.
There are some holes that they are trying to put in, but not able to put in concrete, becuese of the soccer fields they are afraid that some kid will bust themself up on concrete. My sugestion is just to put rubber teepads in instead on those holes. There are also some holes that play right along the ocean so they can't put in baskets on those holes till they get aproval from the costal commision.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/18/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: AnotherPrimate
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The ocean, the tree hazards, and, most of all, the regulars.
Cons: Sometimes (rarely) you have to skip a hole because of tourists or soccer players, but there are 24 holes.
Other Thoughts: First played here five years ago, and lucked into a Sunday morning regular learn-and-play. Head over every month or so to enjoy the course and the people. Loved it with tone poles and am loving it even more with baskets... Where else do you get to throw over the ocean? Play in the morning to avoid the wind, play in the afternoon to practice the wind. Bring a long pole because those trees are the disc-catchingest trees imaginable. Nice pub right across the street from the corner hole for those who like a mid-course breather, too.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/6/2007   1/21/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -we didn't hit anybody
Cons: -roads, or picnic tables, or baseball fields, or sunbathers, bikers, and hikers come into play on most holes.
-the day we were there, there were no baskets, but a local showed us targets they use.
-all flat, one water hazard, but thats it as far as excitement.
-this seems like an unrealistic place for a DGC unless we were there on an abnormal day
Other Thoughts: if you're making a DG trip through the area, don't bother with either course in crescent city... if this course had baskets when i visited, i would've rated it a 1.5 due to lack of challenge, other than not hitting cars or people. overall one of my more uncomfortable rounds ever...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.