Layout Extinct

The Woodlands, TX
Bear Branch Sportsfield Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 162ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Not a fan

1    4/7/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hmmmmm, let me see......cant think of many. I will say that the whole sports complex is pretty impressive.
Cons:
Basket 4 is gone.
Holes not marked well. The stones are neat but the hole marker poles are there or not there.
Tee pads are terrible.
Baskets seem like they are smaller and they could all use upgrading.
Lots of standing water.
Going to sound weird but I think I really didnt know how to throw a 135' hole, ha.
Other Thoughts: The soccer fields are being upgraded with artificial turf the Houston Texans would envy yet the disc golf course is falling apart. I know, I know, soccer is more popular etc...I hope eventually the course gets a long overdue upgrade or a re-design altogether.
I went in positively. I have purposely avoided this course because 1- reviews say its always crowded and 2- the soccer fields upgrades/construction which from what I read was to be over in December.
Oh well.
Maybe Ill play it again one day....

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/11/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -First of all this course is very easy to find even with the construction occurring. There is a course sign an map in between two of the fields.
-A very tight course with narrow fairways. Accuracy is key, strokes can add up quick if you can't throw your disc straight or on a slight hyzer or anhyzer.
-Plays well with the elevation and pond on the course. Playing over water is always exciting for me, I always enjoy a course with throws over water.
-There are three sets of tees. The shortest tees are usually ~160 so new players or kids will have fun and not get too frustrated with length. The longer two tees have rubber pads and they do their job.
Cons: -"Oh look, another 200ft~ straight hole." That is my thought on almost every hole when playing here. Besides #17 and #10 I can not think of any other hole that really sticks out in my head. It is sort of a mesh of short holes. Diversity is good for a disc golf course, Bear Branch definitely lacks it.
-This course attracts a lot of one disc players. This is not a bad thing since this course caters to that type of player but be prepared to wait at tee and probably not be offered to play through.
-Tee signs, pads and baskets are all starting to show their wear. A few holes are missing tee signs. I am not a huge fan of rubber pads, they are here and Terramont Park and these are in rough shape compared to those at Terramont.
Other Thoughts: As I was playing the back few holes I happened to glance over to my left and noticed a vast field with trees and semi dense woods. It looked like a perfect course area. I realize that that land is not own by the park but this course really lacks a whole lot of anything. The course is crowded, short, and boring.

It would be hard or simply impossible to redesign the course on the small piece of land designated for the course so not a whole lot can be done here. However, if this course attracts to one-disc players and they enjoy it then so be it. We cannot expect all 18 hole course to be championship caliber courses; courses like this make Houston a good place to play, with a wide variety of courses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/20/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: Mason65
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
- Multiple tees
- Decent location.
Cons:
- Poor signage.
- Teepads in poor shape.
- long tees on a couple of holes downright frustrating (3 and 17)
- Usually crowded.
- Half of course turns into a mosquito ridden mudpit after any rain.
Other Thoughts: A good chunk of the front 9 plays through a marshy pit near and around a pond. Maybe I just seem to catch the course after a good rain every time, but its always muddy when I'm out there. Course hasn't been well kept, needs some serious attention to signs and pads. I would definitely rather play Terramont twice.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Short Course

1    1/27/2012   2/12/2012
Review By: BewareOfPenguin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, wooded course, short, good for beginners, can be played quickly when you're pinched for time
Cons: course is a little too tight in some spots (2 & 3), uneven tees, course can be difficult to navigate for first-timers, Some tees and/ or baskets (4, 6 & 7) will be surrounded by water after a big rain, crowded
Other Thoughts: When I went, the place was packed with people. But you can knock out a round pretty quickly if you don't get caught behind a large crowd of casual players. Overall, it was enjoyable. I will play there again when I'm back in the area, but I'll try going earlier in the day to see if it's a little less crowded.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Sweet course to learn the basics

1    11/13/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: gunkspiff
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good wooded course for noobs (me) water hazard not too tough, but you can still lose a disc if not careful, slight elevation changes are nice.
Cons: Layout not the greatest in flow, you have to back track through one hole to get to tee pads, tee pads are a little unlevel
Other Thoughts: good course to learn the game, I will be hitting these links more in the future to hopefully improve my game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Where It's At...

5+    8/17/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: cj37
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Water hazards. Multiple tees. Difficult shots on some holes.
Cons: uneven tees. sometimes it can be unclear what basket to shoot for if you've never played before
Other Thoughts: great course! terramont is just right around the corner if you want to get another nine in before going home.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The woods of the Woodlands

1    3/31/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: Joshua Ropel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun beginner course.
Lots of different kinds of holes.
Lots of soccer fields around course for free throwing.
Dogs allowed
Lots of challenging, yet fun holes.
a guy is sellling discs from water hazard for cheap prices.
Cons: Busy course.
Water hazards, beware the water hazard it is harder than expected.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Once and Done

1    4/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The fact that you can play disc golf here.
Cons: If you are not familiar with this course, you will end up throwing at the wrong basket several times due to unclear marking. I was the only person there with my shirt on.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun "homeboy" course

1    3/10/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great wooded terrain, lots of tight holes
-design utilizes terrain features well: elevation, small pond, etc.
-very nice park in a nice suburb, very well kept
-3 sets of tees, nice rubber pads
-tees signs show distances from each pad (but no other info)
-a couple cool little bridges
-bathrooms on site, water fountain, pavilion and soccer fields, etc.
Cons: -mostly short, not a lot of variety in distance
-very crowded and a mostly casual crowd, typical homeboy course
-rubber tees are short and often uneven
-3 different tees aren't very different, most are just a little further back
-no trash cans
-a few areas where navigation can be a problem
-you have to walk backwards across hole 16's fairway to get to the teebox, easy to for someone to get hit and bad flow
-hole 14 looks like you're throwing at 17's basket, 14 is tucked in the trees to the left
Other Thoughts: Bear Branch is a fun little course in a nice wooded park. The holes are mostly on the short side but make great use of the terrain that is available. The fairways range from mostly open to very tight but most are in between with well protected pins. There are several holes with elevation changes and holes 3 and 4 play over a small pond.

There are 3 rubber tee pads on each hole. The pads are grippy (and probably great in wet weather) but some are uneven. Most are pretty short too but so are the holes so it works out. The different sets of tees do not change the way most holes play. Most either add a little more distance or play from a different but not much more difficult angle. Tee signs are very aged and show only the distance from each tee. No hole map, next tee, etc.

The park is easy to find, plenty of parking, lots of amenities. There are soccer fields, a pavilion, water fountain and a building with bathrooms on site. A couple small bridges add a bit of charm to this simple course.

There are a few places where course flow can be an issue and fairways are very close to each other. Hole 16 is particularly bad: from pin 15 you have to walk the length of the fairway for hole 16 to get to the tee. Poor flow and a definite safety hazard. Holes 2, 3, 4, 11 & 12 are all very close and there are several instances where a shot on one hole could wind up near the basket or tee pad of another.

The experienced golfer will not find much challenge here. The course is fun to play if you like short technical holes (which I do!) but those who like to bomb their distance drivers will probably be disappointed. That said, a few of the holes are very tightly wooded so it is not a complete walk in the park. Overall, a great course for beginners or casual rounds.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Can be a great course at times

5+    11/17/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short wooded course with some elevation changes. Good location, good tree cover. Tee pads are OK, better than dirt i suppose but not by much. Good beginner course but still provides an accuracy challenge to the intermediate.
Cons: Playing on Saturdays during kids soccer games SUCK. Also, when school is out the kids in the area think its fun/cool to hang out in the area and sell/barter back discs they find/take from the course. Its happened to me more than once. Not cool Hoodlands!
Other Thoughts: With this course was closer to me!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.