Layout Extinct

The Woodlands, TX 
Bear Branch Sportsfield Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 111ft.   3 / 146ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Into the Woods

1    9/10/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: MikoDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very playable wooded course. The course has a real tight configuration so progression to the next hole is easy for the most part. Although there were a couple holes I had to hunt around for.

In addition to the woodland holes, there are a couple that play around a water hazard or into clearings, adding to the variety of the course.

Decent visibility on the wooded holes.

Most of the alternate tees are still marked.
Cons: The mid-holes does get a little repetitious with little variation.

Twice I had difficulty finding the tee; can't remember which holes, though. #9 and #17 maybe.
Other Thoughts: The directions were essential in finding the course head, which is towards the back of the park between a couple of soccer fields.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course if you're tried of Spring valley and mcdade

2-4    6/12/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: rbsold
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some really fun holes, with elevation,trees, and even water on a few holes. Very easy location to get to, close to I-45 on the north side of the woodlands. rubber teeboxes. Pretty decent signs with distances to tees. At least 2 different tee boxes on most of the holes. Targets are in great shape for most part.
Cons: to me, holes 2,3,4, and 12 are way to easy to accidentally hit other disc golfers. Really crowded almost everytime I go there. Holes are WAAYYY too short. Except for 12(450+ feet). Never get to air out the big guns. Beast, avenger SS, and Destroyer get neglected. Could easily play this course with a 2-3 discs and be fine. Not a variety of different shots.
Other Thoughts: Deffinitely a younger crowd kind of course. Be prepared to wait, or if you're in a big group, let people play through. Overall decent course to give mcdade, spring valley, and River grove a rest.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course North of Houston

5+    6/11/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: elmore
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bear Branch is kept up and well maintained. Restrooms and water fountains are available. Dog friendly. I play the course daily and don't get tired of it. Lots of shade after you get past the first 5 holes. Aces are possible at almost every hole. The baskets are painted and visible at almost all holes, but some are hidden from sight at the tee. You must walk a little to the side and you will be able to see where you need to throw. I love this place, I live nearby and play often. Sometimes you can get cheap discs from me at the table. Alcohol IS allowed.
Cons: The course gets crowded sometimes, soccer groups like to practice in the way of hole one. Sometimes you have to make them move.
Other Thoughts: I have seen coral snakes on hole 10 down near the basket so watch out if you lose a disc down there. There are quite a few trees fallen down there and that is where they are and where many discs go due to fade. If you are bitten by a coral you must catch the snake and take it to the hospital with you. It is needed for the anti-venom. The pond is nasty, and you will smell like it until you get home and shower. Also the photot on this website showing hole 17 is very misleading. It is designed to be thrown through the woods down the narrow corridor. You can go around to the left, but it is considered out of course, so if you dont make it, it is a penalty stroke every time your disc lands out of course. Also it can be very difficult to play to the left if there is soccer going on.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Local Course

5+    4/6/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: wolfman7207
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice variety. Multiple elevation shifts. One water hazard that covers 3 holes. Nice tight wooded shots and long open shots. Multiple soccer fields available to practice long drives.
Cons: Wooded shots will drive up your score if unable to throw tight straight shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall good variety course. Would prefer a practice tee on location.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Practice Course

5+    11/22/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: ChaseTheAce
Played: 89  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located near soccer fields in a nice community that keeps its parks clean. Before a round it is nice to air out some warm up drives in the fields as long as there is no soccer in session.

Fairly easy to navigate, especially after playing it only once.

The holes are balanced well with left, right, and straight holes, allowing beginners opportunity to learn a variety of shots. BB is a great course for learning controlled, finesse drives in wooded areas w/o being too punishing of bad throws.

With three sets of tee pads, the course caters to shorter arms as well as more technical players, providing a challenge from the long tees.

Water can come into play on 3-5 of the holes, adding some difficulty to the course.

There are small amounts of elevation on a few of the holes.

New tee pads were recently installed by local Boy Scouts and the baskets are in good condition.
Cons: The course is always crowded on the weekends and traffic tends to back up on holes. Soccer players can become nuisances on #1 and #18, especially when a tournament is being held. There are occasionally Cross Country meets held on weekends that utilize much of the course.

Bear Branch is notorious for bringing in players who lack respect for the sport, other players, and people's property. Be cautious of having a disc stolen if it's left unattended near another hole for too long.

Only one hole is over 400' making it hard to air out any big drives

Some of the tees come into play with other holes fairways. Bad shots can easily become a danger to others. Be aware at all times and don't be afraid to yell "fore!"

Other Thoughts: Spring Valley is only 10 minutes down the road and is the best course in the area for players who are serious about improving their game.

Bear Branch is a great course for beginners or a casual round with friends.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short, wooded course.

5+    8/8/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigghigg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A lot of variety. Pretty easy to follow. Multiple tee positions.
Cons: A little short. Some of the tee boxes (rubber mats) could use repair.
Other Thoughts: A lot of trees and variety of shots. Never seems to play the same twice. Can be very challenging if you don't make accurate throws.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Woodlands Tradition

1    4/30/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located just north of Houston in the Woodlands. A very nice wooded area of town that is always maintained impeccably. This course provides a wide variation of holes with elevation changes, tunnel shots, and a few over water shots as well. The rubber T-Boxes work well in most instances and are far better then other T-Boxes (gravel holes) on other Houston Area courses. Finally it offers 3 separate T positions for variety and different difficulty levels.
Cons: This is a very popular course and can be at times over crowded. If you plan on going, go during the week during the day to avoid the crowds. Some of the rubber T-pads are very uneven and care needs to be taken as to not trip. A few of the cages have been stolen at times and this leads to holes not always being there. This isn't always the case, but it can be a problem at times. Finally, I have heard from more then one person that this course was designed by a lefty and it shows. Most holes favor a sidearm or a thumber release (this is if you are a RHBH like myself).
Other Thoughts: This was the very first disc golf course I ever played. It holds a very special place in my heart and I would consider it my home course. It is a well maintained beautiful piece of property and is one of the most varied courses in the Houston area. I would recommend it to anyone in the Houston area and for that matter anyone visiting. It will definitely make for a fun day of DG.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Tight

5+    5/20/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bear Branch has a medley is tight fairways to test even the experienced disc golfer. Even a hole that is 145 feet long, although easy to par, manages to still make to work to get a birdie. Water is a short feature in holes 3 and 4, and can still be a factor in 2, 11, & 12 if you have an errant enough shot. Elevation shots also play into six different holes, which is a change from most courses in the greater Houston area.

There is ample parking (except on Saturday mornings) and quality facilities. There is even a drinking fountain on those steamy summer days when even sewage water is quenching.

There are three tee boxes for various skill levels, although the pro box on 17 makes the hole much easier, and the red tees can sometimes make the hole much too easy (i.e. hole 10). New players will enjoy this course much more than an experienced player wanting to play a challenging course like the LINKS Largo, Oak Meadow Park, or Tom Bass. Its simply more "new player" friendly, yet still holds some challenge for all players.

BEST HOLE/S: #10
Cons: A covered patio area for the park has replaced the practice hole area, and the practice hole basket was moved to hole 12 where the previous basket was stolen. I like it because the DisCatcher basket proves much easier to see than the aging Mach III's at over 400 feet away.

The tee boxes are rubber pads that are too short and are in poor shape. Save your ankles and throw from the dirt. The tee markers also need to be updated, even the still existent ones show yardage from all boxes.

An experienced golfer may complain that this course is too short. Hole 12 is really only hole a player can open up on, but if you like technical - this shouldn't be an issue.

WORST HOLE/S: #17
Other Thoughts: I'm happy to give the 10th course review on the only course in the Houston area touch by the master of course design, John Houck (even if it was only a consultation). I have found that Bear Branch is a personally evolving course for me. The more I play it - the shorter and easier it feels to me. Besides holes 6, 12, & 17, this is a course that should give you a good birdie opportunity every time.

In a tight space that contends with the soccer crowd on weekends - Bear Branch delivers within its confines. It plays multiple elevation, water, and tight fairway shots. It's also good to note that I even saw a few golfers pruning and maintaining the fairways (in a good upkeep way), so you feel the course will be around for a while.

In the end - it's certainly not the challenging amazing course I first perceived when I started the game, but it still challenges me in shot and disc selection. This is a solid 18 holes for any golfer in the Houston area.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    2/1/2009   2/2/2009
Review By: ROCthrower
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has some great holes for beginners and for those practicing their skills. It has a bit of everything, from short game holes, to trees in the way holes, to water elements, and even a few distance throws. Of the courses I've played in Houston, this one is one of the best. Sure the tees are in need of some TLC but other than that, this course is well maintained and clean!
Cons: Some of the tees are hard to locate for a first timer on the course. There is a map at the front of the park to show you where to go at the beginning, but after that there really needs to be better signage. Hole #16 I believe it is, you walk from #15 and touch the basket before you finally figure out where the tee is located.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I'd try this course if you're looking for a fun and safe place to play. The Woodlands is by far one of the safer places to play in the Houston area no matter what time of day.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Would be easy to improve

1    10/31/2008   12/16/2008
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.1 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good layout for a course without much room. Coure is in a soccer facility, similar to Lovers Lane Park in BGKY. Course flows nicely with only one area that causes confusion.
Cons: Poorly marked, almost completely sign-less. Tee pads are in really poor shape. Really old fly-18 pads that have suffered even more from significant flooding during hurrican season.
Other Thoughts: With minimal effort, this course could be very good. Hanging a few signs, and installing a more permanent style tee, gravel or concrete.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.