Stewartville, MN 
Bear Cave Park Share
Uploaded By: TJPUTZIER Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Challenging 18 Hole Course

1    4/5/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: mjz22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
Pros: good variety of distances, dog legs, and obstacles (mainly trees and brush), concrete pads, well maintainted, course does not share space with other park activities, well designed for thru the woods and in the open fields
Cons: not much elevation variation, no water hazards, can be muddy in the spring, no BEARS or CAVES that I know of???
Other Thoughts: great course for armatures and above, excellent course in the fall with less bugs and less foliage, fun course for competition as the course will even out the playing field after 18.

 Lots of open holes

1    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: deadbody
Played: 138  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 12.7 Years
Pros: Huge nice tees, nice baskets. Great wooded holes, tight and hard, but not super punishing, and very fair. You throw a good shot and you will be rewarded. Super good mowing job, nicely mowed fairways that point to the baskets, and the path to the next hole.
Cons: Lots of wide open holes, about 6 of the holes have no real challenge to speak of (the are just open field throws). The signs are trashed and not correct.
Other Thoughts: Really between a 3 and a 3.5 but the wooded holes are good enough to push it over the top. If there were more of those and less totally forgettable open holes I'd score it a ton higher.

 Good course not far from Rochester

1    8/6/2011   9/18/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good 18 hole course just a short drive from Rochester. I'm jealous that the much smaller Stewartville gets a better course than all of the ones in Rochester!

I brought my family and girlfriend here for my Birthday, and we all had fun. The park is multi-use, but the course is on its own so that should never be a problem. The fairways are all nicely mowed, but there is some long grass in the rough. There are a good number of trash cans and benches. We found a scorecard in the kiosk at the start of the course.

The course has small elevation changes, and a good mix of open/wooded holes. The wooded holes are fun - there's one which goes straight about 150-200' then turns sharply left. I overdrove into a tree and threw the next shot from up in the tree :)

Hole design is good, forcing you to use many different shots.
Cons: We got lost once in the woods for a couple of minutes - navigation can be a little difficult for a first-timer.

Some of the signage is missing, incorrect, or faded. Some of the holes outside of the woods are quite similar.
Other Thoughts: We played from the long tees so I can't give an opinion on the shorts.

Definitely worth the drive at least once if you are in Rochester or surrounding area. I plan on coming back whenever I'm in Rochester.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    3/27/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: professorapoc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good distance course, dual tees, with moderate trees and brush. Solid mix of long and short holes. Maintained well.
Cons: No elevation challenge to the course. Sometime a little crowded so pick your time to visit well. Easily affected by wind.
Other Thoughts: Pretty popular place. Best course in surrounding area though. Good course for beginners and pro's alike.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.