Strasburg, PA 
Beaver Creek Mini DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #18 (Taken 7/2010)
-- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
With an open mind, one will enjoy the World of Mini Disc Golf

1    10/19/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Getting to play with # 001 (aka Donnie Brooks, owner and proprietor of the Beaver Creek Campground/ Mini Disc Golf course, Mini Disc Golf promoter, Mini Disc Golf basket designer) was a treat above all.

Getting to fly a mini through the air with the same intensity and imagination as one would with a "big Disc" is surrealistic feeling IMO and a feeling that your more than likely not going to feel anywhere but here at this course (or any of the other area Mini DG courses).

I liked that one had the same kind of holes as one would find at a "Big Disc" golf course. As this course you had your water holes, you had your major elevation, you even had friendly goats that followed you on a couple of the holes (though they weren't in play unless you shanked your shot into their pen. One even had a hole that if you put $5 down and threw your drive through the covered Bridges window that one could of won $100 (where else can you go for a shot like that?) But every little obstacle now becomes a large obstacle since your using a "mini" disc and it's all good and fun :) and it's all available here for all skill levels.

Friendly staff :) Donnie and his wife, Rhonda are good people. Very helpful. Not only with anything Mini DG related but anything else I was inquisitive of the area.

Plenty of "Mini DG Mini's available for purchase at the store/ Donnie home.

Cabins available for rent on site.



Cons: I didn't have time to play the "other" Mini course on the property.


Other Thoughts: IMHO I think there should be more "MINI" Disc Golf courses to play, Especially at he International Disc Golf Center in Appling, Ga. I personal think the Mini DG World would be great for everyone if they would just use an open mind when playing.

This property is in the heart of Amish country. And it's also located in a very Historical area. The Fireside restaurant is just down the highway and they offer a pretty good menu of food and beer.

Th campground had a fire pit to which one can enjoy while relaxing down near the creek/ pond.

Exciting and challenging other "Mini" Disc Golf courses nearby (within a 1/2 hour drive of one another).


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Donnie's Little Mini Disc Golf Slice Of Heaven!

1    7/16/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mini Golf Promoter-Course & Basket Designer-Beaver Creek Club Pro-Disc Collector, Donnie Brooks has carved himself his own little 32 hole Mini DGC on his property here in Lancaster County, PA, the Mini Disc Capitol of the World!
Where else you find a course with such a variety of holes playing through fields, gardens, epic 270' downhills (on which Donnie amazed even himself by overthrowing the mini basket by 30 feet into the woods. A 300' throw with a mini!), baskets hidden in cornfields, the famous hole with plays through a covered bridge and tosses across a pond.
The targets are all basket designed and built by Donnie himself. They're stainless steel and solid. You'll find various models of them in public parks around Lancaster County.

Playing with the owner was a humbling experience with him throwing 300' and myself barely hitting 100 feet. I felt like a newbie on my first mini golf experience. I did get better on later courses.

I do love the creativity shown here and in the other private course I later played.
Cons: Frankly, I don't know what I think about this whole Mini Golf thing. Not sure what the attraction is?

Some of the open holes were a little boring.

Some of my throws were more than a little embarrassing!
Other Thoughts: Having one of the pioneers of Mini Disc Golf show me his course, his disc golf collection and inform me about the history of Mini Golf was fascinating. There are no Mini courses where I come from (Washington state) so it was new to me. Thank you, Donnie, for the history lesson.

My rating is based on other Mini Courses I have played.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The ultimate mini experience

1    3/31/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the mini course that all minis should strive to be like. But with the amount of space here, it should be! Unlike all the other courses we had seen this day, this spot had the ability to give you many multiple shots.

- Water holes. Water came into play several times, including one hole where you throw from a dock and over a small pond.

- Hole creativity. Have you ever had to throw a hole where you had to go through a covered bridge? Here you do.

- Elevation. You'll hike up some hills for a few holes.

- Open and woods -- plenty of each.

- Owner is friendly and will likely play a round with you. Ask about the history, too!

- Baskets. All are excellent and you get a history lesson throughout as some of them are the owners original prototypes, too. Way cool.
Cons: Nothing that would take away from the experience. Maybe tee signs (I'm a tee sign guy... I really like seeing them as I think they can add to the experience of the course).
Other Thoughts: This is the ultimate of mini disc golf experiences. Join the mini disc golf federation when here. Chat with the owner. Play the course and have a good time. Donnie has done a lot of great work on this course and from the way he talked when we played with him, it's only going to get better. I really look forward to seeing this course many times in the future as a proud member of the MDGF!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home of Mini Disc Golf

2-4    2/5/2012   2/10/2012
Review By: harmonicajoe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout of the holes is such that you can create a course within the 2 courses. Playing the holes in a different order adds additional challanges. Lot's of elevation changes and some nice signature holes. While playing the course you can see the evolution of the mini disc basket from it's creation in the barn to the state of the art stainless steel rock The Chains baskets.
Cons: I don't really see any cons except as the others have said no course map. That said, the owner will show you the layout and once you have played it a couple of times, it's easy to figure out.
Other Thoughts: Course owner Donnie Brooks is a friendly and knowledgable person who wants to see the sport of Mini Disc Golf grow.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Disc Golf Mecca

5+    2/5/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: Kstoebenau
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for every level player. Lots of scenery that creates obsticles at different times of year. (Corn fields, snow, Fall) There is a covered bridge that you throw THREW the bridge OR the windows! The bridge is over water too! The course is full of short and long distance holes that gives you the option of all kinds of different types of throws with different types of discs. You can really use what is in your bag on this course.

Baskets are excellent and range from original design to current state of the art "rock the chains" mini-disc fun stainless steel baskets.

There are elevation challenges throughout the course and even a large goat pen to throw over!

The owner Donnie Brooks has always taken time to walk me around and play when ever I've stopped by to play. He knows everything there is to know about Mini Disc Golf. This is a course you MUST NOT MISS if you are in the area.
Cons: No map on course. Need owner to show you around and lay of the land.
Other Thoughts: If you ask Donnie Brooks anything about Disc Golf he will be happy to tell you what he knows. He has show me different ways to hold and throw a disc and the difference in discs and so much history of many different discs. He is "THE DISC MAN!"

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Birth Place of Mini DG

1    7/18/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Owner will more than likely play with or show you the course.
- Map available in office
- Multiple layouts and alt tees to change difficulty levels, 18 plus 9 hole woods course
- Large Tee Stones are easy to see
- Fun mix of holes signature holes like the pond and covered bridge
Cons: - most of the main cousre is fairly open
- no Hole info or visible navigation on the course, need map
Other Thoughts: This is rated against other Mini DG courses.

Got to walk the course with the owner and learn alot about the history and growth of Mini DG. Like, the world distance record for a mini is over 400 ft, thats crazy I can't throw that far with a normal disc. And that the majority of the mini baskets out there are based on his design. Having the owner show me the ropes really spead things up, althought I would have been able to navigate with the map just fine. The tee stones are big 12x12 pavers and easy to find, and I was told "pick a tee, pick a basket and have fun". The majority of the 18 hole layout I played was pretty open but still had a good mix of holes and plenty of distance(although not alot of shade and it was hot really hot and sunny). The water hole although intimidating was a fun treat. This is a really nice course and has a mix that will challenge all levels of players.

Would be nice to see some tee signs or navigational aids but as well as a scorecard.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver Creek Mini Disc Golf Course

5+    11/10/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: beaverdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 44.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great and challenging Mini Disc Golf Course for the accomplished thrower, and also managable and a learning experience for the less experienced Mini thrower. Course owner "Donnie Brooks" can help you navigate this course for a more enlightened experience.
Cons: Not really for the novice player due to across water holes, and distance. But you have to start somewhere, and this is the best of the best. Again, Course owner "Donnie Brooks" is always glad to show you around and show you the way.
Other Thoughts: The premier Mini Disc Golf Course known. Has great elevation changes and hole distance. Challenges you with all the throws you have in your bag. Also has a seperate 9 hole course on the same property with shorter but yet very challenging holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.