• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Discraft] Discraft Predator history

Phillyjordan

Hey all, long time lurker here. I've never formally joined but I am on a quest and looking for as much info as possible. My apologies if I break any forum rules. I have spent a considerable amount of time searching and haven't come up with much.
I have been playing since 2014 and have relied heavily on predators for most of that time. I was fortunate to run into several older runs of z predators early on and they simply fly differently than todays offerings. So the dilemma is simply that I am now having to source more specific backups and I am finding somewhat inconsistent discs. Not in flight, but in tooling, embossing, etc.
I subscribe to the few molds in different stages of wear philosophy.
For reference, my predators typically come out 350'-425', Wraiths 425'-500ish, anything past that, I'm throwing destroyers. I prefer a full power shot. Beat Predators are my most trusted disc for controlled shots. Plain and simple. When seasoned, they bomb.

So, to the history. (Z plastic only)
I started collecting towards the end of 2014. So from what I can tell my predators from then include text on the back of the flight plate. "Discraft z predator" they also have the cross hatched grip section on the inside rim)
I have traced these back to atleast 2013 and I believe that the labels on the back of the flight plate was gone by 2018. I do have some Nate Doss predators that do not have the label, but I don't know their exact year. Maybe 2017.
(Pics below)

So, prior to these I have several of the 4 point variety. These lack the labels on the back of the flight plate as well as the grip section on the inside of the rim. They also have patent numbers on the inside rim.
Do we know these years?