• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Baraboo, WI

Baraboo Lions DGC

3.245(based on 37 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Baraboo Lions DGC reviews

Filter
1 3
BlackberryGirl
Experience: 15 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really liked the first 6 short holes thru the woods. The middle section also enjoyable. The last 4 were long and open which was tiring at the end of a round in full sun on a hot day.

Course in very good condition.

Cons:

Long walk back to parking lot
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
unkwn
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awesome Wooded Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 30, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Free.
2 tee spots for almost all holes.
Great signs for instructions.
Easy to navigate.
Shouldn't have a hard time finding a lost disc, there's not much tall grass.
Nice and close to the Dells area.

Cons:

Navigating was a little confusing in 1 or 2 places but it really didn't take long at all to find the way.

Other Thoughts:

If you're in the area, check it out! Totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
nyordy
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Tight Lines in the Woods 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 23, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Signs - 18-hole course with clean and accurate signs at each hole, showing both the long and short tees and the line to the basket.

Tees - Sturdy concrete tees are provided for both short and long locations.

Variation and Difficulty - Though mostly wooded, the course provides a good combination of dog-leg right and dog-leg left, uphill and downhill. There are also a number of wide-open holes that allow you to throw a full distance drive. Challenging enough even for a veteran player and it will force you to throw tight lines for distance.

Cons:

Disc Risk - Some very tight windows surrounded by dense rough. You might want to play this course with at least one other so you can spot discs, otherwise you might lose one or two.

Navigation - Though generally extremely easy to navigate, there are two holes that had my group unsure how to proceed to the next hole. The end of hole 11, in particular, leaves you lost. You have to follow a lightly-tread trail into the woods to the left for about 200 feet before you find the next tee-pad.

Other Thoughts:

This course was a joy to play through and challenged me to throw almost every disc in my bag. The course was well-maintained but with unforgiving rough composed largely of thorns and burs. I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone, as there is at least one hole for every type of player.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
mthammer
Experience: 29 played 12 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well maintained course that wasn't busy when I played it. Two tee pads per hole - I played rec, but the competition pads looked like they'd add fun challenges to the holes. Great use of space, and hole 10 is one I'd play over and over - cool ace run. Challenging holes that should be fun for beginners and more advanced players.

Cons:

The course loops around on itself and you finish up far from hole #1. Navigation was tricky in spots (9 to 10, 11 to 12, 13 to 14), but it never took me too long to figure out where to head next. A few blind holes meant walking up the fairway to find the basket - and a few times sort of guessing. But, that's normal for a first time around.

Other Thoughts:

I really had fun here. A few of the holes were very well designed and again, hole 10 is great. And 11 would be an awesome ace if you can get it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
aphilso1
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6.8 years 52 played 50 reviews
2.50 star(s)

OK course south of The Dells 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Two concrete teepads per hole. Signage was serviceable if not great, and the course was laid out in a logical enough manner that I only took a wrong turn once. Most of the holes are wooded and tight enough to be challenging. Most holes make you commit to a line and execute a golf shot.

Cons:

Just not a lot interesting about the course. One or two holes were kind of memorable, but there isn't a lot of character in the design. There seem to be an abundance of really short holes, which is odd since it looks like there's plenty of campus land that could be used to stretch some holes a bit.
Baskets were old Mach 3's.
Apparently only one pin placement per hole, according to the signage.

Other Thoughts:

I toyed with giving this course a full 3*, but ultimately the 2.5* definition is the perfect fit: "Decent/Typical." There's just not much memorable about the course, as it's very typical of an average-ish disc golf track. And looking back through my 3* reviews I honestly feel like each of those were more fun than Baraboo. So while the rating my seem harsh, I do believe it's accurate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19 years 267 played 256 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Fun Round in the Woods 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

- newer concrete tees, even for most secondary tees
- undergrowth is fairly thin, making it easy to find discs
- great wooded/technical challenge
- several garbage/recycling setups with notes about keeping the course clean
- nice tee signs, most of which were in great shape
- both recreational and pro tee lengths on almost every hole
- includes practice basket
- ample free parking
- course was generally well mowed and maintained
- variety of shot selection requirements throughout the course
- next tee signs in 2 places were helpful
- rocks laid down on some inclines to help with mud

Cons:

- Mach 3 baskets are a bit mediocre and let a few discs blow through
- holes are on the extremely short side in general
- a few tee signs in need of repair
- most pro tees don't have their own sign (but it was generally clear where they were)
- Hole 1 plays past practice basket which was a bit confusing at first
- no course map available online
- clearly the chance of flooding during heavy rain from some of the water marks, though this didn't affect me
- next tee signs were appreciated but could be more obvious
- a few muddy spots that could use some rocks/woodchips, particularly near baskets

Other Thoughts:

I had a lot of fun on this course, despite it being barely over 40 degrees and quite windy. This is a technically challenging course, though most holes are under 225 feet. The focus is definitely on shot placement, which I enjoy.

I think the biggest things I have to add to previous reviews are the updates to this course: one of the most common complaints has been horrible rubber teepads, as recently as late 2016. Visitors will be happy to see that the course now has some solid concrete tee pads, generally on both the recreational and pro tees. This should be a huge improvement for most people.

In addition, there may be some confusion on layout - Hole 18 apparently was removed during student housing construction of some sort. A new Hole 1 was added and Holes 1-17 were shifted to become Holes 2-18. The course is still 18 holes but is slightly different than it used to be. I'm not sure exactly when this change took place. One of the confusing outcomes of this is that Hole 1 plays past the practice basket which was a little weird. Because of this, I was the clueless person playing Hole 1 the wrong way and searching for the basket for 10 minutes before I figured it out.

Other than those details, navigation is fairly straightforward, with a few next tee signs to help. The course has a fair amount of elevation change with uphill, downhill, and valley shots. It's this kind of challenge that makes it a lot of fun. This is also a course where despite being heavily wooded in a lot of places, it's almost hard to lose a disc because the undergrowth isn't bad at all. This makes it a lot harder not to have fun.

Hole 10 has a nice bridge to cross over a ravine. This was relatively dry when I was there but clearly would carry water during any heavy rain. In fact, there were several places that clearly were wet the day before I was there due to the heavy rain. I'm impressed with how dry the course was in light of this. There was standing water on a few walks between holes, and a bit of mud here and there, but in general the course seems to drain well.

I don't know if I just caught a particularly windy day, but it was challenging to knock down putts in particular. You'll want to make sure you have something overstable to throw on your drives or some of your shots will be launching.

The UW-Baraboo campus is tobacoo free, including the disc golf course, which I certainly enjoyed but others may not. There are ample garbage and recycling cans throughout the course to place an emphasis on keeping it clean. In general, people seem to do a fairly good job of this.

This definitely isn't in the upper echelon of courses I've played, but it was very fun and is a great use of the space available. Next time my family is vacationing in the Wisconsin Dells, I'll be sure to pay it another visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
aajpity
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 64 played 21 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A course worth checking out... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

I felt the course used the location very well. Many holes are in the woods but there is a decent variety in more open spaces. The course was well maintained, had a pretty clear path of where to go next, and offered a nice challenge. The walking was a good exercise and I enjoyed being able to walk around the campus. Free parking and friendly people.

Cons:

Not very many places to throw trash and no benches to rest before shots if you were to be waiting on other people. The "challenging" tee-pad was often times hard to find. Some of the maps were not designed very well. I was led to a different hole than the map had suggested.

Other Thoughts:

The course is worth checking out. It was my favorite one within the immediate area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 214 played 202 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Baraboo DG 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 12, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

I enjoyed my round in Baraboo yesterday. I played from the shorts (I know, I know, I'm pathetic) in hopes that I could impress my wife with how great I am at the sport, but even so, some of the holes were tricky 2s. From the longs, grabbing a 2 is even more tricky and fulfilling.

The whole course is a pretty fun walk through the woods. I think it's great that the college used this land for disc golf as the land isn't really used otherwise and is a great spot for the course.

The tee signs are very helpful and the flow of the course is usually pretty evident.

Cons:

This course has tremendous potential, but I think the design is pretty "meh" at best. There aren't any holes that you are tempted to empty your bag out on and none of them are that memorable. I'd say this whole course is pretty average, but still fun because at the end of the day, it's disc golf and disc golf kicks ass.

The tee pads are atrocious. Cement tees would go such a long way here.

Other Thoughts:

I haven't reviewed a new course in about half a year, so I'm admittedly a bit rusty, but I don't really know what else to say here. I had fun, and I'm sure you will too, but it's not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13 years 1010 played 214 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Could be so much better... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 16, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 course located on the UW-Baraboo campus, mostly behind the buildings, and around the grounds.

Older Mach3 baskets, but all in decent enough shape and mounted well. A few tricky pin placements, and several that are tucked into nice spots. One pin position per hole.

Navigation is relatively easy, as the paths are pretty worn down. Signs on most holes help the cause.

The wooded sections offer some nice, tight lines to hit, with a little bit of hilly up and down. The rough is punishing, even on shorter holes.

A decent mix of open and wooded holes. You never really get bored with the layout.

Dual tee pads on most holes offer a nice change up for less experienced players. The short tees are quite short (for the most part). I found the long tees to be a decent challenge, especially with the wooded holes having a lot of tighter lines to hit.

Cons:

The biggest problem with this course is the tee pads. They're mostly rubber, and they're horrid. Not even close to level, which is exacerbated by the fact that they're cut into two sections, so you end up with all kinds of ankle-busting fun halfway through your run up. Just a mess, and enough to make me not come back. Even serviceable tees here would be a dramatic improvement.

This course, while designed decently and having some really fun holes, is haggard. It's kind of the drunken uncle of courses...sitting off in the corner of your playable area, just stinking it up and reminding you why you don't invite him to your parties anymore. Just a little cleaning up and love, and you'd have something. Clean yourself up, Uncle Morty, and I'll come back and visit.

Apparently when they updated the student housing, they took out hole 18 and never bothered to replace it. Solid.

The wooded holes, for the most part, offer one line, and that's it.

Not overly cart friendly.

Other Thoughts:

I think about some of the fun shots here, and want to go back. Then I think about the worst rubber tee pads I've ever seen, and I don't want to anymore.

If you're in town, and have to throw, make sure your standstill is dusted off, or be prepared to make like Fred Astaire for most of the round. All that aside, a solid course with plenty of fun factor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1105 played 682 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

17 holes here. Theres a mix of rubber and concrete tee pads. Many of the holes have long and short tees. The baskets are all in pretty solid shape and catch fine. The signs, when present, are descriptive enough with distances from both tees, hole number and a basic hole diagram. The flow is generally pretty easy to follow with a couple exceptions. There's a nice mix of wooded and wide to semi wide open holes. There is a pretty solid amount of elevation variation here. It has a pretty great mix of left and right favoring shots as well. The course is free to play and there is a practice basket by hole 1.

Cons:

The rubber tee pads are pretty awful. They are plenty long enough but are divided into 2 sections that are terribly uneven, slippery, and retain water. Just not good at all. Hole 18 is gone too. This would be easy to fix by just putting a basket from 15's long tee to just before 16's pad making it 18 holes again. Or they could use that additional basket to replace the one being held up by logs on 12 or 13 I think. Many signs missing or knocked down and a few spots where a next tee arrow would be very helpful. The majority of the holes are pretty short, especially on the short pads.

Other Thoughts:

With all that said this is a pretty fun course. Not worth a real detour to play but fun enough to take a couple extra drive minutes to hit up. With some better pads, signs and making 18 holes this would be a realistic 4. But as is in current conditions I can't go above a 3.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Barneybboy
Experience: 10.6 years 15 played 14 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Baraboo 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice course. There are a lot of different types of throws from wooded to wide open. The majority of the holes are a mix of the two. Good signs and tee pads to throw from.

Cons:

There is no longer aneed 18th hole, there is now a college dorm where it should be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Spike Hyzer 23
Experience: 31 years 92 played 88 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Boo U Rules! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 14, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is a great challenge from both Pro and Am tees (I once in a tournament shot E from the Ams and followed with a -10 from the Pros because I'd never played the Ams). The first five holes are wooded and technical, then 7-14 weave in and out of the woods and offer great technical challenge and a variety of shots (as well as some mild elevation changes to further confuse disc choice). The course once had awful rubber tee pads that have now mostly been replaced with concrete during a recent redesign.

Cons:

The flaws are near the end.The last 4 holes are simply long and boring without much in the way of obstacles. Even if you aren't a huge bomber, it is fairly easy to get par on most of them (the 15th is the exception, requiring two perfect 330 foot shots to park it for the par), but deuces are unlikely and the land could have been used better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Jimmy_Saskatchewan
Experience: 22.2 years 13 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

One of the Best Free Courses Around 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 12, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Holes are very challenging but not impossible.
- Mapping and signage is great
- Pretty much all the tees are in great shape
- Lot of diversity in the way the holes are layed out

Cons:

- A couple of the competitive tees are missing from recent construction.
- Parking lot for tennis court too close to line of play for hole 10. It is a blind pin so u may want to have a spotter or check it out prior to teeing off so u can avoid parking a disk into the fender of a BMW.

Other Thoughts:

I LOVE THIS COURSE and am quite familiar with it but word to the wise: It is very easy to lose a disk in the foliage so pay close attention to the flight path of your disk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Gr8HornedRat
Experience: 17.7 years 52 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Better than expected 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 1, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Many of the wholes are challenging, especially from the long tees. The next tees are almost always visible from the previous pin.

Cons:

There is a massive campus overhaul going on and the course is down 2 holes and has the possibility of others being closed temporarily or changed permanently. I never did find where 18 was even supposed to be. Most of the pads are either skinny concrete or uneven rubber. 3 holes have a sign or a tree right next to the long tee in the way of a RHBH follow though.

Other Thoughts:

Honestly, after looking at the pictures I wasn't expecting much, especially since I knew the campus was under construction. I did still have a good time. My games was very hit or miss so I don't know how much that skewed my perception.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Baueezy
Experience: 14.3 years 71 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 8, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Varied hole difficulties, signs for most holes, pro and amateur tee pads for most holes, creeps along Ice Age Trail which helps with the imagery throughout.

Cons:

Missing several baskets/holes due to construction (which severally hurts its true rating).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
smatthew854
Experience: 23.2 years 22 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This very challenging course has two sets of tees for most if not all holes. Tough blind shots and doglegs, with wooded shots and open areas abound in this beautiful layout.

Cons:

While I played the campus was under construction making it unplayable for several holes. The rough can be kind of thick and you really need people with you to help spot discs. It is also very tough to navigate if you haven't played it before.
Another drawback are the tee pads. Though some are nice there are others that are curled up and wavy, or simply a puddle of water. I wound up using the ground next to the tee more often than the tee itself.

Other Thoughts:

Fix the tee situation and as soon as construction is done and I would consider this one of the nicest courses I've played at. But due to the above issues its nothing more than an average course right now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
rayw
Experience: 11.1 years 28 played 4 reviews
1.00 star(s)

poor course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

no pros.parking is good.

Cons:

Poor maintained course. Don't know how it got a rating of 3.4. SOME Baskets not even out. Limbs down all over T boxes. Had trouble finding #1 .

Other Thoughts:

Expected better for a course at a collage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
rmerg
Experience: 24.2 years 24 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Almost everything a course should be 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very nice wooded holes and elevation changes.
A few open long drive shots towards end of course.
Markers show where next hole is located.
Grass stays mowed often.

Cons:

Not a big fan of the rubber tee pads, but are better than gravel/dirt pads.

Other Thoughts:

I would rank up to a 4 if the pads went to concrete.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
govigsfly
Experience: 19 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun 18 with a variety of shots 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

A fun 18 basket course. Lots of shorter shots in wooded area, but also a few longer open shots. Has two tee pads for each basket - one is shorter and easier and the other is typically more challenging. Most baskets have nice signs with distance and map.

Cons:

Might be a good idea to go in groups of 2 or more to help spot discs thrown into trees and tall grass.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a really fun course to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
11B Lee
Experience: 12.3 years 21 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I have played this course 100s of times! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 30, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Alight I know not everyone wants a hole by hole break-down of the course...
Here's a quick down and dirty of the good followed by the hole descriptions.

This course starts out in the woods and the first 5 holes are more than likely my favorite multiple hole stretch. The first 5 are uphill, blind dogleg right, elevated dogleg left, dogleg right downhill, and then a narrow tree lined straight. You have everything in the first 5 holes. This course has a mix of concrete tees and rubber mat tees. Most of the rubber tees are still in good shape. And every hole except #7, #9, #12, and #14 has an amateur tee and a pro tee. The baskets with the exception of 2 are in very good shape.

Cons:

There really isn't too much to complain about. The course itself is laid out nice. There is 2 things I'd complain about is:
1) People are very destructive. The course is on a college campus..... There isn't supposed to be drinking, smoking, or doing drugs. There is glass from beer bottles being smashed all over the tees. If you're reading this and have played here you know what I'm talking about. Spread the word and/or yell at these punks so this awesome course doesn't get shut down. Its super simple, if you're going to drink, bring a cooler and bring cans.... Then bring the evidence with you when you leave. As far as smoking/chewing/smoking other than Tabaco products.... Do it when there aren't 100 people looking at you on the open holes.
2) And this is just personal preference, #15-#17 it almost seems like they ran out of ideas for holes. They are just long open holes and after the first 14 were awesome it sucks to end your round walking through a soccer field and no trees or obstacles.

Other Thoughts:

This course would be a 4.5-4.75 in my books if people would just be respectful and throw theyre garbage in the 25 garbage cans provided and didn't break glass on the tees.

Here's a break-down of the holes from the pro tees:
#1 uphill basket just to the left on hill crest.
#2 blind dogleg right with trees erratically then straightens out.
#3 elevated tree lined downhill basket just left
#4 blind dogleg right downhill (easy to go way past on approach shot).
#5 narrow tree lined pretty much straight.
#6 open straight.
#7 uphill trees everywhere.
#8 elevated dogleg left to straight.
#9 elevated downhill through heavy trees.
#10 HUGE dogleg left to tennis courts basket in gulley (style points if you hit the tennis player's vehicles).
#11 very narrow tree run basket sits at end after dogleg right.
#12 straight ends dogleg right.
#13 straight with HUGE evergreen blocking basket (either have to backdoor or hook left).
#14 uphill turns into a 90' dogleg left.
#15 Huge straight away through soccer field down lil' hill then up a hill. (if there is a soccer game going on just play from the close tees).
#16 straight over tennis court road basket by tree.
#17 up an embankment straight.
#18 straight into dogleg right uphill whole right side is trees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top