• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Grapevine, TX

Bear Creek

3.625(based on 96 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Bear Creek reviews

Filter
5 0
dgaficionado
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 34.2 years 282 played 37 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Gone to the Dogs (Literally) 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 5, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

+ Nicely accommodates beginner to advanced skill levels.
+ Demands variety of shots thanks to obstacles (mostly water and trees) and layout.
+ Good shade throughout.
+ Alternate tees and pin placements.

Cons:

- Often crowded at peak times.
- A few blind drives with hard to find baskets off the tee for players unfamiliar with course.

Other Thoughts:

INFO
Course sandwiched between highway and neighborhood in city park with deep creek running through its middle dividing holes into two sections, #1-12 and #13-18. Long and short concrete tees play to variety of mostly flat long/short, left/right, open/wooded holes with alternate pin placements and many trees and other casual water obstacles throughout. Creek comes into play prominently on #12, backs up against green on #15 and runs alongside trees on #16-18 to catch errant throws, especially at openings near baskets. The creek crossing on #12 requires traversing steep banks, and the walk between holes #12-13 is a bit of a hike. Walking trail skirts edge of dedicated disc golf area near start, and parking lot shared with nearby youth ball field.

EVAL
Centrally located in the metroplex near DFW Airport with accessible yet challenging holes for multiple skill levels, it's fair to say Bear Creek is a much beloved area course with well worn paths and greens that attest to it's popularity. Obstacles appealing to advanced skill levels may intimidate beginner/recreational players but still prove exciting for all: short and scenic #12 is a perfect example as it plays across a winding section of the creek with very steep banks and plenty of trees to knock down shots. The course does an admirable job of offering good opportunities to test advanced players while still feeling approachable to lesser skilled ones. Though often crowded, the layout through wooded areas and across creeks keeps groups separated enough to feel secluded through much of the course.

NOTE
Bear Creek started as a nine hole course and grew over the years to first twelve and then a full eighteen holes. The previous configuration for hole #1 threw across the creek to start. This course has gone to the dogs (literally). The city of Grapevine closed the course Sept. 5, 2017 after 21 years to make room for a dog park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
tkmcdougal
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.4 years 196 played 96 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Final round at Bear Creek 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 1, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is an awesome course right off the highway which I have a lot of awesome memories at. The course is challenging yet easy enough to shoot well. There is a good mix of trees , shaping lines and distance. Even though, some of the holes have shorter distances you have to be very accurate to get your birdie. There are concrete teepads on every hole (some are a little high where you can fall off). The baskets are also in decent shape. This course challenges you to use all shots in your bag. (For a RHBH) There are hyzer lines and flick lines. With the amount of trees, there are some akward putts which are always good to practice.

Cons:

Some of the teepads mentioned above are pretty high which risks someone falling off on their follow through. The course also can get pretty muddy. After hole 5 don't go to hole 8 but walk past the short and long pad to an additional set of pads for number 6. On hole 12, there is a large gap you throw a cross, which is a fun shot. However, getting to the putting green can be challenging and dangerous when it is muddy. Also, the walk to hole 13 is long and would be difficult to find if you didn't know the course.

Other Thoughts:

Bear Creek is an awesome course and the 3rd one I played. I have played this course for over 7 years and always have fun out there. I am sad to see Bear Creek go off into the sunset. I made sure to get one final round in before it closes. I have a lot of great memories out there and played some well run tournaments by DiscGolf Station out there as well.

I hate to see one of the most popular courses in DFW be closed, it will surely be missed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
ajbova
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.3 years 112 played 95 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Solid Course near the Airport 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 6, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Intermediate level course set right off the highway in a mixed use park.

Baskets - 18 grippy mach 3 baskets. There were two pin placements per hole.

Tees - 2 large concrete tees per hole. The short tee typically has a direct path to the hole while the longer tee is the more difficult of the two. The alternate tees drastically alter the hole.

Signs - Map at the start of the course. Two signs per hole (1 at each tee). Although some were missing, the signs were pretty helpful. Map, distance, par, as well as next hole locations. There were a few signs pointing to the next hole but could have used more.

Variety - Although this course is 90% flat, there are a few holes with elevation changes, particularly around the creek. The creek was in play on half of the holes, although when I played, water levels were down so they were not deep with exception of hole 15, 16, and 17. Course was open for the most part but a few holes had a tight fairway. There were a few blind shots due to trees. In terms of distance, holes were medium length. There was nothing overbearingly long yet nothing too short. Every hole seemed to be just right.

Course was clean. The trash cans help.

With exception of the walking path on a few holes, disc golf has its own area within the park which was nice.

Trash cans and benches at almost every hole.

Easy to get to and easy to navigate for the most part. Course was right off the access road.

Room to expand.

Nearby options for food and drink within a 10 minute drive.

Cons:

It appeared that this course recently had several trees removed but I still enjoyed the course. Was not as difficult as I thought it would be.

Several holes had missing signs. I would say about half of the holes (and tees) had missing signs.

A few spots could have used next hole arrows to point you in the right direction. After 5 I went to the tee for 8. After 12, there was one sign but after crossing the bridge, I had to look around a little.

The walk from 12 to 13 was very long. Maybe add a hole to shorten it?

Hole 12 could use a bridge or steps. Seemed a little dangerous, especially if it were muddy.

No way to determine which pin placement was being used.

I did have a few spit outs that were in the center of the basket. I will take the blame for that.

Other Thoughts:

I really liked this course, however, I played two on my trip to Dallas. This was my second favorite of the two. I am from Indianapolis and this course reminded me a lot like many of the courses in town.

If this course had a few more signs that helped with navigation, a few more bridges, and maybe a few more holes, I would give it a 4 out of 5.

If traveling to DFW and staying near the airport, this is the closest course and easy to get to. I would recommend it to anyone in the area. If you have a little more time, you may want to venture further out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
jamminbales
Experience: 7.7 years 46 played 15 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Very pretty and enjoyable 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 5, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Good variety of shots
-Not too long of holes

Cons:

-Would be frustrating for beginners because of all of the trees that can be hit

Other Thoughts:

Difficulty (2.5/5): I found the difficulty of this course to be perfect for my skill level. Hole 1 was definitely too easy since they have cut down most of the trees on it. But most of the other holes were a good mix of distance and obstacles. On most holes, a perfect tee shot could give you a chance at a birdie, and average tee shot an easy par, and a shanked tee shot would land you in the woods and give you a tough rest of the hole. In my opinion, that's the ideal difficulty spread. It rewards good play but doesn't punish average play. Of course, there was a handful of extremely crowded woods shots that didn't play that way, but not so many that it was frustrating.

Maintenance (4/5): They had good tee boxes for both the advanced and beginner tees, as well as signs for both. The signs had fallen off on a couple of holes, but whenever they were present they were top notch. There wasn't any out of control brush anywhere, and the baskets were in great shape. Unfortunately, as many others have stated, the process to convert part of the course into a dog park is well underway so a lot of trees have been cut down.

Variability (3.5/5): This course is pretty biased to RHBH. About half of the holes have some kind of hyzer off of the tee. But there are a few dog leg rights, and the tree cover really forced me to take lower lines than I usually do.

Flow/Experience (4.5/5): It was extremely easy to navigate this course, it's laid out very well. The only conceivably difficult to find hole would be 13, but there's plenty of signs to direct you where to go. The course was beautiful, and I'm very sad that the full thing won't be around much longer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
nckirksey
Experience: 8.1 years 10 played 10 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Technical, Wooded Course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 18, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Clear tee signs (hole 3 is missing the beginner tee sign), easy to find the tee pads.

Plenty of benches and trash cans near tee boxes

The city takes care of Bear Creek Park maintenance, meaning the course is cut regularly.

Very technical course. You'll be thinking about pretty much every shot you take, due to the many trees. Expect to use your driver maybe once (hole 14 is by far the longest at around 380 ft.).

Variety of tee shots (excluding many long shots). Adequate forehand and backhand technique is a must for all players.

Cons:

Tee pads are very tall (2-3" above the ground - good luck beginning your run-up from off the tee - though you likely won't need to).

Not many elevation changes.

The front 8 or so holes are pretty difficult to navigate for the first time.

I have personally encountered plenty of poison oak and poison ivy, a few water moccasins, and early morning golfers will have to deal with some spider webs near the back 6 tee boxes. Just be careful where you walk, remembering to stomp as you walk near water (to ward off any snakes) and you'll be fine.

Many holes end in wooded areas, meaning you'll want to bring plenty of water and towels (if not a long-reaching disc-grabber) in case you throw into a large patch of poison ivy/oak.

Course contains no super epic holes.

Not many straight, open tee shots for beginners to practice throwing straight off the tee.

Other Thoughts:

Other than hole 14 (the only "long" hole at 380 ft. off the advanced tee), I pretty much just tee off with my Roc or putter on this course.

Got lost my first time trying to play this course. After hole 12, you've gotta walk back past hole 1 and into the woods near the highway entrance. Hole 13 starts right there. The back 6 are my favorite holes on the course.

I learned to play disc golf on this course. Due to the technical nature of the course, it really helped develop my approach and putting game early. However, it would've been nice to have more than one or two holes with a straight, open tee shot. Newer players looking to practice straight shots will be somewhat disappointed. There are sections, but this course is heavily wooded and plays pretty short (most holes being around 200-250 ft.).

On Saturday mornings in the summer, the lot is packed out due to Little League. You can still park off the third hole on a residential cul-de-sac and play on these days. I forgot the name of the street, but it's Bear something - very close to "Bear Creek". Just look up the course on Google maps and it'll show the course, holes and all. You can find the street and plug it into your GPS that way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
sommelier73
Experience: 12.3 years 34 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I LOVE this course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 10, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- mostly generous fairways
- lots of obstacles, but only one or two mandos
- plenty of shade, but bring water -- only one drinking fountain, and it's by hole 1
- good mix of long and short holes, tunnel shots, hyzer bombs, technical shots, carry-the-water, thread-the-needle
- multiple pins/tees
- signage shows distance, alterate holes/tees and next hole/tee

Cons:

- signs not always accurate, there is no distance shown for alternate hole positions, and there are some new hole positions that are not on the signs
- distances wrong on some holes, due to the new positions
- unforgiving water hazard 10 (if you turn it over too much), 15, 16 -- there are a couple of people that will fetch your disc out of the water for a fee
- lots of poison ivy (!!!)
- tee pads are a little small, but there aren't a lot of monster run-ups needed
- gets pretty busy, so go early -- particularly on weekends

Other Thoughts:

This is the course where I learned to play disc golf, so I'm a little biased. That said, I have explored a bunch of other disc golf courses around and this is still one of my faves. The many trees cause you to get creative with your shots, and the risk/reward factor is high. The rough is really rough, and I've lost lots of discs in the underbrush, or the water. Most of the people that play here are pretty cool, and will help you look for a disc. And there are ALWAYS people playing here. From sunup to sundown, the only time that I've seen the place empty is when the weather is absolutely awful (like Texas ice storm bad.) This means that you'll run into some slow playing groups, which usually will let faster groups play through. The only people that may not like playing here are giant bombers, since there aren't many opportunities to throw 300+ ft. I would recommend this course for good beginners and intermediate players, or anybody that wants to work on shaping shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Trex530swanson
Experience: 14.3 years 53 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2 Different Courses for sure 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-This course always has shade which is needed to play those hot summer rounds in Texas.
-I love that this course has two different tee pads per hole, playing the shorts for the casual round is quicker and tons of fun, But if you want to have a great challenge then play all the log tee pads.
-End of summer not really any water to worry about except on holes 15 and 16.
-Walk between hole 12 and 13 is the longest walk on the course. not long at all I will take that any day of the week
-there are a few holes with different basket locations also

Cons:

- It can get really crowded on certain days and almost every evening
-there are a few blind shots that you can lose your disc if not careful
- The signs need a little work, some are hard to follow and a couple I didnt not know which was the long and which was the short. same distance just different angles and lines to the basket.

Other Thoughts:

-getting to the course can be a little tricky the first few times you go there, I think it depends on which way you are coming from because its of 360 but you have to stay on 11 to get off at the right exit if you are coming from the north
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
Rodmon
Experience: 30.3 years 24 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I Aced Hole #4 > Flick w/ an APE- witnessed BJ Hansen 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Any course that gives me an ACE, I gotta love.
Well laid out for the terrain.
Dry now but could be muddy after a rain
Several right hook fairways.
Hole 12 is the signature Hole,
with a deep ravine to fly.
Whole lotta trees break up the wind on a windy day.
As anywhere else, follow the path from the basket and you should find the next Tee.

Cons:

Dry now but could be very muddy after a rain.
Watch for any men playing with a new disc, (sticker still on the disc) and wearing polo shirts, they are prolly cops.
That deep ravine was very tough for my 2 wheeled cart. It was easier to carry it because path was too narrow and ravine pretty steep. Throw Hole 12 to the left, lay up then go for the hole.

Other Thoughts:

I've played Bear Creek at least 7 times, and had no big plans yesterday. I stepped up to Hole #4, ripped an 175 gram Red Innova Ape in my normal flick. Felt a great release, when BOOM! The APE caught the air, bowed for the S-curve, rose a little higher on the wind than I had planned, then cut through the last few leaves of the tree & SLAMED the CHAINS! I was silent for 10 seconds not believing what I saw. BJ started dancing and howling like a wild man. It felt good to be ARES, the GOLDEN GOD of WAR for just a few minutes. It felt like 17 again, and that why we all play disc golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
jbeezus
Experience: 8.1 years 46 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 11, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Fun and challenging. Easy to follow from hole to hole. Allot of shade on summer days and very clean.

Cons:

Not many, can get a bit crowded.

Other Thoughts:

Excellent course for a beginner. Allot of hole that play to the right.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Chained Evil
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 1131 played 232 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Course by the Creek 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are multiple tees and pins placements as well.
Plenty of trees which provide good lines that need to be hit in order to score well.
Good use of the creek and water hazards.
There are some low ceiling shots and a good mix of dog leg L/R holes too.
Good signage and tees.
There are a couple of practice baskets and trash cans and benches at several holes.
Plenty of shade for the summer months and there is a good balance of risk/reward on several holes.
Favorite holes for me were 2,12,15 and 18.

Cons:

The transition from 12's basket to 13's tee is a bit lengthy and slows the flow down a bit.
This course gets heavy play so you might have to wait to play, however many of the locals were friendly and offered to let me play through.
Can get a bit sloppy after a good rain.
Pay attention when you are leaving 12's basket and walking on the path to 13's tee. You will pass pretty close to 1's basket and might experience an errant shot so heads up.
The walking path is close to 2's fairway so look before you throw.
Crossing the ravine/creek on 12 could be difficult for some players especially if it has rained a lot.

Other Thoughts:

This is a really good course that is fun to play in the DFW area. I enjoyed my round here and was challenged by the lines that are here.
You will need to use all the shots in your bag on this course from BH to FH, Hyzer to Anhyer etc., they will all come into play somewhere.
This course will test your shot shaping abilities and make you think about your shots but its not overly technical to the point of frustration.
If you are in the area you should stop and check this course out. There is a little bit of everything here for all types of players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
FunkytownDG
Experience: 11.4 years 10 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Bear Creek 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 19, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Short technical course with good mix of wooded shots from the tee. Very little wind makes shot very predictable. Multiple teepads with signs, map of course next to parking lot and 2 practice baskets

Cons:

Lots of tournament play and lack of parking on the weekends. Course is very active so it takes a beating and can get dusty or muddy depending on the season
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
JVG333
Experience: 10.2 years 11 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

nice time today 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 2, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great all around course. First time playing this one. Our group of seven had such a great time we went around twice... Great day!

Cons:

Weekly turnys interrupted Sunday freeplay for a few minutes here and there at times today.... But we enjoy watching great shots as well as throwing them.... so it really was not a big deal.

Other Thoughts:

Ready to go again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
dfw-hucker
Experience: 3 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun course but often crowded 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 14, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun course, lots of fun shots, hole 12 is a blast, helps with your putting/short and mid range, presents several tricky shots.

Cons:

Tons of traffic, often large groups, lots of graffiti, people often walk through the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

Be careful here, there are a lot of blind gives and I have had people steal my drivers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Joe6Pack
Experience: 34 played 18 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fairly Average Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Well maintained
- Nice tee pads and signage
- Variety of shots
- Good parking and plenty of trash cans

Cons:

- Seems to rely too much on significant hyzer/anhyzer shots (gets boring quick)
- Can get very crowded on the course (be prepared to wait)

Other Thoughts:

Wanted to like this course a little more, but got bored of it after about 9 holes. Seems to be too many of the same shot types to keep my interest.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
Slimrn
Experience: 10.5 years 18 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short Wooded Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 27, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great place to learn to throw kids and putters. This is my home course, but that doesn't make me biased. This course is lacking a lot: distance, open shots, forgiveness disc retrievability, etc. That being said, it is a great place to get your short game in check. On windy days this place is generally less windy. In the winter, the lack of foliage makes this a much easier course. Some nice locals, some folks always there- will help you find baskets etc if you need help although you generally won't. The biggest "pro" is that a variety of shots is needed to properly play the course.

Cons:

-The baskets almost never move.

-There is wicked poison ivy about. A very nice guy named Scott has put forth 100+ hours of his free time to clean up the course and has done a phenomenal job, however- the PI is still out and angry.

-Water comes into play on many holes, which keeps it interesting, but discs are unretrievable on 6, 10, 15, and 16.

-Only one hole to really air it out and get some distance, and only from the long tee (14). This is what I think the major limitation is of the course.


-This course gets a LOT of traffic, and there are often very large groups playing 9-11 people. Manners and etiquette aren't always observed and you often have to ask people to play through, but folks usually let you when you ask.

Other Thoughts:

Use the trash cans people. Not many of you bring your moms along, so they aren't picking up after you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
tbsox
Experience: 18.1 years 40 played 17 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Memorable course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 31, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good variety of holes

12 - This hole is stuck in my disc golf memory for sure. I played this course a lot when I lived in this area and it was the one I was most interested in seeing again to see if memory met up to the reality as my game as improved. It has. This is a tough hole and the deep creek is still imposing. It felt a lot less imposing though from previous plays.

15 - Tough little keyhole shot across a creek and through many trees. Lanes are clear but the shot is challenging. If you don't make it somewhat deep on throw one its a very tough recovery.

18 - This is a good finishing hole. If your throw is accurate your in for an easy 3 but a mistake is costly. There is a risk reward for those needing a stroke which makes it interesting as a birdie is possible with a good throw.

Cons:

Not a very pretty course. Vegetation is plentiful and the pond that many of the mid holes play around is more sewage like than one would hope. There is an overwater throw on one holes long tee. While its an easy toss across if you square up and hit a tree you go in at your own peril. I would suggest using a retriever if you do.

Other Thoughts:

Its a good course on par. Lots of shot variety and hole to hole feels very different. Having not played this course in a while it plays very similar to how I had remembered it. Most holes are tight shot shaping holes but there are a few long throw opportunities such as 14. Its not the most friendly beginner course as the trees are very thick and tight in some areas but it will definitely help you improve your game for intermediate players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
natay
Experience: 9 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 23, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Great terrain diversity
- Good tee boxes for the beginner and expert alike.
- Friendly Squirrels- On hole 9 I threw my driver way up in a tree. I climbed up to get it and when I was close to the top where my disc was a squirrel stuck his head out of a hole. I was like 'hey there buddy' and I noticed he had an acorn in his mouth. He started inchin towards me and I was like 'what is this squirrel up to?!' When he was right up by my face he grabbed the acorn out of his mouth and held it up to mine. And I said 'no thanks'. I got my disc back in the end.

Cons:

Some holes are hard to find. Lack of signage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
fhtagn
Experience: 30.2 years 7 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Long and short tees for variability of play.
Plenty of trees in clumps and singles, small and large, with the course set in a way to make them enjoyable in the challange they bring without simply being "throw through this tunnel we cut in the trees."
A very fun walk and setting.

Cons:

Some confusion on where to go to get to the next tee, at least for me on my first play through.
At this time of year there were a few spots with leaves a foot thick on the ground making losing a disc under them a possibility.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
2003F150Lariat
Experience: 11 years 9 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Newbie had a blast on this course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 6, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good mix of long and short drives.
Really good challenge for the newbie and veteran alike.

Cons:

The popularity of this course with others does slow down the pace.
No other con's

Other Thoughts:

Will definitely play this course again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
thejake78
Experience: 21.2 years 26 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice course in heart of DFW 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Course is in a nice, wooded park in a central DFW location
- Course demands throwing good technical lines, dealing with several low ceilings,demanding accuracy
- Relatively beginner-friendly without being too easy
- Water hazards (creek, pond) can add a bit of challenge
- Two concrete tee pads at every hole
- Decent signs at tee boxes
- Several wooden benches throughout course provide good places to sit while you wait
- A good amount of trees means a decent amount of shade during the hot summers
- Nice, newly-paved parking lot provides a decent amount of parking at this busy course
- Practice basket is provided before the first tee

Cons:

- Navigation is not ideal for a first-timer; in particular, there is a bit of a trek from #12 to #13, which takes you close to the pin on #1. Follow the signs back to the parking lot and basically cut diagonally across.
- Course is a popular venue and can get very crowded at times, with several large groups, particularly on weekends
- The rough is very thick in places
- Poison ivy is fairly prevalent
- Walking/biking track runs close to #2 in particular
- A few non-disc golfers will walk parts of the front twelve
- A few places where throwing into a water hazard (nasty pond when water is present on #5, creek on #6, #10, #15-#18) will be difficult to recover the recover the disc
- After heavy rains parts of this course are difficult-to-impossible to play due to standing water or flooded creek
- #12 could be difficult for some to play due to the trek through the ravine

Other Thoughts:

- Not a bomber's course with generally shorter holes and lots of trees
- When dry, the ground is hard and conducive to bad skips/slides
- The redesign of #1, taking away the shot over the creek, is a disappointment, even though I can see the reasons why they did it.

This was the first course I ever played, and was my home course for several years. I still enjoy playing here, as it really is a well-designed course. The crowds are the biggest issue for me: a single round can take hours to play at times. On the flip side, there are plenty of friendly locals and opportunities to catch on with other groups. It is a must play in DFW, if only for the fact that so many people do cut their teeth on this course and continue to play here even after seeing some of the other great courses in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top