• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Conifer, CO

Beaver Ranch - Main

4.645(based on 207 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Beaver Ranch - Main reviews

Filter
10 3
GDisc
Experience: 16.2 years 61 played 34 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Awesome Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 3, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a beautiful course with tight fairways that challenge even the most experienced player, especially when the Pin locations are long. The fairways are tight but they all provide a clear path to the basket if you have a good shot. All of the tee pads are marked very well and all have a bench, which are well needed after some of the inclines. Great scenery with huge trees all around and steep inclines to remind you that you are in the heart of the Rockies!!

Cons:

Hole 1 was a bit hard to find but only if you don't pay close attention to detail. Not necassarily a con if you follow direction. Not a good course for beginners to learn on but there are plenty of other courses for that.

Other Thoughts:

I drove 90 miles to play this course and absolutely loved it. I would definitly make the drive again and can't wait to go back. I picked up a good friend, in Denver, along the way and we both truly enjoyed this course. It provides reward for good shots and huge penalties for bad shots, so bring your A game or you might find your self at the bottom up a steep hill, looking 200 feet up at the basket, after a nice Birdie shot! This course is easily the best course I have ever played. There are 20 holes so there is added playing time as well. If you are in the area I would highly recommend stopping in and playing it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 7
ryyedogg
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 47 played 34 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of the best Colorado courses! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 5, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful course in Conifer that offers a great challenge for any player. Large, natural teepads allow for comfortable drives out of the box. Every hole has a nice sign and post with hooks to hang your disc bag. Just about every hole is hilly and requires hitting a tight gap to reach the goal. This course poses a unique challenge that requires accuracy, but this makes it very enjoyable. Multiple pin locations give the course diversity and varying difficulty. Great location for a beautiful course, since it is far from populated cities and makes you want to go camping!

Cons:

I am exhausted after a round here because of the steep hills throughout the course. This really isn't much of a con, for it makes a good hiking experience as well. There is not really any place to get water on the course, so bring your own.

Other Thoughts:

Amazing course that any avid disc golfer would appreciate. I just wish it was closer to me so I could play it more often! One of my favorite courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 3
hevyevie
Experience: 15.2 years 39 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Absolutley Awesome! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 4, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful scenery! Gorgeous mountainous terrain like no other! Very clean also. Not too challenging at the short pin location but could very easily be with several pin locations available. Great tee signage with actual pictures of where basket is/should be.

Cons:

Holy hiking batman! It's said that it's a half mile walk to the first pin...I had a hard time believing that! More like a mile solid! And after that the first 3 holes go straight up 600 ft.! Not easy for a slacker living in MI and not used to the lack of oxygen! Natural tee pads but hardly a con since they are so well cared for.

Other Thoughts:

I would love to have the opportunity to come back and play this fabulous course again in the future! Other than getting mixed up and not being able to find hole 1 for the first hour there it was a GREAT experience and would do it again ANY DAY! Expect a solid hiking session and plan accordingly!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
SkiBum
Experience: 18.9 years 2 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Amazing! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 28, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Almost everything.
-Great layout
-Awesome baskets
-Signs, and bag holders
-Benches at most T boxes

Cons:

Concrete T pads could be nice other than that its hard to think of ways to improve this course

Other Thoughts:

Only wish this course was closer to home.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
gravitysesh
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

I don't deserve to live so close to this place! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 17, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Let's see:
- multiple pin placements on each hole and the guys who run the course are very active with changing pin placements.
-not as crowded as other popular front range courses.
- best pins/baskets I have ever seen! I think they are custom.
- signature hole 17 is epic!
- excellent mix of elevation, distance, and obstacles.
- great facilities and community.
- nice tee boxes with pictures and distances posted. They've done a lot to dig out the boxes, but natural material erodes and makes for some uneven and bumpy pads.

Cons:

Some people complain about the half mile walk in. If you're that big of a slacker, Tiger Woods Golf on the Nintendo Wii has a disc golf mode. (It is actually kinda fun, but I will deny ever saying that if asked)

If they somehow improved the actual pad surface, this would be a 5 for sure! Don't get me wrong- they are actually pretty nice pads for natural, but that was from the sweat of those who volunteered to dig.

Other Thoughts:

This is my favorite course in Colorado. I have played almost all public courses in the front range and all the lift-accessed courses I can think of. I hear some private courses come close, but I can't imagine what a better one looks like!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 17
nathankendall
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

First time. Unreal! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 8, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is where you learn how to play the game. Concentration and skill is an absolute must. It was my first time playing on the course, and I'm happy with being bolgie every hole. +17. yeah I'm proud of that. Dave hit an ACE, and claimed at least 2 hundo in cash. I'm stoked to return on Tuesday. Thanks guys!

Cons:

none

Other Thoughts:

Always brings shoes!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 4
tmigchel
Experience: 22.3 years 141 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Why didn't I play sooner 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 5, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great mountain settings-
Holes laid out very well with very cool fairways-
Signs in excellent condition-
Pretty easy to navigate-
Great mix of long/ short and unique holes-
Cool baskets that are marked well-
Not overgrown, but nature seemingly unaltered
Smoke huts and restrooms along the course blend well

Cons:

I can't really think of any, maybe the half mile walk in, but be prepared to walk/ hike if your playing this course anyway so I guess its almost perfect

Other Thoughts:

Wow. I can't believe how long I have lived here without making it out to Beaver Ranch. It is spectacular. Exactly what I am looking for in a course. Close to Denver and heavily wooded which you don't find in the Denver courses except maybe Blair Witch 9. Bring a camera and good shoes. Lots of elevation changes. Nearly perfect course, get there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 5
ibgollie
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.1 years 62 played 31 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Sweet Mountain Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 28, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Great tee signs
-Fantastic design & layout
-Best mountain & woods course I have played
-Cool baskets, never seen those type before they're like a blend of Mach 5s and Disccatchers
-Very easy navigation
-Multiple pins can provide a large swing of difficulty. I played the front in all longs and the back was mostly short pins, but I was able to see the longer pins and this course could be very tough.
-Very technical, didn't use a ton of drivers, mostly long floating putters and mid range shots b/c if you don't control your disc it could go a really long way the wrong way on some of the holes.

Cons:

The road base tee boxes get pretty lumpy and slippery at times. This is really the only thing that needs to be improved to make a 5 star course. I understand that concrete is impossible to install at this course, but rubber pads like Fly Pads or any other rubber pad would make this course perfect.

Other Thoughts:

If you're going to play in the front range/Denver area this is the best course to play hands down. If you read my other reviews I tend to be pretty picky, but this course really is a very good course. Played it twice, shot -4 & -1.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 3
russkins
Experience: 23.1 years 13 played 10 reviews
5.00 star(s)

sweet sweet course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Everything about this course is amazing. The first hole is quite a sight. Once you get on top of the ridge you get a chance to play the ultimate wooded golf course. Alot of hole that are memorable, 5, 7 , 16 n 17 are by far the coolest holes ive ever played. Benches and bag holders on every hole, signs and paths are very well made. Also this course is the first time i have ever seen a mowed down fairways out in the middle of the forest!!! How cool is that!

Cons:

NONE!

Other Thoughts:

The first time in Colorado and wanted to play a nice wooded course and wow did this place not disapoint. If i ever get a chance to go back n play this course im not leaving any of my friends n fellow golfers behind even if i have to cram them in my suitcase because no golfer should go without playing this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
DGWookie
Experience: 15.2 years 21 played 6 reviews
4.50 star(s)

You have to play it!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Phenomenal course with a wide variety of challenges, and I don't mean just throwing your discs. The course is in mountainous terrain, so be prepared like you're going on a short hike. Two things I wish I had - #1 better shoes on my feet, #2 more liquids. The first 3 holes are up hill and will get the lungs working overtime. It is worth the climb!!! Weaving around and past the trees is no small task, but I surely didn't need my full bag of discs to get the job done. Also, rollers can really take off and have you on the hunt.

Wildlife
Wild flowers
Awesome scenery
Well maintained
Clean
Benches
Quiet and peaceful

Cons:

nope

Other Thoughts:

Take your camera!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
klenglfr
Experience: 19.2 years 17 played 7 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Awesome Course!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Sweet course in the mountains. Lots of elevation changes. Multiple pins and a few holes have 2 tees. Signs show exactly where the pins could be. Not too challenging. Many ace chances. I almost had one but the chains didn't like me. Good workout for the legs and lungs if you are from Missouri like me. I absolutely loved it. Played it twice in one day. Signs have little messages on them that are kind of fun to read I guess.

Cons:

Long ass walk to first tee. From parking lot take the path that goes along Foxton not the one that goes up the giant hill. I walked for over a mile up the wrong path before I found a hole and backtracked the course to #1. No trash cans.

Other Thoughts:

Wouldn't recommend playing it with a sprained ankle like I did. Bring a camera.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
meatbones132
Experience: 16.3 years 12 played 5 reviews
5.00 star(s)

AMAZING 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

F-ing AMAZING.

Most beautiful course I have ever seen. I ended up being rushed to get to my flight and had to skip holes 12-15 but that didn't ruin my time on the course.

Enormous pines throughout the entire course, natural tee boxes, each fairway open just enough to keep it challenging... and my god the views you get once you get to the top of the hill.

Cons:

Signs could use a little work in leading you to the next hole and where exactly the pin is placed, but from what I understand it is a very enw course still.

Other Thoughts:

Once the signs get updated this course is cream of the crop. When I go back next summer to do whitewater rafting you better believe I will be back at this gorgeous course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
21 2
Neophyte
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.2 years 19 played 15 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Mountain Disc Golf at its Best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 2, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The fixtures on this course are amazing. I think only one of the 20 tees was missing a tee sign and/or bag holder. The tee signs themselves are awesome, brand new and they have the distance to every basket, a schematic of the hole and a photo of the hole as it looks from the tee indicating where the baskets are located. The tee boxes are dirt framed in with logs. I was concerned about possible mud because of all the rain but even with the incredible amount of rainfall this summer none of the tee boxes were even wet. I hope that they keep the dirt because it seems to work just fine and it complements the rustic nature of the course. Also I think it would be really hard to haul concrete up to some of those tees. The bag holders are nice steel hooks on all the tee signs. It is a nice change of pace from setting your bag down at every tee.
The location is incredible. The park is a great example of Colorado, arid, mountainous pine forest. While you are never too far from civilization you feel like you are deep in the woods. Some of the vistas that you are able to see while hiking (that is the correct term for this course) between holes are just breath taking.
The course has a nice mix of what would normally be considered medium and shorter holes. It also has a couple of longer (+300ft) holes, there is also a possibility for this course to play longer with the baskets in the alternate positions. However, most of these "short" holes seem fairly long because of the very technical nature of the course. The course layout takes full advantage of the extreme elevation changes and the densely wooded nature of the park. In fact having a big arm might even be a liability for some of the holes. I overthrew hole 9 and ended up 150 ft down the slope on the other side of the basket. There are a couple of chances to air it out on 16 and 17. Hole 17 is a beauty and I suggest throwing at least two drives from this tee just because of how fun it is to watch the disc fly from this elevated tee.
While this was the first time I played this course navigation was a none issue. The tee signs helpfully pointed out where the next tee was and there are well worn paths with logs on either side from the baskets to the next tee. So while this course is very long at 20 holes it is easy to find your way around.

Cons:

While I consider none of the following points serious enough to detract from a "perfect" rating I mention them because others who are interested in playing this course might feel differently.
1) There is a solid 1/2 mile trail walk (hike) from the parking area to the first tee and then the same walk after the 21st hole. The route is well marked but it does take about 10 minutes each way. However, you might think of it as a warm up for the hike up the mountain to get to the 2nd tee.
2) This course is rugged. The approach to the first basket alone is a challenge. The course managers are putting in steps on this "fairway" to give an indication of how steep it is. However, once you get to the 2nd tee it is just minor (in comparison) elevation changes from there to the end of the course. You will need some good shoes with solid tread to navigate this course. I even saw one group with a jogging stroller...probably not a good idea for this course.
3) While there are alternate basket locations for all the holes there is only one hole (17) that has more than one permanent basket at the moment. On some courses this might have knocked my rating down to a 4.5 but here the course is so varied and unique it compensates for only having one basket on most holes. Also this is mitigated by the fact that this is a very new course and improvements are happening all the time. I think before all is said and done there will be at least two permanent baskets on all the holes.
This is an awesome course hacked into a Colorado mountainside and worthy of a "Best of the Best" rating.

Other Thoughts:

I grew up in this area and then went to the east coast for school. I didn't start playing disc golf until last summer and I was amazed to find out that there was such a great course so close to my old home in Colorado.
In addition to being so close to my family's home this course will probably always have sentimental value for me because I got my first ace here on Hole 7. I even had a witness to see it smash the center of the chains and land in the basket.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 3
Face
Experience: 15.8 years 39 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Hurts so Good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Beautiful scenery
-Close to Denver
-New signage makes this place even better
-Its difficulty, its great to get taken down a few pegs by a course.
-definately THE mountain course in Colorado

Cons:

-None that I can think of

Other Thoughts:

As a newer player I figured I would review this course from my perspective. It is a very difficult course and there are a lot of times where you find yourself thinking "oh man, I dont know what Im gonna do here" and in some ways thats bad but in most ways thats awesome.

This course is excellent in a way that it gives you something to work for. Its almost like the course says "So you think you're doing alright...think again"

If you get a chance I would say play it, no matter what your skill level because the experience is great and it gives you a tangeble goal to work towards.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
The Crit Piece
Experience: 16.2 years 9 played 7 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Beaver Ranch 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This place is just amazing. There are so many great things about the course that you'll have to see for yourself but I'll list as many as I can. This course demands that you use a variety of shots of the tee and in the fairway. There are trees, brush and logs all over the place that make things really tricky in most situations. Accuracy and power are required on a lot of pin placements. Uphill side hill putts show up often as well as downhill putts. There are also a lot of blind tee shots but the recent addition of new helpful signs make it very easy to know where you need to land a drive without having to run up into the fairway to find where you're shooting. There are'nt any OBs but a couple of Mandos. Holes 1 and 17 are truly two of the most unique holes you'll ever play. Walking up to 1 and seeing it from the tee bow immediately lets you know you are in for a very tough course and a big hike. 17s tee box is roughly 150 feet above the valley you shoot into or over depending on location with the furthest tee box being about 100 feet above that same valley! Really amazing stuff. Get up on 17 and big your longest driver and watch your disc hang up in the air for days and days. Hole 20 can be 600 feet with the right pin placement but there are a ton of trees blocking your path so if you get it down close to the pin in one toss kudos. Also the nice new custom bag hooks are a nice touch.

Cons:

Many people complain about the 1/2 mile walk to tee 1 and the lack of decent signs. The walk takes about 6 minutes and its really flat so thats a non-issue and if it is an issue for you, youre probably not going to be able to make this massive hike over 20 holes. They just added new signs for the 2009 Bloom tournament that are really great so again, non-issue. The only complaint I have and its not a big one is the tee boxes are dirt and need to be groomed more often. Take a second to kick any rocks aside and make sure to level the dirt in areas where it looks like you could slip and youre all good.

Other Thoughts:

Bloom 09 was an amazing 40 hole day. One of the best parts about this course is all the friendly people who are super dedicated to not only maintaining an already amazing course but to improving it also. Cant wait for the fall classic in October. This is the hardest course ive played (Im pretty average at best) and also my favorite. Close proximity makes it easy for locals and travelers a like to access. Generally not crowded. Please be respectful to the wild life and other players and pack out all your trash. Keep this amazing course as amazing as when you came. Dont forget to toss a couple bucks in the donation box at the main office. Write your own review and lets get this place up to top 3 in the world!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Deadhead282
Experience: 18.8 years 27 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

With Updates 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The signs are in now with pictures of each hole and locations of pins. Also on the post there are amazing custom bag hooks that are super sweet! The course it self is one and a million. The hike is not bad at all, acctually pretty relaxing to me.

Cons:

If any it would be the tee pads, but those even have been re done, well not all but the ones that were eroding away.

Other Thoughts:

This is with the best of the best courses in the world and was put in sometime in 2007 thats amazing. Come out and support the course and dont forget to donate!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
Nick C
Experience: 17.2 years 20 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Short but helpful 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-This amazing 20 hole course utilizes the best of every type of hole. They have narrow upshots (hole 1) downshots, tight wooded short holes but also have a balance of wider holes to absolutely bomb one on. They have holes that favor RHBH players but also have holes for those RHBH players as well. Every kind of hole for every kind of player.

-Amazing place to practice recovery or "got out of trouble" shots as you will definitely be needing a few of those

- The custom baskets are a very nice addition and a testimate to the care that goes into this course

-Manicured fairways and greens are great so you don't lose a disc that you threw perfectly down the fairway.

-Beautiful scenery and a great hike. The walk from where you park to the first hole is NOT bad at all.

-Probably a great place to break a disc in because you're going to hit some trees whether you like it or not.

Cons:

-The tee boxes are natural, which is fine, but the ground can be loose which caused a couple slips and made it harder to get that initial push off on drives

-Signs don't really indicate where pin location is and we had to do some serious searching on some holes

Other Thoughts:

-This was one of the most fun I've had playing a course. A perfect mix of tight wooded shots and long bombers. Definitely a must play for anyone who enjoys disc golf.
-This would be a great course to camp out after and then play the Phantom Falls course the next day, which is only about 7 miles away. (Make sure to call Paul for a reservation a week or more ahead of time as it is his private course....here is a link to his course with his contact info http://www.dgcoursereview.com....php?id=3129)
-
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
mcduffiejc
Experience: 15.5 years 11 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Best in Colorado 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Not your regular 18 hole course. The course is setup with 20 holes and is a great course close to the Denver area but gives you that mountain aspect. If you are into hiking then you will love this course. Everytime me and my buddies go up we always play it twice. Not the easiest course but definitely best of the best. You have to play it if you live in Colorado.

Cons:

I don't know if there really are any cons with this course, at least in my point of view. There is about a half mile walk from the parking area to the first hole but to me its good because its a chance to stretch your legs before heading up the mountain.

Other Thoughts:

Everything about this course is great. The layout is amazing starting from hole one all the way back to hole 20. My very first time ever playing the course I got my first ace on hole 7.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
progolfer33
Experience: 17.1 years 13 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful mountain course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is beautiful and is the only course I've played that truly exemplifies everything us Coloradan's love about the mountains.

I actually consider the hike to be a pro unlike some of the other reviewers; it was a mixture of my 2 favorite things to do. Sure, the walk on the first 4 holes (mostly the first) is a little tough, but it is totally worth it when you get to the top as you get rewarded with a beautiful, severely downhill, 17th hole.

The course itself is very well maintained, and I liked the layout, for the most part. If you want to do well here, you need to have a mastery of many different kinds of shots. Even then, you still have to realize that some holes require that you lay up into a good spot to even have a chance at par. Very good risk/reward course.

Cons:

The only reason that this course didn't get a 5-rating is because some of the holes were unfair. In my opinion, you should never have to think, "I'll put this on a good line and hope I get lucky". The 3rd, 7th, and 15th holes are all like this from the tees I played. If you put your disc on a really good line, you should get rewarded with a really good shot.

Also, I think that the signs could be vastly improved for this caliber of a course. They should work with the folks that did the signs at Johnny Roberts; but I'm sure it's in the works

Other Thoughts:

Bring plenty of water and plan on a longer round than normal. I think the hike and round took about 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 5
Perth
Experience: 18.2 years 3 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Quite a workout. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ I want to list this as a con, but only because I'm in poor shape and my knees are creaking the day after - but this is a heck of a workout course. Lots of hiking and hunting for pins and rolled discs.

+ Gorgeous scenery. I wish I'd brought a camera.

+ The entire course is a nice challenge from beginning to end.

Cons:

- Laminated paper tee postings. The posts are in place, hopefully nice signs with hole details will be posted eventually.

- ROLLERS! Be careful - rolling a disc can definitely result in a hike to hunt it down.

- Inconsistent tee quality. Some have gravel and some are little more than some logs marking a rectangle. I worried about wrenching my ankle at tee-off more than once.

Other Thoughts:

Bring a camera if you can carry it. Go on a cooler or overcast day. The entire course is a nice hike, but I would have enjoyed it a lot less if it was hot. There's a donation box at the parking lot - throw in a few bucks to hopefully encourage some nice tee postings.

All in all this is a fantastic course. The layout and scenery helped my rating when the cons hurt it. With nice tees and proper posting, this is a 5-star course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top