• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

East Bethel, MN

Blue Ribbon Pines - Main

4.715(based on 137 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Blue Ribbon Pines - Main reviews

Filter
17 1
CwAlbino
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.1 years 76 played 23 reviews
5.00 star(s)

First perfect 5.0 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Great baskets, complete with blue paint and an orange flag so they are both beautiful and easily seen. Practice basket!! I really love practice baskets for putting at before the round starts, so a huge plus for me.

-The landscaping is phenomenal. Rock tiers with wood chips in every appropriate place. The stump tables are great for bag holders, whereas he didn't want to put in hangers or anything of the likes because the bags would fall off. It also helps bring the wooded feel in. Grass is always kept short, and they even go out of their way to roundup poison ivy so stray shots do not only penalize you with a bad shot, but also a bad rash. Wood chipping the entire course, including stray limbs and branches. I could go on and on about landscaping, having worked a few years landscaping myself, but I will stop at that.

-Shot variety. Believe me when I say I threw every shot I had in my arsenal. I play forehand and backhand equally, and I used them both a lot. Straight shots, hyzers and anhyzers, rollers, spike hyzers.

-Elevation, it has a lot of it. The course takes full advantage of both tree obstacles and elevation changes.

-Shot variety, there are tons of in the woods accuracy shots, and a few good rip and grip holes. Placement holes are some of my favorite, these show up especially in the majestic layout, like on hole 5 pad to hole 6 pin. You really have to play to hole 5 pin in order to get a look at getting to hole 6's pin. Water usage and OB is perfect and comes into play on many holes. Great use of mandos.

-Disc Retrieval. They pay workers to retrieve discs from ponds and have bins in the pro shop for lost discs so you can come back and claim them. If you don't want to wait, there are rakes by every water hazard to fish them out.

-Pro shop and snack shack. Great multi-brand selection of discs at the Pro shop as well as other small items, including sandwhiches drinks chips, and non-edible like minis towels and bags. The snack shack you pass three times, there is a bar facing the pad of two holes where you can sit and which others tee off, or another hole coming in. Fantastic bricked square tee pad and landscaping, as well as a log cabin feel snack shack. You pass it the first time along the backside, and then twice by the square bricked pad.

-Driving range, I just love the idea of marked distances on a hole. It's also very close to the parking lot/shop so you can drive on it before you even start. Distances start at 200 and end at 500 by 50ft increments.

-Always clean, the only trash I've ever found on that course was a bryant lake pass that had likely fallen off or out of someone's bag unbeknownst (I picked it up and threw it away :D ). They have trash cans and recycleable cans on multiple holes.

-No waits. Even playing leagues today on it with over 50 people on the course, there were no waits. The course is so huge with 27 holes, it was like playing the course on our own.

-Courteous. Every person I met up with was nice, and playing a round with Ray was one of the best and most laid back rounds I'd played in a long time.

Cons:

The only con is the bugs, but that is uncontrollable. They have bug spray in the pro shop for use (which is a pro)

Other Thoughts:

Before today, I wasn't going to review it and had thought it was a 4.5. I went up with a friend and played leagues that we didn't know were going on but jumped on it. I got to play with Ray Jordan and really learned a lot about the course as well as future projects and all the little things that really go on at that course. Little changes that have been made, like moving a basket 6 feet to the right so it's visible from the teepad but not really a hole changer.

Ray and the other people that work on this course really put their heart and soul into this course. Him sending someone back to a hole we just got off of to sweep all the sand off the pad because it had gotten covered in sand, or moving a downed tree off the fairway by hand because the crew had cut it down but left it there are just two examples of going out of the way to keep the course top notch at all times.

Additions and maintenance is being done daily, which is just one more reason why this should be a 5 star course. The time and thought dedicated to the course, and the shops and shacks on the course are just fantastic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
kapitan
Experience: 9 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Simpley the Best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

My 1st perfect course...and its everything a disc course should be. This is by far the best course in the state and probably will be for a long time to come. It is a step up from all of the courses in the Twin Cities, from Acorn to Kaposia this course has got them all beat... a snack shack that you cross 3 times in 27 holes is a HUGE +. If you only throw 1 time in MN this is the place you have to see.

Cons:

There is NO cons....well it could use some elevation but there are some rolling hills but nothing like Kaposia

Other Thoughts:

Grill food at the snack shack...lol what more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
forehandfranz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 32.1 years 226 played 128 reviews
4.50 star(s)

It's named Blue Ribbon for a Reason! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 11, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

From the moment you walk into the pro shop, you know that your time here will be a great experience. The shop has a decent selection of discs, merchandise and also has pre-made sandwiches, snacks and beer! You will also find these refreshments at the permanent "Snack Shack", which you will pass 3 times during your round of play.

Oh, don't forget about the course...27 holes of joy, played mostly in the woods, but several play across the large lawn that's part of the family business (sod farming). Everything is well laid out for easy navigation, and the maintenance and grounds are top notch.

The course is tight and technical with a good mixture of hole length, but I would say it plays short to medium length for the most part. The longer holes are reasonable and are usually par 4's. The fairways are tight, and where they widen, you will find additional tree obstacles to work through. Most of the open lawn holes have some water (usually at the critical landing zones - around 280-300') that will force you to crank it or let up a bit. Most holes have multiple options off the tee, so they keep you thinking all the time (the hallmark of a great course).

The signature hole #4 is truly a one-of-a-kind. It is 15' wide and 450' long. The fairway is lined by a row of large pine trees spaced about 5' apart. The fairway itself is wood chips. Any shot that strays more than 5' from the fairway is doomed- not only must you avoid the thin trees out here, but are forced to chip out to the fairway between the closely placed pine trees! It's a par 4 but you may feel GOOD getting a 5 or even a 6.

This course even has a driving range that's marked in 50' increments. I've never seen this anywhere before! They've also done a nice job with the green on #26 - it's tiered with sand and boulders up to the pin, with a steep drop-off on the back. This creates a really 3-dimensional green, and there should be more of these in disc golf.

Cons:

Signature hole #4 can make or break your round- based on averages, it will probably add strokes. You may want to throw a putter - or anything that doesn't turn or fade during it's flight. I think most people will feel good to get away with a bogey 5.

Not really a beginner's course- short tee pads would correct for some of this (but still would be very difficult). Also, lacks in elevation (there are some very minor slopes). These are the only things detracting from an otherwise perfect disc golf facility.

Other Thoughts:

At only 30 minutes from Minneapolis, I suggest to make the trip if you're in the area. This is truly a full disc golf experience and the people are really nice and accommodating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 8
Albatross
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Best Course in MN 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 13, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Best Course I've ever seen!
Awesome Landscaping
Holes that are listed as par 3, are actually tough to get par or under
There are baskets that are elevated, and dug into the ground

Cons:

Difficult for Beginners, other than that it's awesome

Other Thoughts:

This 27 hole course is probably the best $5 you'll ever spend
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 6
gbpremo
Experience: 20.4 years 59 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Top notch! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 4, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Creative holes. Great tee boxes and pins. Beautiful landscaping, and the nicest staff in town. The course is huge so flow is great. If your worried about the 5 dollar day pass your fears will melt away when you step on to the first beautifully built tee box and see the pin across the sod.

Cons:

Elevation is all this course is missing.

Other Thoughts:

Plowed fairways in the winter.
Staff gets discs out of ponds and gives them back in pro shops lost and found so if you go in the pond GIVE DISCS WITH NAMES ON THEM TO THE PRO SHOP!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
chad-o
Experience: 14.9 years 7 played 7 reviews
5.00 star(s)

hole lotta golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 2, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Amazing feilds and tee pads. This used to be a sod farm so the grass feilds are perfect. The tee pads are all landscaped and profesional. It make you step up your game alot, to just feel worthy to play it.

Cons:

The only time you can complain is when you are not good enough to play a hole on this course. But when that happens it makes you practice more and try again later.

Other Thoughts:

Well worth the all day pass for $5. They also serve beer at the pro shop and have a stand half way through for more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 1
Martin Dewgarita
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 1600 played 95 reviews
5.00 star(s)

The Basis for what is the Perfect Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 10, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Just about every aspect of the course, I'll try to hit everything here, if I miss anything - it probably belongs in this list.

Variety of Holes. With 27 holes, this course offers just about everything. Most shots require pinpoint accuracy, just a few feet left or right and it's a game of pinball with the trees and they're not usually very friendly (though apparently if you talk to them nicely they help you out, I saw it work). I'm not going to go into specifics of each hole, just know that you will need a wide variety of shots and this course will test your patience (I swore at least under my breath on just about every hole). Length was good on all of the holes, though there's nothing of great length (500′ wide open was about the longest) There was plenty of challenge, and a few opportunities for an Ace.

Landscaping. This course is beautiful, nice built up tee pads, nice paths, most holes have nice greens landscaped around the basket. You can definitely see your pay to play dollars at work everywhere on this course.

Tee Pads. Each tee was concrete, though not uniform. One pad was for two holes, 16/25 (a little confusing, make sure you're throwing in the correct direction), Some were larger than others (hole 1 seemed about twice as large as it needed to be) and some were round, even though there only appeared to be one line to the hole. Overall, nice tees, belongs in the pro section.

Navigation. I had the benefit of playing with someone that had played before, but it wouldn't have been necessary. Each tee is strategically placed near the previous hole's basket, if there may be any confusion look for a sign, the signage is well placed. Again, make sure you're throwing the correct direction if two holes share a tee pad.

Dog Friendly. For me, disc golfing with my dog is part of the experience, I will not go to a course if dogs are not allowed. Even though on the 'Terms of liability waiver' (the pass they give you at the beginning) it says "all pets must be on a leash" they do not mind at all if your dog is well behaved off leash, in fact they encourage it. Of course leave your dog home if it is aggressive or prone to going after people's discs, and clean up after your dog.

Winter Maintenance. A beautiful place to play a snowy winter round, they keep the tee pads perfectly swept off and plow the fairways, if you've never played in the snow, this is a great opportunity to give it a try.

Amenities. A pro shop at the beginning is rather well stocked with nearly any type of disc you might want (limited selection of plastics, colors and weights though), they also have a small amount of food (pizza, sandwiches) at a decent price for a between rounds lunch. And beer at a good price ($2.50 for bottles, $2 PBR). There is also a concession stand in the middle of the course (I think we passed it 3 times during the round) that carries drinks and candy bars at a reasonable price. (Truly my favorite "bar" what a place to sit and have a few beers while chatting with passing DGers)

Friendly Staff. Everybody I encountered was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Nice Baskets. Mach 5 baskets well placed on each hole, some are at different heights mounted in a pit or on top of a stump add a new challenge.
Lost and Found. Write your name on your disc, it's very likely that you may lose a disc here, there is a large supply of discs that have been found - you can hope to return and find your lost disc again.

Garbage/Recycling Every other hole or so had garbage and recycling bins, keep the course looking nice!

Cons:

I'm reaching, as to not just leave this blank.

Water Though not a con in itself (I like the use of water on this course). Water comes into play on several holes, the creek and ponds are quite difficult to retrieve a disc out of (apparently the one rake on the course is the only survivor of many rakes that used to be around), the water is murky (cannot see the bottom) and the pond has no gradual depth, a disc that trickles in on the edge is 3 feet under water. Both times a member of our party threw into the water, somebody had to go in to retrieve it, in the pond that meant someone was going swimming.

Not for Beginners A. If I had started on this course, I would have way too high of a standard to expect from any other course. B. This course can be frustrating intermediate to advanced players - a beginner might get completely discouraged after scoring a +8 on hole 4.

Pay attention when approaching the tee pad, we did have a member throw down the incorrect hole - just look at the signs.

Other Thoughts:

Well worth a drive out of the way for, make a day out of it. $5 covers all day play. I would recommend this course to anyone (except beginners) looking for a wonderful round of disc golf.

Favorite Hole:
Hard choice, I'd like to go with the signature #4, it's a beautiful hole, but oh so frustrating, I wanted to whip my disc so far out of bounds that nobody would ever see it again. I'll go with #19, a quite challenging 535′ hole with an accuracy drive off the tee over the pond and a slight dogleg right up and over a hill past some small trees to a difficult 3 score.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 16
Team Dank
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

27 holes of Sod and sun, possibly heaven on earth.. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 14, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

27 holes on a sod farm interlacing throughout woods, powder coated mach 5's, big observation deck, friendly staff, "disc golf pro shop", not very crowded if its not tournament time.

Cons:

as if

Other Thoughts:

5 bucks to play all day. i always make a full day out of it, and soon they will have plasma tvs and food. I played this past Sunday in a tournament and there were 127 people playing in it! very fun
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 6
smyith
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.8 years 217 played 68 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Phenomenal 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 20, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Fantastic use of the land. Every available unique natural feature was used.
- Very demanding fairways, you must hit your line or pay heavily.
- First time threw I had a lot of "head-scratchers" on what to throw.
- To score well every aspect of your game has to be spot-on.
- Benches and trash cans are abound.
- Raised baskets and rock garden greens made for several interesting approaches.
- You can also purchase drinks (including booze) and snacks at their stand in the middle of the course.
-Easy flow to the course. Fairways and tees are obvious.
- They are very welcoming of dogs being off-leash!!!
- Large teepads and well marked tee signs.
- Locals are friendly and helpful
- Just truly a beautiful course and a fun time.
- The care and maintenance is astounding. Best keep park I have ever been to!!!!

Cons:

- it be nice if they accepted credit cards or had an ATM.
- The water on the course is some nasty stuff that you dont want to go in after your disc.
- Pro shop is lacking in the disc variety department

Other Thoughts:

The Twin Cities area is a fantastic place for disc golf, to have so many high caliber courses so close to another is amazing. Whats even more special is for a course to stand out above the rest. BRP does just that. It is the most demanding for every aspect of your game.
When you first pull into BRP you may kinda wonder why everyone raves so much about this course. If you stand along the patio at the pro shop and look out over the course you can't quite see whats in store for you. As you play the first few holes you still cant understand whats so amazing about it. Then you hit hole #4 and the real fun begins. Official OB and water forces one to be accurate and have a good mental game. Even if youre not playing well the vibe of the course still makes it enjoyable.

Favorite hole.......so difficult to chose...... #17 - A realitive straight 250'ish hole with basket slightly to right of the tee. The fairway plays slightly uphill for about the first 50-80' then levels out until the basket with is placed in bowl shaped depression. Several large trees shape the fairway and surround the basket. An ever so slight turnover shot that levels out is the ideal line. The trees are punishing if you hit them. Its a nice birdie right before 19 and 20.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 4
orcchmp
Experience: 15.1 years 24 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Gorgeous facility, excellent experience, destination course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 7, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is immaculate. Well kept up and private. Pay to play keeps the dirtbags out and keeps the traffic lower so that you can enjoy your round. You will be able to lose yourself here and want to stay all day to play. This course offers mostly wooded holes, so it satisfies that itch for me (and many others). The design of each hole is well thought out as well as the layout of the whole course. I like the style holes that begin in the woods and play into an open field (and sometimes back into the woods) - or vice versa, and there are a few of them here. Being 27 holes is sure to bring good balance, and the left, right, straight number of holes does not favor one type of shot. Water also comes into play for some OB and risk versus reward.

Cons:

The features of the land are simply not varied enough or shall I say drastic enough to really "look" like a neat/awesome course - not nearly enough elevation! It is mostly flat pine plantation. Pay to play is a con in how it affects ratings, only because this affects how I think about the course and my overall rating. I have had the privelage to play some top notch courses, and unfortunately when paying is involved, I expect a whole 'nother level. BRP really does bring it though, the amenities and upkeep are amazing so the pay to play is worth it.

Other Thoughts:

BRP is an amazing course. I am truly glad I played, and will definitely be back (hopefully with more friends so they can also enjoy it!). You will not be sorry you played. But in comparison to other courses I reviewed, the land here is just not enough to make a truly awesome course. Winter Park by comparison has some amazing terrain that it fully utilizes, and Bryant Lake has some decent elevation, while Highbridge has it all. To no fault of it's own, the BRP property is not the same "experience" as the other 5 disc courses, but it should still be considered a first class course! More holes here could make it that much more appealing (like HHSC), but the terrain will still not offer what Highbridge can!
UPDATE: I played HHSC on the way to visit some friends and must say that BRP is not as fun as Granite Ridge, but due to other amenities and 27 holes, I'll rate them the same.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 4
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.5 years 1512 played 480 reviews
5.00 star(s)

My first 5 rated course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Nice concrete tees (a few of them are pavers but done very well and large enough). #1 tee complex is awesome with a cool bench, paver teeing area and a deck where you can watch the aspiring pro disc golfers throw their first shots of the day.

2) Not a single hole doesn't challenge you in some way. Even the holes that go across the sod field have somethng that could cost you. The boulders on #1, the river on 14, 15, 16.. There are tight wooded holes including the 15' wide fairway on #4, there are multiple ponds that can catch and errant throw, slight elevation changes to affect the way you need to land your disc.

3) The amenities on this course are incredible. Stocked proshop including snacks and drinks. A deck to take a break to eat lunch between rounds. Snack shop in the middle of the course assume is only open on really busy days and tourney days.

4) Brooms, garbage and benches on every tee.

5) Landscaping is done perfectly. It isn't overdone like Bryant Lake. It serves its purpose by retaining the soil, mulch, and improving the overall look of the course.

6) #4 is an awesome tough hole. Keep it between the trees to avoid an easy bogey. 15' wide fairway with very large mature spruce/pines.

7) Next tee signs are awesome and well placed. They helped me get through this course for the first time.

8) Good use of wood chips to cover soil around greens and in a lot of fairways.

9) Two portopottys on the course are always a nice sign if needed.

10) Model course for pay to play. Provide a facility and all the extras and feel free to charge for it!

11) Nice variety in hole distances gives you all sorts of different shots and multi shot holes are always a positive in my mind.

12) These holes will challenge you many different ways. There are a lot of shot options so you get to pick the shot you want or are most comfortable with. Alternative lines on many holes.

13) Tee signs are very well done and really help you to decipher where you want to go.

14) A lot of creative hole design. A 90 degree dogleg with a mando. It isn't 50-75' to the dogleg either. Almost gimmicky enough for me to dislike this hole, but it certainly is creative.

Cons:

1) Not beginner friendly because of some of the really tough holes. I cant fault it and take it down too much because of this because it was simply designed for better players. It isnt like the maintenance of the course is what keeps it from being beginner friendly.

2) Dangerous acorns falling all over this course.

3) Pond on #7 ate my favorite destroyer!

4) Lack of large dramatic elevation changes.

5) Flags would be helpful on a few of the tough to find baskets.

6) The gravel road going to the course is rutted badly. I felt my car actually sliding because of the gravel. I just thought I would mention it even though it doesn't effect the course rating.

Other Thoughts:

Well I had to wait a few weeks to really think this rating and review over because I had played quite a few courses that were borderlne 4.5 - 5 disc rated courses in the recent weeks. Bryant Lake Park (missing only a better challenge), Winter Park (Missing only concrete teepads or at the very least level teepads), Silver Creek (Missing only a little bit of maintenance). I had also played a couple other pretty highly ranked courses like Freeman Lake, The Sinks, Brown Deer and Dretzka. If Blue Ribbon isn't a 5 rated course I apologize but I do plan on hitting one or two of the top 10 courses on my way to Florida and I can evaluate it then compared to those courses. I thnk I would consider the top 20 courses as 5 rated courses if they had everything. If the course is missing something very important it might get a 4.5. In my opinion the dramtic elevation you get on ski hill courses is not 10% essential. It is just a different type of course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 20
djphilzy
Experience: 23 played 17 reviews
3.00 star(s)

over hyped but fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 17, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

had a blast. great locals quiet mellow lots of holes. great layout, genius in fact! Well maintained.

Cons:

Not much elevation not on par with Highbridge or tower ridge. The chemicals in the water freek me out a bit (locals said the grass from the sod farm in treated with chemicals). Of course chemicals make nice green sod so Im not whining, I just would rather write off a disc than go swimming.

Other Thoughts:

Certainly worth playing if your in the area, respect to all you Minnesotans!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 12
GB Phil G
Experience: 24.1 years 119 played 15 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Pay to play, excellent pads and baskets. Water hazards. Quiet and pleasant atmosphere.

Cons:

Water hazards are too deep for disc retrieval. Don't throw in there

Other Thoughts:

Was it always 27 holes? Expansion is a side effect of the pay to play. Helps that a landscape contractor is handling course beautification. Keep it up!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 4
discgolfer99
Experience: 51.1 years 13 played 13 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Reviews can't do it justice! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Where to start??? I've been reading the reviews and hearing the buzz about this place for a few years now. So I went up there expecting something pretty special. I was not let down one bit. WOW. Being an old school frolfer, I can't believe what pay to play has done for this sport. Between Bryant and now Blue Ribbon, the future of disc has finally got over the hump. The quality of the experience makes you forget that it probably took you 45 minutes to get there from the metro.

The course has it all. I'm not going to break it down hole by hole, they are all great and vary in so many ways, Skill, shape, difficulty (#4 is out of the future), beauty, creativity, par 4's (5's for me), and so much more.

Cons:

Lack of elavation is the only negative and that is a positve for many.

Other Thoughts:

WOW. Make a day of it. Morning rounds are so pieceful. Order up a Heggies Pizza with 4-5 holes to go and you'll have lunch waiting for you on the deck, Round 2!!!! Bring your friends if you want to impress them on where the sport is heading.

WOW
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 4
widespread55
Experience: 26.3 years 12 played 12 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Minnesota's Finest 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Best course that I have ever played. This is an extremely difficult course that requires every shot you got. Mostly wooded holes with multiple paths to the basket. All the amenities you can imagine. Club house with discs and beverages, well marked signs, best baskets I have ever seen, paver and cement tees on every hole. Water holes are plenty and really make you think about your throws. Well worth the $5 dollars for 27 unbelievable holes.

Cons:

Not much for elevation changes on this course. No extra long open holes. This course is for people who have played and not the greatest choice for beginners. Can be very frustrating on some holes and may even seem unfair at times. Pretty far away and in the middle of nowhere(could be a pro or con)

Other Thoughts:

$5 will cover the whole day, so I would plan on making a day out of it if your going to make the long drive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 3
Miller
Premium Member
Experience: 19.1 years 131 played 8 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Bring your A game! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is amazing! It's $5 to play and worth it. The teeboxes are very concrete, big and long, and even have a broom if they are too dusty for you. There is a map at each hole telling you exactly what you need to do and the baskets are all custom powdered coated with a blue paint and a flag on top so they are easy to see. Each hole even has a nice bench to sit on. There is a nice pro shop that will sell you anything you need and are very friendly.

As for the course itself, it is hard, but oh so enjoyable. This is the kind of course you could play again and again and still come back because it keeps on challenging you. With 27 holes there is almost everything at this course. You have left turns, right turns, short and technical, and then hole 4 which is looooooong, straight, and tight. The only thing missing is elevation, but by the end you'll be grateful.

Cons:

Not much to speak of. There are no elevation changes really, but you don't notice since the course challenges you in so many other ways.

Other Thoughts:

We played a nice 9-hole course on the way as a warm up that worked well. You can also play as many times as you want that day for the $5. We got done and if I hadn't had to be somewhere I think I would have been ready to play again.

I played Bryant Lake and this course both for the first time this week and I loved both of them. I think I would say Bryant Lake is easier, but more fun. But with Blue Ribbon I think I would find myself wanting to play it more often just because of the challenge it would pose everytime you play it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 5
Moffwicket
Experience: 22.1 years 55 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

What every course should strive for 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Almost too many pros to list.
-Large concrete tee boxes. Even a few fancy brick ones. One tee "box" is a big circle you use on two holes.
-Did I mention there's a beer shack right next to that dual tee?
-No litter what so ever.
-Pro shop selling a good variety of discs.
-Signs on all tee boxes with a map of the hole.
-Wide variety of holes. There's the famous 500 tunnel, a wide open 700+ footer, a tight 90 degree right turn maybe a hundred feet long, there's ponds, streams, even a basket sitting in the middle of a 3ft deep crater.
-There's rakes laying at every water hazard so you can attempt to rescue your lousy shot.
-There's even a damn broom on every tee pad for the obsessive compulsives out there.
-Pay to play. That's right, a pro. Keeps the riff raff out, helps pay for the expert grooming job and amenities you get in return.
-Very challenging course. Will keep even the pros coming back for more.
-27 holes is a rarity around here.

Cons:

-Bring bug spray for mosquitos and ticks.
-Poison ivy is aplenty.
-It's a bit of a drive to get there, and a big drive if you're coming from the south metro.
-Too hard for beginners. All but the pros have a significant chance of parking a disc in a pond as well.

Other Thoughts:

All of my cons are just nitpicking. There's nothing actually wrong with this place. This was the first course around here that puts many ball golf courses to shame. With Bryant Lake's remodel and the new one in Maple Grove, Minnesota disc golf is trending toward high-end courses. I like it.

As you see, I resisted the urge to be a homer and give Blue Ribbon Pines a perfect 5. Why? There's just something I can't put my finger on that leaves me wanting. To me, this course doesn't give me that special warm fuzzy feeling that a couple of my favorites have. But don't get me wrong, Blue Ribbon Pines is spectacular in every way. It is a must-play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
deadbody
Experience: 20.4 years 152 played 68 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

LOVE THIS COURSE. not much elevation change, due to it being on old farm land, but holy cow is it beautiful, super well maintained, long and tight in some spots, but there is a throw for everyone, tough on beginers, but you can't help but love it.

Cons:

wish the ponds were not so nasty, lost a favorite disc in there, but that is really it.

Other Thoughts:

Totally worth the $5 per day. I could play this course every weekend for the next year and I don't think I'd get bored.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 14
D.W.G.
Experience: 16 years 11 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Many different types of holes... Player needs the whole package, which is a nice change from some other courses... Very clean, a pretty course...

Cons:

Some holes are a little too hard(no real chance for a lesser player to make the shot needed)

Other Thoughts:

LOVED THIS COURSE!!! Will play it again
Was this review helpful? Yes No
19 3
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
4.50 star(s)

This is disc golf 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 25, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-27 completely different and beautiful holes.
-Tough obstacles on every hole except one and that one is 750 feet long so that may be considered an obstacle. Out of bounds is in play on 15 of 27 holes. Water is involved on 12 of 27 although it isn't a major threat except on 5 or so holes. The trees are perfectly placed to get in the way but are not too thick either.
-Mando's- 3 holes have these and you must throw around a certain tree. It makes somewhat easier holes more interesting and usually more difficult.
-Landscaping. The grass is pristine, benches of all sorts at every single hole, bushes, rocks, interesting greens, etc.
-Hole 4. 443 feet straight down a row of tall pines. It is intimidating and makes a straight shot much harder than it should be.
-Pro shop. Sells many discs of all brands at fair prices, also has bags, shoes, minis, beer, pop and snacks.
-Detailed course map with par, distances and scorecard. Pencil also provided.
-The holes varied greatly in every way. 27 holes may get old on another course but on this one they were all different and if my arm wasn't so tired I would have wanted twice as many!
-Friendly locals and staff all over the course seemingly at all times. I did not meet the owner but he seems to be a good guy genuinely devoted to the sport.
-Many tournaments, weekly league and night golf are all held here.
-The tees were all very spacious and some were shaped interestingly like circles and squares.
-Brooms located at every hole to keep the tee clear.
-Garbages at about every other hole to maintain even more cleanliness.
-New; a snack bar type thing at an intersection of 2 holes.

Cons:

-Easy to lose a disc on a few of the pond holes. I did throw a star wraith into the last pond hole. However, they hire somebody to get discs out of the ponds and you can come pick them up from the club house usually 2 weeks after you throw it in. They also have rakes to pull discs out but that only works if you know where it goes in exactly or are just lucky.
-Some may consider the 5 dollars a con but I do not. The fees are what makes this course so good. It allows for continuous upkeep and improvements of the course.
-If you are a beginner this course would be frustrating. This course is fairly challenging but not overly challenging. I consider myself an intermediate player and had a great time.
-It isn't near my house or anybody's for that matter. Located in East Bethel which is about an hour north of the Twin Cities. It is well worth the drive and the time it takes to play.

Other Thoughts:

I have now played what I consider to be the 4 best courses in the state of Minnesota; Blue Ribbon Pines, Bryant Lake Park, Kaposia Park, and the new Hidden Hills. Blue Ribbon Pines is the overall best course. Its combination of perfect upkeep and imagination wins. Hidden Hills is the most difficult and testing course of them all, if you are a advanced player or pro you may like this course the best. Bryant Lake Park had the best "fun factor". The holes never got repetitive and were never too hard nor too easy. Kaposia is a great course but is simply overwhelmed by the other 3. Blue Ribbon Pines is ranked top 10 courses for a reason.

Update as of May 2012, I am still very impressed by this course but I have found that it simply isn't that hard if you have any measure of control as well as something besides a hyzer. It's upkeep is immaculate and will always buoy this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top