• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Buxton, OR

Buxton Woods DGC

3.865(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Buxton Woods DGC reviews

Filter
19 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1096 played 667 reviews
3.50 star(s)

An Actual Review

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

Buxton Woods is a "backyard" 18 hole course that traverse through hills and woods with some open bomber par 4's sprinkled in. The terrain is fantastic for disc golf and the design takes advantage of this. You'll need to be accurate on the wooded holes, especially in the pines. Honestly placement is more important than distance out here. Very impressive private course that you can tell gets lots of love.

The baskets are White Dynamic Patriots. These are easy to spot which was much appreciated. All are in good shape and caught nicely. One basket per hole except for hole 18, which had two. There's at least two pin positions per hole on the others though.

Very large, grippy and level tee pads on every hole. These things are huge. I was not expecting such great tee pads when I showed up here. These are just awesome, better than most park courses out there. One tee pad per hole.

The design is great. You'll need every type of shot in the bag to score well out here. There's a great mix of left, right and straight shots required out here. Sometimes all three on the same hole depending on how you're throwing.

The navigation is pretty straightforward out here. A couple of not so obvious transitions, mostly on the front nine but for the most part you shouldn't have too many issues. I'd still recommend having Udisc or getting a map when you pay, just in case.

There's picnic tables at every hole which we certainly appreciated after having played all three Horning's courses before playing here.

Cons:

The rough is pretty thick in spots, mostly on the back nine around holes 11 thru 15. There are plenty of other spots too, but those were the ones that really stood out.

No tee signs. This is understandable for a private course. It was tricky to figure out where you were trying to throw on some of the longer holes though. You'll either have to walk the fairway or just take a guess.

The course doesn't loop back to the house at any point so be sure to pack in everything you need beforehand.

Other Thoughts:

This course was a treat. I'm so glad we were able to make it out here on this trip. Just a damn good private course that has all the elements I enjoy in a course. $4/person to play this is a bargain. I'd definitely recommend checking this place out if you get the chance. Not to mention the 5 other awesome nearby courses and this is kind of a little destination area. If they got tee signs I'd easily give this a 4. As is it's right under that currently. Probably a 3.75. Regardless, really fun course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
holydiver
Experience: 3 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Well worth the drive drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 14, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

Variety of hole length, skill, water, open field and elevated baskets.

Cons:

Tight lines on a few holes. Could use better directional signage.

Other Thoughts:

Thank you to the owners who charge $4/round and keep this place maintained!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 1
MakeItMali
Experience: 10.2 years 241 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great stop. Fun course!

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- large tee pads
- variety of shots (fairway open, closed wooded, left and right, multiple elevation changes)
- some very pretty holes
- fairways clean
- not too hard to navigate

Cons:

- blind shots a good bit
- missing obvious directions to next hole although i didn't have too much trouble navigating it despite that
- tee signs big time lacking so a few holes you've got to walk the line to figure out where/how to throw

Other Thoughts:

Overall im between a 3-3.5 and would give it a closer to a 4 if signage improved. Definitely a course worth checking out!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
Nate32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11 years 75 played 60 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Located in Buxton, Oregon Buxton Woods DGC is a fun little 18 hole backyard disc golf course. The piece of property this course is on is absolutely beautiful and gives players a nice variety of shots, from wooded to more open shots. The nature on this course very pretty with some moderate elevation change and intricate holes. Although this course might seem a little tight it has a lot to offer.

The owner of this property really seems to keep this course is pretty good condition seeing as this course has been open for a while. I haven't played this course in the winter so I don't know what the conditions are then but the summer conditions were great. Buxton Woods DGC is equipped with great concrete tee pads and Dynamic Veteran baskets. One thing that I think some courses are lacking is a good practice area and Buxton has a great one. There are multiple different practice baskets you can warm up on.

I really enjoyed some of the different shots featured on this course. Some other courses I've played don't have such a variety of shots so it really works all parts of your game. Favorite hole would have to be #9. Lovely little elevated hole with a nice view and ending near a pond in the background while your putting.

Cons:

There are quite a few blind tee shots on this course which requires you too walk up ahead to find the basket. Not a big deal but I found myself doing that on most holes. I feel like this could also be solved with some better tee signs to add for some more directions on where the basket is located on each hole.

The trees are quite close together (which makes sense since it used to be a logging area), which makes the wooded holes very difficult and if you miss your line, your kinda screwed with your approach shot. Buxton Woods DGC is a little difficult to get to as you have to go down a 2 mile road or so on gravel. The drive is a little windy as well.

Other Thoughts:

Had a great time playing this course. This course is very peaceful which I really enjoyed and wasn't crowded at all. Buxton Woods DGC is also located near Stub Stewart DGC as well if you're looking for a more heavily wooded course. Didn't see hardly anyone while playing Buxton, which made the round even more enjoyable, and we almost had the course to ourselves. For the $4 green fee, I would definitely say it was worth it. Looking to hopefully get back out there soon for another round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
Pierparknut
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.1 years 90 played 87 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-As with nearby courses Stub Stewart and Horning's Hideout, Buxton Woods plays through a former logging property. The layout is very well done, with par fours, short ace-runs, open shots, tight woods shots, and wonderful use of elevation. The course is on private property, with a $4 green fee due at the house window.

-This course has been open for nearly 10 years. From reading older reviews, the place has evidently been improved and matured very nicely over time. Lines are clean and fair, without feeling "worn out" like some city courses.

-Buxton features excellent, large concrete tees, Dynamic Discs baskets, brooms, and enormous benches on every hole. There's a fantastic practice area as well.

-Holes #2 and #17 feature elevated baskets, but #11 has the basket on a ZIP-LINE!! What a brilliant idea -- you get unlimited pin placements.

Cons:

-The property is only 2.5 miles off US-26, but 2 of those miles are on a winding, gravel forest road. Arriving in a low-body car or in bad weather conditions would be a challenge.

-Because the property has been reclaimed from logging relatively recently (within the last 25 years), 99% of the trees are the same size, and planted very closely together. This presents some unique challenges for the disc golf, but causes the place to lack a bit of the character and beauty of a course in an older-growth forest.

-Interestingly, every tee had 2 or even 3 signs with the hole number, but no indication as to the distance or direction. Expect to walk halfway down several of the fairways to locate the basket.

Other Thoughts:

-Buxton Woods is a wonderful course for a peaceful round. We played on a nice summer day, and there were only three other groups on the course. There's no road noise, and the course dog is still doing well and walked a couple holes with us. The $4 green fee is a great deal as well. I don't live close enough for a frequent round, but the course is certainly worth another visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
puaahunter
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 45 played 37 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Even the RUFF was fun! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 18, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great tee pads and baskets. Lots of length and challenge. Super nice folks who run the course on their property. The brown dog, Cody, wandered the course with us. We were the only ones there.

Cons:

The lack of course signage- hole number, distance, par, fairway, and pin location was very frustrating. This isn't an issue on your second play through, but if you're visiting as a destination course (playing once), it was a real bummer. We had to walk out most fairways to find the basket and estimate distance. Also, watch out for dog poop.

Other Thoughts:

Holes 10 and 11 were epic. Great use of elevation. I did not find any baskets or placements to be "gimmicky"? as some reviewers have said. It's pay to play, so bring $4/person. Prices went up a dollar starting July 1, 2019. It was worth it. I wish the money went into tee signs. Great destination course to partner with Stubs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 14, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

New dynamic patriot baskets. Good mix of holes, and elevation changes. Friendly clubhouse with good prices on disc, and they sell bagtags. Friendly dogs that roam the course and don't bother you or your discs. Good mix of all kinds of different shots. Lots of elevated baskets and one on a zip line. Very well maintained manicured with good signs pointing to next hole. Lots of work always being done. Very well maintained paths

Cons:

With all the positives I can say not all Changes are good. A lot of holes examples 1 in the long 5 in the long hole 6 in general and a couple others are more throw and hope than actual lines. I'm cool with elevated baskets but when you have to have steps up to get your disc, and more than a couple it's kind of an overkill to me. Needs tee signs on some of the holes that don't show any distance or anything

Other Thoughts:

I've always enjoyed this place and love the work that goes into it. I don't like some of the changes but they do a good job of constantly putting the effort into this place and once they clear up a couple lines and add some better tee signs this course will go back up in rating to me
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
mtor
Experience: 17.2 years 43 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Solid course that is constantly improving 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pay to play private course with a clubhouse that sells dx for ($7), water, pop, and snacks. Stop by the pro shop at the house for a map and to pay green fee's which are $3 per person. The staff were laid back and very friendly.
-Nice concrete tee pads, with trash cans, brushes, and benches (great amenities).
-Several elevated baskets (Such as #2, #11 (the basket is on a zip line), (#17 on a wooden structure).
-Signs with yardages
-2 water hazards (#10: driving over a pond that is about 80 feet, #11: water only comes to play if the throw shanks left, and gets a bad skip).
-The course is constantly changing and improving (there were several molds for new tee pads, many baskets had multiple locations).
-Nicely flowing layout.
-Variety of shots with mostly tunnel shots, but some places to air it out.

Cons:

This was a very nice course to play, with plenty of signs pointing to where the next hole was, however, the course would benefit from tee signs and a parking lot sign.
-A sign at the parking lot to check-in at the pro shop would be good.
-Tee signs with the hole's general layout and where the next tee would be good. Although, that may be difficult as the course is constantly being tweaked (the pro shop has the updated map).
-Some wooden yard signs were in knarly shape.

Other Thoughts:

Overall: I would say it a good course to introduce someone to woods play. Buxton Woods has some open holes but mostly wooded that forces one to use multiple types of shots. The course is less wooded than Stub Stuart but more wooded than Pier Park.

Possible improvements: It would be nice to see some signs at the tee pads with the hole map (e.g. fairway, trees, ob locations). Although, it may be difficult to accomplish due to the constant evolution of Buxton Woods.

Who this course is meant for: Just about every skill level can play this course. I would not bring 1st timers or very new player's though because the holes may be too long and difficult due to the variety of trees.

Overall likes: Course seems to be constantly changing and improving. Ground cover is sparse making it difficult to lose a disc unless it's an errant throw with an unlucky kick. Wife and I will be back to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
longandwrong
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 59 played 39 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Buxton or Bust new Portland motto 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

First PRO...course ownership (Kevin)! Brand new baskets. Each tee pad has a picnic table and a broom. Trash cans numerous through out course.
Now for the playing-great mix of holes,lengths (with two new par 4 holes). Long drives, turning drives, straight narrow drives I used 7 different disks for my first throws. Hole 10 and 11 have small ponds you have to work around or over. Very enjoyable round.

Cons:

Lots of signs however there are a few missing which gives one a little time looking for the basket or the way to the pad. Not really a major problem but Kevin is well aware and is working on making this course the best. Hole 2 pad needs a pointer from hole 1 basket (I didn't see one). Pad is back and toward the road. Major trails from basket to next pad help in a big way. Hole 17 the basket was way out to the right which the map kind of under showed the turn out to the field.

Other Thoughts:

Just a thought...how about a port a pottie out around hole 11. Otherwise we really enjoyed the course the ownership and all that we had contact with...workers, other players.
We live up Seattle area and we will be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
karmalord
Experience: 9 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

8/1 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 15, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pro Shop to buy discs food and drinks. I got an awesome bag there as a matter of fact. Tee pads with brooms and tables on every hole is unheard of!
Pads were plenty big.for driving. Course is spread out nicely and the work that has gone into making this special shows.

Cons:

Gravel Road on last mile stretch, so don't take the 'vette like I did.
Tee pads should eventually have signs that show you the way to next tee and map of the layout. Got confusing at times
14 looks to be a work in progress and should be mowed and move basket out of woods. Basket locations were ridiculous at times with too many trees to navigate through.
There should always be an open flight path into the basket from at least one angle.

Other Thoughts:

With a few minor improvements this course could be one that benchmarks what other disc golf courses should aspire to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
ezbake
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

cant wait 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

although somewhat short at times, this course is still quite challenging and fun. since i last played three months before there have been dramatic improvements. some of the pins have moved to longer positions, which upon viewing took a hell of a lot of work. this is evident in some of the brush piles that havent been removed yet (massive) theyve also been adding steps into some of the steeper holes which is no ez task either.
holes are spread out so no overlap is always a plus. and practically every is has a comfy shaded bench area, plus brooms for teepads

Cons:

some of these new pin locations look like they might still be a work in progress, to which i say, why not leave the pin in the short location till its a bit more playable. 14 in particular is one of the largest prettiest holes on the course, but the pin is tucked deeply away in a pretty ridiculous cluster of trees, that seemingly will be more thinned out eventually and WILL be pretty damn cool....but for now? kinda not worth playing as is. and on the same subject tee signs would really help with this, but again, if theyre changing stuff around i can see not wanting to commit on signage yet, but maybe some lil temp laminated signs or something

Other Thoughts:

everywhere you look theres work being done around this place, little trees coming down, steps being dugout, brush cleared and hauled out.....i thinks this WILL be one of my favorite courses in another year or two. i love tight wooded courses where if your drive or upshot goes ugly, you literally have to pitch out to fairway. thats real golf in my opinion. but this place is just a lil too rough around the edges to give a perfect rating, YET
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
chainfreaks
Experience: 23.8 years 26 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course with a dedicated staff 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 2, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Multiple shots required,
Well maintained
technical woos golf
constantly evolving
Nice Pro Shop

Cons:

a bit short for me personally
its not my backyard

Other Thoughts:

The dedication and hard work the staff put into this course amazes me. Long story short they are very good people that enjoy the sport.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Ocelotl
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.9 years 40 played 18 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Deep in the woods 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 18, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tucked WAY back into Buxton but still less than an hour from PDX this place is a must go if you are discing in NW oregon. Very easy to tie into a trip to LL Stub or Hornings It is a couple miles down a bumpy dirt road so if you have a really nice, or really low car keep that in mind.

-Facilities, The pro shop is well done, bathroom and water on site for golfers. They have put a bit of time into signage so even a first timer shouldnt be too confused as to where they are going.

-Ever hole has a really well made concrete pad with a picnic bench near by, and a broom somewhere nearby as well.

-Variety, lots of different shots, tunnels, downhills, little water carry shot.

-Baskets, really like the bran new bentleys out here, they catch great and are all bright blue making it easy to spot them.

-Well maintained fairways, everything is nicely mowed down, very little lost disc chance out here.

Cons:

Even with some of the new longer placements it is still a bit on the short side, not a big negative to me but will bug folks who really want to air it out.

Other Thoughts:

As more and more work is put into Buxton Woods I can see it really becoming a DG destination point. The owners are super friendly and I have always had a good time when golfing here, every time I leave Im already thinking about the next trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
volklaero
Experience: 10 years 10 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Worth the drive 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 12, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Constantly improving course.
Multiple tee pads on some holes increase the difficulty.
Multiple pin locations
There are a few par 4's which really increase the challenge of the course.
Nice, easy to see Bentley blue baskets
Challenging tunnel shots
Easy flowing full length course
Tables, brooms and trash cans at every tee
Chill atmosphere in the hills

Off the beaten track, can be not as busy...since its a full course, less chance of running into other groups

Cons:

Location/size can be a deterrent for a quicker round. Gravel road is an issue for sports cars...take something you don't mind getting diry or rock chips.

Other Thoughts:

3 Bucks to play. Well worth it given all the work they have put into this top private course.

I have played many rounds here now, and the owners are constantly improving their course. There are new pin locations being debuted 12/23/17 for a C-tier, and they already have short and long tee's for many holes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
PDXDisc
Experience: 15.1 years 21 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Mid-Summer Round 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Very well thought out with a great variety of holes
-Moderately technical with still being accessible to all skill levels.
-The water hole is fun, getting it over the water and uphill makes it a bit of a challenge.
-Still new enough to not be really crowded
-Very cool, laid back atmosphere
-The 19th hole snacks and drinks are a nice perk when finishing on a hot day like we did.

Cons:

The trees and brush are still a bit thick in spots.
A couple really narrow fairways (although this could almost be a Pro since it contributes to the variety of the course).

Other Thoughts:

-Played this mid-day on the 5th of July. Only a couple other groups on the course but everyone was very cool, friendly, and helpful.
-Cody the course dog is friendly and curious.
-Like others have said, this is a great course for improving your game and it will be really nice to see how this course evolves over the next few years.

Thank you to the property owners - this is a great addition to the area disc golf courses!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Private Course Done Up Well! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Kevin,the owner of this lovely piece of property wanted to do something with it. A disc golfer friend suggested installing a disc golf course and offered to design it. All he asked in return was that Kevin allowed him a couple of days a year in which to hold tournaments. The results is this wonderful new private course. But what separates it from and elevates it above almost every other private course I've ever played; Everything here is being doing first class sparing no expense. Where other privates courses offer dirt pads and crazy homemade baskets, Buxton Woods has brand new blue Bentley baskets and nice flat concrete tee pads. Brooms and benches are provided at each hole. Only the signs remain laminated homemade ones.
The course plays mostly flat through forested land but does feature a couple of sweet downhills and one short hole throwing over a small pond. There is a nice mix between tight hyzers (3, 8 & 12) and annies ((4, 15 & 17).

# 11 is the short little 191' ACE run toss over the pond. It's followed by a short but steep uphill with severe penalty for hitting a tree and then seeing your disc drop deep down near the small stream below. Believe me, I know!

Cons:

The course is recreational in length. So it won't challenge the most advanced players. It's quite a distance out in the country. $3 to play is quite a bargain. I saw a lot of evidence of the clearing of brush/trees. I believe it's much better than previous reviewers have noted.

Other Thoughts:

The 19th hole, Kevin's home, where you pay your $3 also features drinks, food and discs for sale as well as picnic tables which make a great viewing site for watching others finish on the long downhill, # 18.

Owner Kevin, has only played one disc golf course in his life, his own! He's working hard to make this an enjoyable experience for all. Buxton Woods has Friday night glow golf, bag tags, ample parking, porta pottis.

Basically this doesn't feel like a private course, it feels more like a new county/city course. Great job and getting better!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Ronburke
Experience: 45.1 years 7 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great layout.
Excellent concrete tee pads with brooms
Challenging without being frustrating
beautiful setting
tables, benches, garbage cans and brooms at every tee pad. I sure wish more courses had this stuff at even every 5 or 6 holes let alone every single hole.
Really cool bunch of players on this course
Technical, technical, technical. IF you play this course on a somewhat regular basis, your game will improve at other courses!

Cons:

Can be seriously muddy in the wet times.
Fairly short holes - few bomber holes
No distance or basket markers on the holes. So many holes are completely blind and if you don't know the course, you have to run out to find out where to place your shot.

Other Thoughts:

This course is still in work in progress. The guys who designed this course however have done a fantastic job and at this point (4.21.14) the course is in decent condition. Personally I loved playing this course. It was fun, challenging and different. I can't wait to see what this place looks like in 5 - 10 years. I think this course is good for all skill levels also. The pace was quick for us which I like. Great job people. You deserve a hardy thank you for your hard work!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
hugheshilton
Experience: 13.9 years 44 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 2, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Nice, large tee pads and locally made Bentley Baskets
- Most holes are birdie-able, but often with real penalties for throwing into the rough
- Good variety of shots required
- Picnic tables or benches at almost all baskets
- Easy to navigate and even easier with the help of the map/scorecard provided by the owners
- Owners are committed to making a great disc golfing experience

Cons:

- There were still some piles of cleared brush in a couple fairways when I played, although I'm sure that will be resolved in time, since the owners seem committed to improving the course.
- There are a few fairways with some rough ground/small stumps due to clearing out trees and such. As with the above, I'm sure this will be resolved in time.

Other Thoughts:

I believe the problems with hole 15 noted by another reviewer have been resolved. There was definitely a well defined (although somewhat narrow) fairway when I played the course. The basket is set off slightly to the right, so it's an easier hole to birdie for a RHFH or LHBH shot.

There are a number of holes with very tight fairways with thick trees on either side. They tend to be shorter holes in the 175 - 225 foot range, so they are very reachable for most players. I actually like these holes since they should be birdie-able for most players, but they impose a heavy penalty for an errant shot. It helps add a little to the difficulty level for the shorter holes.

This is definitely a small to medium sized course in terms of driving distances. There are only 4 or 5 holes where you will want long distance drivers; mostly it's finesse work with mids and putters. For what it is, it's very well done; just don't expect to pull out a lot of distance drivers. It's actually a nice variety to have a well designed but shorter 18-hole course. We have blue lake, milo, and pier already if you want larger courses. This is more comparable to the medium and small courses at Horning's and I think I actually prefer its design to those courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
teemkey
Experience: 39 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

New private course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 26, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course Update:

Played in a tournament this weekend that debuted two new tee pads. 12 &15 both become more difficult.

The new 12 pad is behind the original pad up on a hill, with a big cedar tree blocking the view to the basket. I estimate it would take roughly a rhbh 400' hyzer to reach the basket. A shorter hyzer is available, but then you have to approach uphill & between some trees.

The new 15 pad is set back about 150' behind the original pad in a copse of trees. The easily navigated tunnel now is a bear to get through, and the overhand option is only available to major league quality arms.

Since Buxton Woods' opening we've seen new (longer) pin positions on every hole, and new tees on 12 & 15. There is also a new pin position planned for 11, even further up the hill.

There have also been an additional 9 holes built on the property, aimed for gold level. They are waiting tee pads and baskets which Kevin tells me should be ready in about a month.

Cons:

still needs some clearing of brush, branches & other lumbar removed during building/updating the course.

Other Thoughts:

Great support for local dg: designed by Local, uses locally made baskets, plastic on sale. Actively presenting tag leagues, tournaments, and other dg-related events.
Private course with reasonable day-use fee ($3)
Plays quickly: possible to hit Buxton, Stub, and Hornings in one (marathon) day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
WilsonSandersDavis
Experience: 20.1 years 121 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Buxton DCG 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 30, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Great tee pads and Bentley baskets with benches or tables at every hole.
-Layout is good with elevation changes, ravines, and a great throw over a pond.
-Beautiful course in the woods with good views. A great escape from the city.
-Grounds are clean with most fairways mowed and several garbage cans distributed throughout.
-Course maps available at on site pro shop which has friendly staff.
-Practice baskets & tables near parking area and pro shop for relaxing before or after your round.
-Close to other courses, restaurants, and stores for a full day of disc golf.

Cons:

-Course is still under construction, but all 18 holes are playable.
-Some holes are short, but it sounds like different pin positions will be added.
-The rough is thick, due to second growth forest that needs dead branches trimmed.

Other Thoughts:

This course has amazing potential. All cons I saw were due to the course being under construction. However, the staff seemed determined to listen to the disc golf community to create an awesome course and it sounds like there are good things in the works for this course. Don't be scared because of the construction, course is very playable. Best new course in the Portland area.
Edited by KBS (Thanks wifey)

*UPDATE 1-30-2016*
Many upgrades to this course since my last update. Played this course many times since it has opened. Fun bag tag league on Sundays at 10am. Owners continue to add longer tee pads, and additional pin placements. The course has been substantially upgraded in terms of underbrush cleared out, trails added, & upgraded signage. This is a great course and very worth the drive from Portland.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top