• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Yorktown, IN

Carl Scott DGC

3.665(based on 19 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Carl Scott DGC reviews

Filter
4 0
wellerlandon
Experience: 4 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

CSMDGC Review

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 18, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent shot variations
New baskets
Well kept course
Easy to follow tee map

Cons:

I kept getting confused on which baskets were "A" and which were "B". That was most likely just due to my lack of experience as a disc golfer, and my first time ever being at this course.

Other Thoughts:

This is an awesome course relatively local to me. I really don't see anything wrong with this course. It has some challenges, but some easier holes as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
S@wyer
Experience: 8.2 years 9 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Yorktown Lions Club 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice baskets and tee pads.

Fun holes throughout a woods.

Cons:

Could not find holes A-F. Did see the other baskets just didnt know how to get to these extra holes.

First time playing the course I had a hard time finding each basket location on multiple holes.

Other Thoughts:

Very fun course. I wish it was closer to me because it was a blast to play and I think the course would make me a better player with the shots it forces you to take.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
BMock
Experience: 9 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Yorktown DG Review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very good use of the park.
Love the Wooded holes and downhill throws.
Decently challenging course.
Would rank it above Glen Miller in Richmond.
Good Baskets.

Cons:

A little confusing on course map as where to start.
Not much parking.
No Trash Cans throughout course.
A few holes are very tough to know where to go....Tee Pad for 7 after 6....Where the basket is from 10 Tee Pad. Maybe a little help with Picture of Tee to Basket on each hole would help a lot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
ChipBoo33
Experience: 10.2 years 29 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Blind/Obscured course with LH bias 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course has a lot of variation as it's built into, around, and adjacent to a LOT of hillsides. In the woods (holes 8-12), you have to be able to navigate a lot of "tunnel" shots which, combined with the elevation, make for "challenging" conditions. Course rewards those who are shot-makers and not just "grip-it and rip-it" throwers. You have to THINK you're way around course for a lot of the holes.

Cons:

This course has a distinct left-hander bias -- a LOT of dogleg right holes (or ones which are "hidden" to the right). Overall, I felt that too many of the holes were hidden to the point where I was guessing way too much on both club and shot selection. On #6 (I think), a right-hander player has to send their tee shot beyond the hole and then shoot back to the basket which might as well be in a cave.

Other Thoughts:

On this course (and this may as well apply to all courses), it would help immensely to know "distance to the basket/hole." Like on traditional golf courses, where they use sprinkler heads to mark 50/100/150 distances (yards) to the center of the green, this course would greatly benefit from some type of 'marker' to show remaining distance from drives. Too often I felt that I had no real "sense" of where I was relative to the pin to gauge my 2nd (or 3rd) shot.

Not a course for 1) beginners, 2) for anyone with limited disc selection (for distance, flight pattern), or 3) for any right-hander who lacks either a decent forehand shot (with a low or zero turn rating), or who can't throw an anhyzer (with reliability, distance, and decent accuracy).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
bradtollefson
Experience: 49.2 years 110 played 43 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Holes A-F 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 2, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a good all around course with plenty of variety and elevation changes.
Mostly I wanted to discuss the 6 new holes A-F found between holes 4 and 5.

these are a great addition to the course. The holes play down in a basin by the river. The river only comes into play on 2 holes. What I like about these holes is that they contrast well with the rest of the course. They are a not as wide open as the beginning or ending holes or as tight as the wooden section in the middle. They have defined fairways that are wide enough to be playable but narrow enough to provide a bit of a challenge. They have curves and elevation changes that add variety to an already interesting course.

Cons:

We had to re-route hole B due to water. This should dry out soon but may be a problem after heavy rains. The rough was, well, rough. This may be an issue if not maintained through the summer. We spent a few minutes looking for discs and we thought we knew where they landed.

We skipped hole E as it is right by river. You could easily lose a disc in the river on this hole and it does not look as if it would be easy if possible to retrieve.

Other Thoughts:

We would have played hole E had the basket been placed on the left side of the fairway instead of by the river. I like a challenge but not one that will cost me a disc if I screw up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.9 years 400 played 385 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Shift underway? 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 2, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I was really surprised how much I liked the variety on this course (actually named the Carl Smith Memorial DGC), having come just to check it out. Throwing on these highly visible orange & natural "Arachnid" baskets was a treat. The three sets of chains and the deep cages caught great (a feature you're going to like on the creekside slopes on 8 & 10, as well as on the pedestal hole 14). And the tees were fantastic, with either large, level concrete or my personal preference, the paver stones locked in a large wooden box frames.

When you park by the water tower, you'll see the nearby practice basket and a large (currently empty) sign just across the little valley to your north, where holes 1 through 5 feature open parkland with large trees to define your lines. You get a taste of the woods on the pretty, left to right ace run on 6, where you throw from a recessed tee across that valley and to the top of the ridge just west of the water tower. After a short 'bomber' on 7, you play in the woods, slopes and creek for holes 8 to 12, and then up a long blind shot to the corner on 13, out to a raised basket on 14, along the wood line on 15, and back out into the open for the three finishing holes.

Though I didn't see them myself, there are supposedly alternate basket positions for each hole, so the course has even more variety. It already uses elevations and tree lines very well, without being overly punishing in length. If anything there is a slight advantage here for those who can shape lines left to right. Hole 12 is definitely laid out as a lhbh s-shaped fairway right now. I'd say this is a course geared to Intermediate level skills in terms of technicality, and Recreational skills in terms of length. And a major plus is the fact that the course doesn't pose much risk to the playground or shelter, and that makes it feel like a place with disc golf as the focus. Nice.

Cons:

The signage seems to be in flux here, with mostly just posts with the hole number in place right now. If it were my course, I'd put up some laminated temp signs and indicate 'next tees' somehow. I'd also 'mando' hole one left of one of the trees there to keep the rhbh hyzers away from the spiral slide. Not sure if they can do much about it, but the walk from 13 to the pedestal shot's tee at 14 seems oddly long. Finally, the open holes feel a little bit like they're just 'out and back' holes in terms of design, though they do afford the bigger arms to air it out a little that way.

Other Thoughts:

It's important to note that the tees are being renumbered (mostly just shifted by two), and that I sketched a new aerial map reflecting the changes. Also, I didn't ask the one other group that was on the course, but when I looked to my right off the 5th tee, I saw another basket and yet another tee, so I'm wondering if there aren't more changes and additions in store here. Excellent if so!

edit 3/17/15: in fact (h/t to dgcr member 'numbernine'), there are now letter holes A-F between holes 4 and 5, so it sounds as if you get another batch of fun holes in the woods before coming back out to the field to rejoin the existing course. And they're addressing the signage, so kudos to the Yorktown gang!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
flickaway
Experience: 6 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Play here! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great mix of distance holes and wooded technical holes. Two different basket placements to give the home players variety. Concrete tee pads; bright orange baskets. A couple of great elevation changes.

Cons:

The tees are not well marked (many signs missing), and there are a couple of extra baskets here and there. So the first time you play here, take a picture of the overview map in the parking lot so you know where to go next. This course would be perfect with some permanent maps and numbering.

Other Thoughts:

Love this course and play often!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 15
codeman7193
Experience: 13.1 years 3 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 6, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice course, beautiful scenery, amazing lay out. Easy to follow holes. Concrete tees, easily identifiable spider web pins.

Cons:

Can be very muddy. Floods often. Alot of holes are in the woods and close to the river.

Other Thoughts:

I personally love this course, its the closest too me, and its fun. I play here regularly
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
ajbova
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.3 years 112 played 95 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Needed course for the area 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Large concrete tee pads.

Grippy spiderweb 3 baskets. Basket part itself is painted orange. 16 of 18 baskets had the basket number on it.

Variety: flat open shots, hilly open shots, hilly wooded shots, heavily wooded holes, blind shots, narrow fairways, etc.

A few interesting basket locations. 16 stands out the most, raised basket on a built mound. Tunnel throws.

Course map at the start of course, signage for most of the holes. Signs listed distance, picture of hole, and par.

2 basket locations per hole, changes every once in awhile.

Water on holes 8, 10, and 17 but it was only a small small creek.

Practice basket.

Cons:

Poison ivy everywhere! Holes 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 16, 17, and 18 had poison ivy in the fairways and near the baskets. Hole 9 was cut into woods, had a tunnel shot, but surrounded by poison ivy.

Holes 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 14, 17, and 18 had signs missing. Would have been helpful. Had to ask a few people to find tees for holes 9 and 15.

No trash cans nor benches in the park.

Lots of bugs.

One tee per hole.

Other Thoughts:

I feel this course if in 100% condition would be a 4 out of 5. Missing signs, including signs pointing to the next tee, and the poison ivy knocked this down to a 3.5.

I really enjoyed this course and will definitely make the drive from Indy to play it again. You will not be disappointed, especially if you add the Muncie course to your adventure.

If this course had alternate tees, signs and arrows pointing to the next hole, and less poison ivy, it would definitely be a 4 out of 5.

I would recommend this course. It is much needed for the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Oldstump
Experience: 145 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

great use of the land 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

A fun park course that makes excellent use of available terrain. Park was very clean. There is a welcome sign at the parking area with a marked course map (aerial photo). Nice signs on most holes including: distance, map of hole, and direction to the next tee.

Concrete tee pads, except the woods holes which are brick bordered with timbers. These are very well done, allowing nice tees to be placed in a couple spots where concrete would have to be carried in by buckets.

Baskets are Spiderweb III with orange coloration which helps with visibility.

Cons:

Tee pads on a couple longer holes may be short for some players that prefer a longer run-up.

No benches or garbage cans at the tee pads.

Missing signs on some tees. Obviously an issue not limited to this course but the db's have alredy destroyed the tee signs on #1 and several of the woods holes.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a great addition to the area. The first 8 holes which are more open with large mature trees. The pin locations on these holes make direct access a challenge. Birdie opportunities on many of these, ace lanes on a couple.

The pin on hole #9 offers great risk/reward as it is located atop a mound behind a small group of trees. Sail 10' too far and the back-side drops 30'+ to a creek bed.

Holes 10-14 enter woods with tight lines to be found. Shorter lengths on these holes but with these tight lines drives must be accurate "through the gaps" for birdie or ace runs.

The last 4 holes open up a bit with some elevation playing into the mix on 15 & 18. Hole 18 plays to 427' with the drive needing to be played slightly uphill before a downhill run to the basket.

Overall a fun course which I will play again when I'm in the Muncie area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
NerdlyPeabody
Experience: 14 years 3 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Spiderweb 3 baskets 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 27, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Well thought out and well executed course. Variety of shots needed. Fun for all types of players. No nasty water traps to steal your discs.

Cons:

Large dog in pen beside #2 pin will eat your disc if you are unlucky enough to land in his domain.

Other Thoughts:

As soon as i heard about these new Spider Web 3 baskets I was eagerly looking forward to playing this course. (I was not disappointed)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
DOGvsRAPTOR
Experience: 16.3 years 45 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 29, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete and hand made tee pads, touch of elevation, nice park. Mature trees are used, as well as a few holes in a more wooded area. Hole 9 has an awesome green.

Cons:

As others have stated, a few simple bridges would do wonders for the course. Also, the idiots who drive their vehicles between 9 and 10 really tear the grass up, but if you throw a good shot it shouldn't be an issue.

Other Thoughts:

Really fun course. Nice mix of distance and technical know how. The shorter drives still require a good shot. As said before, its just fun and compliments the course in Muncie very well. Great work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
numbernine
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 103 played 49 reviews
3.50 star(s)

On it's way! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 16, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's hard to objectively review a course that you put a lot of work in to, but I feel like I can do so pretty well right now. All that said, here we go -

The setting! - The course sits at the end of a dead end road in a beautiful park. This park was essentially unused until we put the course in .

Baskets - Custom built, orange, Arachnid Disc Golf Targets on the course. There are literally no better baskets on the market. Period. These things catch better than any basket on the planet.

tee pads - Most of the pads on the course are long, wide, concrete pads that were put in meticulously to ensure they were leveled.and correct. The tee pads in the woods were hand made from cobblestone and railroad ties. These are one of the gems of the course IMHO. Mr. Odell put a lot of work into these, and it shows.

Shot variety - From long, downhill shots with roll away greens, to short, technical wooded shots that play around a creek, this course has a bit of everything.

Signage - There are clearly marked signs on each hole that show the layout and preferred route to each basket. These signs are secured to 4x4's and makes it easier to locate the next tee pad.

use of terrain/elevation - Around 14 or so of the holes use the woods, a creek, a big hill or some combination of those to create an interesting shot selection. Number 9 is the perfect example of this. You tee off from a hill, to a sweeping anhyzer shot, up a hill with a dramatic drop off behind the target to a creek.

Cons:

lack of benches - thus far, we have no benches on the course. the park's department is supposed to be getting these to us soon.

lack of trashcans. - I think there is literally one in the park. Maybe two. we're supposed to be getting more soon.

mud - we really need to install a couple of foot bridges on this course. Mud is bad by the water on a few holes

Other Thoughts:

As this course matures and we continue to add to it (it's only been open for about 3 months now), it really will move up to a 4.0-4.5 type of course.
As it stands, I would say that it's one of the better courses in East Central Indiana. Come out and see for yourself!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Matthew boals
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.2 years 283 played 65 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Just a Fun Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 31, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very nice mix of terrain. From flat and open to hilly and wooded. A creek also comes into play. Alen Pier Siderweb 3 targets. The basket & top are painted orange. New, level concrete tees. The wooded tees are paved bricks. Nice, New Tee signs are accurate. Maps are available at the watertower fence. Loop design.

Cons:

Next to an active R.R. Track. Concrete tees could be a little short,for some. The trees that were cut,on the wooded holes,were not cut level to the ground. Since the leaves have fallen they are covered. Be careful, I stumbled a few times. Small Footbridges are needed on holes #8,10,11. #10 could use down by the target. #11 has stones,the first is not very sturdy. The left side of fairway #9 holds water. The numbers on the targets are hand written sharpie. IMHO 4'' white numbers would be highly visible.

Other Thoughts:

#1 is a 260' slight up slope hyzer or anhyzer drive with the spiderweb target between two large trees. #2 a 263' flat and open hole....cross the park road for #3...a 305' hole. With the tee just before the bottom of the largest mound in the course. The fairway plays along the bottom of the curving mound,with 6 mature trees in play. #4 a 281' starts out flat then up a little slope to another flat area. The spiderweb target sits behind two large trees with one big bush making a semi blind shot. #5 is 280' that crosses over a grassy valley with about a dozen mature trees,in the valley. No underbrush or low branches. The spiderweb target is half way up other side....a little back tracking to the tee....#6 a 260' mostly open fairway with the spiderweb target between a few trees. Making a anhyzer drive. #7 the 2nd longest hole at 350' plays on top of the biggest mound. The spiderweb target is just over the back side of the mound,making a blind shot and a roll-a-way green. Its also one of the most open,wind will be a factor. #8 a 210' ridge to ridge hole. Has one large branch forcing a anhyzer drive. The green is flat enough to "park it". But a roller is still very possible, if you pull it short. #9 339' long anhyzer drive from an elevated tee. The spiderweb target is on top of a large STEEP mound. With a handful of small Diameter trees in front. Behind is a 30' drop into the creek....into the woods... #10 a 136' hole that plays along the creek and up a short and steep incline. The spiderweb target is on the edge of the incline. Making a roller into the creek possible. #11 a 187' downhill hyzer shot with trees and brush on both sides. Also,Plays over the creek. #12 205' which plays along,then over,the creek and Up a little slope. #13 a 186' "Thread the needle" hole. A anhyzer drive between two trees,about 6' apart,makes for a ace run. #14 251' "Open" wooded hole. The first 2/3 of the fairway is open. Then a line of trees blocks the spiderweb target,that's in a flat grassy area...take the gravel park road to the left for #15. A 317' upslope drive to a large flat grassy area. The spiderweb target is between one large tree and a line of trees with underbrush. #16 225' the tee area has been cut out of the THICK brush. Its open,one long branch forces a low hyzer or anhyzer drive. #17 a 267' hole which has the creek on the left and mature trees,with underbrush on the right. The fairway gets more narrow as you get to the spiderweb target. #18 is the longest hole at 427' blind shot up and over a nice sized mound between two large trees that are on top. The spiderweb target is in a flat, wide open grassy area. From I-69 it takes 10-15 minutes to get to the course. A full round of 18 will take a little over an hour. If you don't have that much time. I highly recommend playing holes #8-#18. Overall a fun course. Not overly challenging. But NOT boring either. I'm a noolde arm intermediate player and had lot of fun going for aces and birdies. My goal here is to birdie every hole. Or get my first Ace!? If your traveling I-69 take the time to check this course out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
FreddieC
Experience: 16.1 years 44 played 7 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Yorktown Delight 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

New Tee Pads, Signage at each hole, and maps available - AWESOME Spider Web3 Baskets

Great course with plenty of elevation change which challenges your distance and disc choice judgement from the tee, as well as your midrange/approach and putts through trees and other obstacles along the way.

Highlights: Hole 1-2 are mainly open for birdies, Holes 3-7 introduce some trees which require careful navigation off the tee, Hole 8 (complete with an Tee Box set in to the hill) is scenic (across the gully) to the top of the hill directly next to the parking lot. Hole 9 - Long anhyzer or righty-side arm to atop a hill (don't go long, trust me....) Holes 10-14 play along a creek and through some deceptive woods (meaning there seems to be plenty of flight paths through, but the trouble is consistently making those "gaps") Holes 15-16 are open to improve your score after some wooded enjoyment, Hole 17 plays along a creek against the woods - Hole 18 is for those with an "arm" throwing 427 up hill slightly then downhill towards the basket.

Cons:

I had to think long and hard about any negatives to this course - Hole 8 gully will need a bridge or path across (due to soft terrain) and the creekbed along Holes 10-14 needs protected from local off-road motorists - both of these issues are being addressed within the next week and will be corrected.

Other Thoughts:

Thanks to Stacey Odell, Marc Stone, Jerry Suiter, and Muncie Disc Golf club for another great course in Delaware County - this new gem is easily the best course in East Central Indiana and a must play for any DG'er passing by Exit 34 on I-69...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
zud00
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 203 played 47 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Yorktown Lions, Tigers, and Bears 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 26, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

*Really nice baskets, powdercoated and catch well
*Concrete pads offer good grip and the holes in the woods have brick pads, a nice touch
*Variety in hole distance, right/left turning holes, open/wooded holes, uphill/downhill holes
*Elevation in the park was used well in course design
*Playground on site for children

Cons:

*Navigation was a bit confusing, I may have missed a hole or two without a map. I know they will install signs (rating does not reflect the fact that there are not currently signs) which will help. May have some trouble going from basket to the next tee without a map or other navigational assistance on a few holes if it's your first time to play the course
*While there was variety, I did not find any holes to be to challenging or long. The longest holes on the course were mostly open
*Had to cross a road (park road) a few times to get to some of the holes

Other Thoughts:

I enjoyed playing this course, although there was no specific hole or feature about this course that struck it is amazing. I would say my favorite hole was hole 14 in the woods which requires a left to right turning shot where you have to hit a gap between a few trees halfway to the basket.

The woods holes were fun, most were short, but the technicallity made up for them. If you miss your line, you may end up off the fairway and into trouble where rather than a look at birdie, you will have to scramble for par. A stream may come into play on a few of the holes in the woods and on 17.

Holes 3-6 play through some nice mature growth forcing you to shape some lines which adds to the variety factor. Your arm should be warm by the time you get to hole 18 which is over 400'; may be tough for a lefty, however, with trees on the left.

This was a fun course to play. It wasn't to dificult for the experienced player, but should be great for beginners and will bring little challenge to intermediate players.

Thanks to all the work that is being done on this course by the Muncie Disc Golf Club, they are doing a great job.

I would recommend playing this course. It can be on your way to McCulloch from 69, it would be a good course to warm up on.

**UPDATE 9/2/16**
I recently played this course for the first time in 5 years. It has many changes and the addition to 6 alternate holes.

The course has good flow with plenty of variety. I really enjoyed the 6 extra holes near the river. They provide a different style of course play than the rest of the course with new growth and underbrush off the side of the fairways which will punish errant shots.

I still agree mostly with my original review, but I am bumping my rating from a 3 to a 3.5. I enjoy the variety this course has to offer. The one thing I wish it did have is a few longer wooded holes. Most of the wooded holes seemed to be under 200'. A 350' wooded hole would be a bonus.

I would definitley suggest playing this course...24 holes of goodness.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
duckkiller73
Experience: 19.1 years 13 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 17, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Wow. One of the most fun courses I have played.
-Tee's had great grip. They were made of concrete.
-Beautiful park. The scenery around the course was nice and very relaxing.
-Demanding shots. Throughout this course you have tough shots, whether it was a tough anny drive, a low mid, a mid or putt that had to hit a small hole and then STOP, a shot that had to sit down or roll into trouble, nearly every shot had to be placed.
-Great looking baskets. I believe Double D made the baskets. The color scheme was awesome. The baskets all really stood out. They also caught discs very well.
-Great flow to the course. No signs yet, but the course had a natural progression to it that wasn't uber difficult to follow.
-Great variety. Long drives, short drives, anny's, hyzers, uphill, downhill, wooded and open. This course asks you to shoot every type of shot in your arsenal.

Cons:

Tough to give con's because I understand that it is new. I will play it again later this fall and next spring and change my review accordingly.
-Trash cans. They are needed every so often.
-Some of the holes need cleaned up a little. There was some old trash lying around on a few of them.
-Signs. I know they are coming and the arrows helped out a bunch until you get the signs in.
-Bridge. Possibly will need a bridge built on 8.

Other Thoughts:

Some really sweet holes. I loved number 8 the most I think. Everything about that hole is awesome. From the dug in tee box, to the downhill/uphill drive, to the somewhat blind basket placement. A few others stuck out, but really there isn't a bad hole on this course. It plays really well. Can't wait to come back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 5
astomps
Experience: 13 years 76 played 42 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 11, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-another East Central Indiana course
-brand new baskets and tees
-some really cool blind shots
-good mix of elevation changes and trees

Cons:

-short holes, easy to par
-substantial ditch to jump over on one of the fairways
-woods holes are short and only challenge is avoiding trees
-This course desperately needs some footbridges over the creek
-Some trees need to be cut out on woods holes; they don't add any technical value, they just chew up discs

Other Thoughts:

signs are now up which was previous complaint
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
befrad
Experience: 14.2 years 6 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Brand New Technical Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Brand new course as of September 2011
-Nice use of land; utilizes light woods, heavy woods, and wide open areas.
-Very technical course.
-Course is cyclical; Holes 1,9,and 18 are right by one another.
-Not insanely difficult nor too simple.

Cons:

-As of now no trash cans, restrooms, or drinking fountains.
-The course is not yet outfitted with signs, though it will be soon. (Likely in October 2011)
-May be an aggravating course for right-handers without a reliable annheiser throw.

Other Thoughts:

This course contrasts greatly with its nearby course McCulloch Park in Muncie. The two parks work well together for locals to practice or for weekend visitors to try out both. Lion's Club Park has no holes that are uncomfortably long, however accuracy is key.

Don't underestimate the wooded holes. They are deceivingly tricky, and a bad bounce can crush your score. I didn't list it as a con, because if you take the right line it is probable that you will be rewarded with a birdie.

Thanks to Muncie Disc Golf Club and Ball State University Disc Golf Club for making this happen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top