• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Kearney, NE

Centennial Park

Permanent course
2.555(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Centennial Park reviews

Filter
6 0
MiketheGoalie
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.4 years 94 played 44 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Quick 9-Hole in Immaculate Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 23, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course was an immaculate and easy to follow birdie fest. The course flowed well despite starting on Hole #4, it flowed back to the main parking lot. The park isn't large, but it managed to do a decent job of shoe-horning in a 9-hole layout.

Birdie and ace rounds abound. The tee pads are generous for the hole length and the signage is decent. Plenty of garbage cans in the park and pavilions for getting some shade. Speaking of shade, most of the holes play through mature trees that have gorgeous canopies.

Well-manicured mature trees were in play on many holes, and the grass was well mowed. The park has many amenities such as playgrounds and a pool. It was easy to get to from the interstate and played quick.

Cons:

It's a bit repetitive. Flat, straight, short, repeat. Advanced or better players should be looking for an 18 on this course so it isn't a destination course by any stretch. The park is essentially greenspace around a community pool and ballfield situated between two neighborhoods.

I played on a weekend and the park was busy! Watch out for picnic-goers, people in hammocks, kids running between parking lots, pavilions, playgrounds, etc.

Other Thoughts:

I played a super-quick round during a roadtrip and despite getting a little frustrated waiting for people, it was still fun to rack up some birdies. This course is well-maintained and an obvious boon for the community. It's got good utilization and the citizens should be happy to have a fun, all-ages course in town. As I said, not a destination course, but a great way to stretch the legs when driving across Nebraska.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.2 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Perfect For Beginners Or Casual Rec Players! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Centennial Park in Kearney (Pronounced Carney) is a lovely little city park that has a popular swimming pool, tennis courts and lots of folks enjoying the disc golfing. It was almost dark and families and teens were all showing up to play.

The course has nice concrete pads with a rounded front, older DGA baskets with a small landscaped circle around them and tee signs which are inconsistent with adequate distance info. I think the course might have undergone a few changes over the years.

The nine hole course is just a series of short, easy ACE runs, five are under 200' and there aren't many obstacles to deal with. All this makes Centennial an ideal beginner course. It's perfect for families or high school kids and their dates. All these groups were playing the evening I played Centennial.

Cons:

Pitch & Putt distances.

Mostly open with no obstacles.

Flat.

Park can be crowded but I think the course is designed to minimize conflicts with other park users.

Signage needs to be upgraded/replaced.

Other Thoughts:

I happened to stay in Kearney with a gentlemen who is involved with the Kwanias Club charitable projects. I definitely urged him to get his club to consider donating new disc golf tee signs go the Centennial Park course.

This is a great pit stop on your cross Nebraska trip. Wam, Bam, thank you mamn. A short 20 minute break and you're back on the freeway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
washabh
Experience: 9 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun 9-Hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Impossible to lose a disc
- Clean park
- Easy to navigate

Cons:

- Not very challenging
- First hole is next to a busy street... don't screw up!
- Holes are very similar

Other Thoughts:

This is an enjoyable and clean 9-hole course to get your daily fix of DG. The park is well maintained and has a nice structure. A few more obstacles to make it a little more challenging would be great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
gfellerjm
Experience: 15.4 years 7 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great course for a quick game with anyone 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 19, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

great landscaping/grass
easy to follow layout
great cement/asphalt tees
good baskets
very forgiving (no chance of loosing a disc)

Cons:

simple layout (straight holes)
few things to make you control your line
under the baskets gets muddy after a rain

Other Thoughts:

This is a simple park course with well manicured grass and tees. That and it's forgiving nature are its best attributes. Overall the course is pretty simple, mostly shorter, straight holes with very few trees in the way but that doesn't mean it's not fun. The park is very well kept and never too busy. It's a great place to start, a great place to take anyone who hasn't played a ton or even those who've never played. It's also good for a one disc round or working on certain shots. Like I mentioned earlier, there are few trees to get in your way and no real way to lose a disc (unless you through it in the pool during the off season) so you can try out whatever you want. Overall I would say this is a very well kept course and great for a quick game to work on things or just have fun with anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
hollman
Experience: 20 played 20 reviews
2.50 star(s)

General purpose course for training or quick, carefree play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 21, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's fun if you don't have a ton of time or if you only have a couple discs on hand. If you are learning, have kids who want to play, or friends who don't play often, it is for you. If you like shady courses, this is a good one. Ace holes, it's for you. A few trees thrown in the way make for a little challenge so you feel like you accomplished something. If you are drained from playing long, challenging courses, those that are physically demanding, or those that swallow discs, this is the change you have been looking for. If you want to practice your short game...perfect course. Easy to find and well maintained. Burger joints are close by as well as restrooms on site.

Cons:

No elevation variety. All holes seem pretty short, with the exception of Hole 9. Not every hole/tee is labeled, although it is pretty easy to find each tee and the flow is decent; a map is not necessary. It isn't particularly challenging or frustrating to play, but that might also be what makes this course a fun changeup. Most holes are straight so there isn't a lot of variety on left/right doglegs.

Other Thoughts:

Worth playing. It really doesn't take a ton of commitment so just swing in with a few discs and knock it out quick if you are in the area. Unlike many challenging, heavily-wooded courses where you might spend half your time looking for your disc, this is a course where losing a disc is nearly impossible. Trees are pruned up high and in park-like condition. No special clothing attire or extra luggage is needed to play this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
prerube
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 17.2 years 275 played 236 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course is well taken care off.
Well suited for new players.
one of the few courses in the area with actual tees and the tees are in good shape.
Some trees as obsticles make it a nice course for a local to play on a lunch break, but it is not a challenging course.
Lots of ace runs....about 9 :)

Cons:

Minimal signage. Signs missing on several holes. Baskets unmarked.
Holes were super short, all but one hole was under 250. I threw 3 discs for the entire round.
Dual tees is a joke. Hole 6 is the only hole with 2 tees.
a few small safety concerns with other areas and the street, but the course makes an effort to minimize those issues.

Other Thoughts:

This is a very quick play in a safe area. Travelers can be in and out in well under 30 minutes. There is not much to say about this course. It is short and common, not much stands out good or bad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 1
Gardengrower
Experience: 12.2 years 10 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Always enjoyable. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nicely laid out, well maintained, restrooms and playground available. Enough, but not too many trees. A nice enjoyable course for when you simply don't want something too challenging. It is a pretty easy course.

Cons:

I really only have one. The first tee is only feet from the road, and it is sometimes difficult to keep my disc from going into the busy traffic of this street.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.2 years 483 played 478 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Short and Sweet 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 5, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice big tee pads
-Nice baskets with a little landscaped circle around them. Not big enough to be greens but probably help with erosion.
-Decent flow, I found my way around easy enough without getting too confused
-Many, many ace runs here. Every hole has potential.
-There's a lot of stuff at this park and the course does a good job of avoiding most of it. I'm sure there will still be some conflict here and there but not too bad.
-Going back to the last point, this park is a good one to bring the kids to. Playground, pool, picnic areas, bathrooms, and it's short enough that they might want to play too.
-The course looks good. Even in the winter without much snow the grass is somewhat green and you can tell it is well kept. No trash.
-You won't lose a disc here for sure.
-Probably not very busy.

Cons:

-Very short and not hard at all.
-The signs weren't all that good but you don't really need them.
-Hole 6 is way too easy to put it on the road behind the basket. The hole is super short and super close to the sidewalk/road.
-Not a lot of trees and the ones that are there aren't really in the way of the course at all.
-No elevation changes at all.

Other Thoughts:

The first hole is immediately on the left when you pull into the lot. You probably won't need your whole bag here, maybe a putter, mid or two and a fairway for hole 9 if you have a noodle arm. I shot a 21 on this course in 35-40 mph winds and could easily get 2s on the whole course with less wind and a little focus. I haven't played any of the other courses in Kearney yet but I would imagine this is the best for beginners. Cottonmill looks pretty good so put that on your priority list. I had fun on this course but you can't give short park courses too high of ratings.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
srm_520
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.3 years 156 played 142 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Meh, Not a bad place for beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 10, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pros of this course fall under three categories: great pitch and putt practice, great for people learning the game, and great for families looking for a casual round with their kids. If you fall under one of these three categories then plan to be pleased with a well manicured park course complete with nice concrete tees and typical park amenities.

The central location is good, which explains the amount of traffic a course of this caliber gets, and a round can be punched out in about twenty minutes. Then you can continue your putting while the kiddies take a break on the playground.

BEST HOLE/S: #9

Cons:

The obvious con of this course is that no matter how much I appreciate a well intentioned scout project - this course is way too simplistic for even a novice player. Holes are too short with little to no obstacles or imagination. There are no hyzer or anhyzers, or even holes you have to mildly shape. Basically, just grab a buzzz and your favorite putter and aim straight.

There are also a few logistical errors with holes not matching the map. It seems as if the last half of the course has been condensed down further giving players a gimme #6 and taking away the old #9. Finally, it always bugs me when par is oddly marked for a course. Granted you should play this all as a three, but many holes are marked four and five, which is just dumb.

WORST HOLE/S: #6

Other Thoughts:

When it comes to playing Kearney courses, you basically have Cottonmill DGC and then the rest. And while Cottonmill towers over the others in distance, terrain, playability, and overall quality - having played all of the Kearney courses, I will give and ordered rating of what I viewed as the best courses as well as my personal favorite courses in the area.

The best courses are ordered in what I believe are the variables other DG reviews would require to create a quality disc golf course. My favorite courses will vary a bit from the other rating just based on my overall playing experience and personal preferences. Take each with a grain of salt, and then go hit them all yourself and make your own list.

Overall Course Rating:
1. Cottonmill DGC - 4.0 discs
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area - 2.5 discs
3. Centiennial Park - 2.0 discs
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC - 1.5 discs
5. Kearney High School DGC - 1.5 discs.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best and 5 is worst)
1. Cottonmill DGC
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area
3. Kearney High School DGC
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC
5. Centennial Park
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
thejake78
Experience: 21.2 years 26 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Want to pitch and putt? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 23, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Nicely maintained pitch-putt course in a well-kept city park
-Playground, swimming pool, pavilion, restrooms provide activities for families
-Asphalt tee pads
-Mature trees provide a few obstacles
-Good for beginners just learning the game

Cons:

-No real challenge; course is generally very short and flat with only a few obstacles
-It is plausible that an errant throw could hit the playground, the street, or someone's yard

Other Thoughts:

This course in town is a nice place to take a beginner to let them get a feel for the game. For the experienced golfer, this course provides a quick (<30 min) round or a chance to practice short approaches. Also, this isn't a bad place to warm up a bit for Cottonmill DGC, which is the true disc golf destination locally.

I give it a 2.5 because, for what it is (practice/beginner-friendly course), it is perfectly adequate, and I generally stop by if I'm in the neighborhood and have a few minutes to kill or the kids want to play in the park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
RomePK
Experience: 14.2 years 20 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Love this place! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a fantastic beginner course! If you are looking to take someone for the first time and have them be excited about the game, bring them here! All the holes are fairly short and can be approached with a putter or mid off the tee. Hole 9 is the only hole requiring a driver for intermediate players. Great course to work on your short game and try and add a few more aces to your resume. The park is maintained very well and is just an overall fun little spot to play if you don't have a ton of time. Anytime i am in Kearney, i make it a point to stop here.

Cons:

Advanced players will probably dismiss this course because it isn't technical at all. The holes are short and pretty straight forward. Hardly any obstacles on the course. Again, a beginner style course.

Other Thoughts:

The simplicity of this course and easy access makes it one of my favorites i have played. While i enjoy the challenge the more technical courses have, i favor courses like this due to the FUN FACTOR. 9 ace-able holes and you don't have to bring your whole bag. Just mids, putters, and maybe one driver for the last hole. I love airing out my putters for aces on this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
JAAAKE
Experience: 12.6 years 15 played 10 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Bring a friend 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well maintained.
Good flow.
Next to the swimming pool.
Great for beginners.

Cons:

Very short.
Not challenging.
Can be crowded at times.

Other Thoughts:

If we're in Kearney and we go disc golfing with my wife and/or mother we go here. This was the first course I played and it's not at all like the second I played--Cotton-mill. We've noticed a lot of low skill players and usually they'll allow us to play through so we don't have to wait too long.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
888HUSKERS
Experience: 53.8 years 19 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beginer Friendly - Walk in the Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 1, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is very well kept compared to others in the area. The baskets are all visible from the tee-pad and there is little to no chance of "loosing" a disc here.

Very beginner friendly but also a good warmup course before a difficult course like Cottonmill DGC.

Cons:

Hole #4 is not clear as to which basket is the target because #9 is to close to #4. If you are playing this for the first time you might get confused.

Other Thoughts:

This is a good course to practice your short game, play a quick game if your short on time, or show someone new to the game how to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Wheelz
Experience: 14.5 years 28 played 22 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Simple w/ a capital S 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 18, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very simple, easy to follow layout. This course offers great tees and nice baskets. Great course for practicing the approach game for more experienced players and a very good course to introduce kids or noobs to the game. Park is well kept. Some benches and nice trash cans.

Cons:

Extremely short and simple. As in all you need is a putter. Case in point: I am a intermediate-adavanced level player and I shot a -7 on this 9 hole course. This won't give many players a big challenge and isn't worth the drive to play this course alone.

Other Thoughts:

While this course is extremely short, it does serve a purpose as a short game practice course. I had fun playing it and got some great approach-game practice in. My suggestion is to use this course as a warm-up for the much, much tougher and more fun Cottonmill course just outside town.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
wolito
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.4 years 88 played 87 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Beginners come here! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 5, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very clean, well kept course in a city park. Hole 1 is right next to the swimming pool with easy parking. Course flows throughout park, with no real navigation issues. Large cement teepads in great shape. Teesigns on the wood posts just shows the distance and hole number, but you don't need anything else since you can see all baskets right from the teepad. Baskets are in great shape. Fairways are nicely mowed green grass. No chance at all to lose a disc here. Large trees throughout the course come into play on several of the holes. Short holes are great for a beginner to learn on and build confience quickly.

Cons:

This is a city park so watch out for other park users. 9 holes are kind of boring as most are just straight throws. No elevation change at all.

Other Thoughts:

If you are new to the game, this is a great course to learn on. The hole lengths are rather short and would allow most beginners to get pars all day with some birdies thrown in. I also saw a number of families playing this course and having a good time. If you have been playing for any length of time, this will get boring rather quickly. Every hole is rather easy to birdie. I can't even say to come here to work on your short game, it might not be worth it. But if you are in need of an ace, this is the place to come.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Shuie
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.2 years 940 played 43 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Midrange and putter Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 29, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The asphalt/ cement tee pads were nice and the had some nice lines painted on them to let ya know if ya stepped past the tee off point. i liked that they had a green for each pin even tho it was loose gravel it caught the disc fairly well.. baskets are in good shape... parks very well maintained. The back 6 holes have light poles all over, would make for a nice night round.

Cons:

Course is rather short and wide open, no signs, i feel that if it was crowded u mite run the risk of hitting someone but with 2 other courses in the area i wouldn't think it would ever be.

Other Thoughts:

I am going to post my estimated lengths of the holes as there were no signs and to give you an idea of what its like.
#1 - 160'
#2 - 210'
#3 - 170'
#4 - 140'
#5 - 150'
#6 - 220'
#7 - 180'
#8 - 120'
#9 - 250'
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
fretgod321
Experience: 18.2 years 25 played 15 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 11, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Centennial has a very easy to follow layout. It's a really easy course, and you don't really need any discs other than a midrange and putter for it. It's a great course if you're a beginner or don't have much time to play a round.
The course has asphalt tee boxes; not as nice as concrete, but better than nothing. There are also lights in the park, in case your round carries on a bit late.

Cons:

Rather short. It's also completely flat, and way too open. The Baskets are also a bit close to the following tee box; I actually got hit with a disc walking off the third tee box by someone on an approach shot to the second basket.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, it's the best course for beginners, or if you want to work on your mid range throws and putts. It's alsor not very busy, so there's never any wait to tee off.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mwgheaton
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.2 years 66 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Family Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 2, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is what I would call the perfect family park disc golf course. The layout is simple; the holes are fairly short with only a few obstacles on each hole. The park is extremely well kept and the baskets/tees are in great condition. The holes weave their way around the park without crossing fairways while still staying out of the way of other park activities

Cons:

My only negative is the need for a map or sign pointing toward the first hole. The layout is self explanatory after hole #1, but the first hole can be a (very small) challenge to find without a map since #1 is located south of the pool. Distances are not posted, but I don't view this as much of concern considering this is a family park and is not likely to consistently attract the type of players who change discs and types of throws based on distance.

Other Thoughts:

I took my family to this park and we had a great time. There are all kinds of activities for all ages including a great playground, pool, courts, and even flower gardens. I believe that a course should be designed to compliment context. With this being such a family/kid oriented park, I believe that the course compliments it perfectly. The distances are short, the "fairways" open and forgiving, and overall the course is very easy. (I shot seven under on nine holes) Bottom line, if you want to throw a quick round and/or need your kids to be entertained, this is the park for you. If you want more of a challenge, head down to Cottonmill for a higher caliber course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
Donovan
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 37.3 years 302 played 188 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Can you say, "Beginner Friendly?" 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 30, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a clean and maintained course. It was pretty easy to navigate. Tee signs were simple but effective. The asphalt/cement tee pads were long enough and in great shape, as were the baskets. Bathrooms and trashcans are present. This is a small park, but they did a good enough job, it did not feel crowded.

Cons:

#4 tee sign was missing (it is near where the end of the parking lot meets the park). There are people you have to be careful not hit throughout the park. There is no water or elevation to deal with. It would be nice if they got the right hole numbers on the baskets too.

Other Thoughts:

This is a beginner course. The holes are all straight ahead with an occasional tree in the way. Not much of a fun factor except the fact that they were ace runs
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
High Flyer
Experience: 23 played 23 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 15, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very easy course, good tees and well maintained grassy park. Easy to find your way around.

Cons:

Flat course, small area, first few holes in close vicinity of houses.

Other Thoughts:

A nice leisurely course, not very intimidating at all. They have a pretty good layout for what little space there is in that park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top