• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Amity, OR

Dave Heider DGC

Permanent course
3.615(based on 9 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Dave Heider DGC reviews

Filter
13 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1092 played 667 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 19, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

Dave Heider DGC is an excellent private, backyard course. The course plays mostly wooded, both in the form of tight pine forest on the hill and more park style wooded holes at the very beginning and end of the round. The course features some solid elevation throughout as well. I wouldn't call it very hilly but it's just a tick below that in spots.

The baskets are all red banded MVP Black Holes. These are some nice baskets imo. All are mounted level, many of which are on tree stumps, and they catch great. The MVP's are the main baskets but many of the holes have shorter alternate baskets. These were mostly Innova portables it looked like. Either way, lots of options out here. The Black Holes all had the little orange arrows attached to the bottom of the cage pointing toward the next pin too.

Concrete tee pads on every hole. These were larger up on the holes on the lawn and a bit smaller on the wooded holes. There were even a few drop zones that were concrete. Not only that but there were a few alternate lettered holes up in the wooded section that were concrete. So basically a variety of nicely poured and effective concrete tees throughout the course.

Great design. There's all the shot shapes out here. The pine forest holes are tough but fair. You'll need to thread some gaps and be able to throw dead straight, or get lucky, to score on these holes. There's some awesome up and downhill holes too. The best part about the design is the way that the terrain is used. You end up going up and down the hill but it's done in way that let's you catch your breath in between. Lots of mandos for both safety and added challenge.

There's basic tee signs on each hole, even the alternates. The signs are 4x4 posts with ared metal plate with the hole # on it. Below that though is a sign with the par, distance and elevation loss/gain as well as a detailed explanation of any features of the hole. For example, OB and any mandatories and how to proceed if you find one of these. Probably the most descriptive rules I've ever seen on a sign. Very nicely done.

The course is technically free to play as long as you call ahead and let Dave know you're coming. There is a donation box by the kiosk by hole 3 (where you park) and you ought to throw them a few bucks for them letting you play their course.

The course is open nearly all the time. Only closed for a few tournaments a year otherwise you should just be able to send him a text and you should be good to go.

Cons:

The only thing the signs are missing is a map. That would've been useful on a few holes where you can see a few different baskets from the tee.

A few of the gaps are really, really tight. That's kind of typical for pine forest courses in general but a couple were excessively tight. Poke and hope tightness.

Not a con per se, but the course is still a hike, no matter how well they designed it to give you a rest between holes. Be sure to have on sturdy footwear and to bring plenty of liquids. The course doesn't loop back to the parking area at any point so you'll want to bring all you need from the get go.

Other Thoughts:

This course was a blast. I'm very glad we were able to get a round in here. This one was on my radar since I first started planning my trip to Oregon and it didn't disappoint. In fact, it was even better than I was expecting. Great backyard course that you can tell has had a TON of work put into and is a labor of love. Awesome course that you should find a way to play if you're in the area or passing by. This one kind of flies under the radar but it shouldn't. Damn fun course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
daim1992
Experience: 9 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

fun big course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

A lot of work has gone into this place I love it

Cons:

Don't come to play unless u ready for a good hike workout
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 21, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Heiders is an amazing home course. Dave and his wife our super welcoming, and very friendly. The course has a great mix of distances, and forehand/backhand lines. The course is challenging but the lines our very fair. There's a great use of terrain, and elevation change here. Hole 3 is a fun huge downhill throw to an elevated basket. The tee signs our very good and you should read them as they're super descriptive of the obs. Layout isn't to hard to follow and the tee pads are in great shape.

Cons:

The baskets aren't uniformed and some of the single chain ones love to spit out.
Hole 11 you have to walk through the fairway to the tee pad.
Hole 1 and 3 tee off from the main road might have to wait and or watch for cars

Other Thoughts:

Great addition to the area and very glad and thankful I got to throw here
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
royvin
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 8.1 years 199 played 66 reviews
3.50 star(s)

One of a Kind 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 3, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Very challenging, but not impossible
-Lots of elevation change
-Concrete tee pads (or road on hole 1 and 3) with laminated signs indicating hole number
-Benches and trash cans available at several tee pads
-Most basket areas had a small wooden sign nearby pointing to the next tee pad
-Requires a wide variety of shots
-Printed course directions available by parking area
-Located out in the country

Cons:

-Navigating isn't super easy the first time around, and you can't always see the baskets from the tee pads.
-Steep hiking and some bumpy walking at times.
-Baskets are not all the same, but I thought they all caught pretty well.

Other Thoughts:

If you enjoy hiking and playing wooded courses this place is a dream.
My scorecard had some ugly numbers after the round, but all I wanted to do was play it again! That is, after taking a break to let my legs recover.
Super wooded from holes 4-14, but I enjoyed the challenge.
It's a course with character (there was a dinosaur toy on one basket and a stuffed deer on another) but at the same time it offers a challenge for skilled golfers.
A thanks to Dave who stopped us on hole 2 in order to take me on his 4-wheeler to show me the course layout- he was very kind and helpful!
If the course were close by, we'd come back often. Well done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
cjwilliams
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Needs maintenance 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Good baskets. They caught side putts and hard putts into the center of the chains.
- Isolation. There are no sounds of traffic or other distractions around. I played at about noon on a Saturday and was the only one there.
- Wooded. I personally love wooded courses, so most of this course was decently fun for me. Lots of straight, tight fairways that make you feel like a million bucks when you hit your line.

Cons:

- Elevation. It's tough to list this as many courses are so flat, but this one is pretty much unbearable. I'd suggest not playing here unless you're looking for more of a workout than a disc golf experience.
- Navigation. Could not find a decent map anywhere online or on the UDisc app. The course has no logical flow and I probably spent an extra 45 minutes here just trying to find out where to go. Some tees were marked, others were not. There were also about 4 extra baskets around the course and I had no clue what they were for.
- Barking dogs. I know this is a private home course and this comment doesn't have much to do with the course, but damn, control your animals. I skipped a hole just to get away from them.
- Overgrowth. It's common this time of year, but if you're going to bill this as a usable course, then keep it maintained. I lost a disc that couldn't have kicked more than 15 feet off the fairway, but the brush was so dense that I gave up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.50 star(s)

You Know You're Out In The Country.... 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 28, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

You know you're out in the country when the first hole plays down a country road and then hyzers off into the orchard. And then two other holes tee off this same country road. Not much traffic, I say.

Dave Heider has created a unique, 18 hole experience here with challenge but one that still has that homespun feel to it. From the start on his driveway you locate the donation box and the packet with written directions for each hole. The course now has 14 concrete tee pads and a variety of basket types (all double chains). I played alone using Dave's directions and didn't have much trouble navigating the course.

The early holes plays through and around fields, buildings, gardens, roads, a horse, a motorhome, driveways, down to the creek and back. Then starting with # 8, the course starts to move up into the very hilly forest area of Dave's land.
# 8 was a very interesting hole. You tee off from the road beyond the top of Dave's driveway. The basket looms 375' down below but just over a building and then a small creek. You have to hit a fairly narrow gap in the trees and then the basket sits elevated on an stump just up a small hill.
In the forest areas, many of the holes play vey tight and technical. # 12 is just 240' but it's one of the steepest uphills I've encountered.
# 15 is 310' with a super narrow, 10' wide fairway most of the way to the basket. You have the feel of throwing down three single wide trailers hallways from the front door to the back bedroom.
And I loved # 18 for a finishing hole. You're throwing from a somewhat elevated tee box. The basket is up on the lawn just below Dave's house. The lawn area gets progressively more narrow as you walk uphill. And this is an island hole so you must land inside the fenced area. Great visibility for players watching the final hole of a tournament.

Cons:

The course is a little short on length. Big arms might be disappointed with that.
It's still a little rustic and rough in places. You can see the tremendous amount of work that's been done to clean and clear fairways and areas off the fairway.
Some players might be put off by the early part of the course that plays through the buildings and grounds.

Other Thoughts:

I thought this course had a great vibe. The forest part made me feel like I was totally alone and away from the world. I really liked it up there. Improvements are being made all the time. Although I didn't get to meet Dave, he seems dedicated into making this a great discing experience.

There aren't many courses where you're climbing over a electric fence (turned off) # 2, where you have to sweet talk a horse into moving so you can tee off, # 3, and then end up into spotting a deer on the same round.
My hat's off to Dave Heider. Thanks for letting me share in your Disc Golf dream here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
wxview
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Home 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 11, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

All tee-pads finished. 15 concrete, 3 asphalt.
Designed as a training course for A and B tier PDGA events.

Elevation, stump baskets. tunnel shots. Pretty much quite a test.

Cons:

Not beginner friendly unless you are trying to improve and can handle getting a 8 on a par 4 w/o getting pissed off.

Other Thoughts:

The MVDSA club hosts a tournament here every 1st Sunday of the month.
Starts at 11am.
Buy in is 6 dollars
and there is a minimum ace pot of $100
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Murdoc Loch
Experience: 20 years 62 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Thrown In Private 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 24, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Dave Heider makes good use of elevation throughout the course
-There is a good variety of shot types here: long and short holes, downhill and uphill, wooded and open.

Cons:

-Many of the holes play in and around buildings, motor-homes, sheds, fences, horse fields, roads, driveways and chicken coups. the holes are not bad but it feels a bit invasive to be throwing discs around all this stuff.
- Most of the back 9 seems underdeveloped and was far more difficult than the front 9, cleaning up the fairways and opening up the routes would certainly help smooth out this difficulty spike

Other Thoughts:

- This is a private course and you should call ahead of time to set up a round
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
ahukingacehole
Experience: 17.6 years 2 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Course Designer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 8, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good shot variety, many hyzers, anhyzers, and straight shots.
Almost every hole has some kind of elevation change.
Fair course design, all good shots are rewarded.
Creative use of land, the hills, creek, roads, and stumps on the property are incorporated into the holes.

Cons:

The course is on the short side with only a couple holes over 350'
Not beginner friendly, the course isn't easy and the rough can be quite rough in some areas.
Only 14/18 have concrete teepads.
The baskets are inconsistent, meaning its a mixture of discatcher sport, Lightening, M-14, and Hylton Baskets. (all have double layer chains)

Other Thoughts:

I have been designing and evolving this course to be the most challenging course possible using the land available for the last 7 years or so. It has come a long way and I have plans to continue improving it until I run out of ideas. Come check it out!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top