• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Brooklyn Park, MN

Eagle's Edge DGC

Permanent course
2.915(based on 16 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Eagle's Edge DGC reviews

Filter
1 5
fldgguy
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Quick play with decent pads. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 22, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Pads are all in good shape. Baskets are solid as well. Each hole is pretty basic but we'll laid out. Nothing fancy but a good variety of shots. You can get two rounds in very quick.

Cons:

One of the baskets is misleading if you don't know which way to look.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1105 played 682 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 3, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is set up on the southwest side of Revive church. The course has a nice board with a course map by hole 1. There are nice level, tapered concrete tees on every hole. These are very well done. One tee per hole. There are no tee signs. As one of the earlier reviews said though, they had blocks with a map inset into the tees. These are not legible anymore however. The baskets are DISCatchers that are all in solid shape and catch nicely. I'd imagine it's one position per hole. The yellow bands on the baskets make spotting them in the woods much easier. The flow of the course is very easy to follow once you find hole 1. Hole 5 has a small pond between you and the pin. The pond is mostly on your right and directly in front of you. It tapers off to a small drainage tube on the left with a nice bridge to cross the narrow section of water. This tee pad is also slightly elevated (maybe a foot) off the ground and made out of wood. Hole 6 is under 100 feet but has a tight double mando to keep it interesting. A good mix of shots are actually going to be required here. There are a number of angles that require a certain type of shot to really have a chance to park the basket. Not on all the holes but on quite a few. This is just a really well designed, fun little course to play. It's not going to challenge advanced players by any means but It's not supposed to. It's great for what it is. The course is free to play and permanent.

Cons:

The first con I can think of is the metal blocks imbedded into the tee pads with the hole map and info on them. This is a cool idea, however none of them are legible anymore. Not a major con but on hole 3 the first basket you see is actually hole 7's basket. A map would help with this. Speaking of holes 3 and 7. Those two baskets are pretty close together and play from different directions creating a bit of a safety issue if the course is busy.

Other Thoughts:

This is really a fun little course. This was my favorite of the 2 other nearby 9's holers and a 3 hole course that I played today. This obviously isn't a destination course by any means, but is totally worth a visit if your in the area and got 30 or 40 minutes to kill or even just passing through since it's only a couple minutes off the expressway. Nicely designed little course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
trevster
Experience: 12.2 years 5 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Really Good... for What It Is 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- good layout, easy to tell where to go.
- all nine holes are different, requiring lots of different kinds of shots.
- teepads and baskets are top notch.
- there is a granite stone set in each teepad which has the hole number, par, and feet.
- overall not that hard, but you will have to be accurate with your midranges to score well.
- fun for casual play; only takes about 45 minutes to play through.
- aesthetically the course looks good, with the exception of some litter which tends to get bad at times, but that's more the fault of the people playing, not the course itself.
- usually not too busy.
- Hole 5 is absolutely beautiful; the tee pad is a dock and has you throwing over a shallow river into a wooded area (I've uploaded a picture).
- sometimes the course can go a while without being groomed, but even at it's worst it's never that hard to find a disc in the rough.

Cons:

- the granite slabs at the teepads which have the hole information on them are very hard to read, as they've been bleached by the sun over time; also, they put them directly on the teepad where people are stepping on them all the time.
- Hole 6 is one of the worst disc golf holes I've ever played, but I think it might be because somebody messed with the mandatory sign or moved it (see the other thoughts area).
- Hole 8 seems somewhat uninspired and basic, but with the land available it doesn't seem like there's much else they could have done.
- the sign at the start of the course which shows the map and has the rules and whatnot doesn't list the distances and pars of each hole, which combined with the teepad signs wearing away make it so in the near future you might not be able to tell how far each hole is/what the par is.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great little neighborhood course. Nothing too fancy, but still fun nonetheless. It has everything you'd expect and want from a nine-hole course; not too hard but not boring-easy, and a good variety in shots.

If you need to work on your mid-range game, this is the course for you.

About Hole 6... as it sits right now (October 2018) it doesn't even look like a disc golf hole. The basket is hidden behind four trees about 150 feet from the teepad, and the teepad doesn't even face the basket. The pin is like diagonal to the left from the way the teepad is facing. There's a mandatory sign on a tree about forty feet to the right of the basket, pointing inwards to the cluster of trees hiding the pin, but why you would ever not throw that direction is beyond me. However, it does look like straight ahead of the teepad was a fairway that then takes a dogleg left, heading towards the basket area. That also matches the hole diagram shown on the teepad sign, so my guess is that somebody moved the mandatory sign to face the wrong direction for some reason.

Other than that, there's not much to say about this course. It's fun for a casual round with some friends, or for beginners to get used to throwing different kinds of shots.

Fun short course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Rogue007
Experience: 11.3 years 6 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Eagles Edge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice 9 hole course. Engraved info plaque in concrete tee.Course design is fun with dog legs, wooded holes and water on a hole (short) Course has always been in good condition (mowed) Trash cans on several holes.Great parking at church.

Cons:

No bathrooms, Short distance on several holes but technical shots on some. Good Ace course!

Other Thoughts:

When I want a quick round on a nice wooded course this is the place. Combine this with Central Park near by and its fun 18 holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
PATROVSKI
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Little Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 8, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Unless you're an elite player, you should enjoy this
course, yet newcomers should not find it too difficult.

Each hole has individual character. I think it quite a clever design given the space and resource constraints.

Eight pads are concrete; #5 is wooden. All are in fine shape, though they often have a layer of grit, which can make for traction issues. Baskets are in sound condition too.

Fine signs, including the map at the start. It's almost impossible to get lost here. The pads have a little map built into each-- well done, that. The only instance where one must pay real attention to navigation is the first time on #3 pad-- the most visible basket is #8, while basket #3 is to the left obscured by the trees.

Trash cans every several holes.


Cons:

No washrooms. The nearest public facilities are likely to the south near Broadway and Brooklyn, which is not *that* far away, but hardly walking distance either.

Closed Sunday mornings due to church services. To be clear, this is not a flame or a gripe; I'm thrilled to have this fine course available when it is.

Like most any treed course in Minnesota, mosquitoes can be an issue, especially near dusk.


Other Thoughts:

If I was allowed to pick one course and move it close to my home, it'd be this one because it provides such a variety of challenges to a variety of players.

The course is in a treed area behind the Revive Brooklyn Park Church. The trees are near an ideal density, providing challenge without being so thick as to be frustrating, except on #9, where I think the trees are meant to be nothing but frustrating.

While the distances are on the short side, at least there are a variety of distances.

While most players have a realistic chance to score two-- or at least make par-- on just about any hole, there are just enough obstacles to make a score of five a reasonable possibility too.

Like the signs says, this is a natural course over uneven terrain, which means there are tripping hazards.

I've seen this course busy, but never overcrowded. There is plenty of parking near the back of the church lot; just go toward the cell phone tower.

It would be difficult to lose a disc here, although the high grass to the left and long of #2 is a place where you can sure lose some time, if not a disc.

The water hazard on #5 is a true hazard with the overhanging trees, especially the one near the bridge. The water may look clear and shallow, but the bottom is soft and after you sink beyond your ankles, the water will no longer be clear. Some players with limited throwing range may have difficulty making the throw over the water, even with the elevated pad. We have one such player; she always counts one stroke and then plays from the bridge.

The last hole may have been conceived by someone with bit of a sadistic streak. While it's among the shortest, I find it the most difficult because you must throw through such an obstacle course of trees that you are all but certain to hit at least one. After you get through the trees, you'll find a basket set atop a rise just high enough that many misses will roll twenty feet into the brush.

I do not know who maintains this course, but whoever you are:

THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Flanakookn
Experience: 8.1 years 17 played 11 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Watch out for that tree! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 4, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The drivers are a bit long but the mid ranges come up a bit short. If you play this course conservatively you should have no trouble bringing home the par. If you go for it and try to make a move...you'd better get it right or this course will bite you and a easy 3 turns into a saving the double bogus. Especially hole 9...watched a very seasoned player take a 10 on that hole!

Cons:

The drivers are a bit long but the mid ranges come up a bit short. If you play this course conservatively you should have no trouble bringing home the par. If you go for it and try to make a move...you'd better get it right or this course will bite you and a easy 3 turns into a saving the double bogus. Especially hole 9...watched a very seasoned player take a 10 on that hole!

Other Thoughts:

this is a neat little course...I'll be back here!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13 years 1010 played 214 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Decent 9 holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

9 hole course located behind a church, in Brooklyn Park, MN.

Concrete tee pads, one per hole. Well done. Level, brushed, and plenty long and wide for the course. Each tee pad also has a VERY nice inset stone "tee sign", which shows intended path, distance, and hole number. I haven't seen these before, and they were well done here.

Discatcher baskets, all in good repair, and caught well. One pin position per hole.

While this isn't the toughest course around, there are some fun shots to be had here. Good mature trees as obstacles, and pins were placed well, forcing you to at least avoid some trouble. There's even a double mando 100'-ish hole that was fun. It plays in and out of the woods, as well.

Cons:

This isn't a long course, and you could easily play it with a couple discs.

Relatively flat, but there was at least some undulation in the terrain.

Other Thoughts:

There are certainly worse ways to spend an hour than to spin this course a couple times. It's well thought out, and does great work with the land available. As far as short 9 holers go, they don't get much better.

When you get here, go to the back of the church parking lot, and look for the big sign. The first tee pad is right there. If you've got the time, this is definitely worth a quick spin.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Muskiebite
Experience: 14.2 years 174 played 29 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short but fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 8, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Pro
-Ace runs on every hole
-plays very fast, straight forward layout
-most holes offer a different types of shots
-great putter/mid course

Cons:

Cons
-Lots of trash
-Can get overgrown in the summer time
-Hole 6 mando is frustrating
-No practice basket

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun short course. Plenty of ace runs which make things exciting. It's not a very long course but its great practice for upshots and putting. In the summer the course isn't always freshly groomed but there isn't any blind shots so longer grass is rarely an issue. I wish there was a practice basket since there is room for it next to hole one. On Hole 6 there is a mando where you are supposed to shoot on the right side of a tree and make a 90 degree left turn towards the basket. The problem with this mando is the teepad is pointing on the left side of the tree towards the basket, also the 90 degree left turn is very difficult to hit due to the distance. The Mando makes an ace run impossible and makes birdies attempts very rare. Most people ignore the Mando and play straight off the teepad towards the basket, while the shot is only around 100ft the basket is still protected by tree cover with a couple of holes to shoot through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
THUGNIFICENT763
Experience: 22.4 years 97 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

The "Edge" will not cut you! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 24, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This little course is an absolute blast, perfect place for mids-only or putters-only rounds with a few good buddies. If I ever acquire a new mid or putter, this is where I come to get familiar with it. Surprisingly technical course for how short the holes are.

Cons:

The longest hole is only 290 feet, so leave the drivers in the car, you will not need them here. Also, the fairways can become a jungle, the mowing schedule is not really a schedule at all. I recall the hole 4 fairway having over a foot of grass at one point in time. Kudos to the guy who mows it with his John Deere rider.

Other Thoughts:

This course was built by a bunch of 12 year olds, and I think they did a very good job. I have aced holes 1, 2, 5, 7 and 8 here, but every hole is basically an ace run. Start at Central Park and come here for a cool-down, makes for a nice day of disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Blaaaake77
Experience: 13.3 years 47 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Clean
- Quick 9
- Concrete pads
- Mid-range putter course
- Ace runs
- Birdie shots like no other
- Fast round, took us like 20 minutes with 2 people
- Not very crowded whatsoever
- Very well maintained for a 9 hole

Cons:

- No bathrooms
- No long holes
- One small section of water, I like a few water holes
- It's a quick round so it kinda sucks being done so fast

Other Thoughts:

- I have not yet played Central but by the looks and sound of it everyone plays those two courses as a complete 18 hole round. If there is room to expand which I am unsure of it would be sweet to see another short 9 thrown in here. For a 9 hole course, this one is easily top 3 in my books for playing. Something drew me in right away to this course, give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 1
aajpity
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 64 played 21 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Some wooded and some open holes offer plenty of variety. The course had extremely gorgeous scenery and a beautiful layout. Garbages are scattered amongst the holes. Hole 5 offers a beautiful shot opportunity across a small pond with a small water hazard. Every teepad showed a small map of the basket, par info, and distance, the course was very easy to navigate.

Cons:

This course didn't have any shots where extreme distance was needed. I felt myself not using the drivers nearly as much which was disappointing.

Other Thoughts:

Overall I enjoyed this course and would come back because I thought it was a pretty sweet course. It would be great as a warmup round as it is only 9 holes. The course just wasn't challenging enough, but it's pretty scenery, nice teepads, and easy navigation make it a course worth checking out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Badgerman
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 551 played 62 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Eagle's Edge 9 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 24, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1) Nice mix of open and wooded holes.
2) Good use of existing hazards and elevation.
3) Bridges over creek beds.
4) Clean park with a couple trash cans available
5) Concrete tees
6) Beautiful signs, carved wood map at start and lazer-etched granite on tees. wow.
7) Quick to play, I finished my first round in 14 minutes

Cons:

1) No room to let off a long bomb, if you're into that sort of thing.
2) No water, but there are a couple holes where there might be after heavy rains.
3) No restrooms

Other Thoughts:

This is a very short course on church land that was put up as an Eagle Scout project. Typically, those 3 criteria usually mean you're about to play a sub-par course. Not so in this case. this is a very quick, quite easy course to play, great for beginners and if you're a better player, just take 1 off of each par and you will be nicely challenged.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 0
mstephens627
Experience: 15.1 years 23 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great course for short and midrange mechanics 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Concrete tee pads with hole info/maps on surface
-DISCatcher baskets in great shape
-4x4 hole markers and directional signage
-Variety of open, wooded, and water holes
-Strategic positioning of baskets
-Many aceable holes

Cons:

-Course signage and maps lack enough contrast to make legible from a distance
-No hole long enough to rip a long drive
-Litter on first few holes (need a few more trash cans)
-Basket #7 could be mistaken for basket #3 since it is the only one visible from the tee

Other Thoughts:

Like other reviewers have said, this is a great short, technical course to work on your short game and a good complement to nearby Central Park. Even though there are no longer holes, the shorter holes retain their difficulty from strategic pin placements and trees that make an ace much more difficult. If you happen to land in the small patch of water on hole 5, there is a large pile of sticks behind the basket if you don't want to get your feet wet. Since the course is still very new, it is not very busy at all, and if you are looking for a place to begin learning the game or work on throwing mechanics, this is a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Fairway Flyerz
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Short technical course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 30, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Technical mid-range course
Easy to navigate - good course flow
Nice mix of open and tight holes
Permanent signage built in to the teepads

Cons:

Short so don't expect big bomber holes;
Hole signage is impressed in to the pad causing a smooth spot on the back of the tee;

Other Thoughts:

The course is still under construction but is open to play. The boy scouts are working on moving some mature pines to strategic positions, to improve sight lines on 3, 7, and safety on 7 tee
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
BluBubs
Experience: 16.3 years 33 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Young, but fun Pitch-n-Putt 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 28, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

1.) Nice little pitch-n-putt

2.) Great twin sister to nearby Central Park

3.) Nice test of your short game in some forgiving woods

4.) Quick play - I did 9 in 25 mins (listed as a CON as well - depending on your mood/schedule)

5.) Built as an Eagle scout's project, on donated land by the church. Each teepad had a granite square laying out the Par, Distance to basket, Map of the fairway, Hole Sponsor and Hole dedication. While the sponsor/dedication aspects may not add anything to the game - it adds a lot to the experience (IMO)

6.) Room to expand if necessary... big open field (not sure if owned by the church) nearby so it *could* grow if needed/wanted

Cons:

1.) Quick play - I did 9 in 25 mins (listed as a PRO as well - depending on your mood/schedule)

2.) You will not need to take a single driver (or fast mid even) out of your bag as the longest hole is 290.... with most about 200. Listed as a CON only because this course will not use your entire game/skills/bag to play...

Other Thoughts:

I totally agree with the previous reviewer (djschnabel) ...after looking over his review, it would appear we had the exact same experience :)

I'm a local - so I'm just pysched that there is another course within a 5 minute drive of my house. It's a great twin sister to Central Park (also in Brooklyn Park, MN and less than 2 miles away) Where Central offers some long(er) shots and the chance to throw your actual drivers (let's say speed 7+) Eagle's Edge will fill in the gaps in the short game that Central will not offer you (woods, tight(er) shots, short(er) shots, etc.)

One thing I will say is "Give this course a chance"... it was literally just installed (Sept/Oct 2012 timeframe) so if you play it still this year or early 2013, try to look past the fact that it's not PERFECTLY groomed and actually quite muddy/dirty. Once the vegetation grows in and the course gets some use/character it'll be a gem.

I'll think I'll be playing this and Central back-to-back quite often as a nice full 18 (with a short 3 minute drive in between the front 9 and back 9) as IMO, they complement each other really well
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
djschnabel
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.6 years 253 played 27 reviews
2.00 star(s)

not so bad 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Not so bad. Great teepads with great pics of the hole layout engraved in granite, imposed into the cement. I've only seen this at the course in River Falls Wisconsin, me likey. There is a good variety of holes, straight, right and left turns. Okay distance on one (290ish), and a super hyzer on hole 6 (I think?) Great place for putter rounds. I only used a buzzz twice, and I think in the future I'll only use it on the 290'. Even though the holes are short, the shortest still have trees blocking the path to the basket. Imagine playing basketball with a 7 footer standing in front of the basket with his (or hers) arms in the air.

Cons:

Short holes. Some holes play right along each other. Hole 5's teebox is an elevated deck looking thing, unique, but potentially very hazardous when wet. It looks like it's getting it's finishing touches, including directional signs on 4X4's so look for them if you don't know where to go. Hole 3's basket is to the west (left) of 7's basket, it's not very obvious which one you're aiming for.

Other Thoughts:

This was an Eagle Scout project, or so I'm told. They raised about $9K to put in the course, and the church donated the land to them. I heard a "fair" course designer helped them out, FWIW. It's a solid starter course, and one you'll have a solid time playing, for Intermediate players and up. Nobody will make a destination out of this course, but you might play it to tryout a few putters or midranges as previously mentioned. I'd like to see the open field used to the north used more, if the church owns it.

I'm sure I'll play it again. I enjoy Central as one of the most challenging courses w/in 10 miles of Coon Rapids, so I can see playing this to warm up for the day, not everyday, not every week, but potentially a couple of times a year.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top