• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Shelby, MI

Flip City Disc Golf Park

4.825(based on 226 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Flip City Disc Golf Park reviews

Filter
30 8
Terry C
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.3 years 54 played 27 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Michigans finest 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 14, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-very well manicured
-nice flow to the course,(i cant imagine anyone getting lost)
-great "break" spots all over the course
-very hilly,unique park
-24 holes!! 18 plus 6 alternates
-cement tee pads,signs,pole markers for every hole
-brooms on every hole
-beautiful laid back country atmosphere
-port o potties at 2 spots on the course

Cons:

Any park can be improved upon but this park is as near to perfect as ive seen or played, Ive got no complaints.

Other Thoughts:

Its a long drive for me ( 2 hours each way) but its the best course ive played in michigan so far. Get your beer and goodies somewhere on the way becouse the course is pretty far away from any towns with stores, new era and shelby are somewhat close but its going to be easier to grab necesities on the highway drive first. When I was out there I met several real cool guys, we bbq'ed some food and had a blast!!. We played the course twice, once singles and once doubles. I would highly recomend anyone from michigan get to this park and check it out. It says on the scorecard you get at flip "tread lightly", this is what seperates flip from a public DGC, Its clean and litter free here. Lets take care of this beautiful course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 20
onehundred_bees
Experience: 12 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

The Best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful landscape and great views. CLEAN. Almost deserted. Plenty of signs to help you find your way. Lots of places to rest.
The course is challenging but still fun. Even if you are having an off day, you will still have a great time at Flip. It really is a little slice of paradise.
The added 6 hole loop gives you the option of playing 18 or 24.

Cons:

None.

Other Thoughts:

From Detroit area it's about a 4-4.5 hour drive. We planned to play Flip and then eat and drive to another nearby course for round 2....but, we loved Flip so much that we decided to scrap our plans and stay and play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
34 9
Bikinimower
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.9 years 174 played 67 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Believe the Hype!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Best use of available land I have ever seen
Great Flow, No problems with Navigating
Wide variety of shot types and distances
Visually Amazing, Best I've ever seen
30 years of work put into the course and every second of it comes through
Lots and lots of tables, benches, Gazebos, porta-jons, signs, landscaping and Rock Sculptures
Friendly and Hospitable Owner
Combination Great Disc Golf course and Great Nature Hike
Challenging but not Frustrating
It was Great to have a course this amazing all to myself. Almost zero traffic
Clean, mowed, well kept, no trash and surprisingly, no vandalism (except for encouraged vandalism)

Cons:

Absolutely Nothing
Bill told me that the famous Dog (course greeter) died over the summer. I was sorry to hear it. I was looking forward to meeting that dog
Also I didn't have any money so I was unable to make a donation (Sorry again Bill) but I promise I'll be back and tip double next time

Other Thoughts:

After a Long drive from Ohio I arrived at this famous and secluded course and was greeted by the owner. Can't say enough good things about him. very friendly and hospitable. He showed me around and we talked about the course. Then it was time for some Disc Golf

You don't just play this course, you appreciate it. I after the first 2 holes I thought to myself "I drove 7 hours for this?" And just as I was beginning to think it wasn't gonna live up to my expectations It totally blew my mind

The amount of work that must go into this course is astounding. It took me almost and hour and a half to play the 1st nine holes because I kept stopping to take in everything and admire the work. You could give someone acres of land a a huge budget and they would not be able to build a better course

It worked out that this course was the 50th course I've ever played and I can't think of a better one to reach that milestone on. 50 courses means that I've played a lot of holes and at least 8-10 holes on this course could be the signature hole on any other course I've ever played.

I played Idewild about a month ago and comparing the two courses is difficult because they are so different. Idewild is bigger, tougher and you need a higher skill level to master it. But this course is much more fun. I can't wait to come back. Hands down the best I've ever played

Take care of this course so it remains open to the public. Throw your trash away and don't vandalize anything except what he has set out to write messages on. And don't be like me, give the man some money so he can continue to improve this very amazing place
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 9
Opus
Experience: 15.2 years 20 played 9 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Simply amazing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 13, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

There is not much that I can say that has not already been said. This course, hands down, is by far the best course I have played. The course is laid out in a fantastic way. It makes excellent use of the area.

The course is maintained to the level of immaculate. I could not find a single piece of trash anywhere. The fairways are mowed to a level of almost perfection. Trash cans can be found at just about every hole. Benches and picnic tables are available at multiple spots for resting. Most holes have a broom to sweep the pad with too.

I could go on and on about this course, but I think you can get the picture by now.

Cons:

Absolutely nothing. This course is perfect. Since my disks tend to be magnets to water, I am thrilled that there are no water hazards here.

Other Thoughts:

This course is obviously going to draw you in because it is a disc golf course, but there is so much to see here. It is very evident that the creator loves the game and enjoys having people come to play. The time alone that must have been put into this place leaves my mind in overload when trying to contemplate it. The artwork would be a reason enough alone to want to see/play this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
35 10
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.4 years 831 played 777 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Fantastic 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 12, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is the epitome of what a disc golf course should be. The land is perfect for a course, with varied terrain from rolling easy hills to some steep drops and climbs. The course uses the elevation extremely well to create interest and challenge on drives, upshots, and even in the area around the basket to add a risk/reward element to putts. Most of the course plays on grassy fairways through a very nice wooded area. There is a great mix of more open holes with tree lined fairways, and technical holes where you have to hit gaps through the trees.

The course felt like it had a great balance in hole lengths. There were a few short ace run type holes, and a few long holes where you could rip a drive, and lots of holes in between. The course felt very balanced between right and left turning shots, and called for lots of different types of shots to score well. There is a ton of variety here, and every one of the 24 holes felt unique and special.

The atmosphere here is some of the best you'll ever find. You will feel like you are alone in the wilderness, the course is very secluded and peaceful. The scenery is beautiful, and all the best spots to sit and look have tables and shelters to take a break and enjoy the views. The course owner is extremely hospitable, and went out of his way to welcome us to his land to camp and play disc golf.

The long tees are very nice concrete pads with good texture and a clear fault line with a follow through area. There are two other sets of tees for each hole that are natural and marked with rocks to make the course more accessible to newer players. The baskets are all in great shape. There are numbered posts on every tee, and great maps on the scorecards that make the course very easy to follow. Even without the map, the course has great flow and never feels like you have to walk out of your way to get to the next hole.

The maintenance here is impeccable, especially considering it's all done by one guy. The course was perfectly mowed, with no trash, debris or any kind of vandalism. There were nice benches, trash cans, and port-a-potties throughout the course, all showing just how much work has been put into making this course what it is.

Cons:

There are very few things I can find to put here. It would be cool to have hole signs with the hole layout and distance so you didn't have to look at the map for that information. The concrete tees were very nice, but a bit narrow. All very minor things that certainly don't take away from the fantastic disc golf experience here. The course is a little on the shorter side, lots of reachable holes though most do offer some interesting lines.

Other Thoughts:

Play this course. Though it may be a little challenging for a beginning player, any level of player will find unique challenges here, and it's accessible even for newer throwers. No matter your skill level, you'll find this course fun, beautiful and challenging.

The course is worth a trip to play, one of two courses I've played that I would recommend a full weekend trip just to play a single course. From the printed maps and scorecards to the rock towers throughout the course, the little things here add even more to the overall fantastic ambiance here, and I would recommend this course to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 27
adamkgourley
Experience: 3 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 16, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful course -- would be worth the hike if I didn't even have a disc

Came in the fall -- so nice leaves changing colors and no bugs

Very clean course

Still a beginner myself but I at no point felt lost or didn't know where to throw

Cons:

none
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 27
MDeezy
Experience: 21.2 years 132 played 14 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Picturesque Paradise 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 16, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Takes a bit of skill, a few shots require an arm, but everything is not out of the question difficult. Gorgeous well maintained fairways, great elevation changes, and a place made just for disc golf. Tons of character and unique features make Flip City such a unique golf experience. Great maps and score cards at hole 1 make navigating very easy. Large tee pads and brooms at every hole. Course flows very well and even has the option for a alternate 6 hole loop. Too many Pros to list, must experience it for yourself.

Cons:

Some areas of the course can be wet at times of the year. Hungry bugs and the distance from my house are other cons in my opinion. Course can also get busy on weekends and in the summer due to its popularity.

Other Thoughts:

Anyone who is serious about disc golf needs to play this course, always worth the drive. There are too many good things to say about Flip City, and hard to say something that hasn't already been said. I play this course a few times each year and always have a good time. Bill has worked very hard and created something truly exceptional. The tournaments and events held here are always fun and bring great disc golfers. If you play Flip, please respect the course and donate at hole 1.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 13
nrohtlaw
Experience: 30.6 years 37 played 9 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Flip City rules! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Shy of having no water hazards,this course has everything.Excellent course in the middle of nowhere,and it's private.Never,I repeat,NEVER,played a better course.Lots of rock gardens,windchimes,benches and pavilions for pauses for the cause.If you play hear listen for the noise.....nothing,very far away from any busy roads.Pictures speak a thousand words,would love to have a calender with pic's from this place.

Cons:

None,make sure you bring alot of fluids,it's a hike.

Other Thoughts:

I challenge anyone to find a better course anywhere.Donate some money at the first tee to help the cause because this course does'nt mow itself.I suggest at least 5 dollars minimum per person,but after playing you will feel guilty about not giving more.Thank Bill for a great time if you see him and pet Pepper the dog.Oh, and please keep it clean,this course is immaculate,keep it that way,pitch in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 31
jay roggero
Experience: 15.1 years 14 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

love it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 1, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

awesome layout .course makes you use all of your throws . beautiful views pleanty of benches . and the layout is friendly no two holes to close awesome rock gardens all over the place theres a donation jar there which everyone should throw in on.someone put all that money into that course for a fun and its one of the best courses around. each hole is different not repetitive just an overall fun course.multiple tees for pros beginners and amatures

Cons:

ha!! the only one can think of is its not my house on the land
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 31
grass_stain
Experience: 15.3 years 13 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

hard to top 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 27, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

great layout, great hike, 24 holes, rocks, elivation changes, super cool guy mowing the lawn (when we got to a tee he would quite mowing that far way and go to another hole, even if he wasen't done), i found a disc and so did my wife,

Cons:

none

Other Thoughts:

bring water, make sure you know what poison ivy looks like.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 20
culinarywiz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 35.9 years 313 played 67 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 22, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Super aesthetics.This course has a storybook layout.

Cons:

Only one. Only one course on site, that is.

Other Thoughts:

Spiritual. This is what disc golf is meant to be. This course is worth a 12 hour drive.
Seriously.
You can go to an open field and toss you discs over and over. You can play or practice anywhere. This place is unique. This is a place that you will never forget.
I know this offers nothing new to the ridiculous line of awesome reviews this course has garnered...but what does that tell you?
This is a must play course and you wont understand why until you play it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 26
rooster
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Disc Golf Nirvana 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 8, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Just Beautiful. There is no better place to play. Rolling hills, rock formations, pavilions, great pads and baskets.

Cons:

Cons?! Are you serious? This is disc golf mecca.

Other Thoughts:

Please be sure to drop a lil cash in the donation box. it takes 40 hrs. to mow Flip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 25
ovar
Experience: 21.2 years 86 played 8 reviews
5.00 star(s)

WOWOWOWOW 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Everything. I loved the tee pads, nicely groomed fairways, and variety of approaches. The holes range from very short to very long.

Cons:

Nothing, the course is maintained very well.

Other Thoughts:

Amazing. This course is a must play for discers of all levels.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 22
hevyevie
Experience: 15.2 years 39 played 9 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very Challenging! Extreme elevation changes. Extremely clean. I personally haven't seen one cleaner. Beautiful scenery. Plenty of rest benches. Map and score cards are provided. Nice 'bonus' holes in middle of course. An EXCELLENT privately owned and maintained course for all levels of play. Worth a generous donation!!

Cons:

Only thing missing would be a water hazzard of some kind. Other than that it's challenging enough with out water! Bring bug spray!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
26 11
Innovadude
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 26.2 years 235 played 185 reviews
5.00 star(s)

perfection 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 26, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

One of the top 10 best courses in the world, best Michigan has to offer, and with more top notch courses nearby it sucks if you pass this up.
Perfect disc-golfing landscape of hills and woods, open fields and lots of rocks. Hand-made rock sculptures litter the fairway, but nearly NO trash does the same (found 1 beer can and picked it up, not even the loose cigarette butt).
Design is fair and challenging, mix of easy deuce opportunities and longer par 4's. Tests every shot you can throw at it. Nice baskets, tees (long are cement now). Private but open to everyone whenever makes it better than a public park. Well mowed, better maintained than ANY course you'll ever get to.

Cons:

There really isn't anything worth putting here, minimal poison ivy, but not enough to even list as a con.

Other Thoughts:

Must play for all disc golfers, not just people on this side of the country.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 9
Astronaut_79
Experience: 24 years 40 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Sublime Throwing in Northern Michigan! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Extremely well maintained, diverse hole elevations, good range of difficulties and lengths. Plenty of places to rest or wait, beautiful outdoor woodland, plus bathrooms, creative design. Hole 11 was wild!

Cons:

No water hazard, some bugs (not that bad considering) and final hole(s) could be a little more "signature" (if you want to be picky).

Other Thoughts:

Off on some dirt roads (though not too far off the expressway) about an hour north of Muskegon is this absolute gem. I've played about 40 courses across the country and have never seen one (other than the actual golf course locations) this well maintained! Someone was mowing hole 3 when we arrived! I really loved the rock sculptures and elevation changes. The extra holes were a fun surprise on this most peaceful and beautiful private course that looks to have been created with a lot of thought and love over the years. Well worth a nice donation to play!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 8
JohtoVillage
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.3 years 160 played 74 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Augusta National of Disc Golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 13, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is nearly indescribable. This course is the Augusta National of disc golf. This course is truly a lot of fun. I was able to shoot a 72 on all 24 holes, and I had a lot of fun playing the course. Some courses are designed to beat you down and punish you (Iron Hill in Delaware) and this course is NOT one of those courses. This course was designed with natural beauty and fun in mind. The elevation changes were breathtaking and every hole was unique. There were lots of risk/reward holes which made me think even more about my shot.

UPDATE: I was able to play this course a second time a few months ago. Not much has changed in five years but the main thing that remains is the "timeless" feeling you get when playing this course. The anticipation while driving to this course is also a wonderful feeling. That may sound strange, but this course is so far off the beaten path that the distance from civilization makes the course even more special. My traveling partner was stunned when we finally pulled up to the property off of a dirt road and couldn't believe there was a disc golf course so far out in the middle of nowhere. The drive to the course reminded me of the drive to the Woodshed course in West Virginia.

The rock formations in the course are truly one of the most unique features of any disc golf course in the world. This course lacks water hazards and truly challenging par 4's and par 5's but the character of the course more than makes up for it. When you are playing in and around these rock formations its like you are helping build disc golf history. This is a timeless property with great holes.

The actual course has some truly remarkable elevated shots that are visually stunning. It really makes you want to throw multiple shots to watch the disc fly. One of the biggest pros of this course are the design of the greens. Some of the greens are extremely challenging, which helps offset the shorter length of the holes. Some of the greens are extremely fast and some have mounds to protect the hole.

Cons:

There is not a lot to dislike with this course so I will be brief. The best courses that I have played have had epic and amazing finishing holes. The last two holes at Flip City are nothing special. Holes 15 and 16 would have been great finishing holes but the design didn't work out that way.

It would be neat to have some water hazards on the course to add some more variety but that doesn't detract from the overall beauty of the course.

Other Thoughts:

Truly worth the drive. I just got back from a vacation JUST to play Flip City. Worth every penny.

NOTE: The bugs were extremely bad when I played the course recently. I think most disc golfers accept this when you are out in the jungle, but be prepared with bug spray. They were swarming us the day we played, but that's what happens when you play a course in the middle of nowhere, The bugs are worth the peace and quiet you get at Flip City where the only sounds are that of chains!

Keep in mind this course is nowhere near a gas station or civilization so bring food and water if you plan on making a day of it. I would highly recommend visiting the beautiful beaches of Ludington in coordination with this trip and playing the wonderful courses in that town. There are also some nice B & B's to stay at!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
31 5
Dizz
Experience: 21.2 years 30 played 6 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Im in heaven and I don't want to leave.... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Flip City - Is it all it's hyped up to be? The answer is absolutely. I recently traveled from Ohio to play this breath-taking course. At first you wonder how could there be a course out here in the middle of nowhere? ( literally you drive down a dirt road for 3 miles, every house I passed people waved at me, it was strange but made me think they barely see anyone, and then thoughts of 'Deliverance' came into mind.) Anyways back to Flip, Bill (Flip City Owner) puts A LOT of time and care into this beautifully manicured course. By Hole #1's tee box there is a donations box and a scorecard box, so be kind and donate at least $5 to play this course considering the time and effort Bill puts into this course ( Trust me it shows). The scorecards are pretty sweet I must say, I will be sure to post a picture of what they look like. Just a little tip BRING BUG SPRAY! mosquitoes were getting me good .There are brooms at every tee pad to sweep away the sand, tables are just about everywhere which is nice cause if you need a breather it's nice to sit , relax, and enjoy the incredible view of this massive course. By the Hole 14 & 8 split there is a really neat shelter with a picnic table, be sure to have your Sharpie ready. So here we go hole by hole ( Pro Tees Only ):
Hole #1: 250' straight shot, there is a 30' long by 6' tall mound that's no more than 20' away from the tee pad so it makes it a blind shot.
Hole #2: 502' Great hole that cuts across the owners front yard. At about 300' you hit the first set of trees, so a low long drive is key on this hole.
Hole #3: 374' Down hill shot, seems easy but you have to have another low right turning drive due to trees creating a ceiling and the baskets location is middle-right fairway.
Hole #4: 293' Uphill shot with basket hidden behind the trees.
Hole #5: 179' Short Uphill blind shot. Pin located to the left of the fairway and with the elevation change be sure to watch your disc. Since the shot goes from uphill to a slight downhill your drive can easily roll down the side ravine by the hole.
Hole #6: 286' Ravine shot that can be deceptive. It may not look far but the pin is set deeper than it looks. A hyzer shot is ideal for this hole.
Hole #7: 303' This hole has a decent dog leg left with the pin located on top of a steep hill, but be careful not to over shoot the hole for the pin location is only about 5 feet away from the woods. Another Long high hyzer shot is Ideal, that is if you make the tiny window gap through the trees.
Hole #8: 252' Slight downhill, Pin is hidden behind a line of trees. Behind the basket it continues to slope down so if your tee shot is long be prepared for a up putt.
Hole #9: 187' uphill shot, basket is straight ahead inbetween two trees.
Hole #10: 180' Uphill shot with a sharp dog leg left. Pin location is on top of a hill so watch your disc and have a good line on it cause it could end up anywhere on this hole.
Hole #11: 344' Beautiful hole, Rock formations, straight shot over a ravine with pin location on the side of the hill, once again be careful of your putts they can easily roll back to your feet with this pin location.
Hole #1A: 260' Fun hole, downhill shot with pin location in the middle of a split tree. Your ok if you go a little long but more than 60' behind the hole you will be in some thick grass and trees.
Hole #2A: 670' Longest hole on the course. Straight shot with a wavy terrain, fairway goes up and down and pin location is hard to see till your second shot and for some their third shot. A line of trees are in the middle of the fairway roughly 250' out. There are 2 gaps in the fairway best shot would be a low hyzer skip shot to clear the tree line and put you in the opening of the fairway.
Hole #3A 306' Tough hole, throwing through dozens of scattered trees, hopefully you get lucky and make a gap. Some brush tall grass behind the hole so try not to go long on your approach.
Hole #4A: 270' Straight shot with rough on either side of fairway. The fairway is roughly 50' wide and pin location is behind a large tree.
Hole #5A 368' Another tough hole, trees guard the pin about 300' from tee pad, there are a few gaps but it would be a great shot if you made one.
Hole #6A 395' Straight shot with a tunnel fairway with ceiling for roughly 120', then it opens up with a pin location on the side of a hill. Also there is a rock formation 250-275' in the middle of the fairway but really doesnt effect your shot that much.
Hole #12 267' Straight shot over a ravine, going long can get you in trouble so keep an eye on it. Just another beautiful hole on this amazing course.
Hole #13 416' Long hole with about a dozen trees scattered around the hole. Trees wont come into play until about 350' so a nice drive that drops into the tree line on the left will put you in good position. Pin location is slightly to the left.
Hole #14 334' Straight shot into thick trees, look at the other tees to find your line, the sets of rocks that show where the Amateur and Jr tees give you a good line at the hole since its hard to see through the trees.
Hole #15 446' Straight shot with two trees on either side roughly 80-100' from the tee, it makes the fairway shorter but doesn't create that much of a ceiling. After that the hole opens up and allows those big drives the chance to air out.
Hole #16 477' Straight shot ( Again ) Large scattered trees throughout the entire fairway with a rough of long grass on the right and a tree line on the left.
Hole #17 172' Uphill shot with a blind pin location slightly to the right. Tee shot is through TALL scattered pine trees, there is a bell you ring to let the group behind you know its all clear.
Hole #18 195' Downhill with a very sharp dogleg right, nice midrange forehand shot for RHBH throwers. Tee shot is once again through some scattered trees.

Cons:

Absolutely Nothing.

Other Thoughts:

Its everything its hyped up to be and more. I really enjoyed playing this course ( I must of cause when I got home I realized I had taken 97 pictures.) This course is a MUST PLAY.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 5
Jax11
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 103 played 35 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Amazing Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 24, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Flip City is a very interesting fun, and challenging course to play. Requires many different shot types to play an effective round. The pro tee pads are made of concrete and allow enough space for a solid run-up. The amateur and jr tees are dirt and marked by large rocks. Many holes possess a high risk-reward factor in the putt an approach game as many of the baskets are located on inclines or plateau type topography. The fairways are well defined and many allow for multiple successful lines whether you are a forehand or backhand dominant player. Coming from flat Illinois the elevation was wonderful. A memorable hole is #11 where one has to throw 324ft across a valley. From the rolling hills, to the intricate rock gardens this course is very scenic and provides an unforgettable atmosphere unmatched by any course I have played. The owner Bill Mckenzie goes to great lengths in making this course an experience to remember with luxuries such as brooms on most tee pads, bells to signal "all clear" on blind holes, Flip City Pencils, and well detailed scorecards (They include par, distance from all three tees, and on the opposite side they display a bird's eye view of the course layout). Mr. McKenzie also allows out of town disc golfers to camp out on his lot if you wish to plan a weekend camping trip.

Cons:

Difficult course for beginners, a drive thrown off line could end up in the brush off the fairways and may be difficult to locate.

Other Thoughts:

I fully recommend playing this course even if it requires you to travel great distances. It is a course you will not forget.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 16
leif
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Flip City 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It is hard to say more than what has been said. Great course design. Lots of shot variety. Three blind holes. Course is very well maintained and the scenery is amazing. The camping area is great and has a fire pit. The owner Bill is great and very friendly. Make sure to leave a donation!!

Cons:

No water holes...it has everything else

Other Thoughts:

Make the trip to play from any distance and camp for at least one night.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top