• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Haslet, TX

Haslet Community Park

3.075(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Haslet Community Park reviews

Filter
9 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.8 years 332 played 259 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Haslet Community Park

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2023 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-- Land is well used, although it's not the best land for disc golf. There is a creek that is well used, but the elevation is fairly limited, and there aren't a lot of trees.
-- Restrooms (multiple) on site.
-- Course map by parking lot.
-- Innova baskets, although a couple are leaning badly.
-- Navigation is good, and most tee pads can be seen from the previous basket. Arrows directing you to the next tee on top of almost all of the baskets also help. The only two times I had any issues were 6-7 (you've got to backtrack and go up the hill) and 7-8. The No. 8 tee sign is missing; when you finish on 7, cross the path to the right to reach the No. 8 tee.
-- Good holes: No. 2 (282 feet) has a creek lined by thick brush on the left side with a guardian tree short/right. A small branch of the creek is about 10 feet right and behind the basket. Holes 9, 11, 12 also have baskets within 20 feet of the creek. Twelve also has knee- to waist-high boulders guarding the basket. Eleven is 336 feet. The direct path is over the edge of the creek and the thick bushes that line it. A safer RHBH hyzer route is wide open.

Cons:

-- Tee pads are oddly shaped. They are trapezoid and wider (5-6½ feet) than they need to be while being short (7½ feet).
-- Tee signs are basic with hole number, distance and par but no map. Several baskets are blind from the tee, so a map would really be helpful.
-- No. 4 basket is missing.
-- More than half of the holes throw across the walking path; several holes throw over that walking path multiple times. Given the other activities in the park, it's going to be crowded on nice days, so you're going to spend some time waiting.

Other Thoughts:

-- Other amenities/activities: Playground, covered outdoor basketball court, horseshoe pit, tennis courts, beach volleyball, walking path.
-- As you enter the park on First Street, you will pass the No. 1 tee on your left before you reach the parking lot. It's behind the small bleachers.
-- No. 5 has you throwing across the path at least twice and perhaps three times to an "island" with walking paths on two sides and OB fence on two sides. Unfortunately, the No. 6 tee pad is 15 feet past the basket.
-- No. 6 is an interesting hole: 228 feet slightly downhill over a no-mow area with knee- to waist-high brush (including cacti) to a basket with guardian trees. A path, bench and trash can are about 10 feet left of the basket. Several trees right and just in front of the T take away your RHBH hyzer line.
-- On No. 17, the tee pad isn't pointing toward the basket. It points to another basket. Look slightly right and across the creek to find the 17 basket.
-- Railroad tracks skirt the west edge of the park and can somewhat impact holes 5-9.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Alyjos
Experience: 6 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great practice spot for beginners and advanced players alike 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is mostly well maintained. The grass, weeds and general overgrowth are consistently trimmed to provide a very easy course to navigate.

Despite its lack of any heavily wooded holes, the park still is able to make pretty good use of what it does have.

With the exception of the jump between ten to eleven and then fourteen to fifteen, Haslet flows well with short walks between teepads.

Fairways do not overlap each other.

Not a lot of trash or poison ivy

Tee Signs are helpful.

Not Busy: Course has been consistently low-key Everytime I have gone with maybe one or two groups of players on the course at any given time.

The locals in this area are generally very nice.

Open space and lack of crowds makes this a good area to practice shots, putts, etc without feeling pressure from other people.

Cons:

The course is a general purpose park. There are sidewalks that come into play on most holes. While pedestrians are not in overabundance here, there is still reason to take caution.

The teepads are reasonably small despite many holes exceeding 400 feet.

Some days hole 4 & 7 can be unplayable due to its positioning in relation to a football/soccer field... If the field is being used by other groups.

Some fairways come fairly close to the outskirts of the park, making it easy to accidentally huck a disc into private property.

The overgrowth on hole 17's creek has many ticks which I have had to pull off of me. Ticks are not always common in north Texas so finding this dense a population of them in one area was a shock. I hope that in the future the park will consider cleaning up the creek area.

Other Thoughts:

Overall the course is plain and lacks in technicality. There is a little strategy on some holes, but for the most part a player could get away with just using only a few discs here.

Many of the longer holes will require two shots to reach the circle for most players.

There is a creek that comes into play on multiple holes (2, 3, 9, 11, 12, 17). I don't really consider this a pro or a con as it adds a necessary obstacle, but is not mowed or trimmed making shots that come close to it a burden to find.

I personally really enjoy coming to this course. It is a very laid back disc golf experience with a very wide area to practice shots. The wind will challenge many players' game. While the course is far from being 'great', it is still much nicer than many other general purpose parks I have played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
34blast
Experience: 27.2 years 50 played 31 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Lot's of moving Targets 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 4, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

It's disc golf
Not busy at all
Decent baskets
Good for beginners
Nice small town feel and nice park
Good for folks not in shape as it's not alot of walking

Cons:

Tee pads are half size
Almost all shots are across either a walking trail or the soccer field
No real elevation changes, most of it is flat with few obstacles

Other Thoughts:

I played this course for the first time. I have to say, I have never played on a course with so many moving targets to hit. ha ha. The course is built very closely around a walking path with 4 holes playing around a soccer field. When I was there there were no other disc golfers, but a team using the whole soccer field and lots of folks on the walking trails. I had to delay alot of shots to wait for things to clear out.
This course is pretty flat and boring for advanced or intermediate players. I would rate it higher if it were built around the walking / jogging trail and the soccer fields
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
PCheesy
Experience: 13.6 years 20 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Well maintained, but boring 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a very nice park with a well maintained course. I would describe this course as mostly beginner friendly. There are a couple of holes that a beginner would have some trouble with. Holes were easy to spot and the directional signs on top of the baskets were helpful

Cons:

This course got very boring, especially on the back nine, where you essentially play all over a flat field with mostly open holes.
This course has almost no shade, which makes it brutal in the heat of summer. It was super muggy, and we played in the late morning hours before the hottest part of the day. The course layout was just a little confusing, and the tee pads do not show you the path to the basket which confused us a couple of times.

Other Thoughts:

My friend and I each nearly lost a disc when we accidentally threw into a very thick wildflower area with high grass. If you live near the area, it might be nice to get some practice, but I wouldn't call this a destination spot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.2 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Open and well maintained! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice 18 holes in an open park. The course seems to be well maintained. Oversized teepads. Quality baskets with arrows to the next tee. The fairways are well maintained and rough is just enough to make you pay if you miss your line.

Cons:

The course would be better if each hole had a hole layout at each teepad. Sadly the course would be better with more trees. A little confusing trying to find the next tee. Completely missed hole 3, didn't realize it doglegged so hard left.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a fun 18 hole course. Great course to work on shots in the wind. Course is pretty wide open to practice windy shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 299 played 209 reviews
2.50 star(s)

The Pinnacle of Average Courses 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 26, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is on a very well maintained piece of land. There is a lot of room for the course, with none of the holes really throwing on top of each other.

Navigation was not a problem. The tees were all very well marked with small but adequate concrete tee pads.

The course has an ok variety of distances. The few trees that are thrown throughout the course provide some extra challenge on an otherwise challenge-less course. The creek that comes into play at the beginning and end of the course does add the most challenge on the entire course. Hole 17 was an especially challenging hole where you need to decide from the tee if you want to lay up or go over the creek.

Cons:

This might be the most average course I have ever played. No holes to me stuck out as good holes. With the lack of trees and obstacles, most holes felt exactly the same. Unfortunately, this course is not really a birdie fest that you would expect at a course with a lack of obstacles. The distances are mostly too long for an average golfer to put a string of "2"s together, so it takes a bit of the fun away

I had to wait a few times for a runner to run on the path that does cross multiple holes. Be careful and mindful for joggers. From what I could see, the course and park is not utilized too much, but it still is something to consider.

Other Thoughts:

This is the most average round of disc gold you will ever play. From reading the other reviews, this course went from bad to average, so that is a plus. There is very little risk to lose a disc, very few people so it may appeal to certain folks.

I have not played too much within the DFW area, but I am confident there are much better places to play than what this course offers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Bradydean817
Experience: 13.4 years 15 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 10, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

tee markers help navigate.
good use of the land with little elevation.
empty park, both times I've played i was the only one out on the course.

Cons:

Teepads are too short.
pretty wide open but with some fun holes where water comes into play.

Other Thoughts:

i live close so i enjoy it, wouldn't suggest someone to drive across the metroplex for it
It's a great course for a feel good round or work on your game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.3 years 1760 played 624 reviews
3.50 star(s)

no longer a pitch and putt 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cement tee pads
Tee signs marking hole number and distance
good use of what elevation is out there and what few trees are out there
On top of every basket but one (missing) is a direction marker pointing to the next tee.

Cons:

Flow gets confusing in a few spots
Not enough tree's to make this course interesting
I think the tee pads were wider than they were long. It sure felt that way.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course last on 1/12/10 and my last remark was "this is one of the courses that I have now played and will never play again"

MUCH improvement on the new course, they lengthened the course and use more of the park than before. The tree's have grown a little in the last 6 years, but still don't come into play as much as you want.

So this is still a pretty much wide open course with a few holes that you need to watch out for throwing into the creek.

If it were not for the direction markers on top of every basket, (one is missing) this course would be very hard to follow in a few spots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Dr GreenLeaf
Experience: 21.2 years 37 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great open course and never crowded. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 6, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is great for beginners and pros alike. Whether you're working on mid/long range accuracy or just feel like tossing a putter, it's good for both. Every hole is drivable (for me) so it's not exactly difficult, which lends itself to the fun side of disc golf.

Cons:

Not many trees or much elevation. Course is layed out on a long downhill slope with a small creek running through the middle.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course to throw a relaxing round. Whether you're new to the sport or a seasond veteran, you can have a great time and shoot a better-than-average score here. Also, it's a great night golf course due to the open layout and scarce dense obstacles.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Len Averyt
Experience: 10.9 years 45 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice above basic course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

For me it's close and is always interesting enough to want to play again.

Cons:

Hole1 could make you hit a car if your a newbie and not ready for the wind. Lots of walkers, runners etc. Have to wait to throw. Took us almost 2 hours to play with just 2 people. Wind is almost always a factor.

Other Thoughts:

Played there 9/10/14, the creeks are mostly dry but did run into a few water snakes when we went to retrieve errant discs. The grass was cut very short and the dirt was hard so discs would catch and roll sometimes with a lot of help from the wind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
CantThrowStraight
Experience: 11.1 years 35 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good Practice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 25, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good open area for long shots and lots of holes to throw hard on.

Cons:

Not enough obstacle to be a course. There are some small bushes around and water along most of the course. The creek that runs through is very shallow and not wide, so it's not too hard to deal with. This park has too much public use to have a DG course on it. There are kids everywhere and adults walking slow everywhere. Kids picked up my disc twice to start running off and playing with them.

Other Thoughts:

This course is great to practice on during the week as I assume it has less people there. Don't go on nice weekends. It's packed!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
texhop58
Experience: 22.2 years 104 played 19 reviews
2.50 star(s)

nothing special 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 12, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

*concrete pads (reverse in typical direction)
*signage arrows
*flow well
*a few really good holes placement along creek for challenge.
*18 hole course

Cons:

*routine, nothing special really. each hole is a 300 foot throw in a field with a few trees.
*tee signs could help explain directions of throws. most were logical, but a couple had two baskets in close proximity.
*it weaves in and out of a heavily used walking track. I had to wait on almost every other hole to let a walker, kid on a bike, or random kid running to throw. I dont mind having to wait once or twice, but it gets to a point that its annoying
*no trademark hole

Other Thoughts:

hole 2 was one of the best designed holes, dont know if it was just accidental today or not. First time playing and some of the locals told me watch out as the water has not drained. It played like an island with water on both sides. I am assuming they meant there was normally not water around the right of hole. but it still made for a great hole

if the course wasnt in the DFW area, maybe the course would rate higher, but there are so many great courses in this area. I dont see myself making another trip out there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 388 played 318 reviews
2.50 star(s)

good redesign 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 30, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-redesign makes great use of the land features around the park
-a few of the new holes make use of the elevation
-new holes make really good use of the creek
-nice discatchers with directional arrows to next tee
-nice concrete pads, but a little short
-good variety of distances
-well-thought pin positions
-navigation is intuitive and easy
-playground for the kiddos
-still planting new trees but the one they planted 4 or 5 years ago still aren't really growing. could be awhile before that is ever a factor

Cons:

-never a day without wind at this course, deal with it
-pedestrians on the foot path, roaming children
-still a lot of wide open holes
-very muddy after a rain

Other Thoughts:

This course really benefits from the redesign. The new holes make great use of the land features with 2 holes making use of the hill and several holes playing alongside the creek. I also like that they ditched the 3 pads per hole and focused on making one well-designed tee location.

The layout is fairly challenging with lots of distance, water hazards, and the wind. Big arms can score well but the combination of the water and wind will make you think twice on some shots.

This course used to be pretty forgettable but the new layout is fun and a challenge. I'd say it is worth the drive to come check it out. It certainly doesn't compare to many of the great courses around the metroplex but for a change of pace, the course is definitely worth playing.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
jdb7122
Experience: 5 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great course, just needs some time. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 3, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Extremely clean and beautiful course
-Great flow from hole to hole, easy to navigate
-Maintained on a weekly basis
-Discatcher baskets with directional arrows pointing to next tee pad
-Good mix of distance hole to hole
-Nice neighborhood and friendly local players
-Tee boxes are short but they are laid in the ground allowing for a smooth run/walk up
-Great practice course, nothing too challenging but will get better as the newly planted trees grow in.

Cons:

-Not many, course is in a public park so there can be foot traffic on the sidewalks thorughout the course; however, the community is very nice and the people are more than happy to wait or watch you throw.
-Not too much shade so it will get hot, bring plenty of water in the Texas summer
-Gets sloppy after rain, which coupled with the shorter tee boxes can cause some slipping issues, just stay away when wet or after rain.
-shot selection is minimal, you can pretty much throw a hyzer on every hole, but this makes for great fieldwork and practice, its open enough to chose what type of throw you want to make

Other Thoughts:

-If you have trouble navigating the course then its your own fault, there are signs on each basket pointing to the next tee box.
-if you have trouble with the tee boxes than you probably need to slow down your walk/run up anyways
-This course is probably the most aesthetic course in DFW, its absolutely beautiful, well kept and great for field work
-If you haven't played this course it is worth the drive to play if your looking good practice
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
skipbo1
Experience: 24.3 years 12 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 4, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice clean park with restrooms. The layout of the course is good, have challenges of water,trees and wind. The park is always mowed and well taken care of.

Cons:

Getting disc on other side of barb wire fence after a bad throw. People on walking trail.

Other Thoughts:

Well be better when new trees grow.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
thejake78
Experience: 21.2 years 26 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Course with solid potential 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 9, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Course is in a well maintained city park. Grass is mowed, trash is picked up
- Fairly new baskets
- Decent signs at tee boxes (would be nicer with maps)
- Baskets have arrows pointing to the next tee box (Some are missing now, though)
- Concrete tee boxes
- Kind of neat when the train goes by
- OB and water hazards (creek) can provide a bit of challenge

Cons:

- Most of the holes are straight shots (Some of this will be mitigated when the young growth in the park matures) with few obstacles
- Tee boxes are a bit on the short side. A couple more feet or so of concrete on the back would help here
- No course map
- The rough is very rough. The growth can be fairly thick around the creek. If you throw a disc toward the railroad tracks, you're going through a barb wire fence to go looking through tall weeds
- The creek can be pretty stagnant when it hasn't rained much. Water moccasins can be present
- The basket on #4 is close to a playground
- A walking track runs close to most of the course, so you might have to wait to throw from time to time
- Not much shade, can get hot in the summer time

Other Thoughts:

- Wind is almost always a factor here
- There is a little elevation in play on #5 and #7
- Water is in play on several holes, including some shots over the creek on #3(maybe), #9, and #17.

This is an interesting course. Currently, the layout is not very challenging. A few more dogleg-type shots would help add variety here (#3 is the closest shot to a dogleg-left). Big arms might enjoy this course; several holes are in the high 300-low 400 foot range. They have planted a lot of trees on the course, and if they were to add a few more, in several years this could be very nice. Would be nice to see weekly minis at least out here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Highball
Experience: 14.1 years 13 played 11 reviews
2.50 star(s)

The good, The bad, and the ugly 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

They have nice park here that is kept mowed. It is new and the baskets and tee pads were all new too. The water will make you think twice and the few trees are fun too.

Cons:

Well...... NO MAPS!! Not on line and not at the park! That is totally frustrating wandering around a park with no idea where to go at times. I never did find the #7 tee pad. The little arrow sign on top of the #6 basket pointed to ??? The day I went it was HOT! There is very little shade as all the trees are young

Other Thoughts:

It is worth playing (in the morning during the hot summer) I lost a good disc here in the water on #2. That set the mood for the day sad to say :( I think if I played this one more I'd warm up to it. To me the first impression was "It's nice"
Please don't give me a bad review yet. I'm on vacation and will update it when I get home.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mrstiggy
Experience: 15.2 years 80 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Redesign, Great Potential 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 11, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Great DiscCatcher Baskets
-Litter/Graffiti Free
-Restrooms, Drinking Fountains (For you and your dog), Plenty of Benches and Trash Cans
-Plenty of Distance, and a few ace ops
-Well defined, mowed fairways. Good shots are rewarded, bad shots are punished by a creek and aggressive rough
-Nice tee signs and arrows on baskets to make for easy navigation
-Excellent use of every bit of nice city park
-Soccer field to practice driving
-Rarely busy
-Nice views of railway system, close to depot
-Easy for novice, still challenging for advanced players
-Well thought out basket placement

Cons:

-Tee pads too short
-No wooded tunnel shots
-Hard to find a disc in high rough / creek
-Water moccasins in creek
-Some holes stacked too closely together, play ground, ball fields, and pedestrians could be a problem on a bad shot. Nothing major, just pay attention

Other Thoughts:

The redesign of this course has done wonders for this park. It has gone from a 9 hole pitch and putt that was not worth going out of the way to play to one of the top 10 courses in the DFW metroplex. This course rivals the likes of Lake Lewisville and Bear Creek for its challenges and fun factor. It is no Lorch or Meyers, but certainly one of the better courses in the northern metroplex and a must play in DFW.
They have planted dozens of trees to add challenges to the disc golf course and in about 10 years when the trees mature and grow larger this will be a 4.0 or higher course if the maintainers keep doing what they are doing.

Wind is a big factor here and it is not wooded, so bring sunscreen and something to hydrate with.

Also, this is probably not the best course to party at, so leave your beers home and take care of any smoking you need to do before you tee off. Many families are here and there is not really and seclusion.

**Like this review? Hate it?, Send me a message and let me know, I want to make them better**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
strain
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 42 played 40 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 19, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

I had a great time today playing this course. The layout of the course flows real well throughout the park. This is a mostly open course with not a whole lot of trees that come into play. This is a good course to practice your drives. There is a creek that comes into play on the back nine to really make it much more interesting. The navigation of the course wasn't bad at all, considering there is signs with arrows on top of the baskets to direct you to the next tee. There is signage on each tee pad with hole information and concrete tee's on all holes. There is restrooms on sight, but was closed when I was there today.

Cons:

The concrete tees seem to be a little short, but you can still get a good run up. I noticed on the back nine, some of the tee pads were a little hard to find, as the holes seemed a little cluttered together, making it difficult to find some of the baskets from the tees.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, this still a fun course to play, and it doesn't seem to get too crowded. I'm just glad to call this my home course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
cc0049
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.2 years 168 played 56 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Redesigned 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 29, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course has just been redesigned from a 9 hole pitch and putt practice course to a longer 18 hole course. Discatcher baskets are great and have signs with arrows indicating which direction you should go in to get to the next tee box. There are signs with hole number and distance. Concrete tee boxes. There are restrooms and trash cans. The course is rarely busy, making it a good practice course.

Cons:

Hole 4 brings the playground into play too much to be safe. There is a good chance of losing a disc in the creek on this course but in most spots is fairly easy to see and get it back. There are too many holes here that are just repetitive...no variety in shot selection required.

Other Thoughts:

The course is tougher now, but is still wide open and nothing too challenging. I'm updating my rating from 2.5 to a 3 now that trees have grown in more around the course though adding a slight bit more challenge. Make sure you take something with you to be able to get your discs back from the creek if necessary.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top