• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Hobbs, NM

Hobbs Army Airfield DGC

Permanent course
3.225(based on 9 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Hobbs Army Airfield DGC reviews

Filter
15 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.3 years 1760 played 624 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great History 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Decent course flow
Tee signs on most of the holes
Great History your playing though

Cons:

Course is showing some wear on the tee signs, some are damaged.
This is the desert, not a lot of tree's but the course does make good use of the few out there.

Other Thoughts:

I was pleasantly surprised when I pulled into the park and saw green grass. Most of the course plays though the "Green areas" and a few holes go though the desert.

Now for the name of the course, Hobbs Army Airfield DGC uses some of old military base ruins as obstacles.
First, you have hole #3 as a hanging basket on a miniature copy of what paratroopers used to train on.

Then hole 4 is an island hole throwing into the foundations of two other buildings. The White long tee on this hole throws from the old latrine foundations.

Hole 5 long pin position throws into a building foundation.

Hole 6 Red throws from that Latrine building the other direction from hole 4.

Hole #9 is the longest hole on the course with a raised up basket.

Hole 12 is set up as an island hole with a backstop.

Hole 17 was interesting with the basket on the edge of a peninsula. You do not want to overthrow this one.

I really like hole 18, making use of a "bunker" hill hiding the pin position. With the grass freshly cut I really enjoyed throwing a roller on this one landing pin high to the right. Might have been my best shot and favorite hole of the day.

Would I play here again? Yes, this is a good course with decent flow. You want longer holes, throw from the white tee's. You want more chances at birds? Throw from the red tee's.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
ivanhenson
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.2 years 714 played 238 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great course and desert use 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great map great baskets and tee pads. Both long and short.
The variety from park to Desert is really fun and interesting. I really loved the more natural desert holes in the middle.

Cons:

A few holes are too close to the RV parking

Other Thoughts:

The desert is so spare you will not loose the disk. Just watch for snakes. But it is worth it. Some holes through old building sights are really unique. Like a paint ball course or something
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 299 played 209 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Pretty Typical City 9 Holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is set in a beautiful park with picnic areas, a lake and other activities. It is kind of an oasis in an otherwise barren part of the country.

The course has two sets of concrete tees, both are long, but the longer tees are significantly longer and will add some more challenge in a course that lacks it. To go along with the concrete tees, there were descriptive tee signs on the shorter tees and the baskets were in good shape. I believe the course has dual pin placements as well.

A stereotypical 9 hole course is a little bit shorter, so I was pleased that this course had a little bit of teeth to it in terms of having true par 4s. On some of the shorter holes like hole 8, the lake came into play just a bit to add a little bit of excitement.

Navigation is fairly easy. It plays clockwise and most tees can be seen from the previous basket fairly easy.

Hole 2 was my favorite hole on the course. It has a mando and the basket is guarded by trees, which is unique to the course.

Cons:

The course is too open with not a whole lot of obstacles to contend with. There is a constant prevailing wind, which adds a little bit of challenge.

Hole 3 plays through a football practice field. I am not sure if the field is used ever, but play could be impacted if the field is being used.

Frankly, there is not too much special about this course. Nothing jumped out to me as being super great, but at the same time there were no glaring issues with the course that could have been easily fixed. The course is just "meh"

Other Thoughts:

This being the only course in the City, it is fine. When I went and played there were a few groups of people playing who seemed to love their course. I know not much else could be done to this course to improve it drastically, but I hope additional courses can be installed in the City, because there seems that there is a tight community that is excited about the sport.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
TylerM
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 31 played 23 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Wow! That's a LONG nine holer! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-2 Tee pads per hole give you opportunity to play this as 18 holes.
-They did not try to cram 18 holes on this park, so they were able to make an interesting 9 holes.
-The baskets and pads were in excellent shape.
-Navigation was easy due to the clockwise flow of the course.
-Had some picnic areas and a nice pond.

Cons:

-Really the main drawback this course has is that it is boring. Every hole was straightforward. The only obstacle was wind and distance.
-If there were bathrooms, I didn't see them.
-Signage was poor, although not especially needed.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course twice while in Hobbs for Thanksgiving. Both times we basically had the course to ourselves. I was told it's not usually crowded. There was nothing noteworthy about this course - just nine long holes on open ground with a few trees and mesquite bushes. If not for the water on 8 & 9, would easily be the least challenging course I've played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Triggerv83
Experience: 4 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Green grass, long holes, nice marked/paved tees. New baskets. Some awesome/fun water hazards.

Cons:

Needs morecourse/game information at the first hole, theres nothing there on the billboard to read. Needs beware flying disc signs for pedestrians. Lots of peds on the course on the greens get in the way due to high park traffic to beware.

Other Thoughts:

Extending the course and/or putting up multiple pin placements, cheap and easy to change the course up monthly, etc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
greybush
Experience: 14.9 years 9 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

One of my fav's 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 9, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great course for practicing airing out your discs, as most of the holes are longer.
Failure forgiveness here(no hazards, no definitive boundary lines) gives you several opportunities to practice recovery/ approach shots. Nice grass and never in three years of playing have i had to play through or been played through.

Cons:

No mandy and no hazard except for a pond along 8 and 9. Bit of a walk. 4 and 5 are treated like step children, no trees, no grass, no mowing. Just a pad and a basket.

Other Thoughts:

There are plenty of Rattlesnakes, but we have only seen them on 3,4,5; but if you keep your eyes open, you can see them, and then of course hear them. Kill them!! I am not kidding!! Kill them!! If you do not, you are endangering the children and people and pets that frequent this park. Also throw away the head so it doesn't inadvertantly kill any wildlife that might eat it. If you are not up to the challenge, PLEASE get a grounds keeper to call the sheriff or environmental services to take care of it. I have killed 1 adult(dangerous) and 2 babies(extremely fatal!!!!) just this spring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mkarlovec
Experience: 25.2 years 12 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Hobbs Disc Golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 20, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great use of the space available at the park. Very nice view(well as good as a view gets in the Hobbs area) around the pond at the park. the city does a great job with mowing( holes 4 and 5 get neglected some but still get mowed most of the time)

Cons:

The Tee pads are a bit scary on some of the holes. And the hearing the snakes on holes 4 and 5 is a bit unsettling.

An update on the course: The new cement Tee Pads are in!!!

Other Thoughts:

Disc golf is slowly catching on in the Hobbs area which is very nice to see.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
samuelson2484
Experience: 18.4 years 31 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course uses the terrain available very well. There are holes with well manicured, grassy fairways as well as holes with wild, brushy fairways. The water comes in to play on a couple of holes, but only to keep your shots tight and technical. There is camping nearby and the park has an overall clean and safe atmosphere.

Cons:

There are only nine baskets in an area that could easily handle eighteen or more. I also was frustrated with the fact that the city had installed Christmas decorations on two of the holes.

Other Thoughts:

I can't wait to play this course in the summer time. I think the trees will be more of an obstacle once they are green and full.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
D Law
Experience: 19.2 years 14 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

New Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

wooden post at every hole that shows hole # and distance. very well kept park and not a lot of pedestrian traffic. very good nine hole course with good variety of short and long holes.

Cons:

The caliche tee pads are a little dangerous.

Other Thoughts:

Right down the street from the casino
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top