• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

South St. Paul, MN

Kaposia Park

3.945(based on 62 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Kaposia Park reviews

Filter
2 5
Erik
Experience: 29.2 years 3 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2nd Time - Updated 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 8, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Challenging
-Some really great hole designs and distance shots
-Opportunity for multiple pin locations
-Variety of open and wooded
-Easy parking
-LOTS of Ace opportunities

Cons:

-Busy
-Very hard to navigate between wooded holes if you have no played there before
-Erosion, poor upkeep, no signage

Other Thoughts:

*EDIT* 88/14/09 - removed some commentary & updated for 2nd trip.

On recommendation of a fellow DGCourseReview guy I went back and played the 'extra' holes, and agree, they add to the enjoyment.

Knowing the course layout better helped quite a bit. Less time getting lost, more time planning shots :)

Overall I gave it a 3.5 - I thought some of the holes were really well designed with cool and challenging pin placement, but wasnt that impressed overall with the difficulty or layout, even with the additional pins.

Being that I live in the west metro, there are comparible or better courses in my area, but for east siders, Kaposia is a great local course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 1
Miller
Premium Member
Experience: 19.1 years 131 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Don't play by yourself the first time! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a very scenic and challenging course with a lot to offer. It has a good mix of right and left turns. It also has some wide open holes that are both long and short. It even has some long and tight holes to challenge your control and distance. If really want to challenge all of your skills this is a good choice.

Cons:

The signage is almost non-existant. Few boxes were marked (although most of the pins were). If it weren't for the many friendly people out there playing we never would have navigated through it correctly as there is no signage from one pin to the next box. I would highly recommend you play with someone who is familiar with the course or follow another group through (which is what we did).

Other Thoughts:

The whole time I was playing I kept thinking how cool the course was. On the other hand I would have missed about 5 baskets if it wasn't for the friendly folks. We did skip the extra 6 baskets on the advice of the locals. Maybe next time. My advice is come and enjoy this great course, but bring play with someone who knows the layout.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 2
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Put some signs in and it might be a 5! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Practice basket near start.
-Lots of elevation.
-Perfect amount of woods, not too hard nor too easy.
-Good variation in length and nature of each hole.
-Benches near most tee boxes.
-Friendly locals that will point you on your way to the next hole.
-Hard to lose a disc, no water and the brush isn't too thick.
-18 full holes that aren't too crowded, definitely didn't get boring at all.
-Tee boxes looked old but were in great shape and served their purpose well.
-Park used only for disc golf. Other activities are separate.

Cons:

-Poor upkeep overall. Erosion, lots of dust, damage and graffiti on everything.
-No signs of any sort. Most holes have a pole that says the hole number but that's it.
-It is hard to find the way to the next hole many times, especially in the woods and when there's multiple holes close together.
-Can be fairly busy, especially on weekends and evenings.
-Sounds of cars, people and planes at all times if that bothers you.

Other Thoughts:

With signs at tees and for navigation this course would be greatly improved. Even without these its one of the best in the state. A must play if in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
pdirty
Experience: 20.2 years 9 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Challenging but Poor Upkeep 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very Challenging, shot making ability definitely comes into play on almost every hole. The ravine holes are a lot of fun and imaginative hole designs.

Cons:

The upkeep on many of the holes is poor. I understand that it is played a lot but there is a lot of erosion on the wooded holes and nearly all the ravine holes needs some grass trimming, unfair to penalize even the best drives by having grass that is 6-10 inches tall.

Other Thoughts:

If upkeep was better, it would be my favorite course to play, but combination of challenging holes with poor upkeep makes it too difficult for me to always enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
CwAlbino
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.1 years 76 played 23 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Not for beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has taken the spot as the most challenging and possibly one of my favorites. As lots have said, it takes all your throws, and tests how well you can use each one. There is short holes, long holes, open holes, narrow hallways, ravines, etc.

Cons:

It's been reviewed upon a lot so far, but this course is not well marked. I'm still not sure if I played the entire course and am going to go with some people who have played it multiple times sometime soon. This course is NOT good for beginners. I can see it discouraging anybody just by all the tight throws you have to make. They will spend more time searching for discs than playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
krallbd
Experience: 18.2 years 20 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great course to learn the ropes on 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 30, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Lots of distance, so you can huck it as hard as you can.
-A few technical holes that offer chances to try other shots.
-Tee boxes in good condition, but a bit dirty
-24 hole layout offers additional challenge
-Variety of shots necessary for success

Cons:

-Gets dirty
-lack of grass and signage
-busy during peak hours

Other Thoughts:

It is a great course if played at the right time. Can get too busy and that makes the experience worse. If it is open and nice outside, it is a great course to play and challenge yourself to a Majestic course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
ledH3ad
Experience: 16.3 years 33 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Improvements 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Long and challenging course. Most holes are wooded, demanding precise shot making. Others are open and really let you let loose. There are an extended 5 holes way in the back that offer some real challenges- i hope they open them up permanently.

Cons:

Maintenance on the course needs to be improved. Some efforts have been made on grooming some of the holes, but with the number of people playing this course, degradation is pretty high.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
manzilla86
Experience: 18.9 years 7 played 7 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

As my title says, this is the best course I have played. I haven't played a ton of courses, but I have played enough for that statement to mean something. I enjoy courses that require two great shots to get close to the pin, and Kaposia has many of these. I love the large rock landscaping on hole #3 (tiers of large rocks leading up the basket) and hole #8 (perched on the side of a large downhill, if you miss right you have a big uphill putt, but it is worth the miss for the beauty of the pin placement). Also, on the back nine there is a pond and ravine that come into play on multiple holes, and while it isn't fun going into either, those aspects of the course are just two things that make it great. A truly fun course, if you live in Minnesota or Wisconsin (or further away), you should make a pilgrimage to this Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf.

Cons:

The layout can be confusing if you haven't played before. The first time I played here I was with my brother, who already knew the course, but the first time he played the course he accidentally skipped a few holes. Also, losing a disc is very possible on many holes in the dense woods (I have lost a few and found a few on this course).
As others have said, the course is intimidating and frustrating to beginning players. However, when I bring friends here who have a hard time throwing straight, they still seem to appreciate the course despite the courses lack of appreciation for them!

Other Thoughts:

Like I said in the Pro's, this is (to me) the Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf. Give it a try if you haven't been there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
kgibbs
Experience: 16.3 years 9 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Long course with many challenging holes and a lot of variety.

Cons:

Lots of trees and it's pretty tough to make par on most holes. Not a good course for beginners who might become easily frustrated, but it's basically where I learned to throw so it can be done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.5 years 1512 played 480 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Glad I researched this one, but I wish the other 6 holes were in! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 25, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Awesome property, awesome design using all the features effectively. Lots of holes with large mature trees with tons of overhanging branches. Lots of tight wooded technical holes.

2) Nice baskets and concrete teepads (except for a couple where they are using carpet for the teepad). Multiple teepads and multiple pin locations make this course very adjustable, and will create completely different holes.

3) Unique holes are abundant. #2 with the basket set amogst a bunch of mature tree roots. Hit one of the roots wrong and you could ned up further than you started. #3 with the stones protecting the basket. #5 down then up a valley makes for a picturesque hole. I cannot imagine the long basket here!!! #7 shooting over some trimmed scrub brush, #8 long shot out of a wooded chute. Then an approach to a basket tucked on the side of a hill that if you overshoot will have at least 30-40 feet back up the hill to the basket. #16 with leaning branches overhanging the fairway makes for a cool shot. They shouldnt come into play but visually it enters your mind. #17 with the basket perched on a sidehill. #18 with the haybales to prevent skip aces from in front of the basket. I wasnt immediately sure if it was protecting from erosion or protecting the basket.

4) Nice variety in distance with #18 being the shortest. #16 is pretty short and easy also, with a handful of holes near or over 400'.

Cons:

1) Not beginner friendly, but thats ok, not every course needs to be!

2) Very little water in play (for the most part), but its pretty hard to hold that against this course when every hole is packed with excitement and challenge.

3) Layout can be confusing to a new player (such as myself) I swear I skipped #9, or maybe I missed an earlier hole and didnt even realize it.

4) Signage could use some upgrades, teesigns would be nice, and directional signs to point you to the next hole.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the top 3 course I have played to date. I only wish the ravine holes were in play. I should have gone down and walked them just to see how cool they would have been, but I was running out of time. It is a well thought out, well designed, challenging course. Beginners will struggle mightily, and even experiences players might have some problems on some of the holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
maeittreim
Experience: 16.2 years 43 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really Long Course, makes for some fun 2nd shots. Goes both up and down in over hills making it a really fun and adventurous course to play

Cons:

Back 9 all in woods. Really easy to loose a disc on more than 1/2 of the holes because of the up and down hilly landscapes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
martinb
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 44.9 years 183 played 58 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Kaposia Park, MN 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2007 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very beautiful, mature park with restrooms, ample parking.

Cons:

Slight issue with signage as to where to go on course for first time players, especially between hole 8 and tee pad 9. Crowded, very popular course as it should be, which is not really a con, unless your pressed for time.

Other Thoughts:

This course plays best for advanced and pro players. Beginners will struggle a bit with some of the blind tee shots and narrow fairways which will take a toll on all players no matter what your ability is. The first four holes play out on a grassy area that gives you a chance to warm up, as it were, then the course heads into the woods where narrow fairways, hidden baskets (from the tee pad), and a lot of cussing is the rule. The wooded area demands very controlled tee and approach shots otherwise you will most likely lose a disc in the schule. On the bright side, if you go looking for your disc and you don't find it, you will most likely run across someone else's lost disc. The final hole eighteen takes you right back from where you started, the parking lot and does not play in the woods, but on a grassy area.
Foliage is dense in the wooded areas, with mature trees and bushes of all types and variety. Some areas are a little sparser than other areas in the woods, but don't count on an errant shot to be there. The terrain is a little hilly, some excellent use of that aspect throughout the course. All fairways have at least one preferred flight path to take from the tee pad with multiple pin placements on most of the holes. First time players should allow for time to walk up the fairways to spot the pin location on that particular hole. If its crowded this may be a drawback.
Ive been told Kaposia is one of the most popular courses in the twin cities area, the well-defined fairways and walking paths support that statement. This was the course I was directed to when I was there visiting and im glad I was able to play it. It stands out as a very challenging course but still fun as heck to play. Time to play the course is longer than an average 6000-foot course because you will inevitably spend time looking for a lost disc, perhaps 2 to 3 hours for a foursome to play. Experienced locals probably do much better than that if its not too crowded.
Tee signs show their age. This course was established in the early eighties I believe? Someone correct me if I'm wrong about that. But, some of the signs look that old. I got lost after playing hole 8. I couldn't find anything to point me towards the next tee, which is across the street and well into another part of the woods. Don't be shy to ask for directions from someone playing the course, the people there are very considerate and friendly.
My experience there as a first time player was great. I did spend time walking up fairways to spot the pin locations and got lost a couple of times trying to find tee pads, but overall it was awesome. The first hole in the woods, hole 5 was my favorite. Definitely a must play if your in that part of Minnesota. I played during the week when it wasn't too crowded though.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Bangchains
Experience: 23.1 years 30 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Unique Woods Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 15, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a very challenging technical course. Don't let the first four holes fool you as they are the easiest on the course A birdy on these holes is necessary for the strokes you will likely pick up in the woods. The rest of the course has a good mixture of unique holes that will challenge every shot you have. Make an error and you can plan on turning a birdy into a double bogey.

Cons:

Very limited signage, difficult to navigate for first timers. Also, gets very busy during peak hours and is a long course when waiting due to lost discs in the woods.

Other Thoughts:

Kaposia is definitely one of the must play courses in the Twin Cities. Beginners beware, this course it is not for the light hearted as even the most seasoned player can be eaten alive by Kaposia.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Guurn
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 38.1 years 90 played 40 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of the landmark courses in Mn, this course shows what the great courses of the past were like and shows how well those challenges translate to todays game.

From the first hole it quickly becomes apparent how well thought out the hole layout is. A straightforward 300 foot drive on a slight downhill. Overthrow it and you are on the downhill side of a heavily wooded hill or underthrow and your shot at the basket becomes very difficult. To the last hole, a medium range dogleg right, open enough to try a roller but with risks. If you shoot short you have no shot at the basket and if you try to throw over the trees filling the dogleg you can end up in a swamp. Almost every hole on this course has a challenge that will not only test the discs available in your bag but your skill at using those discs.

There are holes to make the distance specialist happy (hole 8, slight uphill in the beginning leading to a long dogleg left) and ones for the midrange guy (hole 7, 300 foot slow dogleg left through trees, one of my favorites).

Every hole has at least one teepad, some in better shape than others, and multiple basket locations. Parking is very good.

Cons:

Signage regarding baskets is spotty at best. Flow is pretty good but the course is heavily used and has had several modifications and revisions so finding the next hole can be hit and miss.

In many areas the rough is actually rough and grass has given way to dirt on most of the woods holes.

Because of the quality of the design the course will be busy most afternoons so expect waits. Most players are skilled though and will let you play through if your group is smaller or much faster.

Other Thoughts:

It is a long course over hilly terrain so rounds take a while and you will need to bring some drink along.

The sundog league occasionally uses this course for it weekly game so if you are in the area check about joining for a round. Definitly one of the Minn courses to hit if you are in the Twin Cities area.

This is a multiple use park with a walking path through the middle. Bring a lunch and enjoy the shelter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
Cradical
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 110 played 63 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 15, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A course with just the right amount of challenges and variety as well as length. There are a bunch of open holes with very little trees and a bunch of heavily wooded holes mixed together. Another plus is that there are a number of holes that would be tough to get a three on due to their length and the tree density.

Cons:

Some of the holes have very dense foliage, such as number 7, so that when you throw it out there blindly, there's a chance you could be searching for it for a while.

Other Thoughts:

The Minnesota Majestic layout is just plain sweet. I can't imagine a better course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
cpaquette
Experience: 16.9 years 42 played 41 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Needs improvement 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 27, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very technical course with an opportunity to use all types of shots (Hyzers, Anhyzers, Thumbers, Tomahawks, Elevator Shots...etc...)

Cons:

This course would be a nightmare for those new to the game. If you've never played here before you probably won't be able to figure out where to go on several of the holes. This course needs to be better maintained as it has a lot of underbrush and spots to lose your discs. There are no "next tee" signs on the course which can be frustrating to first timers.

Other Thoughts:

If course managers would help clear out some brush and some tree branches to provide a better "window" to throw on several holes, this would be a great course and not just an okay course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
fbrookes
Experience: 20.4 years 121 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

first MN course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 17, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

I found this course to be pretty accesibile for a relative beginner, except for the last 5-6 holes. beautiful layout with great technical challenges. friendly, helpful people on the course, just enough long holes (on the first 18),great place to play

Cons:

many tees not clearly marked at all, some have little bricks with arrows pointing to next tee, some don't, some have signs, others don't, course is overgrown but it is August

Other Thoughts:

I am in Minneapolis for three weeks. This was my first course here and it was a good one. Any other suggestions?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Texconsinite
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.5 years 138 played 79 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Holy Cow, the Pin Is Way Back There... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 23, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a ton of challenges. It will test how complete you are as a player with both long holes and technical holes, often rolled into one. Played the 24 hole post-Majestic layout. Awesome.

All concrete tee pads. Every hole is something different, and many are long. Maybe all the long pins were in when I played here, but it creates ample risk reward, since you are always in the heavy woods, yet need to shoot the gap to get the distance. Very challenging. The terrain is very tricky, and used very cleverly. The great thing about this course is that a big arm isnt enough to do well, it also takes precision and shot selections. It's heavily wooded enough to keep you honest. Many of the holes on this course are memorable, for their challenge as well as their uniqueness, which IMO is one of the marks of a great course. You see holes here that you won't see anywhere else, that challenge you, then stay with you and call you back to play here again, to see if you can tame this Beast better than last time.

You will need every disc in your bag on this one, and you better hope you don't lose something that you don't have a ready replacement for.

Cons:

This is a long, and heavily wooded course with very significant terrain. It is not a casual stroll though the park. I was exhausted after a round here. I can only imagine playing several in a row at a tournament.

The rough (and fairway) on a few of the later (new) holes was not kept up, making it hard to find errant drives.

The wooden signs screwed to trees on the first few holes are great. Unfortunately, they do not have those for every hole, through they would be very easy to install. Anyone who knows the layout of the hole could take a cordless drill, sharpie, plywood scraps, and a handful of screws and finish off the course in a very short time.

This course was very light on the water holes. Though the park has several lakes, which the course winds around, there is always at least some degree of separation between them and the holes. One shot (on a new majestic hole) does play along and over a small creek, and several steep hillsides butt up to baskets, perfectly positioned to roll discs down to water a ways below. Thus water exists on this course, but its unlikely to play a factor in any but the most errant, flukey of shots.

If there was a map or walkthrough of the current (hopefully long-term) 24 hole layout, it would make it a lot easier to find some of the pins, and the tee signs would not be as big a deal.

Its still a lot of fun to play, it just that for a park this great and well-known, I would have expected better markings in some form or another.

Other Thoughts:

Bring water, and give yourself plenty of time to play this one. Also, the rough can get thick, so brightly colored discs are a plus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
sdwhatley
Experience: 9 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Over-rated 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Long course with many interesting hole layouts. Some cool shots and unique challenges too.

Cons:

Very few shorter technical holes, just about every shot requires a well placed drive in order to make par, birdies are hard to come by. Definately not a course for beginners or those who dislike primarily long drive holes. Also, many holes are poorly manicured so discs are easy to lose, and tall grass and weeds make even the most flourescent discs difficult to spot.

Other Thoughts:

Decent course, but due to the length of time needed to play a round, and average length of each hole, not terrible fun or uplifting to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
bdkralla
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A great course for experienced frolfers 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Great course, every hole has a unique challenge to offer. The new holes added provide a harder experience to even the best disc golfers.

Cons:

Not a good place to bring a beginner, as it is a very long course, at over 7000 ft. you will search for discs, as the woods can get extremely thick, but players are used to this and are usually willing to wait so you can find what was lost.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course, the only suggestion to make it better is to manicure the course more, so that finding and navigating the course would move faster.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top