• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Lewisville, TX

Lenard L. Woods Park

2.925(based on 59 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Lenard L. Woods Park reviews

Filter
7 2
thejake78
Experience: 21.2 years 26 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent course in city park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Very nice teepads, no complaints about them being too short.
- Course is in a well-kept city park in a nice neighborhood. Grass is mowed
- Fairly easy to navigate as a first-timer; course generally has good flow from hole to hole, and most of the baskets have signage nearby pointing to the next tee
- A few interesting shots taking into account the (dry today) drainage ditch that runs through the park: #5 plays as an island hole surrounded by the ditch, #7 pin sits a few feet in front of the ditch adding a bit of risk.

Cons:

- The course plays on either side of a walking/jogging/biking path (marked as OB) which was in use constantly while I was there. Beware the pedestrians/bicyclers.
- A few signs are missing or damaged; some do have some questionable distances listed. The course map on this site seems to have pretty accurate distances listed.
- The course is pretty level elevation-wise.
- There are trees around most of the course, but nothing that would give a technical feel or provide much in the way of challenging lines. #14-18 in particular are fairly wide open.
- All but two holes are under 400ft in length, and half are under 300ft. Big arms won't get much use out here, which would be a "con" for some.

Other Thoughts:

I wouldn't call this either a technical course or a place to really air out some throws, but it definitely would be a good place for a beginner, or anyone just looking for relatively quick round. It seems like this course be a decent warm-up for Lake Lewisville DCG. This is a course that would be difficult to hate or to really love.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
Spookyspence
Experience: 15 played 15 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Good practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 26, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Its a great course for people new to the game
It will be impossible to lose a disc
It has great up keep
Nice concrete tees
Bathrooms
Water fountains
Benches

Great warmup course for Lake Lewisville

Cons:

People everywhere, be careful not to hit them
No elevation changes
All holes are straight forward
Very open

Other Thoughts:

Look this is a VERY straight forward course! It is easy to navigate from hole to hole and you can always see the basket you are shooting for. This course is ideal for those who are just starting to play and trying to learn as it is very open and doesn't have too many trees to avoid. For those who have been playing a while this course will just be simple and kind of boring...but to help you can play sidewalks OB to help narrow the field and give a little more challenge. If you play this before the lake it does make a good warm up course.

Note - I would appreciate not getting thumbs down because I didn't "praise" this course, it is what it is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
mike_james
Experience: 16.2 years 54 played 19 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Meh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 29, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice use of available land. Pretty neat layout in the middle of a neighborhood. Lots of straight shots. Pretty much bombing or buzzing. Lots more challenging and fun with tourney obs. Hole 5 is more fun as an island hole. Store right around the corner. Restrooms

Cons:

Just an average course. Definitely played worse. Flat. No elevation change.

Other Thoughts:

Nice combo with lake park. Not really busy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
chalos13
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 35 played 35 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Excellent 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course made the most of what it has. Trees are in the perfect place to present a challenge, lots of chances to work on your annhyzer shots. Shorter holes make this a great warm up course before lake lewisville

Cons:

It seems some of the baskets were moved after the signs were installed. The distances and pin placements seem off in many cases, and some signs are missing altogether.

Other Thoughts:

Loved this course, Im 100% amateur, playong for fun and this course was the perfect challenge for my level of skill. Lots of birdie chances here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
lajoie24
Experience: 13.1 years 30 played 18 reviews
2.50 star(s)

The coarse comes with training wheels 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 6, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Easy course with a good lay out. Nice and open with almost zero chance of losing a disc. I often use this course to work on my technique or to break in new discs

Cons:

This will bore the veteran/pro player. If seen multiple -10 scores registered. The park can become congested at times with youth sports practices and general park goers. Always Remember - obliviates have the right of way

Other Thoughts:

If you're a beginner, get to this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
yourmomrhymes
Experience: 19.2 years 14 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great course for beginners.
Wonderfully maintained park.
Very nice tee boxes.
Navigation is very easy thanks to signage.
Trees give most holes personality.
Generally very open, some holes have nothing between the tee box and basket.

Cons:

Very easy.
Not a lot of variety.
Fairways are kinda close, but shouldn't be a problem if you can hit the fairway.
Not sure if the pictures on all the signs are accurate, but there is no problem finding the baskets from the tee box.

Other Thoughts:

Great course for beginners.
Great course for more advanced players to work on their ace/birdie game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
papamullins
Experience: 15.6 years 27 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Park is very well maintained. Grass is cut short, tee pads, baskets are in great shape. Signs at baskets pointing towards next tee.

This is a great course to introduce someone to disc golf, or take someone still learning the game. The course opens as you progress, allowing newer players to get a feel for shorter holes and then really drive from the tee.

Cons:

Can get pretty busy during the weekends (lots of families, kids playing, people walking / biking on the sidewalks that roam throughout the course) so be sure it's clear before you throw (you should have no problem seeing from tee to basket on each hole).

Either some of the basket locations moved or some of the signs are wrong on distance.

Not a lot of variety here. It's very straightforward, a few holes with some landscaping (trees) mixed throughout, but that's about it.

Other Thoughts:

My friends and I try to play this course at least once a week for a night round. LL Woods is an EXCELLENT course to play at night; it is very well maintained. There's no fear of throwing in "the rough" and then searching for your disc.

I think this is a great course to relax and practice your game. If you need more of a challenge, head across the highway to Lake Park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
Notorious21
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.9 years 105 played 48 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great for newbs 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 14, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a great course to introduce new players to disc golf. There are a few trees on each hole, enough to make things tricky, but not too annoying. The average length of the holes slowly builds up from the beginning to the end. The back 9 is great for practicing your drives. Pretty much no chance to lose a disc.

Cons:

Not much variety. The last several holes are just long and open. Very flat and repetitive.

Other Thoughts:

Probably won't go back here on my own, but perhaps with someone who wants to learn.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Chained Evil
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.2 years 1131 played 232 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Beginner Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 15, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a very clean and well kept park. The tee pads are more than long enough to tee off on. There are signs directing you to the next tee pad. As the title stats this is a beginner friendly course. All holes are easily attainable for par. #1 is a nice little hole that is thru the trees. Some of the baskets are guarded by trees, but not so much that you would be scared away. There are also some holes that on the backside of the basket it slopes downhill, so there is some risk reward on your approach/putt. The last 4-5 holes have decent length to them so you can air out your drives, but they aren't so long that you can't reach them in 2-3 shots. As previously stated there is basically no water threat, the drainage ditch could have some water in it, but it is not deep enough that you should loose a disc.
This course will not be all that challenging to an advanced/pro level player. Good for practicing medium range drives and up shots.

Cons:

#4's basket was missing its sticker so there was some confusion as to what basket to aim for. There were a few holes that were missing the yardage signs.

Other Thoughts:

Has a nice restroom facility in the middle of the park. There is also ample parking and a nice playground and basketball court for the family members that might not be into disc golf. This is the first course that I ever played on so this place is kinda special to me in a way. During the summer it can get crowded with other disc golfers and walkers. The first time I played here, summer of 2010, there was a school group having a picnic in the park and a kid tried to steal a friend of mines disc. I played here, 3-15-2011, in the morning on a weekday and there was no one playing but there were about 5 walkers, so be aware before you throw. Overall a great learners course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
C-Van
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 120 played 14 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Excellent Beginner course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 8, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Great Tee Boxes and signing. I always knew where to find the next Tee Box after I finished a hole.
-Great usage of limited space. A could see the city making it a 9 hole course based on the area they had, but they pulled all the stops and made a nice 18 hole course.
-Very clean park, well groomed.

Cons:

Can get crowded at times, with people hanging out at the park and there were allot of fellow discers out there when I was there, maybe a sign that there should be another park in the area?

Other Thoughts:

I am from the Austin area, and I was visiting some friends and they took me out to this park. I really enjoyed it, very friendly environment with a relaxed environment. Very good course to go have a chill game and/or practice. To me the first 12 holes were very much different from the last 6 holes, which made it interesting.
-I played this one in the winter and there were no leaves on the trees and all of the grass was dead. I wonder how the course would have been during the spring and/or summer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
TxDiscGolfBoy
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.2 years 34 played 33 reviews
2.50 star(s)

L.L. Woods Rundown!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 15, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete Pads
-T-signs
-Well manicured and very, very clean
-Nice surrounding neighborhood
-Shot Variety (80%mids and 20%drivers from box, anis, hyzers, and str8 line shots)
-Water fountain at hole 10 or something was cool to see (refill station if you will)

Cons:

-Lots of park traffic
-Pretty bland course...not much terrain variety
-Mostly short holes.

Other Thoughts:

Really decent course. Fun to play and great for beginners. Not much to it, but it does offer everything you might want in a small course -- spotty trees, water hazard (if played as so), slight elevation changes mostly found around baskets, mostly short drives with last few holes being of decent size. Good use of the space given.

Great midrange practice course with not-so-long fairways and spotty trees. Also would make a great course for glow games. You wont be losing discs out here.

Easy course to find your way around and it also has a nice flow to it. If you're in the area I'd say it's worth stopping by.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
johnwangg
Experience: 14.1 years 173 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Top 3 Cleanest Courses 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1. This is one clean course. The park is very well maintained (I did see it once not mowed, but that was quickly fixed that weekend). There really is not any trash.

2. All tees clearly marked, and all pads are cemented. The "pseudo" creek is all cemented and never really fills with water. Very easy to get your disc.

3. There is plenty of parking and fairly easy to get to.

4. There are a couple of good holes that may be challenging.

Cons:

1. There really are not any obstacles, you can pretty much launch in any direction. There are a few trees but mostly get in the way if you mess up you mid-shot.

2. Rather short course, you can bomb almost every hole, except maybe the first one (its way too short and not very challenging, if you dont birdie that one, you will par it)

3. There are no elevational changes or challenging tee placements. Its pretty open.

4. It is a shared park so you will get kids as obstacles, along with joggers and even some homes. Ive landed one disc in someones back yard as well as their front yard.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course if your looking for good practice before you go onto the other side and play the lake. I play courses based on location and love it when its in pairs. 2 in lewisville, 2 in mckinney, 2 in cedar hill, dallas and garland (i count that as two also).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
TomSawyer
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

good starter course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 27, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice park for the most part. Easy to get to and close to home. This was my first course to play. It is a great place to "learn" how to play. There are a couple of par 4's all the rest are par 3. Easy to make birdie on several holes. However several holes are harder to make par on.

Cons:

Late in the afternoon at time you may have to throw over soccer players that play on hole # 17. Can usually play all holes in 45 minutes to an hour with no problem at all.

Other Thoughts:

Nice little course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
jermlac
Experience: 14.2 years 15 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

course was very well maintained, drained well after lots of rain, easy to get too from the highway. the drainage ditch that goes through the park is concrete so if you loose your disc, it's easy to hop in and get it, then get back out without sliding in mud.

Cons:

after a week of rain, hole 1 was pretty muddy, as was hole 3, but the rest where in excellent shape. it is a multi use park so the walking path cuts between the tee and the pin on several holes. could be difficult on a busy day.

Other Thoughts:

as a beginner, i think this was a great course for me to play on. i went out on a friday morning that was lightly raining off and on, not enough to worry about getting soaked in. the tee pads are easy to find, but the pins that go to each tee pad are not always clearly defined in the signs. it was a little difficult for our first time, but i'm sure as i go in the future, it will not be a problem to navigate and point out pins for each hole.

also, hole 18 shoots directly at the swing set so if you've got a long drive, you might need to watch your discs between player shots to make sure a kid does not run off with your disc or get in the way of your shots as your finishing up.

i think this would be a great course for an evening round or to build your confidence and distance (especially on holes 15-18).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
grizzledizzle55
Experience: 20.3 years 14 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Quality Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 5, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Well maintained.
-Tee boxes and holes are in good places for the size of the park.
-Great place for new players.
-You feel good about yourself after playing here. Even par is not too hard.

Cons:

-A little short.
-Multipurpose park, so it can get crowded.
-No elevation changes.

Other Thoughts:

Great place to gear up for something more difficult. I started playing on this course. I have not played any other course that I would recommend more to new players. You can play the course fast. Cannot lose a disc here. You should play this before playing lewisville lake park. Gets windy toward the last few holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
txsarge
Experience: 14.2 years 6 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

nice course when muddy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice and open playing field for New players / Clean / Does not get to muddy after it rains for a long time / Nice people to talk to while playing / In a nice area for a course.

Cons:

Half the holes are not marked / Some of the holes that are marked are not marked all the well / Cops are not seen very much
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
StumperTX
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Misunderstood Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Always well maintained, well drained. Baskets in ok to good shape.

this course can be either very easy or harder than the lake course depending on the rules you decide to play.

If you play:
-throw from wherever it hits the ground? it's easy
-marked OB areas (the drainage canals + the roads, etc) are actually treated OB? a little harder
-the concrete paths running through are also OB? challenging
-Concrete paths and beyond are OB? EXTREMELY HARD course

If you still think the course is two easy? I don't want to play you for money.

DD put on a tournament not to long ago, and the winners of both divisions they interviewed said they thought LL woods was hands down the harder course because they played by the hardest set of rules.
easy to find groups playing

Cons:

some of the holes are on the uncreative side, there's kids playing behind 18

Other Thoughts:

You'll (almost) never loose a disc here
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
Cheese
Experience: 19 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Practice anyone? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 22, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete tee boxes, well maintained, easy to follow layout. There should also be no reason you should ever lose a disc here.

Cons:

No really challenging holes. Sometimes the park gets crowded by non-disc golf players.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course to play to get some quick practice worked in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
chingy414
Experience: 22.3 years 61 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Ace run wet dream! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 27, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

LL Woods is a very nice, well kept park surrounded by neighborhoods. It is a pretty short course, but very fun regardless. There are plenty of good ace run holes here. Nice concrete teepads, good baskets, and decent sinage. Couple of holes long enough to let it rip. This is a perfect course to play when other courses are going to be too crowded, or if you are playing both Lewisville courses is a day.

Cons:

Mostly flat, wide open shots. Not a whole lot of variety. It is also not one of the more challenging courses in the area. The are usually quite a few non disc throwing pedestrians, so you need to be cautious when driving on certain holes. I don't play this course very often because when I'm in Lewisville, I prefer to play the Lake course.

Other Thoughts:

LL Woods is a course worth playing. It's a perfect course to get your first ace, but you have to work for most of them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
strain
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.2 years 42 played 40 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A Fun Course in DFW! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice long concrete tee pads
-Decent signs with hole info
-A few ace run shots
-A good mixture of short and long shots
-Signs directing you to the next tee
-Fun but not too challenging
-Cleaned and well maintained
-Garbage cans throughout most of the course
-Great parking
-not too crowded
-Beginner friendly
-Restrooms

Cons:

-Some signs are missing on a few holes
-Beware of other park users

Other Thoughts:

There was not really much of a challenge when I played this course, but I still had a lot of fun. I will be back to play this course when I'm in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top