• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

St. Helens, OR

McCormick Park

3.695(based on 13 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

McCormick Park reviews

Filter
9 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1105 played 681 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

McCormick Park is a mostly wooded 18 hole course that plays entirely on the south side of the creek that runs through the park except for the tee shot on the first hole. The creek comes into play on a few holes but is honestly pretty hard to throw into. There's some rolling terrain out here. Not entirely flat but not what I'd even consider hilly either. The challenge comes in the form of the trees. There's only a handful of holes that are basically wide open off the tee. Accuracy is key to score well out here. There's even a few two shot holes where you need to hit a landing zone to access the green.

The tee pads are concrete. Nicely sized and good tread on them. These were all poured level and worked great. One tee pad per hole.

The baskets are yellow banded Discatcher Pro 24's. The bands are starting to get pretty faded but they're still visible enough that you can spot them from a distance. Despite their age they still catch like new. Two pin positions on most holes and some even had three. One basket per hole.

The design is really solid out here. Lots of challenging but fair holes. As I mentioned above, you'll need to be accurate. Kicking off the fairway can spell instant trouble. The course is pretty rocky so even landing in the fairway can be tough with what seemed like a great shot. Lots of rollaway potential and the rocks can stop shots dead. Very tricky to navigate these fairways for a first time player but a fun challenge.

The tee signs are well done. Big, bright yellow signs with a nice hole map that shows all the pin positions and the distances for each. There's also the hole # and par. The best part about these is that they have washers inserted into the slots next to each pin which show which position is in play. The green (some are silver, assume the green wore off) washers are the pin in play while the red is not. I really love when courses have, and use, this feature.

Free to play and in great shape when we played it. Didn't see any other players out there but you can tell it gets lots of play.

Cons:

There's a number of longer walks between holes which wouldn't be obvious without a map. I'd highly suggest having one available if it's your first time playing here. It'll save you quite a bit of time.

There's a walking path that runs through the course and seemed pretty busy when we played. In addition to that we seen a few other people walking up and down the actual fairways so be sure to keep your head on a swivel.

There's a few spots that were a little soggy but would be underwater in the rainier times. Not sure how high the creek gets but these soggy spots were toward the end of the course away from the creek.

Lots of graffiti on the tee signs and bands of the baskets. This doesn't affect the play at all but it doesn't look very good either.

Other Thoughts:

McCormick was better than I was expecting for whatever reason. I guess you just don't hear as much about it as the other Portland area courses. The golf itself is very fun. I'd say this one is more challenging but less appealing looking than Pier. This one is definitely worth a visit if you're in the area or passing through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.5 years 459 played 436 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Barely remember this one

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- I remember lots of trees and tough, tight lines with punishing rough

Cons:

- It was a bit of a shady area if I remember correctly and navigation was bad too

Other Thoughts:

No more courses played but not reviewed, wish I remembered more to give you more info!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
royvin
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 8.1 years 199 played 66 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Columbia County Gem! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 23, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Awesome variety of holes
-Good use of elevation
-Easy to navigate
-Nice baskets and tee pads
-Alternate pin positions for most, if not all, holes
-Benches at most tee pads, and several trash bins available
-Good mix of par 3's and 4's
-Some really scenic wooded holes
-Nice yellow arrows on the trees showing way to next tee pad
-Big red arrows indicating Mandos are easy to see.
-Practice basket by the parking lot
-Start and finish are near parking lot

Cons:

-Some vandalism to the hole signs at the tee pads
-Some of the holes show par 4, but the basket was clearly in the par 3 position (not a huge con)
-Some rocks, roots and small stumps around some of the greens posed as trip hazards
-Would want to have a spotter, especially in late spring-fall.. ferns and shrubbery below is thick in spots
-Looks like there is potential for some flooding in rainy season

Other Thoughts:

I don't give too many 4's and above, but McCormick Park just earned itself a solid 4, maybe even 4.5! Excellent course! There has obviously been a tremendous amount of care and maintenance gone in which made for a good time.
I was especially fond of the use of ups and downs in the terrain, the raised baskets, and the general unique feeling the course provides. I also liked the the long bridge on hole 6 I believe- probably really helpful during the rainy season. The locals were also friendly.
In addition to the course itself, there is a nice play area, some picnic tables and a war memorial located by parking lot. Unfortunately for my kids, the play area was taped off due to the Corona scare.
If I were to change anything, I would add a couple wide open holes to allow the golfer to really chuck their disc, but pretty much every hole requires hitting a gap early on.
One more note is that the pictures on this site are outdated and make the place look a little scary- but in reality, it was absolutely beautiful out there. I will play again next time I am in the Portland area!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Schreuds2.0
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7.1 years 93 played 81 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Absolutely a must play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Well kept concrete tees with helpful signs
-Baskets are in good shape, nice DISCatchers with visible yellow bands
-Fairways always have distinction from the rough. There is a great mix of holes at McCormick, which I think is a defining feature, and a good one at that. There are some holes which are typical woods holes with dirt fairways and bushy roughs, there are also some open holes with grass fairways and trees lining the rough. But possibly my favorite are the rocky fairways, they look cool, they provide fun basket placements and they add another challenge.
-Elevation is used exceptionally, had I simply walked around the park, I probably would have said that it is mostly flat, but after playing the course, some amount of hill or mound is used on a majority of holes, which just tells you how much care went into the design on this course.
-For the most part, this is a wooded course, and each hole has a very nice use of trees, there are some trees in the fairway that require a shot to be shaped, but not so many that it is more like a wall, then as ou get deeper into the rough, there are more trees that are harder to throw out of
-fairly easy to navigate, most holes are very intuitive as to their location relative to the last hole you played. There are also signs on trees which mark the way to the next tee.
-Benches on most tee areas, on often overlooked element that is especially nice for long days of disc golf and/or waiting for other groups to finish a hole
-McCormick Park certainly has a wow factor. You arrive at the park and it seems like a normal park oth baseball fields and you think, oh great here comes another one of these courses, but then you dive into the trees and the course comes alive.

Cons:

-Water comes into play on one hole (#1) and maybe there is an argument for a couple more (#13ish I think) but that's a stretch. There is a winding creek that would have been cool to incorporate a little more into the design. Even on hole one, it takes a special kind of shank (which I happily executed) to land in the water.
-I played this course in the midst of a massive rain system, and I have to say, it handled it pretty well. There were of course some massive puddles, but I'm sure these aren't always there, because I'm talking about tons of rain.
-In addition to the mud, the tee pads were pretty mucky, it seems that the pads are pretty susceptible to getting muddy.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun course. I was expecting to really love Trojan park and then come to McCormick and be like "meh" but in fact it was the opposite way around. This is a very unique course, and an extremely fun one to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 12, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good mix of par 3s and par 4s.
It's a very challenging course
Good cement tee pads and signs on most the holes
Next tee arrows high up on trees to keep you from getting lost or turned around
Nice baskets and fair lines on most holes
Lots of shots to throw full power drives, as well as accuracy holes to test your short distance shots
Very neat basket placements in rocks on couple holes
Plays over and next to creek on few holes
Hole 6 is favorite hole for me it's an elevated basket and well thought out hole

Cons:

Some tee signs already have been graffitied grrr. Can get pretty overgrown can spend sometime searching for discs. There's lots of leafs and foliage on ground. Plus ivy that can eat discs specially left side 14. The hole 9 is all par 4s with exception of like 2 holes. People not picking up there dog poo was major issue as well throughout course.

Other Thoughts:

When coming here park near the bridge on the road to get to hole 1. Don't park in the parks parking lot or you'll have a pretty big walk and get lost trying to find course. Hole 1 tees off next to the bridge by the main road way before park entrance
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
lucasap
Experience: 18.1 years 155 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Challenging 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Technical course for well rounded golfers. Unbelievable lines and maximum use of space in the park. Water in play on a few holes. Several strategic holes that you can get to with a perfect line or play to space and approach. It was my first time and I really enjoyed the challenge. Some 4's should probably be 3's. I thought it was beautiful and can't wait to see it when green.

Cons:

It may be my fault, but I didn't catch the course map near hole 1. There are several holes where next tee is not marked and several paths merge. It was a minor challenge for 2 first timers at the course. Flow would be better with trail signage. Several lines should have had a small tree or 2 cleared to make it a skill shot rather than blind luck. Graffiti got to some pad signs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
longandwrong
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 59 played 39 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Full meal deal 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 18, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Long course with many challenging first throws. If your new to the course (I was) you have to do some scouting to find the basket the route you want to throw then for the next tee pad. I like the basket in the rock. this course challenges me. UPDATE:Still a very long and difficult course. Not a course to play if you don't like a challenge. I enjoyed the challenge but there was one thing...tall grass...blanketed ground cover Keep your eyes on the flight of your disk.

Cons:

Signs are not the best. Finding hole one from parking lot was not that easy and then hole two's pad was not that easy. UPDATE: Signs are now really good...yellow arrow signs with next hole number were numerous,liked that. Hole number one has moved, it is now right to the right of the bathroom next to a brand new bridge. Nice. The con's are what I talked about on pro's making the course very difficult. if you are not in the 10-15 foot fairway you WILL spend alot of time looking for your disk.

Other Thoughts:

Wading in the river can be fun if its a hot day. Can't say enough about signs and arrows pointing the way.UPDATE: It's really easy for a good player to stay far away from the river. It still makes you think about your overthrows. Long course recommend spotters. My playing partners are intermediate players...throws just off the fairway cost us 1 hour searching for disks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 3
kyleocean
Experience: 26.6 years 184 played 12 reviews
5.00 star(s)

AWESOME 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great layout, use of space
Nice variation of holes/ distances, par 3s and 4s
Course was in great condition.
Nice tee signs and pads
Easy to follow.

Cons:

Can't see the basket on some holes, minor spotting could help, but that is only because the holes where you can't see are super long, so its not necessarily a con.

Other Thoughts:

This course is one of the best in Oregon as far as I am concerned. Its not really in Portland, about 30-40 minutes west, but definitely worth going out to. I would avoid a packed portland course and go play this course where there is hardly nobody there any day of the week. Trojan is not far as well so you can hit them both and make a day of it. I love the tight technical fairways, but there is enough space to still have lots of viable options and routes. So glad to have this course in St. Helens where I have relatives, will play again hopefully every time I go to St. helens.

On another note, I've seen many reviews concerned with spotting, suggesting to take people with you to play. I can see where possibly this could be an issue. however as of now, this course is in awesome condition and we had no problems finding anything and barely used spotters at all. nice work on whoever is taking care of this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
PDXmikeg
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Bring Friends 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful wooded course
Challenging Layout

Cons:

Parked in the parking lot and had a hard time finding hole 1, no signs to the first tee pad?
As of today it is very over grown and looks like it would take a full time crew to manage it.
Hole 2 currently being worked on, plan on skipping it.
Need at least three people to play with to help spot your shots so you don't look so long for your disc.

Other Thoughts:

Play with friends, I played alone and walked off after 3 holes. I play Pier at even par and this is a very challenging course with overgrown fairways. If you have never been here plan to go with someone that has, I had never been here so I had a hard time finding my disc and the next tee pad. I could see that when it is kept up it would be super fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
WilsonSandersDavis
Experience: 20.1 years 121 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

McCormick Wonderland 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Nice Concrete Tee Pads.
-Innova Disc Catcher Baskets, with multiple pins.
-Well Marked with arrows pointing to next tee pad, OBs, and mandos.
-Great Layout with multiple par 4 holes, to create a very challenging course.
-Layout designed well so walking paths not really an issue.
-Good use of elevation changes on some holes.
-Creek running through park comes into play.
-Very clean park with multiple garbage cans throughout course.
-Local restaurants, stores, and Trojan DGC close by.

Cons:

-Could use better signage at tee pads.
-Some holes could be cleaned up, due to lots of undergrowth and downed branches.
-These are very minor issue, really no other cons that I noticed.

Other Thoughts:

This course plays through a heavily wooded multiuse park with a creek running through it. Even though there is a lot more than just a disc golf course at this park you wouldn't know it by how secluded it feels while on the course. The fairways for the most part are easily recognizable. However if you go off of them you are bound to be in thick underbrush which may take a little looking to find you disc. This course was designed very well, the mix of par 3s and 4s complement each other splendidly and add character that you don't see at your standard all par three course. The course seems to have good sponsorship by local disc golf shops and organizations. This Course is fairly new and has amazing potential, in a few years with a little love this course could easily be a 5 disc rating. All in all this is a great course. It might not be the best for beginners but is really fun and challenging for all levels of disc golfers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 6
Dscgl4
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.2 years 166 played 18 reviews
2.50 star(s)

May grow into a good course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is well installed, with quality tee pads and baskets in an attractive forest setting. Navigation is easy and there are some very creative holes with interesting (although not substantial) elevation changes.

Cons:

While there are some good holes here, there are a number of holes with very weak fairways (much too tightly defined) and artificial obstacles (like hole 8). There is not much diversity of shot required--short and technical, bring a mid-range and putter kind of golf.

Other Thoughts:

The course is quite technical and is a great course to strengthen your mid-range game and decision-making. It forces players to re-strategize their approach. On a long course, it is easy to define landing zones with the length of your throws. On this course, for many holes you need to lay up well short of your normal range, then lay up again for a putt. It requires solid course management skills, but is frustrating because it is so tightly designed that it largely denies you access to pins that are only a few hundred feet away. At this time, the risk-reward ratio is too heavily on the risk side. As the course ages and filler trees clear, it will become much more manageable and the risk/reward ratio will shift to allow for more aggressive play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
MikeK
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.2 years 332 played 130 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Big Tree Country 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

--Concrete tee pads
--Woodsy, with incredibly tall trees on most holes
--Pretty creek in view on holes 1,2,3,12,13
--tight and challenging
--some holes have elevation
--good balance of left/right holes
--benches on almost every hole
--wildlife, including woodpeckers and deer
--camping available in the park

Cons:

--all these cons are relatively minor:

--Lots and lots of little stumps to stub your toes and discs
--a couple of fairways that are too tight that can punish a good shot
--poison oak here and there
--no really "epic" holes (although #12 is memorable)
--sorta long walk to get from parking to Hole 1, then you don't get back to your car until after 18
--potential to lose discs in rough without spotters

Other Thoughts:

McCormick Park is a great place to learn how to play on a heavily wooded course. While there are a couple of holes which are poke and hope (#13 comes to mind), most of the holes have legitimate fairways that simply demand accuracy to score well. Hole #12 is the best hole on the course, with a nice 30-40 foot dropoff in the middle of the hole and the creek flowing about 30 feet behind the basket, with trees all along the way. A lot of the greens are "slow" in that most of the time there are rocks or stumps by the basket to keep rollaways to a minimum, so I advise putting hard on those. There are a couple of elevated baskets though, which will punish a miss.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
beeftrout
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Portland areas newest tournament venue 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tight and technical, the schule is rough
Risk and reward on some of the par 4's like 12 and 15
Provides good score separation; every hole is reachable for a birdie, even a couple eagle looks.
Elevated and sunken pins provide interesting greens
Water hazards, although they mostly come into play for tree bounces rather than "should I go for it or not" type shots.
The lines are all established, mid-fairway trees have been continuallly removed to provide a "fair way" to navigate your way to the basket. Bad shots and errant shots are punished with most of them needing a recovery pitch out back to the fairway.

Cons:

Its young, this isn't a fault, but be prepared to watch your step and keep your eye locked on errant shots that reach the schule.
Poison Oak, they do what they can fighting it, but nature is relentless. Know how to identify it and watch where you step when you're off the fairway. Problem areas: 6 behind the pin, 7 off the fairway to the right, 8 near the mando and left side of fairway, 9 left side near bend and behind the pin, 10 and 11 edges of fairway, 16 left side, 17 both sides of approach off the fairway, 18 on the right side off fairway and behind the pin. Its not always in all of these places but this is where it can potentially come in to play. Don't let this deter you from playing this gem of a course.

Other Thoughts:

Great potential here. The lines have been established and I think only some fine tuning will really make the course play better. Some of the straighter par 4's are a bit short and could potentially be long 3's. However, the doglegs 8 and 9 make for great par 4's that are only eagle-able with throw-ins. This course can teach you how to score well by simply keeping it in the fairway. 8 under par or better is do-able without throwing more than 300-330'.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top