• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Mauston, WI

Mile Bluff DGC

3.055(based on 10 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Mile Bluff DGC reviews

Filter
14 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1105 played 682 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Hasn't aged well

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 5, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

Mile Bluff DGC is a pretty solid little 6 hole course only a few minutes off of the expressway. The terrain here is pretty unusual for central WI. The basket placement for 3 and walk to hole 4 seem more like something you'd see in the mountains.

The flow of the course is pretty simple. It's a tiny little park so even without a map you'll be able to figure things out easily. Starts and ends by the small gravel parking lot. Great option if you passing through from the twin cities to Madison to get out a stretch your legs for a bit.

The baskets are Innova Discatchers. These are around a decade old now, but all in still in solid physical condition and catch just fine. The yellow top bands are faded quite a bit but still stand out nicely compared to other all silver models. One basket and pin placement per hole.

There's tee posts by all the holes, except 2 which was missing. These help with locating the tee areas.

There's a surprising amount of elevation for this little 6 holer. Every hole also has some trees to contend with. Not a single completely wide open hole on the course. Honestly it's just a really well designed course for the limited amount of space available. I'm glad they just kept it to 6 interesting holes instead of trying to cram 9 inferior holes in instead.

Free to play and shouldn't take more than a half hour for most players reading this.

Cons:

It's been a few years, probably at least five, since I last played here. It's kinda sad to see the shape this course is in compared to when I first played it. There doesn't appear to be much work being put into it anymore. This was one of the better under 9 hole courses I've played. It still is, just doesn't get the love it used to. It was hit by a pretty substantial storm that did a bunch of damage in 2022 and it has suffered from that for sure.

The baskets all catch great but a few, most notably hole 1, are leaning a bit.

There was a huge tree that fell down on hole 3. Not sure when this happened but it really screwed up the way hole 3 played today. Even if in prime conditions, there's tons of thorn bushes off the fairway. Way worse in the summer but they're still thorns in the winter too, just less of them.

Hole 6 is kind of weird. Not a big fan of that one. It's borderline horseshoe shaped and is pretty lackluster as a finishing hole. I get it though, they ran out of room by that point though it seems.

The tee signs are all gone. There wasn't a single on out there in early February. Not a huge deal, but again, not as polished as the first couple times I've played this one.

Other Thoughts:

This course is still well worth a play if you find yourself nearby, even with all the cons I listed. It used to be such a little hidden gem of a course. The actual play is still pretty good, just not as good as it used to be. But that basically describes my game too. What a drag it is getting old.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19 years 267 played 256 reviews
3.00 star(s)

You'd Never Know it was There 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 2, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

- snakes (ok, i think snakes are cool)
- Innova DISCatcher baskets in decent shape
- 3 and 4 are some of the coolest holes I've ever played
- awesome elevation change and incorporation of natural rock features
- straightforward navigation with exception of missing tee sign

Cons:

- snakes (some people don't, for some reason)
- natural tees, some of which are quite uneven
- rudimentary tee signs, and hole 2 sign missing
- decent number of bees to watch out for
- extremely short, only 6 holes
- virtually no amenities

Other Thoughts:

This is a hard course to rate. On the one hand, from the parking area it looks like nothing special, and it's extremely short with only 6 holes. 1, 2, and 6 are pretty ordinary, but 3-5 are what make this course special. 3 starts by playing uphill towards a rock face at an extreme angle. 4 plays along the bluff up on the rocks and is a really cool place to play from a bit of elevation, but with some risk of your disc going down the bluff. 5 throws back down to the main field. It should be noted the slope on hole 3 is extremely steep and the ground is a bit loose, so be careful.

Most disc golfers enjoy nature, right? Well, I hope so. I saw 2 or 3 snakes here within about a 50-100 ft span, they are all over in the grass. They are small, harmless snakes (garter snakes?) so nothing to really get worried about, just easy to miss so watch your step.

I think this course has the potential to be even cooler if it was expanded between holes 3 and 4 to move up the rocks onto the bluff even higher. It might be a bit precarious but it seems like a cool opportunity. If this could be expanded to 9 holes and have some better tee signs put in, it would be pretty decent.

This course takes advantage of the natural area it is in, but is pretty bare bones besides that. Don't expect benches and trash cans at each hole or anything like that - this is more of a tiny park course. That said, you can complete it in 30 minutes so you don't need much. It's kind of in the middle of nowhere, but if you're nearby I do think it's worth stopping for a fun, quick round. I made a point of stopping here just because of how unique it looked.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Bfrolfer
Experience: 4.1 years 35 played 15 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Coulee Delight 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 2, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

beautiful scenery. Well marked and maintained. Plenty of elevation especially hole 5 from the top of a sled hill.

Cons:

Only 6 holes

Other Thoughts:

There should be room for the Mauston Kiwanis to add three more tees up the hill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
aphilso1
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6.8 years 52 played 50 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Tiny but Mighty 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 4, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful scenery! Holes 3-6 all have some really pretty views, with Hole 3 having an absolutely gorgeous green tucked into the side of a steep rock face.
Baskets are in great shape and tee signs are sufficient to navigate the course easily.
Most of the holes have a fairly technical line to hit, so while the course is short there is still a decent challenge to it. Quite fun overall.

Cons:

Only 6 holes, all of them on the short end distance-wise. You really only need putters plus a Firebird-style overstable disc to score well.
Natural teepads are fairly rutted out.

Other Thoughts:

Lots of fun, well worth the stop off the interstate. It's a great chance to stretch your legs on a road trip. Would be great if they ever expand the course further up the rock into the trees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
aajpity
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 64 played 21 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great rest stop 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

I came to the course on my way back up to Minnesota. It was a perfect course to stretch out a little and wasn't far off the main road. I thought the tees were nice and the maps on each hole with par on it was a really nice little touch. The baskets are clean and the space is used rather well. The scenery was beautiful with the rocks on the hill.

Cons:

Not much of a challenge but it isn't extremely easy either. The paths were covered with plants that were sometimes sharp which my girlfriend didn't much care for. Houses are to the right of Hole #1 so you're almost playing in people's backyards. Hole #6 has trees knocked down everywhere and I almost lost a disc in the mess.

Other Thoughts:

It's a cute little course. I appreciate it for what it is and had a good time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
DrewbieDoobieDoo
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.2 years 253 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A welcomed surprise cool course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 8, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Although this course is only 6 holes and on little land, it is still a well thought out design on the terrain given. Each tee has a map with distance and direction of the basket. Four out of the six holes incorporate elevation change either throwing to an elevated target, or teeing from an elevated tee box. Hole 3 is a memorable one, with the basket sitting on face of a bluff after a sharp dogleg- really cool hole for any course! All holes make great use of the trees on the land to force lines and reward good shots without being unfair or too challenging for new players.

Cons:

Only 6 holes. Footing on some of the natural teeing surfaces uneven/ muddy.

Other Thoughts:

Played as a quick stop on a road trip and was very impressed. Great course to stop, stretch the legs, and play six really cool holes. Would love to play this course regularly and make up some "local holes" too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Freebird
Experience: 16.2 years 19 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Worth a stop 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 18, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great baskets, fantastic signs.

Cons:

Short, bugs, plays real close to neighbors' back yards, bugs, lousy parking for the Hog. Did I mention the bugs?

Other Thoughts:

I love the tee markers, you have no trouble navigating this course. We played early in the morning and the very long grass which really needed mowing was very wet, making for wet feet and slippery discs. A bad throw or a tree bounce can easily put you in someone's back yard, always an uncomfortable thing, but no one came out to yell at me when I threw my wet slippery disc into the mosquito-infested bushes at the back of their yard. 3 is very cool, as is 4 where you throw back down the bluff over or around some very nasty brush. 6 was kind of fun but it has been a wet year and the middle of the fairway was literally a small pond. All in all, though, a very nice course for a small town.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13 years 1010 played 214 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Best 6 hole course I can imagine! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 16, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

6 hole course located on the edge of Mauston, WI.

Nice Discatcher baskets, all in really nice shape. One pin position per hole.

We pulled up to this course, on a complete whim on our way home from a bagging weekend in the Twin Cities, and were pleasantly surprised by the first couple holes. Nice and wooded, a little bit of challenge. Then we turned the corner on hole 3 to see the basket, and both of us said "HOLY SH!T". Basket, perched up in the middle of sheer rock walls...just totally awesome. Walking down narrow rock trails next to a sheer face to get to the next hole. Stunning.

Nothing too long here, but it wasn't crazy short, either. Lots of mature trees to add difficulty. Some nice forced lines.

Nice home made wooden signs. Navigation is pretty simple.

Cons:

6 holes. BUM-MER. I can't even begin to imagine how awesome a course going up the rock wall and around could be.

There's some spots that hold water here. Not a huge deal, but it's worth noting.

Natural tee pads...but it is only 6 holes, after all.

No real bomber type holes here...it's all pretty technical.

Other Thoughts:

Most of the awesomeness of this course is the setting, even though the golf is pretty solid and fun. You're on the edge of town, with some backyards along the first couple holes...but it feels secluded.

It's not really near anything, but if you happen to be here, go play it. Take pictures. Have a picnic. Groove.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Birddb
Experience: 9.2 years 28 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Small Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 29, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Surprisingly nice course.
A variety of shots.
The third basket is a little up the side of a bluff, giving this a nice challenge.

Cons:

I didn't realize that some of the next tees were on the previous tee sign, so it was a bit tricky to find the 4th tee box. This was complicated by the fact that the leaves had just fallen and covered up any path that might have indicated where to go.
Would be nice if there were more holes, but I'm not sure where they would go.

Other Thoughts:

A few holes reminded me of a shorter easier Justin Trails. Great course for beginners and I think it would provide interest for more experienced players as well. This course was a great surprise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Jimmy_Saskatchewan
Experience: 22.2 years 13 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

AWESOME HIDDEN TREASURETTE! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

- For such a little course I was so impressed with how well it was mapped out. There was no confusion about the next hole because the map shows the tee box for the following hole.
- The holes offers a fair amount of challenge and usually hang around 250 feet in length.
- Dedicated course in clean and well-maintained park.

Cons:

- a 6-hole course.
- Tees are grass and shaded by woods so they are trampled down to dirt, so it is easy for them to get slippery and greasy.

Other Thoughts:

If you plan to make the trip make sure you bring bug dope and a pair of shoes with good tread. Lot of uneven and/or eroded ground around tees & pins.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top