• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Fridley, MN

Riverfront Regional Park

3.385(based on 12 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Riverfront Regional Park reviews

Filter
10 0
Sethamphetamine
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 82 played 12 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun course but heed expectations if solely looking at rating. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 21, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

+Upkeep is top notch and pins are moved regularly. +Multiple pads. +Good variety of shots considering the tight space the park occupies. +DD Veteran baskets. +Signage accurate and easy to read. +Local club support promises improvements (teepads, more holes)+Cool views with proximity to the Mississippi River. +Bathrooms near parking lot by hole 1 pad.

Cons:

-Busiest course in the area, after work and weekends very busy. -Rubber pads slick when wet.

Other Thoughts:

Riverfront is a solid city course about 10 minutes from downtown Minneapolis. Great option for a quick round when visiting the area or when trying to bag multiple courses in a short period of time. Course is heavily trafficked, so weekday nights and weekends can mean a longer round due to other people playing. Park is a shared space, watch for bikers and pedestrians on the walking paths. The word to describe this course is one that can describe 9 of the 10 courses closest to your house- solid, fine, good, etc. This is not a course you play multiple times a week because of the challenge- holes are mostly straightforward and the average golfer can shoot under par without too much issue. Riverfront is not one of the most played courses in the area because of the epic views or the scenic walk in the woods- you get some great views of the river and it\'s never bad to get underneath some trees for an hour, but the river doesn\'t really come into play (beyond errant shot on hole 13 when in long position is your one chance to go swimming!) and you can hear a highway that is less than 100 yards away. Twin Cities golfers haven\'t all played this course dozens of times because of top end amenities- as far as city parks go, Riverfront is lucky to have a parks employee for a designer (shout out to the Architect!) so disc golf gets more love at this park than most, but it\'s still a city park so nothing crazy or super disc golf centric. The reason this may be your most played course is because it\'s close and it\'s fun. You will have fun playing this course, but you won\'t go home telling friends to cancel their plans and head to Fridley for the best day of their lives. In the world of free disc golf courses that exist within city parks, especially those in urban areas, Riverfront is top half, maybe better. Drive 30 minutes in any direction and you will have several higher rated and more memorable options. Rating for this course will be forever inflated because it is so frequently played. League in the summer on Monday nights. Sign up in the pavilion. Course is closed every spring for erosion control. Check open/closed status if visiting March/April-ish. Forgotten Star Brewing across the street from Hole 5 is good for a pre round beer and they usually have a food truck.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
fociP
Experience: 7.1 years 34 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun wooded course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Easy access, lots of parking and other park activities are close by.

Dual tees, and the shorts often require a completely different shot, not just the same drive but starting 50 feet closer. Playing both or alternating is a good way to mix things up if you come here often.

Frequent basket position changes, now with accurate signs on every teepad!

Good variety of hole types, some fairly open bombers and some tightly wooded ace run holes.

Great effort to keep cyclists on the bike trail through the course out of harms way, you only cross the path on one drive and it is very easy to double check no one is coming.

Navigation is pretty smooth, just keep going south until you run out of holes then turn around and come back north.

Cons:

Rubber teepads tend to collect rainwater in the center.

The bike path is in play on a couple holes if you shank your drive.

The evergreen trees love to snag discs like the kite-eating tree. Bring something to knock them down with.

I swear they keep making the inbounds area smaller and smaller on hole 12...

Other Thoughts:

Riverfront has something to offer players at many skill levels, you can start out here and not be too frustrated but scoring well from the longs requires precision.

13 holes is better than 9 but I've played a tournament with added temporary holes and I wish they could stay in all the time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19 years 265 played 251 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Surprisingly Fun Disc Golf Alongside the Mississippi 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

- large rubber tees are decent
- cool views of Mississippi River along course
- surprisingly good use of a narrow strip of land
- fantastic full color tee signs
- dual tees and multiple pin placements on all holes
- great next tee arrows built in to baskets
- high quality Dynamic Discs baskets
- well kept park in great condition
- garbage and recycling cans throughout course
- each tee sign has a selector to mark which pin position is currently populated, a nice touch I hadn't seen before
- nice mix of open and wooded shots, with a good number of obstacles for a small city course
- very well documented navigation

Cons:

- upgrade to concrete tees would be nice
- not much elevation change, no water hazards
- some safety hazards with walking paths, particularly on holes 4 and 13
- course seems to heavily favor LHBH/RHFH shots
- not the highest level of challenge, but generally fun enough to make up for it

Other Thoughts:

Riverfront Regional Park probably won't blow you away, but I found it to be a pleasant surprise. The Mississippi may not be the most beautiful natural feature, and there's a highly industrial area on the other side of this course, but you can't beat the uniqueness. Here in the heart of Minneapolis industry, a 13-hole disc golf course has been wedged into this thin strip of land along the river. The views of the river are cool, but you aren't actually close enough to be throwing discs in.

This park was nicer than I expected, with some good wooded shots/hazards to make up for the generally flat and narrow course. Money has clearly been put into this course, and the hole count seems to have been maximized. There are high quality baskets, great tee signs, and the park is very nicely maintained. The biggest con is the walking paths throughout the park, which definitely present some safety hazards - mainly on holes 4 and 13, which throw directly over paths. I would love to see this modified for general safety.

This is by no means a destination course, but if you come for Blue Ribbon Pines or one of the other great courses in the Minneapolis area, this is worth a quick round. It was surprisingly busy and speaks to the popularity of disc golf in Minnesota. I enjoyed my round despite my arm aching from 3 straight days of disc golf - this is a pretty quick round that won't tax you too hard. I recommend it if you want to sneak another course in while you're in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
aajpity
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 64 played 21 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Enjoyable Golf Round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

- There are signs on the road pointing you to the course and at the park entrance an arrow shows the way to the disc golf course.
- Plenty of parking.
- Hole 1 is right next to the parking lot with a sign indicating it is the first hole.
- There is a minimap at each tee showing where the baskets are and the total distance.
- The new rubber teepads are comfortable and spacious.
- It was a well groomed park so I wasn't scared about losing any discs.
- Each hole presented some unique challenges and I was forced to utilize my bag with different shots.
- There are logs to sit down on at each teepad.
- There are two teepads for each hole, one longer and one shorter in distance to the basket.
- Some shots at this course do require a distance driver.
- The course layout wraps around so you finish at the parking lot.
- The course offers a practice basket at the beginning.
- There are arrows in each basket pointing you towards the next teepad.

Cons:

- The course is a quick 13 holes.
- It wasn't clear which basket was set up at each teepad so I did have to walk forward to see where I was throwing at times.

Other Thoughts:

There isn't a ton of negative things to say about this course. It was easy to find and navigate the course itself. The teepads were spacious and the baskets were easy to spot. It was only 13 holes but it was nice being forced to utilize my bag.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
bobmcnelly
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.2 years 344 played 195 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 18, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

- good quality rubber tees, long and shorts at all holes
- good quality baskets with multiple positions
- variety of distances ranging from 250' to 600' and multiple par 4s
- multiple shot types needed to hit all the lines on this course
- navigation is pretty easy to follow
- practice basket
- quick play course with easy access

Cons:

- only 13 holes
- tee signs don't show the current basket position
- no elevation change

Other Thoughts:

Fun quick course. 13 holes sort of takes away from it just a little. But we'll worth stopping and playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Badgerman
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 551 played 62 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Riverfront-Fridley 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

+ Tons of parking
+ Dual tees and 3 basket positions
+ Dead easy navigation, baskets have red and blue arrows pointing to the next tees
+ Signage is wonderful, big map at the start tells you what position the basket is in.
+ Every hole has at least a couple trees on it, excellent mix of field and forest
+ Long tees are a different sight-line than the short, I don't like it when the only thing long tees add is distance.
+ Obstacles include trees, brush, and 4ft high metal poles (reminds me of pinball when I'm not on my game.
+ Not much elevation change, but good use of the little that is there.
+ Clean and well maintained

Cons:

- Not a lot of shot-shaping required
- High brush on a few holes can be frustrating if you shank it or are a beginner
- Tee pads are already eroding

Other Thoughts:

All in all this is a nice course even though I feel really weird playing 13 holes.

To raise the rating to a 3.5: Concrete pads.
To raise the rating to a 4: a few more trees on the more open holes and clear brush on 3, 4, and 5
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
primedisc
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.1 years 33 played 20 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pretty vanilla but vanilla can be good 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 15, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Two teepads widens the appeal. Even from the Blues it's not real tough, but I like the option to make it harder/easier depending on skill level
- Navigation was easy, tee signage was great.
- Pretty nice variety of shots/layouts. Fairly open in spots but no holes feel like you're just throwing to a basket in a field.
- Not much overlap with other park users
- 13 holes is better than 9

Cons:

- No elevation/water or true wooded holes. They work with what they have but it's fairly vanilla
- Rubber teepads were a bit slippy on some holes
- 13 holes is worse than 18.

Other Thoughts:

There aren't many big cons at this course, but nothing really to make it stand out either. It's pretty easy and plays pretty quick, but that's neither a con or a pro in my book. I wish they could've involved the lake on some holes and I wish it was a full 18 but what can you do. It's close to the cities, which is nice. I enjoyed my round and it's a solid course I'll definitely be coming back to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Bobafred78
Experience: 10 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Solid urban park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent signage. Well-groomed. Efficient layout and use of space available.

Cons:

Only 13 holes...just play twice!

Other Thoughts:

Really like this new (to me) course. Excellent design with two tee pads on most holes and multiple pin placements. Very good use of the space and fairways have many route choices. Park is kept up nicely and a glimpse of the river here and there doesn't hurt. "Island" hole is a great feature! Can't wait to play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
DoubleHyzer
Experience: 7 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice Easy Flowing 13 Holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

• Easy to find and navigate
• Practice basket
• Two teepads per hole (blue/red)
• Three possible pin positions (big map by hole 1 tells you what position is current)
• Fair but tough lines
• Baskets have directions to the next tees in them
• Island hole (unique and fun for a 13-hole course)
• Good mix of distances and lines
• Very well maintained, nice paths
• Hard to lose a disc

Cons:

• Rubber tees could be concrete. I played the day after some rain and ate **** on one of the pads
• Only 13 holes. Not really a con but wish the quality extended to 18 holes but not much they could do
• Blue tees have a decent walk between some holes. Not bad at all but worth mentioning

Other Thoughts:

A very nice and well maintained 13-hole course. Wish they could have put the same quality into an 18-hole course cause this course is great. None of the cons are that big of an issue. Very easy flowing and fair lines where you have a chance at every hole if you hit the right line. I will be coming back to work on my forehand (RHFH) lines as there are quite a few holes for them. Side note: this course could maybe be listed as moderately wooded?? I also update the blue tees to include all 3 pin positions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Monkeypaws
Premium Member
Experience: 12.1 years 96 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Riverside is a cool little 13 hole course. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

On the plus side:

•Signage - there are detailed signs on each tee pad. Some even have specialized instruction, such as the island hole #12.

•Multiple tee pads - There is enough difference between the two shots to make it interesting. There is a clear difficulty difference between the two as well, blue hander than red.

•Related to signage, but there are color coded directional indicators to the next tee in the bottom of each basket. Great stuff.

•Dynamic Veteran baskets - nice and fat and catch a lot of discs. Never threw on them before, but like them a lot.

•Variety - threw almost all 18 discs in my bag. Even get a chance to go big on 13. However, there isn't much need for high speed drivers here. I love the island hole, #12.

•Tee pad brushes - mounted on a hook next to every tee pad. What a nice touch.

•Easy access off of the interstate. Trash and restroom available.

•Extremely clean and well-maintained.

Cons:

Wouldn't necessarily call t a con - more midddling.

•Tee pads. They are nice and big, but I am not a fan of rubber. It rained hard the night before, and even after using the brush to remove the puddles, I still damn near broke my neck on one with a major slip.

•13 holes. No idea what the logistics would be to bump it up to 18, but given that it has a river on one edge, probably not happening. Very industrial on the other side.

Other Thoughts:

Overall impression:

This is a fun disc golf course - it is close enough to many other courses to make an appetizer or dessert of it, which I bundled with Bethel. It is pretty easy, which can also be a plus depending on how bad other courses may have treated you. I love a course where you can show up and play without a map, and easily navigate to the next hole, and Riverfront has it in spades. 13 holes is better than 9, and if I was looking for a quick fix in the north Metro of Minneapolis, this would be a repeat customer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Rogue007
Experience: 11.3 years 6 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Place to be seen!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful property and park,Great mix of woods and grass holes with enough challenge for all!! Two rubber mat Tees each hole with Three basket locations (Veteran Baskets) Waste Recycling containers each hole. Restrooms Picnic Tables and Shelters at start of course. Super signage at each Tee, Nice views of Mississippi River (Not in play) Bring a picnic basket beautiful park.

Cons:

Can be busy! at times. Has walk path near some holes (Look out for walkers and bikes) New course with tree stumps marked with Red paint!! (Watch when walking)

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun!! course with a good challenge for all but the best,If even a couple more holes could be added it would rate even higher!! If you live in the Twin Cities this is one you have to play several times!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Bitter Mouse
Experience: 29.1 years 92 played 14 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Riverfront 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a fun rec style course. There are two tees each hole and three possible pin positions (The day I played the course it was in pin positions A). The tees are solid and the baskets and pin positions are pretty good.

There is good use of terrain, including trees and solid use of the limited elevation. The rough exists, but it not too bad. It would be hard to lose a disc.

For rec play there was enough distance and challenge, and even pretty good players will find some fun shot shaping required.

Navigation is a snap, with maps at the tee and arrows in the baskets pointing to the two different pads. Overall flow of the course is pretty good, with only a couple minor annoyances.

The course was well mowed and maintained. It is a pretty course and park and there is plenty of parking, restrooms and such on sight.

Cons:

13 holes. It is obvious how that ended up at that number, because that is how much space they had and they used it all. But still, magically add five holes and you have a darn good course.

The holes are fairly easy, you have to work to deviate too much from par (I managed to double bogey one hole in my two rounds, and that was playing poorly, and only because I somehow parked a disc in tree, sigh).

Despite the name there is no water on the course and you only get a couple glimpses of the river.

Other Thoughts:

Overall it is a fun course. Playing alone it took me about 45 minutes each time through, so it is not very long. There was a fair amount of people out for a new course, so expect it to be busy during peak hours.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top