• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Minneapolis (Edina), MN

Rosland Park

Permanent course
2.555(based on 33 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Rosland Park reviews

Filter
10 0
User061824
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 1.2 years 45 played 45 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2023 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

--Concrete tees
--Large very gnarly trees make good guardians
--Free to play

Cons:

--Not the most peaceful venue

Other Thoughts:

Rosland is a nice little park course. If I lived within walking distance, I'd consider myself fortunate and play it quite often. That said, disc golf feels very much like an afterthought here.

The main attractions are a waterpark and the enviable sort of playground I wish was there when I used to play occasionally in RP 50 years ago. In summer, this is a bustling place. Add to that a crosstown freeway running along the 3rd and 4th holes, and the end result is that this isn't an especially serene place to play. If you can catch a round here off-season and during off hours though, you'll enjoy a nice park course playing under the shade (mostly) of large disc-swatting trees.

The walk won't kill you, but this course plays with 1-5 on one side of the waterpark, and 6-9 on the other. The first grouping is semi-open, more dotted with trees than completely beneath them. #3 is a wide open ace run down a hill, but the rest will require some degree of shaping to avoid the guardians. My favorite hole of the second grouping is #9, which offers you a safe, easy par around the trees to the right, but dares you to hit a very narrow gap up the middle to get the birdie.

This isn't one I'll return to necessarily, but I played a couple of rounds here and enjoyed them. If you like your rounds remote and quiet, just be selective about when you visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
bobmcnelly
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.2 years 344 played 195 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

- decent baskets with numbers on them
- nice clean park
- good variety of distances ranging from 180 feet to 350
- good use of tree to add some challenge
- good use of elevation

Cons:

- navigation is very tough, I needed to use Udisc for basically every hole
- tee pads are very small
- holes 6-9 are on the other side of the park
- a few holes play very close to the road

Other Thoughts:

Fun little park course but signage would make it much more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
primedisc
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 33 played 20 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Some TLC could go a long way 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Some nice holes for a public park 9. Make use of mature trees in spots.
- Makes use of some elevation change on a few holes.
- pretty setting
- Clean

Cons:

- Two big cons: No tee signage and it's a split course with 6-9 played on the other side of the park. There is absolutely no way to know this without playing with someone who's played it before or consulting Udisc. No signs at all make navigation tricky.
- Another decent sized con: it's a mixed use park that has a lot of other non-disc golfers on nice days. There were people in the fairways several times in my round.
- Small teepads
- Short

Other Thoughts:

I liked how the holes played, it's a nice quick, short course to work on your midranges or go for some ace runs. Nothing crazy but not super boring either. The lack of signage really hurts the ranking in my book - some tee signs and some direction on where to go between 5 and 6 would be huge improvements. It's too bad because the course was actually getting a fair amount of use when I was there. The lack of signage combined with the fact that the park can be crowded when it's nice out means I'm not likely to be back, but there are worse public park 9s.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
NoFoxDG
Experience: 5.3 years 10 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice course for beginners, nothing special 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Shorter holes make it a decent intro course, though better "first courses" exist.
- Putter rounds here can be interesting and challenging.
- Nice variation of shot lines exercise your base repitiore.

Cons:

- Odd, split layout for a 9-hole course, required by the nearby water and children's parks.
- Nearby park means that course is often also home to non-golfers, though most are respectful of golfers in play.
- A few of the holes are VERY close to both the highway and nearby roads, making a slice a fairly dangerous proposition.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I'm glad I played the course, but I won't be going out of my way to return. It's a good course, especially if you live in the area, but not one I'd expect anyone to go out of their way to visit, given MSP's other options.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
MPLSLam
Experience: 16.2 years 10 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Executive 9-Hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 12, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great variation of holes. Not a lot of woods. Easily play all 9 holes with 4/5 people on a lunch break.

Cons:

There is a water park in the middle of the course, so if there are groups of kids they will picnic in the middle of a hole.

Other Thoughts:

More signage would be better. Right now they could use some TLC to the holes to get more wood chips down. Otherwise a great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Muskiebite
Experience: 14.2 years 174 played 29 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good for what it is 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-It's a short 9 hole course in the middle of Edina, it makes the best of it's limited size.
-a Pitch and Putt for experienced players but for new players will provide a great place that isn't discouraging.
-Ace Runs on 1,3, and 9

Cons:

-The concrete pads are small and raised inside the larger teeboxes. These teeboxes can fill with water during the wetter months.
-No signage, 5 holes on one side of the park and 4 on the other side, for people new to the course they may not know to go across the park to finish the course.
-Can get busy with huckers that will throw on you.
-The back 4 holes play very close, the basket for hole 5 and tee box for hole 7 are very close to the fairway for hole 6 and a grip locked disc could very easily hit someone putting on 5 or driving on 7.

Other Thoughts:

It's a small park in the middle of the city so a large sprawling course isn't possible just a fun rec course for lunch breaks or after work. I'm always nervous about sending a disc over highway 62 and I wish there was a higher fence.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
dutchrunningriot
Experience: 35 played 8 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 19, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The Kenneth Rosland disc golf course is a great nine hole course located in the suburbs of the twin cities. It is a simple course that offers moderate elevation change and is a great course to develop your abilities as a disc golfer. It is a shorter course, but still challenging enough that a serious disc golf will enjoy the 9 hole tune-up.

Cons:

The cement tee pads are small and several of them are raised which is a concern for those who have long run ups or those who step through after their release.

After hole 5, the 6th tee is a long ways away (600 plus feet) and there were no markers seen pointing out where to head next.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Arnie
Experience: 16.2 years 61 played 38 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Everything is well maintain. The layout is good for the space they have.

Cons:

Signs, would be helpful. Tee boxes are nice and big, but the concrete pads are to small. Safety on Hole #3, because of a walking path.

Other Thoughts:

There were some other players who did show some common since. Park is busy with kids.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
thebeard
Experience: 10 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great for beginners and short game practice. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The park itself is easy to find and once you find the first hole it isn't that difficult to navigate the course (as long as you remember that 6 starts on the opposite side of the pool area from the 5 basket)
The park is cleanly groomed and well maintained. The holes take advantage of the space the park has and gives you a full 9 hole round of short and forgiving disc golf. It is well suited for the beginner. No need for a full bag of discs. Driver (optional), mid and put is all you need.
The thing that I love about this course is that the pin placement does offer you some options to make the shots a bit more challenging if you'd like to work on certain techniques. It makes good use of the elevation changes without making it a shirpa required journey.

Cons:

If you are looking for a challenge, this course is probably not for you.
The holes are fairly short and don't offer much for difficult shots without using some imagination.
The biggest downfall to this course is there really isn't a place for a grip and rip opportunity. The holes are too short for any serious driving to be done.
The pads are short, but I use a short approach so it doesn't affect me in the slightest. If you use a long stride approach, you are going to hate these pads.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, as a beginner myself, I do like this course as it offers me a safe (very difficult place to lost a disc) and convenient course for me to practice this new hobby of mine.
I've played nearly a dozen courses in the twin cities and I would rate this one as one of the top for beginners tied with Central Park.
Beginners and short game practice is what this course gives you in a very nice, clean and well groomed manner.
I don't care how good I get at this game, I will play this course without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
aajpity
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 64 played 21 reviews
0.00 star(s)

Avoid Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The baskets are functional and girls are in bikinis at the waterpark. The grass is also kept short.

Cons:

The course is very very very easy. No challenges what so ever. No signs or maps to help you find holes, it is extremely confusing. Tee-pads are extremely small.

Other Thoughts:

Avoid this course because it is so confusing and easy. There are other courses in the area that are far better. It is a nice area for walking, biking, swimming, or having a picnic but the disc golf is not worth a trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
bigbeano
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.2 years 34 played 28 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Don't sprain an ankle on the tee pads... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Grass kept nice and short
-Bathrooms on site (however they were closed for the year when I was there, not sure the operating times on them)
-Nice fully grown trees which force you to shape shots on several holes
-Cement tee pads are present...however

Cons:

-Aforementioned tee pads are ridiculously short
-Ground is badly eroded in some areas, especially around the tee pads
-Course layout is suspect at best as the course is split into two essentially
-There is a dangerous intersection of the approach for hole 7, green for hole 6, and tee-off for hole 8 that is just a disaster waiting to happen
-Navigation is poor at best, I had numerous difficulties finding the next hole, especially because...
-No signs

Other Thoughts:

First off, I was thoroughly unimpressed with this course. I wasn't expecting a lot going in since it was an urban course in a city park; but in my opinion it still fell flat even with that expectation.
The tee pads are joke, it would be better if they were removed. They are so short that they are unusable. If you do insist on trying to use them you'll either commit foot fouls and fall off the front into the deeply eroded ground that is nowhere near level with the pads, or you'll have to start from behind the pad and trip on it again because of the badly eroded ground. It's best if you just tee off from the side of the pad and ignore it all together.
Navigation is a challenge the first time here as well. There is a map posted up on one of the boards in the park, but it is nowhere near the start of the course or on the path that you would take at any time during your round; so unless you know it's there you're not going to see it. There's a mailbox that is supposed to have scorecards in it at the beginning, but of course it had no scorecards in it; just a candy bar wrapper and an empty energy drink can. Compounding the navigation problem is the fact that there are no signs. The short tees (which have no tee pads) have a hole number and distance on a 4x4 in the ground; but they are not near the main tees and can be hard to find.
I had a big problem with the course layout at hole 7 as mentioned in the cons of the course. Hole 6 ends awfully close to the line you'd take on a drive from hole 7 which is also right next to the tee pad for hole 8. To make it even worse, after you finish hole 6 you are required to walk back, essentially on the fairway, to the hole 7 tee pad. It's a horrible design and I'm sure more than a few people have been pelted by a disc at this intersection in the past. This would be a huge bottleneck during a time when the course would be busy as well.
The length and difficulty of the course is typical of your standard rec course. Everything is reachable from the tees if you are decent at driving and if not it's still a pretty easy par. There are better rec courses around than this one, I doubt that I'll be visiting this course again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Badgerman
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 551 played 62 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Lots of trees and litter, no signs. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 19, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1) Well groomed. You can tell that the city is out here every week mowing, there's no rough at all.

2) Good use of natural elevation, #1,4, and 6 are all slightly uphill, 8 is slightly downhill. 2 is up a fairly steep hill and 3 throws down that same hill.

3) 6-8 were full of nice, mature trees.

4) Dual tees, although the shorts are kind of hard to find.

Cons:

1) No Tee signs anywhere, you have to backtrack across the parking lot to get to the back 4 but there's no sign telling you where to go.

2) While there is a mailbox for scorecards, there were none just some garbage.

3) Speaking of garbage, it was everywhere, doesn't make sense, there are garbage cans scattered throughout the course

4) I'm not a fan of water hazards at all, but for a park with 2 small lakes on the property it doesn't make sense to me to not incorporate them somehow.

Other Thoughts:

The raised concrete tees on the front 5 are nice because they stay clear of wood-chips but they're just a little short.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
megamerican
Experience: 27.2 years 34 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Short and Bittersweet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 7, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a very typical pitch and putt recreational course, meant for casual play, short rounds in a family environment. It features a variety of shots with plenty of mature trees but does not vary much in length so you can keep your drivers at home.

This course features:
-Chainstar baskets which do not need maintenance
-Short holes but a variety of shots and elevation
-The mature oak trees on holes 6 through 9 make for a nice challenge and are more technical than the previous 5 holes. There are multiple lines you can take to each of the holes but you have to keep it low in order to score birdies.
-Hole #3 is a short downhill shot which people at any skill level can go for an ace run.
-Hole #4: For an added challenge try throwing from the pedestrian bridge over Highway 62.
-Hole #5 features a small water hazard if your shot strays too far to the left

Cons:

There are a few drawbacks to playing here however they are not going to kill your round

-Small concrete teepads on all the holes and on some of them the ground around them have eroded due to traffic making them useless. On those holes I typically shoot to the side on the ground/wood chips rather than the tee pad.
-No signage to get you to holes 6-9 after completing the first 5. Make sure to look at a map before going although it isn't hard to find on your own. It is on the other side of the parking lot and near the entrance to the water park.
-You can easily throw your disc onto a busy street on hole #8, like I did and watch 3 cars run over it before you can get to it. I suppose that is one way to beat in a Roc.

Other Thoughts:

This is a decent course if you are just starting to play again and aren't up for the challenge of Bryant Hill or Hyland nearby, or if you want to bring somebody new to the game. If it weren't for the proximity to where I live it is a course you'd probably just be better off skipping.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Aim For The Chains
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.2 years 134 played 25 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Where do I go?! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Well groomed park
-Tee box areas with (small) cement tees which could use some attention but at least in place and shortness of tees not a huge con due to mostly shorter shots not requiring a big run-up.
-Large oak trees throughout with good use of small rolling hills and space provided.
-Solid chainstar baskets
-Multi use park good for kids and families (can also be a con when very busy but not a bad thing to be a community gathering place and expose the game of DG to everyone.) Nice pool waterpark, baseball, walking/biking paths, and playground.
-Many ace runs

Cons:

-Short tees with eroded ground surrounding them which causes drop offs in front of tee to easily cause a fall or ankle injury.
-NO SIGNS .. besides one on the main park board posted in the middle of the park which you won't even notice until hole 6. Not impossible to navigate if you have even 1/2 a brain but some updating could go a long ways here.
-Mostly straight shots with mids or putters
-Deteriorating tee box areas
-Fairly open

Other Thoughts:

Good warm up course for HSSA or Bryant and quick play for multiple rounds. Lack of signage and some updating are the biggest issues here but fun course and worth checking out if in the area.

www.facebook.com/DiscGolfMN
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.2 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Very Typical Park Course With Work Being Done! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Rosland Park DGC is just your typical urban disc golf course set in a nice multi-use park. The park houses ballfields, swimming pools, tennis courts, walking trails and all the park users that go along with these amenities.

Right off, I liked the DG mailbox which contained course maps. A cute idea. The course plays 1-5 on one side of the pool and then a fairly long walkout to 6-9 on the other side. I'm glad I was being hosted by locals, Don and Skip, or else this would have added some confusing navigational issues.
A major complaint and a valid one here is the raised concrete teepads. The dirt around them has eroded away leaving the concrete standing 2"-4" higher. The parks department was working on this by installing timbers around the tees with woodchips. When finished, they'll be very nice. The park workers were also building timbered in landscaping areas around the baskets to help with erosion issues. As I understand this is a heavy use course, both of these improvements are welcome.
This is just your basic Rec-Pitch & Putt. Only one hole is longer than 248' so I guess I'd call it a Rec course. My favorite hole was # 3. It's just a little 175' ACE run. Those short ACE runs usually rate high with me. The baskets here are functional Chainstars. It's nice rolling terrain for a course with enough mature trees.

Cons:

There is no signage to speak of. The long walk after 5 is not the best. One small sign here would be appreciated. It's a short Rec course. It's good for a quick enjoyable round.

Other Thoughts:

You disc golfers in Minnesota are so lucky to be getting so much support from your local parks and recreation departments. Be sure to thank them. I haven't played anywhere else that benefits from this kind of maintenance or finanical help.
Rosland is never to be a disc golf destination course. It is what it is and that's just a fun little 9 hole Rec course. Some of it's flaws are being fixed. Enjoy it! Appreciate it! Be good park patrons as you share it with the park users.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
chinweasel
Experience: 14.3 years 17 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Decent 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Elevation change with a few challenging holes.

Cons:

Tees are way to short and narrow. I always seem to fall off the edge after my throw. Be Careful not to twist your knee or ankle.

Other Thoughts:

Step off to the side of the tees if you have a long stride.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
alexaaron
Experience: 14.2 years 388 played 14 reviews
3.00 star(s)

fun beginner's course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 20, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course's best feature is convenience. It's quick to get to and quick to play. There are a couple alternate tees that make for slightly longer and more fun drives (like from the top of the pedestrian bridge on 4). Constant improvements are being made to the landscaping around the pins and tees. Nice wood chips are on each hole at the basket.

Cons:

It's biggest pro is also its biggest con. Because its so conveniently located, it is an extremely busy park. I usually only play early in the morning when there is no one else out playing. Otherwise you get stuck behind a lot of new rec players that will easily slow the course from a 20 minute game to an hour + game. The layout is weird with the back 4 on the other side of the park, but the designers had limited space.

Other Thoughts:

I play this course more than any other just because its so close to home and fast to play. It's a great park to introduce new players to the game. Not too intimidating but challenging for beginners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
MannyGetYourFun
Experience: 16.2 years 31 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Does OK with what it has ... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 8, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-A good example of working with limited space, considering the park includes a pool area, playground, baseball field and tennis court -- on top of having some far-reaching paved trails. You're left with a fairly presentable course, which is a credit to the developers.

-For its mostly pitch-and-putt difficulty, it offers the occasional unique challenge. The front 5 uses rolling terrain the best it can. Mature trees are featured pretty well.

-There's a constant effort to maintain and improve the course features. You can't say that about a lot of 9-hole courses.

Cons:

-Because of its location, Rosland attracts a lot traffic during prime-time hours.

-Besides waiting for other throwers, you also need to watch for pedestrians frequently

-Even though the pins are placed strategically well, the natural obstacles don't present enough of a challenge -- with the exception of part of the back 4.

-To echo a previous reviewer's sentiment, the raised concrete tee-pads are pretty small. Even when most of the throws are standing, you're not given much for room.

-The separation between 5 and 6 is necessary, but tacky.

-As much as I believe there should be more disc golf courses, it can be argued that Rosland Park didn't need one.

I admire what the designers ended with, and the fact that it's still a work in progress, but when you're forced to separate a course that's already battling for breathing room in a multi-use park, that severely limits any chance for noticeable improvement.

Other Thoughts:

-To its benefit or detriment (you decide), Rosland Park is just off of 62. To commuters, like me, who take Crosstown every damn day, it's nice to have a course that's easy to access and doesn't take long to play. I play this course mainly for it's location alone.

The problem with playing a "truck-stop course" is you're within full view of one of the busiest highways in the Twin Cities area. Kind of kills the quiet aspect.

-Even though I can't fully recommend it, I will continue to play Rosland for its convenience and positive attributes (yes, even after I just questioned the validity of its existence).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
deadbody
Experience: 20.4 years 152 played 68 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Meh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 19, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice concrete tees and nice baskets. Hole 3 is a fun downhill ace run.

Cons:

Short, weird layout with 1-5 on one side of the parking lot, and 6-9 across the parking lot and behind the pool. Nothing special course. No high degree of difficulty on any of the holes

Other Thoughts:

Pretty average course. Nothing worth making a special trip for. Not too far from Bryant lake, and other than on a lunch break nearby I cannot come up with a good reason to play this course over Bryant. Loses half a star for the layout and having to cross the parking lot and go behind the pool to finish the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
rdwyer
Experience: 14.1 years 19 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Fun little course, great way to kill an hour. Doesn't require much thought on throw placement and is a great course if you want to work on a couple new kinds of throws and just have a good time. Hole #3 can be an easy ace, just a short downhill throw.

Cons:

Course is split up into 2 parts. Holes 1-5 are one one side of the pool while holes 6-9 are on the other side. Picnic benches in the middle of hole #1, requiring you to skip it if there are people sitting there. No kiosks or tee signs. There's a box that holds scorecards by the first hole, but I've never seen any scorecards in there, and I play there almost every day when I'm home from college.

Other Thoughts:

Fun beginner course, if you've never been disc golfing before, it's a great place to get started. If you want a harder throw on hole #4, go up on the walking path across the top of the freeway and throw from there. If you want to do that, be wary of the possibility that your disc could wind up on the highway!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top